Register my restaurant
Help


Mediterranean With friends

Reviews - Al Cancelletto

7.7/10
270
Piazza Dei Dogi 11,, 84011 Amalfi
Mediterranean
Average price €35

Al Cancelletto

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

7.7/10
271 reviews
7.6/10

Food

7.9/10

Service

7.4/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Fair value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Doron S.4 reviews

    September 12, 2023

    5/10

    Edible but very mediocre. Much better options nearby.

  • Jackie G.10 reviews

    July 17, 2023

    5/10

    Not been to this restaurant for a few years sadly it is not what it was. The food was very disappointing and expensive.

  • Tony L.

    Tony L.2 reviews

    June 18, 2023

    9/10

    Lovely location

  • Ruth S.1 review

    October 1, 2022

    10/10

    We enjoyed our first meal at Al Cancelletto so much, we returned for another. The first time I chose toasted couscous with sweet and sour vegetables, the second time I ordered cuttlefish with carrot, celery, fennel and walnuts. Both dishes were beautiful with a freshness, lightness and clarity of flavours I loved. My husband had pasta dishes both times and agreed this was the best cooking we had found on this trip to Italy. Everything was of the region, including the delicious wine and desserts, and nothing was tired or pretentious

  • Tracy Q.2 reviews

    September 10, 2022

    8.5/10

    We enjoyed our meal at Al Cancelleto. It is near the busy main piazza, so tables are close and the atmosphere is busy. But the service is very warm and friendly and the food is quite good. We had one pasta course where the pasta was a bit undercooked - well beyond the al dente standard that we know and enjoy - but all of our other dishes were very nice and we enjoyed our evening. We would be happy to eat there again.

  • Julie M.1 review

    September 10, 2022

    9/10

    This was a recommendation from our host. The food and service were excellent. We were not able to have a table outside and inside the lighting was very bright. A small thing, but overall it was a beautiful meal.

  • Nigel F.4 reviews

    August 24, 2022

    7/10

    Food was ok. My wife had the Sea Bass special which is priced by weight , maybe our fault but we weren’t advised of the of an average price and hers came to 49 euro. . I had the tuna and again I assumed it would be tuna steak when asked how I would like it cooked, but it was Tuna belly which I find fatty. Starters were nice. And the ambience lovely. Lesson learned for us check before you order anything by weight.

  • Claudia O.2 reviews

    July 22, 2022

    8.5/10

    Staff is extremely friendly, food is very good at a reasonable price. However, drinks are much more expensive than normal (for example, beers are almost 10€!). Overall great restaurant

  • Leandre P.2 reviews

    July 12, 2022

    9.5/10

    Wonderful food and wine!

  • Claire H.2 reviews

    June 29, 2022

    5/10

    Unfriendly staff, average food,

  • Emily D.2 reviews

    June 15, 2022

    7.5/10

    Staff were really kind. The lasagna daily special was AMAZING! Good choices of local wine by the glass to try. Did not enjoy the seared tuna, but I doubt that piece of fish was locally caught.

  • Daniel T.1 review

    June 1, 2022

    5/10

    The restaurant was unfortunately not great. They recommended a wine which was completely different to what we said we like. The food came and was overpriced, €50 for sea bass with a few potatoes. The service was not good as they were understaffed, we waited 45 minutes for the bill and ended up going inside to pay. They added an extra dish to our bill and couldn’t really explain the cost of other items. I really wouldn’t spend a night in amalfi here.

  • Nick D.

    Nick D.1 review

    May 29, 2022

    10/10

    Great, quiet spot off the main square. Everyone was very nice and the food was delicious.

  • Maria M.1 review

    May 4, 2022

    3/10

    3 of us ordered the paella and it was really disappointing… no lemon and very little seafood flavour. Very bland and very expensive! Couldn’t recommend it

  • Bryan F.

    Bryan F.4 reviews

    April 19, 2022

    10/10

    An excellent meal - food and service were outstanding!

  • Lucia C.8 reviews

    April 15, 2022

    10/10

    Very nice and caring staff. Excellent food. Located in a beautiful small square

  • Lori C.4 reviews

    September 18, 2021

    10/10

    Excellent service and beautiful outdoor seating in the square! The food was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend Al Cancelletto!

  • Ilaria J.

    Ilaria J.5 reviews

    June 21, 2021

    10/10

    Excellent local cuisine in the cozy atmosphere in a small plaza in Amalfi. Very nice and caring service. Very good food and wine. Overall, I can certainly recommend this restaurant.

  • Jackie G.10 reviews

    July 31, 2020

    9.5/10

    Excellent food....we will be back.

  • Steven M.34 reviews

    January 2, 2020

    9.5/10

    Super evening with great food and very attentive service. Only point to improve is the quality of the air filter from the kitchen - our clothes unfortunately got very smelly.

  • - -6 reviews

    December 28, 2019

    9/10

    We ordered the tuna tartare (really good), asparagus soup(warm and creamy, quite nice in the weather) and fennel salad to start. They were all quite nice. Around this time there was a visit by some kids singing which shoes how authentic the village is. Our mains, ravioli, pasta roses and the baked sea bass were all nice and good quality. Note that the restaurant is quite small so booking is important. It was a nice meal, options for vegetarians and we would return.

  • Kurt K.2 reviews

    September 15, 2019

    5.5/10

    Were hoping for a great dining experience on our 1st night in Amalfi, but got disappointed. While my pasta was good my spouse's seafood entree was only satisfactory. But what was really missing was any kind of interest in customer service. Servers were unattentive and generally disinterested. Why can't some restaurants understand that "good service" is a critical dining component.

  • - -4 reviews

    September 10, 2019

    8/10

    Very good food, good service, nice ambient in crowded on sqare with no aditional happenigs (no music), nothing exceptional that would swipe us from our feet

  • Francesco M.

    Francesco M.6 reviews

    August 19, 2019

    9/10

    Had high expectations due to high rating by previous customers. Food quality is probably the best you can find in the village. Big portions: my 25 year old son did not manage to finish his pasta. Really efficient service

Tripadvisor reviews

899 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.