Back

Reviews - Água pela Barba

9.3/10

Excellent

based on 1364 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Marjorie Niele M.
    Marjorie Niele M.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Food was good but the starters were quite expensive. Also they are working with two slots at the moment; first slot from 7-9 pm then the second slot 9 - 11 pm so make sure you book a table at the right time to make the most of it. I didn't order a bottle of wine because we booked a table for 7 pm but all info on internet seemed to suggest the place would be open from 7.30 onward so we had to order food knowing we would have to leave at 9 pm sharp. Also they only accept Portuguese debit/credit cards so make sure you go to the cash point beforehand. The Brazilian waitress who served us last night was extremely helpful & friendly.

  2. Matilde N.
    Matilde N.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent food, cozy vibe

  3. Noémie M.
    Noémie M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Very nice restaurant! We were two people, tried four of the small dishes and they were all delicious. The staff is friendly and gives useful advice. The restaurant is quite small so make sure you book in advance.

  4. Noemi S.
    Noemi S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Really cosy little place in Barrio Alto, where you get a real Lisbon feel. Food is excellent, light dishes with seafood, done delicately. Make sure to book in advance, it gets busy. Will def come again!

  5. Beatriz P.
    Beatriz P.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Comida deliciosa, ambiente super acolhedor, staff atencioso

  6. Clare M.
    Clare M.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious

  7. Jeremy L.
    Jeremy L.
    • 65 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious, fresh ingredients, nice presentation.

  8. Victoria R.
    Victoria R.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious, as usual!

  9. Emily M.
    Emily M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food! The ceviche and raw fish tacos in particular were amazing and all the food really delicious. Very high quality and fresh fish and interesting flavours. Highly recommended!

  10. Leo F.
    Leo F.
    • one review
    8/10

    Restaurant did not accept non-portuguese credit cards. Also, they did not apply my new user promo code.

  11. Nancy N.
    Nancy N.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This is one of my favorite restaurants in Lisbon! I love everything on the menu: The Polvo is about the best I have had - served over hummos! The Polvo tapioca salad is also amazing. The service was great - lovely people!

  12. Patrícia B.
    Patrícia B.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is one of the best restaurants I’ve been in Europe! The waiter was so nice, guided us through the menu, always smiling. The food was unbelievable- great tapas to share with friends with a fair price. Strongly recommend!

  13. Ana P.
    Ana P.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    What a great little please with the most amazing food and hospitable service. Highly recommend it specially their lobster risotto and tuna tataki

  14. Alain L.
    Alain L.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Very good food in a great cadre. Thank you!

  15. Safiera K.
    Safiera K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    I loved the ceviche, my boyfriend turned 29 and they did candles in the tiramisu. Also the service was very personal and sincere. If you’re looking for a cosy place with great fish food, go there..

  16. Jessi C.
    Jessi C.
    • 21 reviews
    10/10

    Hidden germ, everything was so delicious and beautifully plated, Scallops perfectly cooked, Tuna Tatakia was amazing, rich creamy Razor Clams Risotto and Pull Pork Shoulder sandwich so tasty! Definitely is a must try restaurant in Lisbon!

  17. Saurabh R.
    Saurabh R.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a great restaurant! I had the octopus and the signature cocktail and found myself wanting more with every bite. The setting was also great - cozy and warm. The service was perfect - attentive but not in my face all the time ... I will surely eat here on my next trip to Lisbon

  18. Caroline g.
    Caroline g.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This restaurant was very welcoming, food was delicious and staff very friendly and helpful, I recommend it and would definitely go again next time

  19. Dimitri L.
    Dimitri L.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    This is really an excellent restaurant. Try raw fish tacos, burrata and cod cakes. Incredible.

  20. Angela  P.
    Angela P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Really amazing little place that lived up to its reviews. Laid back. Gorgeous food. Sea Rice was a revelation!

  21. Rita M.
    Rita M.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    I really enjoyed the service and the food was delicious.

  22. James B.
    James B.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    3rd time visiting this little gem, food never disappoints, atmosphere is always warm and cosy and staff always attentive. Perfect place for lunch or dinner.

  23. Jonathan M.
    Jonathan M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Small place with tight seating, but don't be fooled. Outstanding unpretentious food in Lisbon. Order small and big plates for the table and enjoy! The staff, albeit few in number, are excellent.

