Back

Reviews - Au Petit Fourneau

8.6/10

Fabulous

based on 372 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Nathalie L.
    Nathalie L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Original menu’s around potatoes. The food is good and the personnel very friendly! To be discovered.

  2. Keith B.
    Keith B.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Pleasant evening with friends.

  3. SANDRINE B.
    SANDRINE B.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The restaurant is situated in a quiet place. The food was delicious, the waitress was lovely, a great choice of food. The dessert was really good too. The children loved it.

  4. Matt D.
    Matt D.
    • one review
    7/10

    A sweet place, primarily serving some unusual but tasty cheese and potato dishes. Felt very much like a local place which was nice. Not a great place if you don’t like cheese and with only one waitress on the service was slow but friendly.

  5. Thomas P.
    Thomas P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very friendly and attentive service. We loved the iPad menus, which gave pictures and explained the dishes. Great meal!!

  6. Axel  K.
    Axel K.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    A good choice, we will come again.

  7. Matt G.
    Matt G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Really lovely little find. Very simple and quintessential french food which tasted great and is much better than some larger establishments. Very busy and popular with locals. Welcoming of tourists and friendly atmosphere.

  8. David H.
    David H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    A very welcoming, non-pretentious restaurant with pleasant staff. Not fabulous cooking but good, homely fare. To be avoided if one doesn’t appreciate potatoes!

  9. Ruth R.
    Ruth R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great little restaurant Staff very friendly Service very good and food excellent Would highly recommend it if in Épernay lovely ambience would visit again

  10. Sian W.
    Sian W.
    • one review
    4/10

    Average food, OK but you are forced to use your own tablet to order food, we asked for example if we could choose a dessert at the end but were told firmly no you have to order everything on the tablet at the start. Not a great welcome, we won't be returning

  11. Jouni-Matti K.
    Jouni-Matti K.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Our dinner was excellent. Only the red wine was "room temperature" = about 25°C... We should have complained but because everything else was just perfect...

  12. Karoliina J.
    Karoliina J.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Very nice and cozy place with good tasty food.

  13. Sue T.
    Sue T.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    We enjoyed the food very much - snails delicious & the potato dishes were tasty & very filling. Staff were lovely & helpful & ordering on the iPad was a bit of fun. We chose to sit outside so the blankets that are available to use were appreciated!

  14. Herre S.
    Herre S.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Good little restaurant. Nice dinner.

  15. Peter A.
    Peter A.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Second visit here and had a lovely dining experience.

  16. Peter A.
    Peter A.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    We had a lovely relaxed meal here. Very nice English speaking staff and really friendly. Interesting menu consisting mainly of potato dishes which were very nice but with other options too. Would recommend for any occasion except fine dining, but it’s not trying to be that kind of restaurant. We were 2 couples, had three courses, though two were shared and three rounds of drinks. Totalled just under 100€ good value!

  17. Patrick C.
    Patrick C.
    • one review
    6/10

    Sans commentaire

  18. James K.
    James K.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great restaurant with a good menu and lovely wines. Atmosphere was cosy with lots of conversation. Highly recommended for a low-mid price meal. Brilliant value.

  19. Phil S.
    Phil S.
    • one review
    9/10

    A gem, a proper little spot for great food, sensible prices and a casual atmosphere. The staff are erratic, the menu seems to be largely baked potatoes and the location is distinctly backstreet. But, you have to go here, the baked potatoes are a thing of beauty, the steaks are juicy and tasty, the escargots are, well, they’re snails, in garlic, and lovely too. Deserts are spot of, the most delicate of creme brûlée, profiteroles stuffed with cream and, ice cream, come on, that’s genius. Cracking selection of wine, and of course champagne, local craft beer and I imagine they do water too! Go if you want great, down to earth food really well made, don’t go if you’re a bit snobby, we wouldn’t want you there.

  20. Rebecca G.
    Rebecca G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very cozy, cute restaurant. The potatoes are amazing! You won’t be disappointed.

