What

What

Where

Where

Insider With friends

AVISTA

Average price €25
9.4/10
128 reviews

Free serviceInstant reservation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Restaurant menu

  • Average price €25 Special request

Chef Chefes Benoît Sinthon, João Luz e Luísa Castro recommends…

A Carta abaixo é a completa para os jantares. Ao almoço alguns dos pratos abaixo poderão não estar disponíveis.

The "Carte" below is the complete one for dinner. At lunch some of the dishes below may not be available.

Ratings & Reviews

Excellent
9.4/10
based on 128 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
Quality of food :9.3/10
Service :9.4/10
Setting :9.5/10
  1. Kit M.
    Kit M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent

    AVISTA

    Good afternoon, Thank you for your positive comments. I will share them with our team. It is always good to see you again. Thank you, Isabel Oliveira, Hostess

  2. Annmarie G.
    Annmarie G.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    This was our first visit - the food was excellent and the setting is amazing. The service was a little slow but the maitre’d was quick to apologise and compensated us with a complimentary drink and dessert. We will definitely be returning to Aviata!

    AVISTA

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Nothing makes us happier than meeting the expectations of our guests. We have taken note of your suggestions and we will do everything to make your stay even better next time. We hope to enjoy your company soon.

  3. Andrew F.
    Andrew F.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    Avista has a superb view and a great atmosphere, however the food is only average and our experience was completely spoiled by the waiter that came to give wine recommendations, when my wife asked for a a medium rose wine he was extremely dismissive, saying it should only be dry and then rudely ignored her, and when I asked for a wine recommendation instead of giving me options, which every sommelier I have come across has done, he just went straight for the most expensive option. The rest of the staff here were extremely helpful and knowledgeable, but this one member of staff ruined what could have still been a wonderful evening.

    AVISTA

    Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your concerns about our restaurant. We apologise for the inconvenience caused. We are carefully reviewing your comments and will act with the utmost speed to improve our service. Thank you once again for your understanding and we hope to regain your confidence in our restaurant. Yours faithfully,

  4. Jeremy W.
    Jeremy W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and atmosphere, more relaxed than Gallo D’Oro, service top class. We will be back.

    AVISTA

    Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to see you again in the near future. Regards,

  5. Miguel V.
    Miguel V.
    • 57 reviews
    4/10

    In theory a restaurant with a view but even with a booking done 10days before we didn’t get a table close to the window. You have to complain to get it. Food is nothing special or even tasty. Price/quality is one of the worse In the area. There’s better options in Funchal.

    AVISTA

    Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments and am sorry that we were not able to provide our usual standards of service during your visit. I am analysing your comments in detail together with the team to ensure that this does not happen again. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards,

  6. Ken F.
    Ken F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Brand new resturant. Nice view of Funchal all lit up. Food was excellent. Staff very welcoming and helpful. Only disappointment was food was served on cold plate. Side dishes were on or in hot containers, so it emphasised disappointment.

    AVISTA

    Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for your comments. Your opinion is very important to us. We shall carefully analyse the less positive points you mention regarding your experience. We would be happy to see you again at our restaurant in order to meet your expectations. Best regards,

  7. Giel D.
    Giel D.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Very nice luxurious setting and service, but the food did not attain the same level. A nice attempt at Asian cuisine, but lacking some depth and generally not a good price/quality. The ramen were most likely not made fresh and could use a stronger broth and more taste. Generally quite expensive forwhat you get. Also €5 for a bottle of water or tea seems a bit much. Desert was very tasty though.

    AVISTA

    Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Nothing makes us happier than meeting the expectations of our guests. We have taken note of your suggestions and we will do everything to make your stay even better next time. We hope to enjoy your company soon. Isabel Oliveira, Hostess.

  8. Lynn B.
    Lynn B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Top quality asian food and restaurant, the second visit did not disappoint us.

    AVISTA

    Good afternoon, Thank you for your positive comments. I will share them with our team. It is always good to see you again. Thank you,

  9. Markus G.
    Markus G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    The wine was not so good, it tasted of cork. We asked the waiter, he tried and told us that the wine was excellent. Later on we tried the same wine in another bar and it tasted completely other...in conclusion: food was excellent, the wine service was disappointing

    AVISTA

    Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments and am sorry that we were not able to provide our usual standards of service during your visit. I am analysing your comments in detail together with the team to ensure that this does not happen again. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Isabel Oliveira, Hostess.

