Register my restaurant
Help


British

Reviews - Browns Brasserie & Bar - Manchester

9/10
119
1 York Street, M2 2AW Manchester
British
Average price £30

Browns Brasserie & Bar - Manchester

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9/10
Excellent119 reviews
8.9/10

Food

9.3/10

Service

9.1/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • teresa i.3 reviews

    June 3, 2024

    9/10

    Food was great, beautiful restaurant and we had a lovely waiter called Charlie.

  • Karen F.1 review

    March 20, 2024

    10/10

    really nice ambience and attentive staff.

  • Thomas K.1 review

    March 2, 2024

    10/10

    The service from walking in to walking out was excellent and the food was excellent

  • Emily H.1 review

    March 1, 2024

    9.5/10

    The restaurant was amazing!! food was so tasty and staff were so polite and friendly

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Mary H.2 reviews

    February 19, 2024

    8/10

    Nice building, but in need of a clean up (windows) and a face lift (windows and front door). Furniture was comfortable. Good food, friendly service.

  • Robert B.12 reviews

    February 7, 2024

    9/10

    Browns is a top quality restaurant in a perfect location in Manchester city centre. An excellent choice of starters, main courses, specials and desserts to suit every taste. Priced at the higher end of the scale but good value for money.

  • Lisa P.1 review

    December 9, 2023

    8/10

    We won’t be booking through the fork again as we weren’t actually booked in despite receiving confirmation. We weren’t the only ones either! We were kept waiting while they tried to find a table during very busy time. Eventually they sorted us out, but it wasn’t a great experience. The food was delicious and our server Charlie was amazing!

  • Harvinder D.2 reviews

    September 20, 2023

    10/10

    Superb decor, delicious food and fabulous service - what more can you ask for?!

  • Jon H.1 review

    July 8, 2023

    10/10

    Superb ambience and service. Food was sensational

  • Martin B.1 review

    June 10, 2023

    10/10

    Browns was excellent, good quality food at a reasonable price. Great Service in a beautifully ornate building. This was a pre-concert meal and was well worth the short walk from Victoria Station.

  • Seyi A.1 review

    May 12, 2023

    9/10

    Beautiful decor! Lovely staff. Ordered beef burger and chips. Burger could have been more tender but was reasonably cooked. I wasn’t too keen on the sauce inside the burger… maybe mustard I’m not sure. Lovely experience overall.

  • Paul H.3 reviews

    May 12, 2023

    10/10

    We love Browns, we're always welcomed with a smile and asking how we are. The service is amazing too. See you soon!!

  • Jordan S.1 review

    March 31, 2023

    6/10

    Expensive for what it is… they have crammed the most tables into this place as possible. It was extremely loud and uncomfortable to be so packed into a small area. Seemed to be more profit driven than customer satisfaction. Sadly. Also the staff could not be more polite. I won’t be returning

  • Paul H.3 reviews

    March 3, 2023

    8/10

    Our first visit but it won't be our last. The food was good but the fishcakes should have been served with fries or potatoes. Serving them with only salad is not sufficient or value for money. Isabella was excellent as were all the staff. The person who greeted us at the door was rather subdued towards our arrival and did not create the ideal first impression. I do not want to overplay this and no one should be reprimanded but a smile sends a powerful message.

  • WILLIAM C.20 reviews

    February 8, 2023

    8.5/10

    Back again. Third time in three months, so they must be getting something right. Starts off with an interesting building. A bit cavernous at lunchtime but will seem quite airy in the summer. Food and service good without being pretentious. I would like a selection of real ale but wine and cocktails are great.

  • wayne e.

    wayne e.1 review

    January 29, 2023

    6.5/10

    The staff and table service was very good. It took a little while to get our drinks, however the waiter did apologise for the delay. The biggest issue was the food as one of the mains (Sunday Roast) was not hot and looked like it had been left out a while. There was also an issue with the dessert as part of it was missing but the waiter sorted out the issue quickly. For the price you pay for the meals it left us feeling a little flat and underwhelmed.

  • Jill W.1 review

    December 16, 2022

    9.5/10

    The restaurants beautiful and ambience excellent-staff were lovely too only complaint we had was we booked this two months ago with the fork for a three coursed festive meal for £18.99 when we got there the set menu wasnt available and no festive dinner!! Huge disappointment and it cost us over double the price and no turkey dinner!!!!

