Back

Reviews - Atlantic

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 645 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Margot R.
    Margot R.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    The food was excellent. We had starter, main course, dessert and coffee all first class. The staff were all pleasant and the atmosphere was good.. outdoor dining by the sea perfect for the wonderful sunny day. Thank you

  2. Amanda B.
    Amanda B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This was our second visit and was just as good as the first time. We willreturn.

    AtlanticAtlantic

    Dear Amanda. Thank you very much for your kind words. Hope to see you again soon. Happy New Year.

  3. Jose C.
    Jose C.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Starter, principal and the rest was perfect!!

  4. Liz T.
    Liz T.
    • one review
    6/10

    Food was nicely presented and service was friendly and slick. However,as it was my birthday I thought they could have offered myself and my husband a complimentary drink at least especially as we spent nearly 100 euros. The restaurant was cold and it got noisy when a party that included young children arrived. The ambiance and extra touches that would have made the occasion special were not there so we won’t return.

  5. Mala B.
    Mala B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Brilliant food with five star service. Will highly recommend and defo come back.

    AtlanticAtlantic

    Dear Mala. Thank you very much for your kind words. Hope to see you again here soon. Happy New Year.

  6. Ros R.
    Ros R.
    • 92 reviews
    8/10

    We chose this restaurant because we were in the area. The food was tasty and the dining room pleasant. It would be a lovely location in the summer as this restaurant has a very large terrace with magnificent views

    AtlanticAtlantic

    Dear Ros. Thank you for your kind words. Happy New Year

  7. Michael P.
    Michael P.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    This is probably one of the most reliable and consistent restaurants on the island. Excellent fresh quality food, superb service and reasonably priced. It is an establishment where you can take friends and will not be disappointed

    AtlanticAtlantic

    Dear Michael, thank you very much for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Happy New Year.

  8. Sofia M.
    Sofia M.
    • 19 reviews
    10/10

    Had prawn risotto and it was scrumptious! The view is unparalleled even on a stormy day!

    AtlanticAtlantic

    Thanks Sofia for your visit and kind words. Hope to see you again in our restaurante.

  9. Lesley T.
    Lesley T.
    • 17 reviews
    9/10

    Good food and service

    AtlanticAtlantic

    Thank you Lesley for your visit and kind words.

  10. Phil C.
    Phil C.
    • one review
    10/10

    An excellent restaurant tucked away down a short drive, food was uniformly good across all the courses, would recommend a visit if you’re in the Porto Bay Area

    AtlanticAtlantic

    Thanls Phill for your visit and kind words.

  11. Lucy M.
    Lucy M.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    The menu here is quiet different and we initially struggled to choose from the menu. However we had the salmon tartar, squid, fillet steak and chocolate cake, everything was excellent.

  12. Martijn H.
    Martijn H.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    The food was very tasty, though its presentation was a bit simple. After the wonderful asparagus as an entree, which tasted and looked great, the Madeira-style steak was a bit simple. Together with the terrace being quite dark in my spot, I didn't really get a great look at what I was eating. Nice wines to go with it. And of course a great view. Make sure you're in time for the sunset.

  13. Christine J.
    Christine J.
    • one review
    10/10

    A wonderful setting overlooking the sea. A moonlit path reached out across the water! Great foods

  14. Cläudia N.
    Cläudia N.
    • 210 reviews
    10/10

    Sentimo-nos em casa!

  15. Alan I.
    Alan I.
    • 22 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely food, great service & staff in outstanding location.

  16. Cläudia N.
    Cläudia N.
    • 210 reviews
    10/10

    Maravilhoso!

  17. Angela M.
    Angela M.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    We ate here on the first night of our week long holiday. It was definitely the best meal of the week! The setting was lovely, right by the ocean, the food was beautifully presented and tasted amazing, especially the tuna which was cooked to perfection. What really made our evening was our waitress( sorry we didn’t get her name ,young girl from Lisbon) She was super friendly and attentive explaining to us how the local bread was made, recommending a local wine for us etc We won’t hesitate to return on our next trip to Madeira and would highly recommend!