  10. Barry B.
    Barry B.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent location, good quality food and service although more expensive than other good quality restaurants in the area.

    AVISTA

    Dear Guest, Thank you very much for choosing the Avista restaurant. We were very pleased to read your message about our restaurant and team. Your comments are very valuable for us and for our future guests. We look forward to having you back again! Yours faithfully, Isabel Oliveira, Hostess.

  11. Joyce H.
    Joyce H.
    • 18 reviews
    9.5/10

    A really nice restaurant with good food, great setting and very professional and friendly staff.

    AVISTA

    Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to see you again in the near future. Regards, Isabel Oliveira, Hostess.

  12. Michael R.
    Michael R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Outstanding food, very attentive personal service from friendly and polite staff. A cut well above locally recognised restaurants and on a good clear day stunning views.

    AVISTA

    Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to see you again in the near future. Regards,

  13. Alan S.
    Alan S.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Stunning setting and the lunchtime menu was very good value.

    AVISTA

    Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to see you again in the near future. Regards,

  14. Alan H.
    Alan H.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    This was our second visit to Avista while in Madeirathis time and it was as good as before Excellent food and service !

    AVISTA

    Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to see you again in the near future. Regards, Isabel Oliveira, Hostess.

  15. Paul D.
    Paul D.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Avista is a great new addition the the Cliff Bay resort. I have eaten here 4 times , 3 in the Mediterranean restaurant & once in the Sushi restaurant both superb. The Mediterranean has a great selection of starters my favourite being the king crab timbale. For the main courses always fresh fish ,this visit I tried the trigger fish for the first time... beautiful fish, with lovely griklled vegetables. The wine list is extensive & the sommelier very helpful. The staff & service are first class. The sushi section was also fantastic , they have a Japanese trained Portuguese sushi chef. I will be back to both for sure next visit.

    AVISTA

    Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing our restaurant. Your opinion is very important to us - thank you for sharing it. We are very pleased to hear that our restaurant and team were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards,

  16. Alistair  N.
    Alistair N.
    • one review
    7/10

    A great location for this new restaurant. Look like staff still getting familiar. Portions were tasty but a bit small

    AVISTA

    Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to see you again in the near future. Regards, Isabel Oliveira, Hostess.

  17. Charlotte  K.
    Charlotte K.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Beautiful setting and decor

    AVISTA

    Good afternoon, Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to see you again in the near future. Regards,

  18. Joyce H.
    Joyce H.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    What a great addition to Portobay in Madeira this restaurant has everything going for it, well trained friendly staff, beautiful views, comfortable chairs very well designed restaurants both inside and out and excellent food drinks and cocktails. We will definitely go back many times.

    AVISTA

    Dear Guest, First of all, thank you for choosing our restaurant. Your opinion is very important to us - thank you for sharing it. We are very pleased to hear that our restaurant and team were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again. Regards,

More information

Opening time

Almoço:

Todos os dias das 12:00 às 14:30

Snacks/Petiscos:

Todos os dias das 14:30 às 19:00

Jantar:

Todos os dias das 19:00 às 22:00

NOTA importante: Alguns pratos da carta poderão não estar disponíveis ao almoço.

How to get to the restaurant

Estrada Monumental 143, 9004-532, Funchal, Portugal

Features

, , , , Good for a business lunch, Good for families, Great view, Restaurant hotel, Romantic, Father's Day, Valentine's Day

Services

, ,

, , , , Valet parking, Wheelchair Accessible,

Restaurants around AVISTA

International

Funchal

€35 average price

Insider

Italian

Villa Cipriani

Score:9.3

MICHELIN 2020

Funchal

€50 average price

Portuguese

Loft

Score:9.6

Funchal

€13 average price

Portuguese

Ca Te Espero

Score:8.4

Funchal

€25 average price

Indian

Funchal

€15 average price

Insider

European

Cris's Place

Score:9.5

Insider

Funchal

€40 average price

Indian

Funchal

€20 average price

International

La Bamba

Score:8.8

Funchal

€15 average price

-30%

Portuguese

Funchal

€20 average price

International

MICHELIN 2020

Funchal

€60 average price

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

See more information

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Log in to TheFork Manager

Free serviceInstant reservation