  24. Susan D.
    Susan D.
    • one review
    9/10

    Fresh and light fish dishes. Wonderful wine. Excellent value too. Highly recommend. Small and intimate restaurant. Not a big menu but lots of well thought out plates

  25. Domingos P.
    Domingos P.
    • 11 reviews
    9/10

    Small space, full, loudy. You will probably have to "share" tables, but the food is worth it all, and some more.

  26. Alessandro Z.
    Alessandro Z.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food was excellent. We shared small dishes and had cocktails, everything was of very good modern standards (fish never overcooked, clever pairing of flavours etc). The service was impeccable, the waitresses were very smiley and welcoming. Shame they don’t take cards.

  27. Victoria O.
    Victoria O.
    • one review
    10/10

    The most amazing food!!! Best ratio quality to price!!! Great service, I was there 2 years ago, and was impressed. Healthy and super yummy. Highly recommended

  28. Alexis D.
    Alexis D.
    • 12 reviews
    10/10

    Always on point. Staff is ????????

  29. Jeremy L.
    Jeremy L.
    • 65 reviews
    8/10

    Food is excellent, fresh fish, love the mixed ceviche and raw fish tacos. Unfortunately there was a big group who talked really loudly and noisy, being really inconsiderate, which made conversation impossible in this small restaurant. Recommend the restaurant to avoid accepting big groups in this small space.

  30. Brice C.
    Brice C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Fresh food, perfect cooking, nice people, intamite atmosphere, just a place to see how some people can transform simple meals in top quality food

  31. Louise I.
    Louise I.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    As always, I had a lovely meal in Agua Pela Barba. The food is amazingly good and the service is very quick. This time, unfortunately, we had a very very loud Brittish group in the restaurant at the same time than us. I was not able to understand a word my friend was telling me. It is not the fault of the restaurant, of course, but it did create an unpleasent environment.

  32. Cherie C.
    Cherie C.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was fabulous and the drinks were made to perfection. Every dish was thoroughly enjoyed by the family and we felt that the pricing was hard to beat! Would definitely recommend reservations as the place is small and cannot accommodate too many people!

  33. Hugo G.
    Hugo G.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food, good service, really noisy because of other diners practically yelling.

  34. MAJ T.
    MAJ T.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Waiters were pleasant, but looked tired upon our arrival Tried to put a whole bottle of wine on the bill instead of that one glass we had - could have been an honest mistake. Food was wonderful, I would come back. Fish tacos were really good. the crisp onions on the tuna tataki was a mistake, the burrata and schrimp was really good, the cheviche was bad and clumsy and way too much. looked like an undercooked fish soup. cheviche should be delicate and well sliced.

  35. Kevin C.
    Kevin C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Fantastic place for dinner in Lisbon. Food quality was great. Small plates and a few large plate options. Ceviche was fresh and tasty. Service was great as well. Busy so make sure you have a reservation or be ready to wait. It’s worth the trip.

  36. Nicola S.
    Nicola S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was incredible - really well presented and delicious. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the restaurant itself had a very cool vibe. Although not overpriced, the food is definitely not cheap, which some websites had described it as before. 100% would recommend!

  37. Bob W.
    Bob W.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    The food was excellent, probably the most tender Octopus I have ever had..

  38. Hillary S.
    Hillary S.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    His quaint restaurant was amazing. Only complaint was that tables were on top of each other and very crowded. Waitress was very friendly and efficient. We took her suggestions and got 4 tapas to share. The tuna tataki was among the best we have ever had. Would definitely revisit if ever back in Lisbon! A must try !

  39. Emilio M.
    Emilio M.
    • one review
    10/10

    This small restaurant it was a tip from a friend of mine, which over achieved our expectations! The place looks very nice, cosy and with great atmosphere. The food is absolutely amazing, if they will get a Michelin star, it would much more than deserved. Lucky who can go there every weekend!

  40. Lucy S.
    Lucy S.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great vinho verde. It’s tapas style and we had burrata with prawns, scallops with apple, and raw fish tacos, then we afterwards we were still a bit hungry so added the squid arancini. The stand out was the raw fish tacos, really fresh, zingy and well paired with the fruit. The scallops were a bit undercooked for my taste. Good choice of wines and cocktails. The only minor improvement we’d make would be having just a small cover of bread/olives on the table as it did feel quite sparse. But overall a good restaurant which we would recommend. The best thing is the relaxed atmosphere. Usually I don’t like when you have to share long tables but these are really well spaced and not like you’re sharing!