Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Indian With friends

Reviews - Basmati Restaurant

9/10
64
Rua Santa Maria 193, 9060-291 FunchalSee map

Average price €12

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9/10
Excellent64 reviews
9.4/10

Food

9.2/10

Service

8.1/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Excellent value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Michele A.
    Michele A.

    September 21, 20224 reviews

    9/10

    Delicious food. Wonderful atmosphere-ate outside and there was plenty of activity around, lovely.

  • Philip S.
    Philip S.

    August 30, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    A really great restaurant in old town of Funchal. The staff were attentive and there was a great choice. The food was one of the best curries I have had. Overall can’t recommend it enough why it wasn’t busy who knows but if you are in Funchal give this a go you won’t regret it.

  • Andrew P.
    Andrew P.

    August 13, 20225 reviews

    9.5/10

    We reserved an outside table for 4 people. Arrived table ready and very polite staff organised a drink for us. Fantastic menu lots of choices from traditional dishes to specials. Had starter for two which was more than enough for two of us. Main meals all excellent tender chicken, great flavours and waiter asked what strength/spice we wanted and matched the dishes perfect. Good portion sizes supported by rice and Nan bred. Overall excellent food and service.

  • Catarina P.
    Catarina P.

    July 12, 20225 reviews

    10/10

    Empregados muito simpáticos, boa comida, é muito bom sítio

  • Carol P.
    Carol P.

    June 17, 20221 review

    10/10

    The food and service were both excellent! The menu had quite a wide selection to choose from and included Nepalese cuisine which is a rare find. The owners were very friendly and personable! We very much enjoyed our meal! Very tasty!

    Basmati Restaurant (Owner)

    Thank you Very much and welcome again soon.

  • Adriana B.
    Adriana B.

    June 10, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Nice food, freshly cooked, spicy enough for me. The atmosphere is a bit dated, new table cloths would be great. The staff is welcoming and friendly.

  • Ros R.
    Ros R.

    June 5, 2022126 reviews

    9.5/10

    Good and very authentic food served by friendly and efficient staff

    Basmati Restaurant (Owner)

    Thank you very much for your nice words. See you soon.

  • Philip H.
    Philip H.

    May 8, 20221 review

    6/10

    The restaurant was nice and clean, the staff were very nice, they got our order wrong but quickly rectified it, the starters were OK without being anything special, the mains were very good but the nan wasn't cooked enough in places so some of it was inedible.

  • Ian H.

    April 3, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Th welcome was excellent we reserved a table and the went to the trouble of writing a personal welcome note, food and service second to none flavours were excellent, I have eaters Indian many times before and this was among the best would definitely eat here again

  • Linda A.

    April 1, 20221 review

    9/10

    This was a real find, memorable thali food made a real treat way better than a normal curry, first class!¡

  • Jacky H.

    March 19, 202210 reviews

    9.5/10

    This really suited us on our first night in Madeira. The staff were welcoming and the food was very good. We will go again. Thank you.

  • Chris W.

    March 1, 20221 review

    7/10

    Good food but dire ambience, bright lights, TV in your eyeline and felt like eating in a warehouse. Easy to put right. With some attention to detail this could be much better.

  • Jesse s.

    February 12, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Wow- simply incredible

  • Helen T.

    January 26, 20222 reviews

    9.5/10

    Although the decor is basic, the food and service was outstanding. It was also excellent value for money. The staff were helpful and attentive and I recommend going if you like a great curry.

  • Stella L.
    Stella L.

    January 9, 20226 reviews

    10/10

    The service was amazing and the food was great! Anytime again!

  • Rakhi S.

    January 5, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Delicious, organic, fresh food. Excellent variety. Welcoming hosts. Make you feel at home. Been here a few times. Consistantly great. Highly recommended.

  • Federica G.
    Federica G.

    December 16, 202114 reviews

    10/10

    AMAZING dinner. High quality of food, fast service and really nice staff. I will come back for sure, thank you very much!

  • Janet H.

    December 10, 20212 reviews

    9/10

    Riktigt god indisk mat. Jag tog en medium stark rätt. Är man inte van med stark mat skulle man kanske tycka att den var mer än mediumstark. Personalen var väldigt trevlig och service-minded.

  • Hollie W.

    August 27, 20211 review

    10/10

    Great food - brilliant veggie selection! We went as a family of six, two adults and four kids; all with a wide range of dietary needs. Kids menu was great and a good few things to choose from; a lot of restaurants in the area do not accommodate children. Smallest child made a mess with rice which they were very understanding of. Great food with a not bad price at all.

  • Leon D.

    January 1, 20211 review

    3.5/10

    We waited nearly two hours for the food. On the toilet was no soap provided. The Price value was way too much for what we got! They brought us the wrong dish and insisted that we ordered it even though we ordered something else.

  • Sue C.
    Sue C.

    September 23, 20204 reviews

    8/10

    Really nice food but the poor girl serving was rushed off her feet. Only one person serving and restaurant was as busy. Anyone visiting Old Town Funchal would have a lovely meal here

  • Stephen h.
    Stephen h.

    September 23, 20201 review

    9.5/10

    Food was excellent very friendly service went twice on are holiday wood definitely recommend ????

  • Wina F.
    Wina F.

    July 31, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    Good menu with a variety of choices. Very tasty food, priced well. Quiet, pleasant and very clean restaurant. Extremely nice staff - friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The owner forgot to bill me for an item and when I pointed it out to him, he shrugged it off with a smile. Bless him! This kind of generosity is not very common in the restaurant business. I used ‘The Fork’ app and got a discount of 30% on my overall bill. The discount is only valid for ala carte orders. An experience to repeat!

    Basmati Restaurant (Owner)

    Thank you very much for your review, we are pleased to welcome you again Madam. Thank you again.

  • Augusto C.
    Augusto C.

    July 29, 20203 reviews

    10/10

    Great meal!

    Basmati Restaurant (Owner)

    Thank you very much Sir Welcome again.

  • Audrey N.
    Audrey N.

    July 28, 20206 reviews

    9.5/10

    This place is like no others in the region. Staff is really kind and is not pushing to sell you anything. If you are looking for a different taste experience: Food is excellent, authentic and healthy !

    Basmati Restaurant (Owner)

    Thank you very much for your real review. We try to do business with social responsibility too. Time is difficult for all, so try to cooperate each other. See you soon.

  • Patrícia F.
    Patrícia F.

    July 14, 202055 reviews

    9/10

    Really good food and staff :) the products were fresh and delicious!

    Basmati Restaurant (Owner)

    Thank you very much Mam. Welcome you again.

Tripadvisor reviews

93 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation