Register my restaurant
Help


INSIDERMediterranean Terrace

Reviews - BastiJan

9.5/10
535
Lange Veerstraat 8, 2011 DB Haarlem
Mediterranean
Average price €35

BastiJan

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.5/10
Excellent535 reviews
9.5/10

Food

9.7/10

Service

9.4/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Excellent value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Henry S.5 reviews

    June 8, 2024

    10/10

    Splendid spot , if you book in advance ask for table 2 ( only 4 people), excellent service from the staff, and the menu is superb.( Good wine selection as well)

  • Andrea Z.1 review

    May 19, 2024

    10/10

    Amazing- a perfect evining!

  • Scott S.1 review

    April 26, 2024

    10/10

    An amazing find. Very busy as we were visiting during the Kings Day celebrations, but the service and food were excellent. The best we've had in Haarlem.

  • Carl R.7 reviews

    February 22, 2024

    10/10

    Excellent food and service in a Haarlem stalwart. The best place to eat in Haarlem (and beyond!).

  • Caroline R.

    Caroline R.1 review

    November 3, 2023

    10/10

    This restaurant was great. Service was really good, and the staff was very friendly. The food was very tasty and with great portions! We went for the Chateaubriand meat which was amazing, and the sauce was delicious. Would recommend for a nice dinner in a nice and calm atmosphere.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Syreeta S.2 reviews

    September 17, 2023

    9.5/10

    Delicious food and great service

  • Robert L.1 review

    June 3, 2023

    10/10

    We arrived early, before the restaurant opened. We were welcomed and offered bread and olives outside. The sea bass was excellent and it was a very pleasant evening. All staff was helpful and engaging.

  • Natalia D23 reviews

    May 4, 2023

    10/10

    I was lucky to make a reservation namely in this small cosy restaurant in the heart of Haarlem. Amazing meals virtuously cooked by the chef who works here for 35 years (!), great variety of drinks and friendly atmosphere made my first evening in this lovely city unforgettable. Thank you!!

  • Mark K.1 review

    April 13, 2023

    10/10

    Our first time at BastiJan and we have already booked to return there in a few days. Amazing food and service! A lovely little restaurant in the heart of Haarlem

  • Jan v.1 review

    April 8, 2023

    10/10

    Great food as always! And wonderful service. Very attentive. Always great to get a detailed explanation of the food served. We will be back again soon!

  • Jenny K.1 review

    March 5, 2023

    10/10

    We were visiting from America and only had a couple of hours in Haarlem. We made a last-minute booking for 5:30 pm. Our server kind of ran the whole show.. He was amazingly attentive and helpful in choosing dishes. The food was absolutely delightful; every course was a home run. We will absolutely be back on our next visit to the Netherlands.

  • Carl R.7 reviews

    February 12, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent restaurant. Great service, delicious food in a truly delightful atmosphere. I can't wait go back to what I suspect is one of the best restaurants in Haarlem.

  • Jennifer C.2 reviews

    December 2, 2022

    10/10

    Fabulous little restaurant, wonderful food, great atmosphere and amazing service. Cannot recommend highly enough! Very friendly, helpful staff and chef was amazing too!

  • Gina B.6 reviews

    September 24, 2022

    10/10

    My new favourite restaurant in Haarlem. The food was delicious and the serby

  • Sharon Victoria A.3 reviews

    September 11, 2022

    10/10

    Had a wonderful experience at this quaint restaurant in Haarlem. Food was delicious and service was excellent!!!

  • JoAnn C.1 review

    August 7, 2022

    10/10

    Tonight was our second night to eat here and again we were not disappointed. The food was amazing, the service attentive and the crowd watching really fun. We met a couple of locals who were engaging and wonderful conversationists. Weather was gorgeous so a perfect “ten” night.

