Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

British Restaurant hotel

Reviews - BEEFY'S by Lord Botham at Hilton at the Ageas Bowl

8/10
148
Hilton at The Ageas Bowl, SO30 3XH SouthamptonSee map

Average price £25

Afternoon Tea - £18.50 per person £18.5

Reservation

Find a table

MENU

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Already 55 bookings today 🔥

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Already 55 bookings today 🔥
Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

8/10
Very good148 reviews
8.1/10

Food

8.2/10

Service

7.6/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Fair value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Ray C.
    Ray C.

    October 4, 20222 reviews

    7.5/10

    Unfortunately our original order did not get processed and we had to wait 20 minutes before anyone noticed. Following that, the senior staff dealt with matters very well and we left much happier

  • Sylvia M.
    Sylvia M.

    October 1, 20222 reviews

    9.5/10

    We had a room booked and noticed there was a restaurant on sight and decided to book. So glad we did as the food was excellent and every staff member we came into contact with was very pleasant. If I was to stay at the Hilton again I would not hesitate to book the restaurant again

  • Sara W.
    Sara W.

    September 29, 20222 reviews

    7/10

    Disappointed with chips with meal of fish as felt these were frozen, and for price expected fresh ones. Quite bland tasting too. Hummus and flat break was delicious.

  • Tanya P.
    Tanya P.

    September 26, 20221 review

    7/10

    Afternoon Tea was very nice, as were the staff. However it was difficult to find any staff when we needed them. Also the scones and jam left us all with sticky hands and we could have desperately done with some wet wipes. We weren't even offered any water, so we couldn't even dip our sticky fingers in a glass of water

  • Alison D.
    Alison D.

    September 25, 20221 review

    3.5/10

    Had been several times before this visit food excellent. This visit was terrible. Food not good too many staff hanging around. We were not offered a dessert and we’re made to feel unwelcome.

  • Graham P.
    Graham P.

    September 23, 20221 review

    10/10

    Lovely setting, pleasant and helpful waiting staff, prompt service all good. We were on a cruise and park package, first visit, but would repeat in future.

  • Samantha S.
    Samantha S.

    September 22, 20221 review

    8.5/10

    Excellent service, lovely setting and good food. Could have done with a bit more with the chicken and spices main - rice or couscous to make it more substantial as it was just chicken and carrots! The baked Alaska was epic!

  • Mike P.
    Mike P.

    September 20, 20221 review

    6.5/10

    Good was really nice very disappointed with service - left waiting for several Minutes before been shown to already booked table no roll with soup and then it arrived with no butter Had to ask twice for table water which we initially ordered with drinks and empty plates left and not collected for 15 mins after main course

  • Michael B.
    Michael B.

    September 20, 20223 reviews

    8.5/10

    I had the blade of beef served with mashed potatoes and tenderstream broccoli with a side of seasonal vegetables. The beef was extremely tender and fully of flavour. The mash and broccoli were excellent. The seasonal vegetables were a little underdone for my taste.

  • Charlotte F.
    Charlotte F.

    September 18, 20221 review

    6.5/10

    When we arrived I said I had a reservation for afternoon tea and gave my name. The lady greeting us checked the computer looked confused and then said she'd be back. She came back a short while later and led us to a table for 2 at which point I had to remind her that the reservation was for 4 people. She led us to another table and I was slightly surprised to finally a jug of milk already sat out on the table. 3 of us ordered lattes which unfortunately were practically cold . The 2nd lot (which I'd asked to be hotter) came at a slightly warmer temperature. Some of the bread was dry and the smoked salmon was tough. I appreciate the relatively low price of the afternoon tea but you still expect the food to be fresh and coffee hot. Perhaps its because we went on a Sunday so got the end of the weeks supplies. Having said that some.of the food was nice (the still slightly warm scones and the little lemon meringue cases), the staff were friendly and polite and the settings itself lovely.

  • Julie B.
    Julie B.

    September 17, 20221 review

    10/10

    Fab experience all round. Great food and service all for a reasonable price. Great veiw of the cricket ground. Will definitely go again.

  • Gordon S.
    Gordon S.