  18. Sheila R.
    Sheila R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Had fabulous and absolutely refreshing sangria and lambrusco. The food was excellent and the staff were very attentive. Coupled with a beautiful ocean backdrop I will definitely go back.

  19. Jenny W.
    Jenny W.
    • 11 reviews
    8/10

    I thought both the places and the staff were lovely, the atmosphere and situation were perfect. I had the asparagus starter and then the harissa mackerel. The starter was a great idea but really moist so the bread underneath was a little soggy, and there was a little too much hollandaise for me. The mackerel was tasty and I loved the green couscous, but I underestimated how much harissa there would be and for me again that overpowered it. But I will definitely go back and try some of the other things because it’s an absolutely lovely place.

  20. Teresa M.
    Teresa M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Good food and amazing view! We went for lunch on a Monday and the staff was kind as quick, the restaurant wasn’t too full. The restaurant is perfectly located close to the sea

  21. Cristina C.
    Cristina C.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Top!

  22. Bruno M.
    Bruno M.
    • 60 reviews
    10/10

    Perfect place for a Sunday lunch. Great balcony.

  23. João A.
    João A.
    • 21 reviews
    9.5/10

    A very nice place with very good dishes and amazing flavours. I recomend.

  24. Roberto M.
    Roberto M.
    • 15 reviews
    8.5/10

    Tasty food on a peacefull food with a marvellous sra view

  25. Chris D.
    Chris D.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    the restaurant is a little out of the way but once found, it is brilliant. situated high above the coast, worth excellent sea views. nothing could be nicer. Staff are friendly and helpful. food is well presented and tastes good Well used by locals, it is both smart and relaxed.

  26. Jemile G.
    Jemile G.
    • 38 reviews
    10/10

    Everything about the restaurant was amazing! Delicious meal, lovely waiters, a spectacular panoramic view over the Atlantic and very good value. I’d definitely recommend and would go back again.

  27. Eli j.
    Eli j.
    • 32 reviews
    10/10

    Best restaurant in Funchal.

  28. Eli j.
    Eli j.
    • 32 reviews
    10/10

    Very good meal and kind service. Absolutely one of the best restaurants in Funchal. Kind regards Eli Jensen

  29. Christopher H.
    Christopher H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food, great service, great atmosphere!

  30. Kathryn A.
    Kathryn A.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food imaginately prepared.

  31. Johan B.
    Johan B.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great seafood ????

  32. Danielle S.
    Danielle S.
    • one review
    9/10

    Atlantic is consistently excellent. A great choice of dishes, particularly fish, beautifully cooked and presented. Friendly, knowledgeable staff, well worth a visit.

  33. Paul s.
    Paul s.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We arrived early but were well looked after by attentive staff until our table was ready. The views over the Atlantic Ocean were exceptional as was the meal itself. A highly recommend experience, and we will be returning during this holiday break

  34. Bruno I.
    Bruno I.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food as always. Staff are really lovely too and setting is perfect. Highly recommend

  35. Peter R.
    Peter R.
    • one review
    9/10

    We spent a most enjoyable evening for a birthday celebration. Good food, good wine, good ambiance, reasonable prices.....what more do you want? The request for rating in PORTUGESE was a bit stupid!

  36. Gerry G.
    Gerry G.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    The restaurant lacked atmosphere as there were only a few diners in the inside room. Sadly our main course of steak arrived tepid. My wife sent hers back to be reheated. I should have done the same. A disappointment as we walked for 20mins to get to the restaurant.

  37. Allan C.
    Allan C.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Welcoming, attentive, good choice, nice wine list. All in all, a good quality meal at about the correct price.

  38. Stephen M.
    Stephen M.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    The food was very delicious and the atmosphere is very nice sitting out side looking out towards Funchal. We had a lovely meal and we would have stayed for desert if the evening had not been spoilt by yes wait for it ( the dam smokers ) when are we none smoking people going to be able to sit out side with out the smoking

  39. Christian D.
    Christian D.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    The view over the coast and the sea is excellent. The meals are ok but worth the money. The service was friendly. Overall nothing special, But ok.

  40. Peter C.
    Peter C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Good food in nice setting