  • Leanne C.1 review

    July 23, 2022

    10/10

    I really enjoyed my experience at BastiJan. The food was excellent, the staff were friendly and attentive and everyone made me feel welcome here during my visit. I had the marinated tuna to start followed by the sea bass for main. Both courses were excellent quality and really tasty. For dessert I had an excellent Irish coffee. First class experience all round ????????

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Lee Q.

    Lee Q.10 reviews

    October 1, 2021

    10/10

    Great food, great service and cozy atmosphere

  • Luke A.2 reviews

    August 26, 2021

    10/10

    Great food and friendly service. The perfect restaurant for a date night. BastiJan is a proper old school dinning experience that doesn’t take itself too seriously.

  • - -1 review

    September 24, 2020

    10/10

    The food was presented beautifully and all dishes were delicious! The staff were very friendly and attentive throughout the evening :) The restaurant is cozy and has a lovely atmosphere. A perfect night out with a loved one or dinner for four persons. We would definitely recommend and return to Bastijan!

  • - -1 review

    January 12, 2020

    10/10

    The staff were very welcoming and very helpful and friendly. The food was excellent and really good value. There was a good feeling to the whole experience complimented by the Art Nouveau decor. A must visit place in Haarlem.

  • Peter L.19 reviews

    October 10, 2019

    10/10

    Small restaurant which has been open over 37 years. My wife and I shared a starter which consisted of 4 small starters each one was different and all of them were really tasty. We both had wild boar stew for our main course and we both agreed that it was one of the best stews we had eaten!

  • P S.3 reviews

    June 8, 2019

    10/10

    BastiJan’s is one of my favourite restaurants in Haarlem. Great food with friendly and efficient service. I would recommend taking the daily Chefs menu. It’s great value at 34.50 euro.

  • Thomas S.9 reviews

    February 17, 2019

    9/10

    Good, good, good. Noteingewiesen more to say about. ????????

  • - -1 review

    February 1, 2019

    9.5/10

    A place to come back to. Good food, good wine and nice waiters !!

  • Bonne A.6 reviews

    December 9, 2018

    9/10

    Nice food, really good ambiancd and great ambiance.

  • P S.3 reviews

    October 19, 2018

    10/10

    We had a great night at BastiJans as usual!!

  • - -1 review

    August 29, 2018

    8.5/10

    Nice little restaurant in the food street of old Haarlem. Waitress very attentive. Food was excellent. The chef served a limoncello on the house as digestif. As only my husband took the four course surprise menu we got the soup of the day as interim for free. Very recommendable.

  • Kate P.

    Kate P.1 review

    August 3, 2018

    10/10

    Amazing service Thanks

  • - -1 review

    November 30, 2017

    10/10

    Warm welcome. waitress knowledgeable about both wine and dishes on the menu. Good variety of dishes, well prepared. I will recommend BasiJan to friends and colleagues.

  • - -1 review

    July 27, 2017

    10/10

    Now over 10 Years the same good quality.

  • - -1 review

    May 28, 2017

    10/10

    We ate only a selection of starters. They were all delicious and imaginative. My favorite was the duck, followed closely by the goat cheese salad. We ate outside, and the only issue was that there was a tilt to the side walk so I sat high and he sat low; not the restaurant's fault.

  • - -1 review

    March 17, 2016

    9.5/10

    Excellent service. I am allergic to garlic and even though I had a surprise 4-course I had no garlic at all in my food. Very pleasant atmosphere and the we enjoyed every course to the fullest. We surely go again if we happen to be in Haarlem.

  • Johan B.49 reviews

    July 24, 2015

    8.5/10

    I had dinner here with a Hungarian friend, and he described the food as excellent. The food was very good indeed and we both had the 4 course surprise menu. Our favourite was a succulent duck breast. We also had the accompanying wines, so we ended up drinking 5 different wines. The next morning I realised my mistake, although we drank water with our dinner. I should have opted for fewer wines, or leave the PX for another day. Very recommendable at affordable prices.

Tripadvisor reviews

285 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.