  • WILLIAM C.20 reviews

    December 2, 2022

    9.5/10

    We used to go to Brown's in Brighton many years ago, just after it opened. It did food for starving students. This is much more upmarket in food and ambience, but still excellent food and service. We booked for the set lunch,but ,as we were early and they just seemed to be doing a festive lunch, we had an omelette and a lobster Benedict. And quite a few brilliant cocktails. Chocolate and orange martini gets my vote. We will be back in the new year.

  • Deborah A.2 reviews

    October 26, 2022

    9.5/10

    Food was very good and the service was excellent

  • David N.2 reviews

    October 7, 2022

    10/10

    A really nice night out for us. The restaurant is in a beautiful old banking hall and thew tables are well spaced out so there's a buzz but you have some privacy too. Food was excellent as was the service.

  • Sebastien p.2 reviews

    September 18, 2022

    10/10

    Nice sunday roast with live music (piano and voice). Never disappointed.

  • Jamie B.

    Jamie B.4 reviews

    June 4, 2022

    10/10

    A great experience from start to end. The whole team are very welcoming and all provided excellent service in great surroundings. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Sarah P.1 review

    April 30, 2022

    10/10

    Fantastic refurb making it a great place to eat and drink in central Manchester. Superb food and choice, both of food and drink, great value for money, will be back soon.

  • Sylvia W.1 review

    January 30, 2022

    8/10

    We enjoyed our meal, the ambience and service were good The food was served nice and was tasty but could have been hotter My starter of scallops was only just warm

  • catherine f.3 reviews

    November 13, 2021

    9.5/10

    An excellent venue. Manchester was really busy so on the off chance we went to browns early as everywhere was busy for a drink and they said your table is ready you can have a drink there ???? great service and food and the service was attentive ????

  • Lloreta C.14 reviews

    November 13, 2021

    7.5/10

    Great service, lovely place, food average.

  • Susan J.1 review

    November 1, 2021

    8.5/10

    Excellent food = beautifully cooked belly pork. Staff polite and attentive. Some tables were too dim (particularly as i was alone and wanted to read) but the staff were happy to move me to a brighter table. All in all i would eat there again.

  • James H.1 review

    October 9, 2021

    4.5/10

    Poor service and food, shame for such a lovely place

  • Claire F.2 reviews

    October 9, 2021

    6/10

    It was a Saturday night and they had run out of so much. Only one cut of steak, no surf and turf, no risotto and even running out of some types of wine! Service was also very poor. The waitress we had was really disinterested. We didn’t get served our wine until after we had finished our starters and then we had to ask for it twice. When it finally came it was the wrong one, although the lad was quick to rectify the problem.

  • Carolyn R.3 reviews

    September 4, 2021

    7.5/10

    A glorious building with what appears to be original marble and art decor. General restaurant quite dark but we were seated in alcove under spotlights which were too bright. I was able to angle direction to dim. Pianist way too loud.

  • Nicolò G.9 reviews

    August 27, 2021

    10/10

    Fabolous place to be feeling MancuniN atmosphere

  • Emma W.1 review

    August 15, 2021

    10/10

    Fab old historical venue. Beautiful food and the service was exceptional. Would highly recommend going here to anyone. Singles, families or couples

  • Lauren W.1 review

    August 2, 2021

    10/10

    Kim was great, lovely afternoon tea in a lovely setting.

  • Sarah P.1 review

    July 3, 2021

    9.5/10

    My partner and stumbled on Brown's whilst looking for a new place to eat on our weekend in Manchester and we are so glad we did. Stunning decor, wonderful ambiance and delicious food. Having a pianist playing in the background of our romantic evening together made the experience that much more special.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • - -1 review

    February 23, 2020

    10/10

    I read some mixed reviews but we had the early menu and couldn’t fault any of the dishes we had. We chose the Duck Parfait and mushrooms on brioche for starters. Steak and chicken and ham pie for mains. Excellent quality and served perfectly. Staff were friendly. Lovely surroundings to enjoy a late afternoon meal.

  • Jeff B.

    Jeff B.56 reviews

    September 8, 2019

    10/10

    Excellent food, service & atmosphere! ??????????

  • - -1 review

    August 11, 2019

    9.5/10

    Lovely food. Friendly attentive staff

  • - -1 review

    May 22, 2019

    10/10

    Excellent ambience and service, interior decor is warm and classy.

Tripadvisor reviews

1860 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.