Register my restaurant
Help
What
Where

Insider With friends

AVISTA

9.4/10
277

Average price €35

Free serviceInstant reservation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts
This restaurant is following the relevant safety practices*:
Card payments accepted
Contactless, digital or single use menus
Extra cleaning services implemented at the tables, toilets and kitchen
Food served only at the table
Government training by staff completed
Guest spacing 2m
Hand sanitizer for customers
Single use products on the table
Staff wearing masks
*This information is declared by the restaurant
See more information
Menu

User photos

Risotto De Beterraba E Vieiras
Espada Panada
Sobremesa Do Dia
Gelado de avelã
Prato principal
Ramen de porco

Ratings & Reviews

Excellent

9.4/10
based on 277 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
Quality of food :9.3/10
Service :9.4/10
Setting :9.6/10
  1. VIKTOR K.
    VIKTOR K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and atmosphere. Second visit — and the second time we are impressed. Food representation, friendly staff, cozy interiors, highly recommended

  2. Joao a.
    Joao a.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic

  3. Peter N.
    Peter N.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    this was a wonderful dining experience with delicious food, excellent service and stunning views. the food was cooked to perfection. Everything excellent.

  4. Nadine M.
    Nadine M.
    • 4 reviews
    7/10

    Great setting and atmosphere. We ordered from the Asian menu (we had to request it) and the food was good but not outstanding. The sashimi was lovely but the sushi felt like it could have come from a supermarket. Having said that, the Dim Sum and broth was delicious . Lots of staff, which meant that sometimes we had to ask twice for drinks or the bill (seems every staff member had their own particular job). Would possibly go again in the daytime when we could see the sea view, and try the Mediterranean menu option.

  5. June O.
    June O.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    This is a gorgeous restaurant with delightful staff. The starter and main course menus offered excellent variety but the dessert choices were more limited than on my last visit. The food was uniformly delicious. Steaks cooked blue with triple cooked chips were superb. I was particularly pleased that they serve San Pellifrino mineral water. I’ll certainly return.

  6. Coral R.
    Coral R.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    When we turned up there was a mix up about how many people was eating as it was 2 of us but they had 3 people down and also had us booked in for the sushi restaurant but we wanted to eat from the Josper oven area, however the waiters were all very lovely and very on top, the rib eye steak was beautiful and melt in the mouth! Lovely people and food I would definitely recommend

  7. Christopher C.
    Christopher C.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    We are staying in the Bay Cliff Hotel where the food quality and value are excellent. The Arista is supposed to be even better but it wasn't. The beef was full of gristle which you couldn't see because the atmospheric lighting was too low. Sitting outside when it got chilly my wife was offered a wrap which would have been nice.....if it had arrived! Sorry, not impressed.

  8. Michael H.
    Michael H.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Another wonderful meal in a stunning setting.

  9. Joyce H.
    Joyce H.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    It’s always good at Avista whether you go for lunch, tea or dinner. The staff are excellent the views and ambiance are second to none and the food is always of a very good standard. They never disappoint.

  10. Victoria P.
    Victoria P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Delicious food, beautiful terrace, fun atmosphere, worth a visit and would recommend. Thanks for a lovely evening! Not sure why I have to submit 120 characters!

  11. Brian P.
    Brian P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This restaurant is new since we last visited the Cliff Bay hotel and is an excellent addition. The setting is second to none, and we have already planned another visit.

  12. Joyce H.
    Joyce H.
    • 11 reviews
    9/10

    Another very enjoyable lunch at one of our favourite restaurants in Madeira, Great food and excellent staff. Beautiful setting overlooking the ocean.

  13. Martyn S.
    Martyn S.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing views, friendly staff, ranging menu and wine list which culminated in fantastic food and eating atmosphere. I wish this new venture well for the future and will return whenever possible.

  14. Wendy S.
    Wendy S.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The setting was beautiful and waiters were very attentive for most of the evening. It was great to receive advice on wine choices.. The food was delicious and well presented. My only disappointment was that the dessert menu choices were very limited. I was hoping to round off my meal with something memorable.

  15. Tracey B.
    Tracey B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Extremely attentive service, all staff were very knowledgeable about their products. Absolutely amazing location. Great ambiance and lovely food. Can't wait to go back again soon.

  16. Ed G.
    Ed G.
    • one review
    10/10

    The last meal of our holiday. The welcome was great, really made us feel special. The setting was magical and we really enjoyed the food. Great send off home

  17. David N.
    David N.
    • 13 reviews
    9/10

    Presented with wonderful sea view table. Food tasty although vegetarian tofu was piffling. Triple fries very good. Veg ravioli risotto good delish. 4 of us + bottle of wine +aperitifs + 3 courses £50 each.

  18. David R.
    David R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Only fault we could find was that we ordered a side dish to go with our main meal and did not get it. All staff very attentive

  19. Sally C.
    Sally C.
    • 4 reviews
    7/10

    A really lovely setting but we were let down by some of the food and service. We ordered shrimp from the fish of the day which seemed undercooked to us. When we asked we were told they cook it sous vide (we wouldn't have ordered it if we had known). They took part eaten dish away to talk to the chef but we never received it back or a replacement. It also unfortunately started to rain and staff left us hanging not knowing if they were trying to re-seat us or not.

  20. Joyce H.
    Joyce H.
    • 11 reviews
    9/10

    Great food excellent views well attentive staff. Always a joy to eat at Avista.

See all reviews

More information

Opening time

Almoço:

Todos os dias das 12:00 às 14:30

Snacks/Petiscos:

Todos os dias das 14:30 às 19:00

Jantar:

Todos os dias das 19:00 às 22:00

NOTA importante: Alguns pratos da carta poderão não estar disponíveis ao almoço.

How to get to the restaurant

Estrada Monumental 143, 9004-532, Funchal, Portugal

Features

, , , , Good for a business lunch, Good for families, Great view, Restaurant hotel, Romantic, Father's Day, Valentine's Day

Services

, ,

, , , , Valet parking, Wheelchair Accessible,

Restaurants around AVISTA

  • Insider

Italian

Villa Cipriani

Score:9.1

MICHELIN 2020

Funchal

€50 average price

Portuguese

Ca Te Espero

Score:9.2

Funchal

€25 average price

  • Insider

European

Cris's Place

Score:9.7

Insider

Funchal

€40 average price

Funchal

€17 average price

  • Insider

Portuguese

Insider

Funchal

€26 average price

-30%

MICHELIN 2020

Funchal

€60 average price

Spanish

Funchal

€15 average price

Funchal

€16 average price

  • Insider

Mediterranean

Atlantic

Score:9.1

Insider

Funchal

€25 average price

Accepts Yums

International

Funchal

€23 average price

-30%

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

See more information

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Log in to TheFork Manager

Free serviceInstant reservation