Back

Reviews - Auberge 22

8.8/10

Fabulous

based on 1356 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Frédérique s.
    Frédérique s.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Très bon !

  2. Luis M.
    Luis M.
    • 3 reviews
    4.5/10

    The food was good, the staff were a bit rude. We waited 30 minutes from seating to ordering anything. The waiter seemed reluctant to allow us to order and didn’t want to give us our choices. At the end, no offer of coffee or digestif, he just disappeared. After 30 minutes we couldn’t get the bill we had to walk out to the counter and they couldn’t find our bill for a while.

  3. Claire g.
    Claire g.
    • one review
    10/10

    Awesome!

  4. Maria L.
    Maria L.
    • 4 reviews
    6/10

    This is a meat based restaurant and if you go for fish/seafood you will be disappointed as this is way below French standards.

  5. David M.
    David M.
    • 6 reviews
    4.5/10

    The service was great but we left Very disappointed with the quality of the dishes, we drove all the way to the place cause we wanted grilled meat and fish, but we got uncooked pork, extremely hard meat with cartilage and a very scarce grilled fish sampler, as starters we asked for grilled octopus, they served a tiny dish, tapa style, with three little pieces of octopus and even some shrimp... On top of all, the wine was warm... 100€ bill for two pax, not worth the driving.

  6. Maria J.
    Maria J.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Good food!

  7. Peter J.
    Peter J.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Superb little restaurant and the steaks are simply amazing. You can choose your cut and it’s cooked right in front of you in the restaurant. Lovely meal and great service!

  8. Cecile M.
    Cecile M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Thank you for the Birthday attention.... Meat was excellent. Nice and professionnal serveurs. I will recommend this address, is also a good gift idea

  9. Isabelle h.
    Isabelle h.
    • one review
    10/10

    Très bon service

  10. Kevin  T.
    Kevin T.
    • one review
    9/10

    Friendly service, even with my lousy French. Great meat selection, perfectly prepared. Seems quite popular with locals- always a good sign. Prices were very reasonable, especially given the quality of food and service. Easy to recommend...

  11. Leilah S.
    Leilah S.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Outstanding mains, average starter and dessert: Mushroom starter was delicious, but the mushrooms were not cleaned well and still had sand on them; making it unpleasantly crunchy. Main of monkfish was absolutely delicious. Rib Eye on the fire was stunning, so were the chips. Panacotta was ok.

  12. Shiva  S.
    Shiva S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely place! Amazing food and lovely service!!

  13. Omar E.
    Omar E.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Was perfect... Highly recommended

  14. Ivo S.
    Ivo S.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Hand picked a perfect marbled aged beef. Perfect made. Perfect taste. Perfect service too.

  15. Ivo S.
    Ivo S.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Best in town!

  16. Paul M.
    Paul M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent. Generous and high quality charcuterie. Steak off the charts, wine was excellent - Rioja Reserva 2014. Dessert of chocolate fondant really well done. Attentive, helpful. unpretentious service. We had kids with us - two and four years old - the staff were great with them and we managed three courses and the kids had good fun.

  17. Max V.
    Max V.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Yes, the restaurant was absolutely full. It seems to be very popular. A local lady - guest of the restaurant - was so delighted about the place, so she said to us. But! We were a company of 9 pax. We ordered three mixed meats - one came ok, the second - overcooked, the third - undercooked. We asked to fix it, they did. Said they were sorry, though it didn't look sincere. The meat to our taste is not tender, quite hard to bite and chew. No salt, no spices at all. After 5 mins of getting us first two portions of the meat and after we requested it, they brought some salt. Even 5 types of it. The third portion came about half hour later... Fish. Was undercooked. We asked to cook it some more.. One of the starters was octopus. Difficult to chew. Because one must know how to prepare their octopus They obviously don't. Shrimps were ok, a couple of other dishes too. But not something to die for. We sat in the first room of the restaurant, where the grill is. The room was full of smoke. As soon as we brought this to the attention of the waitress, she opened the window. Frankly, it didn't help much. On the plus side - it is not expensive. But would I want to return? No. Sorry.

  18. Candice B.
    Candice B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Personnel au top. Viande excellente. Millefeuille fantastique.

  19. Jennifer W.
    Jennifer W.
    • 6 reviews
    5.5/10

    The quality of the dishes was very good, but service was rather compromised by the number of people they were having to deal with. The space was very busy with tables in every conceivable space throughout several rooms extending at the back of the restaurant. We were surprised that guests were allowed to smoke at their table in a small open air space between rooms.

  20. Gregorio R.
    Gregorio R.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Great restaurant and wonderful food

  21. Aliza R.
    Aliza R.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    great homey restaurant with delicious food. Wish the steak had been cooked a bit more as it was completely rare in spots but authentic wonderful experience that isn't touristy

  22. Stéphanie L.
    Stéphanie L.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Diner parfait

  23. Cal E.
    Cal E.
    • one review
    8/10

    Very friendly. Delicious, but not inspiring.

  24. Sue M.
    Sue M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fab restaurant excellent food attentive staff - definitely recommend

  25. Nigel H.
    Nigel H.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is a gem of a place. As long as you are not vegetarian, you will love this restaurant. We had a kilo of rib-eye on the bone that was displayed to us before it was cooked. The meat and the chips are delicious.

  26. Moes B.
    Moes B.
    • 13 reviews
    9.5/10

    Fantastic place for the meat lovers. So good prepared on the charcoal. And the service is excellent.

  27. Carole J.
    Carole J.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Je recommande sans hésitation !!!

  28. Peter J.
    Peter J.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was lovely, the service was great and the atmosphere was cosy. The steaks were delicious and perfectly cooked in front of your eyes! A perfect date night with the Mrs! Will definitely return!

  29. Alistair M.
    Alistair M.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Great food. Great service.

  30. Lucie B.
    Lucie B.
    • 26 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent restaurant

  31. Lientu L.
    Lientu L.
    • 115 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent restaurant if you like grilled meat! Personel very kind and enthousiastic about their meat!

  32. Natanel M.
    Natanel M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    האווירה האש הפתוחה והבחירה של הבשר הייתה טובה מאד הקינוחים שלחקחנו גלידה ועוגת שוקולד לא ברמה גבוהה

  33. David G.
    David G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Que du bonheur !!!

  34. Ludivine D.
    Ludivine D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Juste parfait

  35. Sory B.
    Sory B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent. Comme d'habitude.

  36. Miguel Angel G.
    Miguel Angel G.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic!

  37. Charles P.
    Charles P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Beautiful, perfectly cooked cote de boeuf and excellent service. Best beef in Biarritz.

  38. Margaret M.
    Margaret M.
    • one review
    3/10

    The meat was tough and the salad was not fresh. The bread was also not top quality. For the price, I expected higher quality but was disappointed. As an American, I am used to to grilled meat that is both flavorful and more tender. Also - the salads and bread elsewhere in France have been much higher quality.

  39. Gina H.
    Gina H.
    • one review
    10/10

    As someone who travels a lot and absolutely loves food and wine I will admit both my partner and I have seriously high standards. After reading many reviews I booked and on arrival in a very residential area I was a bit sceptical. I couldn't have been more wrong. We were seated outside which was lovely with such a great atmosphere. The wine was fantastic and the food absolutely incredible. If we weren't only in Biarritz for 3 days we would have made a second trip without a doubt. Best steak we have ever eaten and we will definitely be back!

  40. Oksana S.
    Oksana S.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Really good meat, especially If you want to eat good quality steak! Atmosphere and decoration need some change