Back

Reviews - Balthazar's Keuken

8.9/10

Fabulous

based on 412 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Christian H.
    Christian H.
    • 31 reviews
    9/10

    We had a great evening with our group of 4 in a cozy setting. Fantastic 3 course menu with 5 different starters, a main dish to chose from and a dessert. Only downside were the wine prices, they felt a bit too high.

  2. Roland D.
    Roland D.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    The restaurant has a great atmosphere. The service was excellent, we felt very welcome. The 3 course menu is a really great way to try out different options that change every 3 weeks. Unfortunately our food was a little bland. The presentation was beautiful the taste was a little mediocre.

  3. Michael K.
    Michael K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food, friendly service and a refreshing concept. The restaurant's staff made sure we feel comfortable and we'd totally dine there again.

  4. Pekka L.
    Pekka L.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    We had high expectations on Balthazar´s after reading positive reviews. The service was friendly and it was good that we could taste 3 different wines before choosing our wine but the food - other than the appetizers - was rather disappointing, particularly the lamb. I think the meal was overpriced for the quality of food.

  5. Kenneth L.
    Kenneth L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Selection of starters were delicious and interesting pairings of ingredients. Main course choice was limited but not a problem for me. Pudding was excellent too. House wine was good value. Staff very attentive and friendly. Great evening out.

  6. Karma S.
    Karma S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved every moment of our dinner, would go there again any time! The food was exceptional and the service was really good

  7. Chris N.
    Chris N.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food and stellar service. We couldn’t have been happier with our experience.

  8. Ekaterina K.
    Ekaterina K.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    We have really enjoyed every aspect of our dinner. The dishes were creative and flavorful. Nice atmosphere. Loved the open kitchen. I think it’s a really good value too. Will definitely go again!

  9. Kathryn R.
    Kathryn R.
    • 26 reviews
    10/10

    Always excellent!

  10. Paul G.
    Paul G.
    • one review
    7/10

    Food is decent! Not mind blowing. We preferred the last time we visited. Service wasn’t fabulous this time either with a few of the staff making you feel you were inconveniencing them at times during the evening.

  11. Hisami K.
    Hisami K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Always great pleasure to have dinner there. Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Definitely, our favourite restaurant in Amsterdam. We'll come back again and again.

  12. Coen S.
    Coen S.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Laid back atmosphere, friendly waiters and good food. I like the concept of rotating menu's: fixed 3 course menu that changes weekly.

  13. Sally S.
    Sally S.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    My second time at BK and the same fun atmosphere and delicious food both times. Love the tasty shared starters and simple choice of 2 options for the main. Welcoming and friendly staff too

  14. Vicky S.
    Vicky S.
    • one review
    5/10

    We got there, sat down, waiter spilled carafe of water all over my husband. We had a choice of cod or rabbit for entree, rabbit was just ok and cod my husband said was awful. Our waiter kept eating through out our meal, he would dip into fridge for stuff, go to the kitchen and take what ever was on a knife in a bowl, with his fingers, then replace knife back in bowl for customers. They had shaved chocolate and he would take mouthfuls of that. Never once washing his hands. He just crossed contaminated the entire evening.

  15. Milena S.
    Milena S.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food and service, cozy atmosphere! We had a wonderful evening there and truly enjoyed every aspect of the restaurant. Highly recommended!

  16. Eyal K.
    Eyal K.
    • 18 reviews
    6/10

    Let’s start with the positive. The intention of some of the stuff was good and so was my main course. Was good but not great. Whilst one of the main course (fish) was tasty, the other improvised vegetarian option (Ravioli ) was done extremely poor and lacked on the flavor side. Starters were mediocre. Desserts was nice. Concerning fact: Although this was my forth visit in the restaurant, one of the waiters just decided to assume that it was the first one and gave us rather a condescending attitude throughout the meal. There are many expats living in Amsterdam, not every English speaking person who dine in your restaurant is necessarily a tourist.. And even if it would be the case it shouldn’t have mattered. A bit of humbleness will not harm the place.. Something was really changed from The previous times I was there and that’s a pity because I had way better memories. There are plenty of good restaurants in Amsterdam, no restaurant should take their customers for granted. Food for thought..

