Back

Reviews Bonsai

8.8/10

Fabulous

based on 568 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Pascal M.
    Pascal M.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Not the same sushi as one year before where went twice. The interior itself needs a refresh. Still the old walls and decoration with dust on it. Looks like the interior falls apart.

  2. Rebeca G.
    Rebeca G.
    • one review
    9/10

    I lived in Japan for 2 years and this is was the best Japanese food I've ever had outside of Japan! The set meal was amazing and really good for its price. My only complaint is the lack of vegetarian options outside of sushi, specially in the lunch menu.

  3. Mia G.
    Mia G.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very authentic!

  4. João C.
    João C.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Muito bom sushi tradicional

  5. SARA M.
    SARA M.
    • 8 reviews
    5.5/10

    The toro was ok. Unagi really good, but the uni dish was so bad I thought it was off. Lucky I didn’t feel sick afterwards but between this, and the place which was freezing, I’m likely not coming back.

  6. Tineke K.
    Tineke K.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Echt authentiek Japans...................... Echt authentiek Japans

  7. Anabelle D.
    Anabelle D.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was absolutely good. The service was great and the chef had a special attention for us at the end of the meal with one of the best sushi I’ve ever eat. Japanese culture and food is part of my culture and family. This restaurant respect it and his traditions. It’s the only Japanese restaurant that I will recommend in Portugal. You can feel that they take the time to choose there products and that they know (especially the chef) what they are doing. My respect.

  8. Hugo O.
    Hugo O.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Ambiente sossegado

  9. Jeremy L.
    Jeremy L.
    • 51 reviews
    8/10

    Reasonably priced lunch menu, good quality sashimi. Portion is small though.

  10. Mish A.
    Mish A.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Authentic Japanese! With great service, casual enough for everyday dinner and good for groups.

  11. Jenni A.
    Jenni A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The server was helpful and the food was delicious! Would definitely come back. My 9-year-old son ordered 3 tuna rolls. Would recommend getting the pork belly for sure.

  12. Megan G.
    Megan G.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Kind of a dive but the food was good! If you like sushi, this place is for you, but don’t expect an amazing atmosphere

  13. Caterina M.
    Caterina M.
    • one review
    10/10

    One of the best Japanese restaurant (and sushi) that I’ve been to in Europe.

  14. Jack m.
    Jack m.
    • one review
    8/10

    Having lived in Tokyo I am fairly picky about Japanese food outside of Japan. While not totally authentic, the food at Bonsai was very good. The service was somewhat lacking but overall it was a pleasant experience.

  15. Barbara S.
    Barbara S.
    • 21 reviews
    10/10

    Always a pleasure to come back. The food is good the servants are really knowledgeable. I have no ill thing to say.

  16. Akiko O.
    Akiko O.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    I’m Japanese and Bonsai is a real Japanese restaurant. We ordered Sushi, Yakitori, Tempura, some daily small dishes and Desserts. Everything was so yummy! Totally recommended!

    Bonsai

    Thank you for your feedback. We where very happy to read it!

  17. Susana V.
    Susana V.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Everything is super fresh, Bonsai never disappoints me!

    Bonsai

    Obrigado pela sua avaliação. Ficámos muito contente por a ler. Esperamos que volte em breve!

  18. Sara P.
    Sara P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Pescado buenísimo. Sushi excelente. Camareros muy amables. Muy recomendable. El postre sweet potato es espectacular!

  19. Lucia w.
    Lucia w.
    • 41 reviews
    10/10

    Really great food but a shame that ramen is no longer offered after winter

  20. Micael L.
    Micael L.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Super friendly restaurant with high quality food. Today was Ramen day, the best I've had in Portugal by far. Nothing comes close. Worth a visit!

  21. Natalia M.
    Natalia M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    One of the best japanese restaurants in Lisbon!

  22. Larry w.
    Larry w.
    • one review
    9/10

    The waitstaff could not have been nicer or more personable

  23. Eduardo F.
    Eduardo F.
    • one review
    8/10

    The food good . The place needs an upgrade .

  24. Tiago C.
    Tiago C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Pros: The food was good, and the staff very friendly. I would recommend it to a friend. Cons: A little bit pricey for the type of food. Not really a con, but a suggestion to have pictures for each dish (some dishes I had to google).

  25. Daniela P.
    Daniela P.
    • 13 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good quality fish and solid japonese cuisine in a menu with some very interesting items, particularly in the apetizer specials of the day (e.g. chestnut and Jerusalém artichoke tempura, mackerel roll). The deserts were excellent, particularly the green tea tiramisu. Service was very good and the decor and atmosphere very japonese oriented and quite cosy, although a bit rundown. Slightly overexpensive, probably due to its location.

  26. Kasra M.
    Kasra M.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Decent food. Service slow to quite slow.

  27. Maria T.
    Maria T.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    A very special place. We waited maybe too long (almost 1 hour) for a simple dish, but it was definitely worth it! Would like to eat there again! Staff also very kind and helpful. Dishes and drinks best quality you can get.

  28. Joana G.
    Joana G.
    • 27 reviews
    9/10

    O menu de almoço no bonsai raramente desilude. A entrada de sushi ou sashimi é sempre fantástica e o peixe fresco super fresco.

  29. Vanessa L.
    Vanessa L.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Authentic and delicious! Service very friendly.

  30. Joao T.
    Joao T.
    • 14 reviews
    9.5/10

    Amazing Restaurant and Service :) Food was delicious. The restaurant it self could use some upkeep but nothing to serious.

  31. Tetsuya F.
    Tetsuya F.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    SUSHI was good, but after order the Sushi and other plate we waiting long time.

  32. Micael L.
    Micael L.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Everything was great that we tried on the menu. If I had to choose I'd say the cold ramen won the night, closely followed by the tuna belly. It's by far the best Japanese I've had in Portugal.

  33. James H.
    James H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Adoro muito!!

  34. Sunniva V.
    Sunniva V.
    • 3 reviews
    5/10

    Good starters, poor main courses. Service was good.

  35. Raquel N.
    Raquel N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Best Japanese in Lisbon. The only place that truly represents Japanese cuisine in the city! It is a trow back to our trip to Japan!

  36. André C.
    André C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Best Sushi experience in Lisbon. Premium quality fish, good variety. Awesome Staff. AAA+

  37. Noah T.
    Noah T.
    • 8 reviews
    3.5/10

    The food was mediocre at best. We were seated at 12:50pm and we didnt get our food (2 orders of Sashimi) until 1:40pm. No apology, no excuse me, no nothing. The (what appeared to be) owner came up to me at 1:30pm saying our food would be ready in 3 minutes after she saw me looking at everyone around us (most who had come 10-15minutes after we had sat down), visibly upset as I was starving!

  38. Vanessa P.
    Vanessa P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Favorite Japanese restaurant in Lisbon, been going there for 20 years on special occasions and the quality is always excellent

  39. Ricardo C.
    Ricardo C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Muito bom comidas

  40. Leonid L.
    Leonid L.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    The fish is excellent. Sashimi are very good. one of the best. Tuna tartar is best I had had for a long time.