Back

Reviews Black Salt

  1. Meryl B.
    Meryl B.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely recommend! Food was fabulous and staff attentive. Plant based choices were tasty and well presented. Definitely a Mother’s Day to remember.

  2. Ben A.
    Ben A.
    • 2 reviews
    8.25/10

    Steak was slightly over cooked but otherwise food was nice. Probably not quite as flavoursome as expected but still nice.

  3. Jo S.
    Jo S.
    • 2 reviews
    7.75/10

    Food was really nice the only problem I found the lighting in the restaurant a little dark

  4. Michael O.
    Michael O.
    • one review
    6.75/10

    An enjoyable evening, with good food and friendly service.

  5. Fiona B.
    Fiona B.
    • one review
    10/10

    thoroughly enjoyed everything

  6. Andrew P.
    Andrew P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Another top quality steak

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    7.5/10

    Friendly staff. Lovely and warm with the fire even thought it is the end of November. Food was delicious.

  8. Rachel K.
    Rachel K.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Service was fantastic, view was nice and food was lovely. FOH & BOH staff were really happy to accomodate me with a food allergy which was much appreciated and even though they were under the pump with a large tourist group - they handled everything well :)

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    8.25/10

    Excellent food at a reasonable price

  10. Nat G.
    Nat G.
    • 2 reviews
    8.25/10

    Lovely meal and service.

  11. Barry W.
    Barry W.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good wine list but prices too high! Noisy inside but dining in annexe was very good Service staff were excellent as was food quality.

  12. Vicki H.
    Vicki H.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    Service is always great. Food is divine. Calamari (gluten free) light and melted in mouth. Main was just enough (though would have liked a bernaise sauce or pepper with my steak), and oh! the smashed pavlova with grapefruit curd - I was in heaven. Food complemented with a beautiful day and seating in alfresco area with view of Geelong bay made this a lovely experience all round. Go and enjoy the experience for yourself

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    7.5/10

    A lovely night out.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    3.5/10

    The food was very disappointing - we have been before and it’s been lovely. Hopefully it was just a bad night in the kitchen - we all have those kind of days

  15. Anne E.
    Anne E.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    It was a lovely restaurant to meet people and staff was very friendly

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    8.75/10

    Black Salt is our go-to restaurant when we want a beautiful meal with a good view and great service. The focus is on local produce and attention to detail.

  17. GARRY G.
    GARRY G.
    • one review
    10/10

    I would recommend on my experiences in other restaurants that I dined in during my travels

  18. Sophie M.
    Sophie M.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    Good service and good portion sizes.

  19. Dino M.
    Dino M.
    • 2 reviews
    7.25/10

    Lovely family birthday dinner.

  20. Fiona B.
    Fiona B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely food which met our expectations

  21. ELISA S.
    ELISA S.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    nice food and good service.

  22. Rachel C.
    Rachel C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Overall, great food and great service. A great choice of restaurant for dinner.

  23. Alan M.
    Alan M.
    • 10 reviews
    8.5/10

    Varied and interesting menu

  24. Vera K.
    Vera K.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    First time at black salt absolute great meal would go again

  25. Dennis C.
    Dennis C.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    Nice place but food overpriced and limited

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    7/10

    Our cutlery wasn’t replaced after our entree so when our mains arrived we had nothing to eat with. Finally got our waiters attention who passed the blame to a young manner of staff. Disappointed by the attitude

  27. Barry W.
    Barry W.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    We appreciated the excellent and friendly service with a high quality and good value menu. Great views over Corio Bay for visitors to Geelong.

  28. Catherine S.
    Catherine S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Service exceptional. Food amazing. Kids made to feel just as important as the adults. Look forward to going again.

  29. John M.
    John M.
    • 2 reviews
    7.25/10

    Good food and attentive staff but atmosphere spoiled by large bus group. Check before booking if large group is dining as it is not possible to escape the noise.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    6.75/10

    Great steak! Serice a little lacking but gios to see young people having a go, need to change menu up a little (been here before) offer bit more choice (food & wine) but overall an enjoyable dinner thank you!

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    5.25/10

    Good less tasty and interesting than prior years

  32. Trent E.
    Trent E.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was great. We loved it and will definitely be going back

  33. Paul C.
    Paul C.
    • one review
    6.25/10

    No ice bucket for wine was disappointing. Kept it in a fridge but never returned to see how we were. Had to go and ask for it. Meal already finished.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 292 reviews
    6.5/10

    I arrived early with only one table of 2 having arrived before me, I don't know if they had eaten yet or not, however my food still took over 45 minutes to arrive. I had the posh chips which were nice and crisp, a little expensive for $9. The mains prices are far too high considering it is for the protein only and you need to order sides on-top. My meat did come with some lonely salad leaves however they were slimy (possibly old) so I did not even touch them. Overall for $50 for some steak/chicken or fish then having to order the side on-top its FAR too much.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 292 reviews
    7.5/10

    Lovely meal, good service, an enjoyable night out.

  36. Virginia R.
    Virginia R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great food, great service ...we will be back !

  37. Stacey G.
    Stacey G.
    • one review
    6.25/10

    We had Fathers day buffet breakfast and really enjoyed it. Food was lovely and they catered well. Lovely service and very affordable. Thank you

  38. Kerry-Ann B.
    Kerry-Ann B.
    • 2 reviews
    3.25/10

    Some of mains were unavailable and the substitution which we had was poor. My friend ate all hers but mine was overcooked on the base and the crackling was like rubber and inedible. My other friend had stroganoff and the meat was either overcooked and tough or ok and the paprika hat not been cooked out.. all in all very disappointed especially as the prices were well and truly on the high side.

  39. Brooke C.
    Brooke C.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Everything was great but it was very over priced.

  40. Dave G.
    Dave G.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    It looked like they were after profit before customer satisfaction. Not enough staff and too many people packed in. It was very loud because of the crowd, and we had to line up for food. The food was ok but the atmosphere wasn't there because we were packed in like sardines.