Back

Reviews Alma

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 89 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Ellen D.
    Ellen D.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    Best pub meal in town, lovely small plates n drinks. Staff couldn’t be friendlier.

    Alma

    Thanks so much Ellen! Glad we could accomodate you :)

  2. Geoff B.
    Geoff B.
    • one review
    10/10

    The menu was varied enough to provide something for everyone; salad, pub meal, senior meal, and desserts. (the sorbet was wonderful). There was prompt service and best of all, it was not noisy and was Covid-Safe.

  3. Damon B.
    Damon B.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Long wait for food but it was worthwhile. We were advised there was a half hour wait so appreciated the notification. Meal was beautiful. Best steak I’ve had for a long time

    Alma

    Hi Damon, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry about the wait but are so glad you were advised and that everything was great! Hope to see you again.

  4. Sofia F.
    Sofia F.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The Alma is the best Restaurant in Adelaide. They always make you feel welcome and part of the family. Kyle we love ???? you and love the gin spritz, The food is always first class.

    Alma

    Thank you so much Sofia! Best restaurant in Adelaide, WOW! That's huge! Thank you so much

  5. Brenda M.
    Brenda M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The barramundi meal was delicious, service was prompt and polite. a glass of rose to top everything off and I would say that was a perfect lunch. I will be going there again =)

    Alma

    Thanks so much Brenda! Hope to see you again soon!

  6. Trish B.
    Trish B.
    • 15 reviews
    8/10

    Went for Sunday lunch. We were booked into the bistro but it seemed very crowded given social distancing and was noisy so we ate in the bar area which was much better. Service was slow with a 40 minute wait for food. The lamb shanks and vindaloo were tasty. The Pad Thai , normally tasty, was not on this occasion but they were happy to replace. We’d still go back.

    Alma

    Hey Trish, Sorry your experience wasn't up to normal standard, but sounds like it all worked out well in the end! Hope to see you again soon! :)

  7. Beryl J.
    Beryl J.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Alma is a great place to have lunch, good food and service is great with friedly staff, Everyone enjoyed thier meals. It is reasonably priced including the seniors menues.

  8. Mike H.
    Mike H.
    • 2 reviews
    6.5/10

    Booked a table of 12 and many chose the seniors menu as it was lunchtime. Choice was good, though soup entree was bland and quite disappointing. I chose the calamari for main and received 3 pieces which I think was a little light on. Dessert was good.

  9. Leonie H.
    Leonie H.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    I have eaten at the Alma on many occasions. For some who eat pork, the pork belly is apparently the best anywhere and the salad that accompanies it gets a top rating too! I usually have fish and have always enjoyed my meal. Although the restaurant was full to capacity yesterday, the service was excellent and the waiting staff generally friendly and efficient.

  10. Bonnie B.
    Bonnie B.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Too noisy for seniors with hearing aids

  11. Kay  G.
    Kay G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic food, surroundings, atmosphere and service. I've never been disappointed with dining at the Alma. I'll definitely return again. Thank you.

  12. Pam F.
    Pam F.
    • 16 reviews
    10/10

    Great leisurely lunch venue (inside) on a hot day. Food excellent value and bar staff courteous and efficient. We’ll definitely be back to visit again!

  13. Kate C.
    Kate C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful service in the dining room, and a fantastic vegan menu with so many choices. The food was delicious & quantities large. We’ll be back.

  14. Anita F.
    Anita F.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely delicious as usual, had the tapas for entree, Yummy!, then the eye fillet for main, steak was tender and cooked to perfection. Love this place,

  15. Luisa E.
    Luisa E.
    • one review
    8/10

    Nice atmosphere. Great welcome by friendly staff. Food was tasty, but a little cold on arrival. Took a bit longer than expected to come out, and it wasn't particularly busy. Kids fish was very overcooked, but loved the healthy veg served with it! The activity packs were a hit! Overall a good experience.

  16. Lou B.
    Lou B.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    One and three quarter hours before getting our meals.

  17. Dianne R.
    Dianne R.
    • one review
    10/10

    We have always had amazing food and service at the Alma Hotel. The venue is always cosy and inviting with carpet so you can hear what is being said. First class pub venue

  18. Dani M.
    Dani M.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The most amazing food. Look over the twice cooked pork

  19. Michelle S.
    Michelle S.
    • one review
    9/10

    Quieter atmosphere in the dining room than many places which was nice. Food was good, no complaints. Would return again for sure to try other menu items.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    7/10

    Unfortunately table service in the dining room was nonexistent

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 298 reviews
    9.25/10

    Very pleasant decor with lots of room between tables, keeping the noise down. Lovely attentive staff. Good menu and food was lovely. A lovely lunch out.

    Alma

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your fantastic feedback with us! We hope to see you again soon.

  22. Kenneth B.
    Kenneth B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great Menu,service and atmosphere

    Alma

    Hi Kenneth, Thank you for taking the time out to provide us with this fantastic feedback! We are so happy you had a great time. We hope to see you again soon! Thanks from the Alma Team!

  23. Bruce a.
    Bruce a.
    • 17 reviews
    9/10

    Friendly staff..good menu and drinks choices

  24. Matt R.
    Matt R.
    • 2 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great food and very friendly service. The Alma always offers a great dining experience, whether it be for couples or the whole family.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    8.25/10

    Really friendly and helpful staff and the food on offer was broad and our choices were well cooked and a decent size for the money.

    Alma

    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this amazing review.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 293 reviews
    9.25/10

    Enjoyable experience

    Alma

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed everything. Thank you for the 10/10 for service you have made our day!

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    10/10

    Truly a great atmosphere and food and service was brilliant.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    9.75/10

    The staff were so friendly and engaging, was a pleasure.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.5/10

    Go often-always enjoyable & good value for money

  30. Bonita  C.
    Bonita C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food options especially for vegans and gluten free. Children’s menu is brilliant.... not just chicken nuggets from the freezer!!! Impressed

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    8.75/10

    There was a mistake with one of the meals, but staff were very apologetic and very quick to arrange for the correct meal to be made and served.

  32. Craig J.
    Craig J.
    • one review
    6.75/10

    Ok atmosphere for a Sunday lunch. Booked online and had confirmation but bistro had no record. 3 good meals but my Pork Belly was only warm and no crispy crackling.

    Alma

    Good morning Craig, My name is Simon Hywood and I am the GM & a Director of the Alma Tavern Norwood. I don’t know what I’ve done but I must apologise as this reply I thought I’d actioned correctly after I received but it wasn’t. Obviously simple my error no excuse, my IT skills are below par. I’d like to thank you for your feedback and wish to assure you we take every piece of customer feedback as opportunity for our team to improve. I wish to thank you for firstly choosing the Alma and again your honest appraisal will add value to our business.

  33. Ray T.
    Ray T.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Was excellent except steak slightly over cooked not medium rare, but everything else excellent

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    7.5/10

    Excellent food and really lovely warm setting. We will go again.

  35. Jan F.
    Jan F.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Very nice atmosphere

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.75/10

    Regular diners at the Alma. Always good food and great service. New menu not to everyone's taste as not enough "basic" meals. Understand the change to appeal to a broader audience, but would like to see more simpler options availablre.

  37. Bonita  C.
    Bonita C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful experience for Mother’s Day breakfast. Warm and inviting. Staff went above and beyond to cater for our needs. Highly recommended. Will be returning.

  38. Adam C.
    Adam C.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Very good. Great service, value for money food and an excellent local wine list My only criticism would be that the beer selection wasn’t particularly diverse.

  39. Megan G.
    Megan G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Cozy with the fire place

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent meal great service will be back again