    September 11, 20221 review

    2/10

    Absolutely terrible! Careless presentation at Beefies. Poorly trained, clueless staff and management. Inadequate supervision and no decorum. We had to walk out from afternoon tea due due to very rowdy £££ wedding receception in the same space. Need to raise standards. We were offered to sit outside, behind the cricket sight screens and general detritus, of which there was plenty. Never had such an appalling experience visiting any Hotel! Gordon Shackell 11.09.2022

  • Paul S.
    Paul S.

    September 11, 20221 review

    5.5/10

    Great staff…… disappointing menu ….. no Sunday roast. Very loud ( strange) wedding party in bar….. felt sorry for the staff . The staff kept apologising but there was little they could do with such intimidation from wedding party

  • Kelly L.
    Kelly L.

    September 10, 20221 review

    8.5/10

    Quality of food very good. The staff were very busy, drinks took forever to arrive.

  • Steve L.
    Steve L.

    August 30, 20221 review

    9/10

    The steaks that we had were absolutely delicious and we will definitely return on our next visit to the Ageas Bowl. The wine lust was also good value especially when you consider the venue.

  • Chris W.
    Chris W.

    August 30, 20221 review

    8/10

    Wasn't sure if the restaurant was open to access from inside the ground. Doors were closed and had to knock on a door to have it opened from inside. Notices on the doors said media & hotel guests only. Disappointing as I had a booking!! Gained entry eventually and had a very good meal.

  • Duncan P.
    Duncan P.

    August 24, 20221 review

    4/10

    Mixed olives: a lot of black olives, and three not-quite-black olives. Tomato and mozzarella salad: tomatoes too cold to taste, and three very small mozzarella balls. I’ve never had to play hunt-the-mozzarella in a tomato and mozzarella salad before. Jerk chicken: chicken not cooked, sauce not cooked. Sent the chicken back, just ate the fries. Plus points? The waiting staff were efficient and polite, apologised for the inedible chicken and removed it from the bill without us having to ask. The most disappointing meal we’ve had anywhere in the last five years.

  • Roger A.
    Roger A.

    August 21, 20221 review

    5.5/10

    I prefer more simple dishes at more realistic prices. The location was chosen in order to use a gift card but a return visit will not happen. The staff on duty struggled with the computer which said "No" when it came to paying the small balance above the value of the gift card. Payment by card was not possible while the system was frozen. Cash was offered but no change was possible - all after a 30 minute wait with no explanation given regarding the problem! The Lord/Sir Ian would not have been impressed!

  • Joanne R.
    Joanne R.

    August 19, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Great atmosphere, our waitress gave us great service and was tentative. The food was really good. Great espresso martinis. Would highly recommend

  • Tina N.
    Tina N.

    August 15, 20221 review

    9/10

    Highly recommend - Dinner was excellent and the staff and service was too! Attentive and very friendly, the team made our evening very enjoyable and we wouldn’t hesitate to return.

  • Nick B.
    Nick B.

    August 14, 20221 review

    3/10

    40 minutes to get starter, had to get own drink, awful menu. Used to be good but well past sell by date. Diabolical will not visit ever again Does not merit being associated with Hilton

  • Anne L.
    Anne L.

    August 14, 20221 review

    10/10

    Very good breakfast staff very friendly and helpful

  • Richard E.
    Richard E.

    August 13, 20221 review

    4.5/10

    The service was very hap hazard. The staff milled about rather than looking like anything was done with purpose. I sent back a main as it was very salty, it was replaced with a main that was totally tasteless. The attention to detail one would expect in a restaurant inside Hilton was missing.

  • David H.
    David H.

    August 9, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Had a very nice meal - chose ribeye steak that was cooked perfectly. The service was very good too - attentive but not overbearing - Had a very nice glass of red wine to accompany my steak just -- right !!

  • David S.
    David S.

    August 7, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Presentation of food was sensational... Pity the sight screens could have been moved so we could view the stadium as there was no cricket for 3 days...

  • Victoria L.
    Victoria L.

    August 4, 20221 review

    4.5/10

    The food was poor. Filet steak was tough and was more like stewing steak. Chips were standard and cress was wilted. The peppercorn sauce was salty. The ambience was poor and furniture good be nicer. To charge £35 for one steak unbelievable as quality not good! However we did get a refund and staff were amazing and helpful and got it sorted. Needs better food and revamp of restaurant to draw people to the Hilton and Ageas Bowl. Sorry!