  17. Constance F.
    Constance F.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Very friendly staff and taking care of the customers. Good food, nice concept and very nice restaurant setting, small and cozy, makes you feel comfortable.

  18. James R.
    James R.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was incredible and the staff were extremely knowledgable about the dishes and wine pairings. The restaurant is intimate which really adds to the experience and given the menu is ever changing there is no excuse not to visit again! Amazing

  19. Linda C.
    Linda C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food was spectacular! The combinations were creative, the fish was fresh, and the flavors were delicious. I most definitely would recommend this restaurant.

  20. Lorraine C.
    Lorraine C.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Good.

  21. Karen W.
    Karen W.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    One of the two pieces of pork served to my husband was not edible. All grizzly. My pork and his was a bit rare. Pork served pink, rare?

  22. Jacqueline L.
    Jacqueline L.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    The food was underwhelming including a melted blob of a dessert and soso starters. The service was so slow that we didn’t get anything on the table until exactly 53 minutes after we sat down.

  23. Amelia B.
    Amelia B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Have been before and will always return

  24. Ian  R.
    Ian R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Inspired menu, charming and knowledgable service, and lovely, casual atmosphere, if a bit cramped.

  25. George D.
    George D.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    An excellent, imaginative dinner at a very reasonable price.

  26. Debra S.
    Debra S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Exquisite menu and presentation. Delicious food. Wonderful first meal in Amsterdam!

  27. Joy H.
    Joy H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Best food And experience I’ve ever had! Absolutely loved it!

  28. Nel D.
    Nel D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food!

  29. Susan S.
    Susan S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved the small intimate setting and the food was full of great flavors

  30. Nicolas P.
    Nicolas P.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Food was original, benefited from a nice creative touch. Wine list was balanced, more French wine could be added (maybe updated on weekly basis just like the food menu). Will come back there. Nice little kitchen for intimate dinner.

  31. Kelly L.
    Kelly L.
    • 2 reviews
    3/10

    The food was bizarre and awful tasting and the service was subpar. The servers rarely came to just in on how we were doing and seemed annoyed when we asked for something just as she was going on her smoke break. Overall a very disappointing experience and a waste of money.

  32. SOPHIA H.
    SOPHIA H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Hearty tasty food.

  33. Fiona l.
    Fiona l.
    • one review
    9/10

    Delicious food and loved the varied, shared first course. Helpful but unobtrusive service.

  34. Camilla S.
    Camilla S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely fantastic. The best meal we have ever had. Thank you to the team for a first class service and perfect ambience.

  35. Andreas T.
    Andreas T.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Reservation system worked fine. Balthazar is placed in a nice area. The restaurant itself is very small and packed with guests. Size of dishes is fine, quality correct. The menu is fixed (five small starters, fish or meat for main plate and a small dessert). Price is pretty high compared to quality. Service is efficient. No regret for this experience but no second time.

  36. Jessie W.
    Jessie W.
    • one review
    10/10

    This was our favorite meal on our trip. The atmosphere was intimate and charming, the tasting menu was incredible, and the staff was welcoming! Will definitely recommend this to friends and family visiting Amsterdam.

  37. James H.
    James H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great little place tucked away in Amsterdam. Really recommend if you want good, high quality food in a nice, friendly atmosphere. One of the best places around for sure.

  38. Martin E.
    Martin E.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    It was a pleasant evening, the food was nice but far from exeptionel. After reading a lot of enthousiatic reviews, I expected a bit more. All courses were served quite fast, for my liking a bit too fast.

  39. Birgit R.
    Birgit R.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Creative and very tasty starter selection. Perfect main course and delicious desert. We love it and will be back. Lekker. Dank u wel!

  40. Mila A.
    Mila A.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were a very big group and they accommodated us even though it was going to make it difficult for them to handle. Sara was very cordial and efficient even with the requirements and loudness of our group. Food was very tasty, good portions and variety for sharing appetizers. They even made exceptions/additions on the menu to consider allergic requirements of three people. I strongly recommend it!