Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

British

Reviews - Bankers

9.4/10
90
116A Western Road, BN1 2AB BrightonSee map

Average price £23

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9.4/10
Excellent90 reviews
9.5/10

Food

9.7/10

Service

8.7/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Excellent value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Jules P.
    Jules P.

    May 13, 20221 review

    9.5/10
  • Tricia W.

    April 21, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Our waitress was fab. The portions were enormous. The service was quick.and the fish.cooked to perfection. Will certainly be visiting again and can highly recommend this no frills restaurant

  • John I.

    April 15, 20221 review

    9/10
  • Lois g.

    April 12, 20221 review

    8.5/10
  • Louise E.

    February 5, 20221 review

    10/10

    Great service. Large portions but absolutely amazing food. Would highly recommend. Nice atmosphere and place to eat inside. Haddock and chips with curry sauce and mushy peas were awesome

  • Maria B.

    November 11, 20211 review

    10/10
  • Janine M.

    November 8, 20211 review

    10/10
  • George T.

    September 13, 20211 review

    10/10

    Highly recommend! From London but will definitely go again when revisiting Brighton.

  • Gerred G.

    September 4, 20211 review

    9.5/10
  • Carol B.

    August 12, 20211 review

    10/10
  • Barry H.

    August 3, 20211 review

    9/10

    Food & service great, the restaurant was a little empty on the day we were there, no doubt down to Covid. Would go again ????????????

  • Nora P.

    July 31, 20211 review

    10/10

    Staff very friendly. Lovely atmosphere. Best of all the fish and chips were the best we had ever had. The batter was to die for. Will definitely be returning.

  • Christopher D.
    Christopher D.

    July 9, 20211 review

    8/10

    Nice traditional fish and chip restaurant. 2 of 3 of the plaice we had were very meaty but one was quite poor. Good service. Reasonable prices. Does takeaway too.

  • Julie H.

    July 4, 20211 review

    10/10

    Our second visit . Food excellent . Staff lovely very friendly and attentive . Will be back . We was earlier than we originally booked but it was quite . The haddock was lovely .

  • Mark T.

    July 1, 20211 review

    10/10

    Great Fish and Chips! REALLY good fish with thin batter. Good chips. Medium Cod for me while Mum had pensioners special which was perfect at 95 years old????

  • Peter w.

    June 30, 20211 review

    10/10

    They went to special efforts to entertain my child . Games to play , a puzzle to put together, crayons to draw , and the special kids menu even came in a pirate ship !

  • Steve d.

    June 19, 20211 review

    9.5/10
  • Philip A.

    June 3, 20211 review

    9.5/10
  • Antonia H.

    May 25, 20211 review

    10/10
  • Corinna T.

    May 21, 20211 review

    9.5/10
  • Barry S.

    December 12, 20201 review

    9.5/10

    First Lass fish and chips! And plenty of it. Hard to fault.

  • Eddie K.

    November 4, 20201 review

    10/10

    Fish (poached cod) and Chips (made from potatoes) in a pleasant venue with competent Servers. Simple fare superbly cooked and well presented.

  • Adam C.

    September 9, 20201 review

    8/10
  • Monica P.

    September 3, 20201 review

    9.5/10
  • John D.

    August 26, 20201 review

    9.5/10
  • Joanne P.

    August 19, 20201 review

    10/10

    Excellent quality fish, generous portions and great value for money. Vegan burger was superb. Really lovely waiting staff and friendly atmosphere. A traditional treat in Brighton not to be missed!

  • Richard M.

    July 18, 20201 review

    9/10

    We received a warm welcome and the service was very good. The starters and mains were very generous. The cod and chips was delicious, crispy batter fluffy fish. It was hot and well presented.

  • Lisa S.

    July 10, 20201 review

    10/10
  • Diana M.

    January 31, 20201 review

    10/10

    Excellenct early evening supper. Friendly staff, delcious fish cakes and gougons.

  • Wendy K.

    January 12, 20201 review

    8.5/10
  • Sarah H.

    December 22, 20191 review

    9.8/10

    Excellent service, they accommodated our particular requirements brilliantly. Food was delicious and plentiful. Nearly all of us had cod and chips with peas which was top notch.

  • Robert M.

    October 25, 20191 review

    9.8/10
  • Paul I.

    August 28, 20191 review

    9.8/10

    Great traditional fish and chip shop, can not fault the service or the quality of food. Would not hesitate to recommend

  • Mike S.

    August 9, 20192 reviews

    10/10

    All excellent.

  • Angela P.

    July 24, 20191 review

    6/10

    Food was nice, but poor on presentation. Had too many chips on the plate, which at some point fell off on to the table. Kids food was presented nicely - again too much chips!!

  • Kerri M.

    July 22, 20191 review

    10/10

    Nice staff and great food Air con would be good!

  • Carole B.

    January 18, 20191 review

    9.3/10

    We always enjoy visiting Bankers. Friendly staff and delicious food with generous portions!

Tripadvisor reviews

696 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership

© 2022 La Fourchette SAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation