Back

Reviews Abyssinia - Lausanne

8.9/10

Fabulous

based on 1231 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Joe B.
    Joe B.
    • 30 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely and welcoming staff. The food was excellent and a really great value with the Fork discount. The lamb, samosas, and Ethiopian coffee were great. Highly recommend.

  2. Mona R.
    Mona R.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent et service au top!

  3. Simon R.
    Simon R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Au top

  4. Hüseyin K.
    Hüseyin K.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    - Authentic look & feel: You can choose between traditional seats and table or for those who prefer the regular chairs & tables. - The food also came in traditional plates and tasted really good, definitely something we want to experience again

  5. Jacqueline C.
    Jacqueline C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Incredible experience with Ethiopian cuisine. The food was delicious and served in a very authentic way. The staff were very friendly.

  6. Caroline S.
    Caroline S.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Top top top

  7. Vinoth k.
    Vinoth k.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Très bon restaurant

  8. Constantin h.
    Constantin h.
    • one review
    10/10

    Always good

  9. Eric B.
    Eric B.
    • 10 reviews
    6.5/10

    The food is okay, but came barely warm. the service is really non existant. Really disappointed even with the fork discount.

  10. Daniel B.
    Daniel B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great restaurant, everything perfect, can only recommend! :)

  11. AlejandRa D.
    AlejandRa D.
    • 33 reviews
    10/10

    Tres bon comme d’habitude.

  12. Andreas U.
    Andreas U.
    • 50 reviews
    10/10

    Always a safe bet - good ethiopian food in an authentic setting!

  13. AlejandRa D.
    AlejandRa D.
    • 33 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent !!! Je recommande ce restaurant

  14. Karl W.
    Karl W.
    • 31 reviews
    10/10

    really really delicious food! the degustation menu is fantastic! perhaps service can be improved in welcoming guests

  15. Elena M.
    Elena M.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent food!! Unfortunately I think they have some staff shortage and as soon as the restaurant is full you’ll have to wait minimum 1,30 h to eat.

  16. Cedric b.
    Cedric b.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    A essayer je recommande

  17. Aris V.
    Aris V.
    • 28 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing place amazing food amazing discovery! We will surely come back!

  18. Andrea G.
    Andrea G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    If you want to try something different than usual, this is the spot for you. The staff is extremely welcoming and the food is delicious. The space is also furnished with exotic taste

  19. Justine l.
    Justine l.
    • 18 reviews
    8/10

    Très bien

  20. Ivan i.
    Ivan i.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent tibs!

  21. Christèle M.
    Christèle M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Très bon restaurant. Je recommande!

  22. Ana R.
    Ana R.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Always delicious food and incredibly filling! Vegetarian option is really good! Traditional tea and coffee are great as well! :)

  23. Ludovic J.
    Ludovic J.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    A bit slow to get served for lunch time with not so many guest in the restaurant.

  24. Jessica B.
    Jessica B.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    Nice people ????

  25. Federica f.
    Federica f.
    • 15 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent food, courtesy of the staff and absolutely no issues in using the discount. I definitely recommend the place and I will be back for sure.

  26. Cristie M.
    Cristie M.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very good and tasty. Love the interior of the restaurant. We payed 20 per person for a menu after discount which is quite expensive.

  27. Luca B.
    Luca B.
    • 12 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nice ambient lovely furnished with typical African style. Good food but fixed menu for New Year’s Eve did not help to choose other specialties. Will come back !

  28. Christopher Bernard E.
    Christopher Bernard E.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Second visit- food was as good as first time. A really nice change from most other types of restaurants locally.

  29. Christopher Bernard E.
    Christopher Bernard E.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    Very good! 2 minute walk from Riponne parking. Took the tasting menu. Good value anyway but with the Fork discount was even better. Tried St. George Ethiopian beer. Very good too. A bit like Cobra Indian beer.

  30. Daniel D.
    Daniel D.
    • 29 reviews
    5.5/10

    We chose the set menu. The starter was a very nice samosa. Desert was a scoop of vanilla ice cream with fresh fruits. The main dish was an average combination of peas, beans, a little meat and plenty of the fermented flat bread in which to role up the other food stuffs. What was very poor in our experience was the service. We waited 20 min for the starter and another 40 min for the main dish. That was disappointing given that the main dish only needed to be plated. The dish was prepared for the majority of the guests and needed no 40 mins to be served.

  31. Rafael M.
    Rafael M.
    • 6 reviews
    7/10

    nice Ethiopian environment and tasty meal. Do not expect a great service.

  32. Adrien D.
    Adrien D.
    • 98 reviews
    8/10

    Very good for vegetarian and also attractive price for the quantity

  33. Claudia R.
    Claudia R.
    • 4 reviews
    6.5/10

    Service at the table was really slow and not very amicable. Quality of the food was good, but cold when it arrived at our table. Nice portions though. I wouldn't go there on a week-end night when it is packed and the staff is a bit overwhelmed by the demand.

  34. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    Top

  35. Pablo G.
    Pablo G.
    • 40 reviews
    9/10

    Really nice and typical, you can feel the original and sensitive Ethiopia

  36. Sophie a.
    Sophie a.
    • 29 reviews
    8.5/10

    Belle découverte Service avec attention

  37. Céline W.
    Céline W.
    • 20 reviews
    9/10

    Délicieux, comme toujours. Merci

  38. Sonia C.
    Sonia C.
    • 10 reviews
    9.5/10

    Meal was very nice, and servings were decent. We had a nice time.

  39. Bernard F.
    Bernard F.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Local family feel, very good Ethiopian food, sociable atmosphere. We'll be back for sure.

  40. Lalita J.
    Lalita J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Good food and service