  21. Hubert D.
    Hubert D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Verry good

  22. Florence S.
    Florence S.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Très bien!

  23. Kate W.
    Kate W.
    • one review
    10/10

    This was such a wonderful find, we booked a table for five online and when we arrived the place was buzzing with both young and old locals. We all had the speciality Patate, jacket potato with silken bechemal and a huge variety of toppings. Don’t go for a starter, you won’t need it. Do leave space for desert, we had a trio of mini deserts, Creme brûlée, tart tatin and sorbet. All delicious. The atmosphere was joyfully relaxed and service friendly. For all of us two bottles of lovely Pinot gris three deserts it was about £120. Come here for a touch of local EPERNAY. Fantastique!

  24. Kerry h.
    Kerry h.
    • one review
    5/10

    Service was very slow. Only one waitress covering approx 30 people. Had to leave before our set menu desserts arrived. One the positive side - the duck was beautiful.

    Au Petit FourneauAu Petit Fourneau

    Nous sommes désolées pour l'attente, mais vous aviez réservé à 19 h et vous étiez 8 personnes qui sont arrivées 2 par 2, nous avons donc pris la commande seulement vers 19h45, car nous attendions que la table soit complète pour prendre la commande, ce qui a décalé notre service, et du coup le restaurant s'était rempli en attendant. Et je souhaitais quand même vous précisez que nous étions 3 serveuses samedi soir non pas 1 seule comme vous le précisez.

  25. Iain B.
    Iain B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Super atmospheric typical French restaurant, not fancy, not trying to be that, just very good food at a good price served by people confident in their offer.

  26. Mike B.
    Mike B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great lunch at reasonable price

  27. Andreas A.
    Andreas A.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    God mat med trevlig personal.

  28. Stuart G.
    Stuart G.
    • one review
    8/10

    A very good local restaurant, good local food at a fair price, the service was very good, good choice of wine and champagne, well worth a visit, make sure you book in advance it gets very busy

  29. Lisa B.
    Lisa B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely ????

  30. Crystal B.
    Crystal B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely loved it! Such a nice, cozy place to sit down to home cooked meal. Would definitely return.

  31. Julia G.
    Julia G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Very good family run restaurant with typical regional food. The speciality is a jacket potatoe base with choice of 10 + toppings like pizza toppings served like pizzas. really good value. If your in Epernay for few nights good place to go for a one if your meals out. Very popular with locals and they also do takeaway.

  32. Fabien F.
    Fabien F.
    • 140 reviews
    8/10

    Bon restaurant sur Epernay.

  33. David T.
    David T.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great tasty food, very friendly service, excellent value

  34. Tom C.
    Tom C.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    This is a neighborhood restaurant with mostly local people. They serve a very hardy speciality based on cheese and potatoes plus all the items you would expect to find in a small French restaurant. The owner is right there working and was very charming.

  35. Brandon P.
    Brandon P.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great dinner - would go back in a heartbeat for the duck breast au poivre!

  36. Marijke M.
    Marijke M.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    The good is realiteit excellent and friendly people.

  37. John M.
    John M.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    We were seated in the back room with a number of other English customers. Unfortunately the back room has none of the warm atmosphere of the main restaurant, which is lovely. Service was rather slow that monday evening, but good humoured, and the restaurant was full. The main issue was our steaks which were tender but had almost no taste at all. Disappointing for the money. Fillet steak is not a strong taste but these were certainly below par. Served with a modest helping of frites.

  38. Antony W.
    Antony W.
    • one review
    5/10

    We had read really positive things on TripAdvisor, but were a little disappointed overall. There was a bit of a wait before we could put in our order, a little too long a wait between courses, and our server forgot a coupe of items. The food was ok, but not as good as we had hoped, and there was a curious mixup about salad: we ordered two, but only one arrived for our child, and our server tried to convince us in retrospect that it was for two (but it was at least half as large as the salad that did appear at the next table for two). Quite a few trivial points that added up, in the end. We hope that it was an a-typical evening for this restaurant.

  39. Louise L.
    Louise L.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Reliable, comforting food with locals

  40. Joerg B.
    Joerg B.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Apparently run by the family, very attentative service. We had the home made foie gras, really good, and as main course tartare and duck breast. Large portions, well cooked, very tasty.