  • Dawn S.
    Dawn S.

    August 3, 20221 review

    9/10

    Brilliant place if you love cricket, good tasty food & delicious cocktails all served by friendly & efficient staff. Might even spot a cricketer!

  • Annette N.
    Annette N.

    July 29, 20221 review

    10/10

    Fantastic, professional, friendly staff and a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Food was great, blade of beef and jerk marinated chicken, the marinade had real heat which was great.

  • John M.
    John M.

    July 16, 20221 review

    6.5/10

    The main course was delicious, but the dessert really let the meal down. The staff were nice, but everything seemed to take ages, we stood around 5 minutes before we were seated (the restaurant was practically empty), our drinks took a long time, and we didn’t seem to have just one waiter/waitress.

  • Anne W.
    Anne W.

    July 5, 20221 review

    10/10

    Excellent experience.Good service very Friendly and helpful.Good value for money

  • Paul P.
    Paul P.

    June 25, 20221 review

    10/10

    The service was friendly and helpful. The members of staff took the time to make conversation and make us feel welcome. The food was excellent and good value. We tried the vegan burger and as a non vegan I was genuinely surprised at how good it was. A good evening in a lovely location

  • Gillian G.
    Gillian G.

    June 22, 20221 review

    10/10

    Afteroon tea for 3 for a special birthday. We had a lovely time with great ambiance, exceptional food and very professional staff. The food was the best I've had as an afternoon tea compared to some very ordinary ones I've had. Many thanks to all the staff. Would definitely recommend Beefy's.

  • Vanessa R.
    Vanessa R.

    June 18, 20221 review

    6/10

    Food didn’t come out all together which was the first thing that was disappointing. Service was very slow. Ordered 2 teas and 1 coffee. Came to the table one at a time. Then charged us 10% service charge on our bill which we paid before realising. Not good enough service to warrant that. Won’t be returning.

  • Alice W.
    Alice W.

    May 24, 20221 review

    5.5/10

    *service better at beefeater* After a slow start to our meal at which we had a voucher for, we were provided with non branded glasses of £6 average lager. Our starter was warm bread; we assume that the purpose of this was to bring some life back into the white bread used for the buffet breakfast at the hotel. Our mains arrived rather tardy and there was a 50/50 split on the table as to who enjoyed their meal. Worth nothing that the burger should be avoided if you have dentures, bridges or crowns. We declined the desert menu and waited a further 15 minutes for the bill which included a service charge of £12 for the 5/10 service we received. Can’t wait to try Lambys.

  • Nikki P.
    Nikki P.

    May 5, 20221 review

    6.5/10

    Food was lovely but the Thai green curry was described as not spicy which it was. Some of the service was not great, not at any point were we asked how our food was or asked if we needed anymore drinks we had to wave down a waiter to do this. Also when paying the waitress didn’t speak just looked and gave a receipt there was no talk at all. The meal runner with curly hair was lovely he made sure we had everything with our meals.

  • Gail E.

    May 1, 20221 review

    4/10

    The experience was disappointing overall. The food was very average, the service was mixed and the price was high and did not represent what we had. It was my husband’s birthday so very disappointed

  • Mark E.

    April 15, 20221 review

    10/10

    Have dined here before, was looking forward to it again and wasn't disappointed fabulous mains food for all 4 in our party and delicious Desserts and cheeses to finish, with friendly attentive service to cap it off. Well done restaurant team.

  • Wayne S.

    February 26, 20221 review

    5/10

    Food quality was poor, staff very friendly.

  • Jackie S.
    Jackie S.

    February 14, 20221 review

    10/10

    Excellent meal and service. Lovely atmosphere. We would certainly recommend.

  • Anna G.

    February 14, 20221 review

    8.5/10

    We chose this restaurant because it had three good vegetarian options. We ordered the vegan cottage pie but were told that it was not available as the chef was not going to make it until later in the afternoon which was disappointing. We had pizza instead which was very nice. Staff were attentive.

Tripadvisor reviews

427 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation