Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

This restaurant is not bookable on TheFork.

Here are some alternatives you might enjoy:

Loading interface...
Loading interface...
Loading interface...
Loading interface...

Reviews - Cafe Opera

117 Macquarie Street, 2000 Sydney (NSW)See map

Average price A$50

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Cannot be reserved on TheFork

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Mick B.

    March 14, 20201 review

    9/10

    Great food nice venue good service

  • Kathleen F.

    March 7, 20201 review

    10/10

    Every time we visit this beautiful city we try to make it to Cafe Opera. Having travelled the world, this restaurant rates with the best! Keep it up Cafe Opera. For over 30 years you have never disappointed.

    Cafe Opera (Owner)

    Dear Kathleen, we are so pleased to hear that Cafe Opera has continued to provide a stand out experience for you. Thank you for your kind review, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Thank you again, Cafe Opera

  • Sam M.

    February 29, 20207 reviews

    7/10

    A reliable option where there’s something for everyone. Good selection of seafood (on a Saturday night) and lollies/cakes and a range of things in between. Would like to see more fresh fruits

    Cafe Opera (Owner)

    Dear Sam, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of Café Opera. We are pleased you enjoyed the wonderful selection of seafood and broad variety of options, and have passed on your comment to our restaurant team regarding the fresh fruits. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a return visit. Thank you again, Cafe Opera

  • Tina L.
    Tina L.

    February 29, 20209 reviews

    5.5/10

    Food was average. Ok selection of seafood, crab & bugs tasted very watery & bland. Baked salmon, green curry barra was very dry. Wasn’t worth the money. Ordered a soft drink that was forgotten about - didn’t receive it until we asked a 2nd time. Called in advance to let them know we were running late, the lady REALLY insisted taking our credit card details, we refused to give it and rescheduled on the fork instead (easy done). She was very annoyingly persistent and said she couldn’t guarantee our seat if we didn’t leave our card details!!!!!!

  • Ava K.

    February 29, 20201 review

    8.5/10

    Awesome selection of seafood and cold dishes, such as salad stations, pre made salad, an array of cold seafood (prawns, crabs, mussels, oysters and bugs) which were all fresh and well presented. However, the hot food station was unappetising and disappointing. A small selection of hot food choices for the high price point. However the overall experience was a quiet, intimate, High class dining experience.

    Cafe Opera (Owner)

    Dear Ava, thank you for taking the time to share with us your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the wonderful array of cold dishes, however are sorry that the selection of hot foods on this occasion did not meet your standards. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and has been passed on to our restaurant team for further review. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Thank you, Cafe Opera

  • Gerda K.

    February 27, 20202 reviews

    9/10

    Cafe Opera offers a wide choice of well presented food in a comfortable, elegant setting. Service is excellent with prompt clearing of used plates. The range of food from seafood, cold meats, hot dishes, salads, cheeses and many desserts provides for every taste and . Good value at current prices.

    Cafe Opera (Owner)

    Dear Gerda, thank you for your kind review of Cafe Opera. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the variety of delicious food and found our service to be excellent. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Thank you, Cafe Opera

  • John H.

    February 22, 20201 review

    5.5/10

    The food is pretty average great fresh seafood, but ambiance is cramped tables and basic for the price. Seems popular for large family events more than luxury lunch etc

    Cafe Opera (Owner)

    Dear John, we are sorry that your experience at Cafe Opera did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on providing a premium experience, and appreciate your feedback immensely in helping us improve for future guests. We are glad you enjoyed the seafood. Thank you again, Cafe Opera

  • Vincent Carlo C.
    Vincent Carlo C.

    February 14, 202027 reviews

    2/10

    Worst seafood in Sydney. Looks and tastes like the seafood are frozen since the last Ice Age. Also very bad service. We were sitted in table in a hallway that is so remote wth no proper aircon and very far from buffet area. We will never ever go back and pay 89 dollars per head for the worst buffet experience we had

  • Norma S.

    February 13, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    Wonderful and plentiful food. Delicious, excellent service and value for money all you can eat. Loved it!!!!

  • Michele T.

    February 1, 20201 review

    10/10

    We attended Cafe Opera for my daughter’s 16th Birthday last weekend for the Saturday Lunch Buffet. Other than an initial hiccup with the booking that was attended to professionally and efficiently prior to our arrival, we had a fabulous experience. The venue is stunning which makes for an enjoyable dining experience. The dining area is immaculate and set out creating enough space to make it an intimate experience, even during a very busy period. The food was fantastic. It was fresh with lots of variety. It was constantly bring replenished, so there was always something to put on your plate that was desired. The service was beyond wonderful. Anand, the Cafe Manager, was attentive and made sure we were comfortable, as was all the staff. I have to make a special mention of Raquel who was our table Server. She was the most friendly and professional Server that I’ve dealt with EVER. She couldn’t have been more attentive and made sure that we had everything we needed. She ensured our plates were cleared and our glasses full! She chatted with our family members and made us all feel comfortable. What an absolute gem, and a credit to herself and Cafe Opera. Thank you. We would love to come back again.

  • Anne S.

    January 25, 20201 review

    6/10

    We booked for Deluxe Seafood Buffet which was confirmed & included wine. On arrival we were informed that it was the Lunar buffet, more expensive & didn’t include wine. They honoured their original price & gave us a complimentary glass of wine. However, had we known we were not getting the buffet we had originally booked we would have cancelled. Nil communication so very disappointing.

  • Annie C.
    Annie C.

    January 24, 20201 review

    6/10

    Not much food option and coz the theme is lunar new year but the Chinese food did not taste good. The buffet area is small and crowds of people. Seafood is fresh and sashimi only have salmon

  • Janis R.

    January 24, 20201 review

    10/10

    We had a lovely lunch, staff were friendly and helpful. They took care of us and went that extra mile to make sure our birthday celebration was terrific

  • Kya B.

    January 4, 20203 reviews

    10/10

    Very good food as always

  • Terry L.

    December 27, 201931 reviews

    10/10

    Beautiful setting. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Had the Buffet which was fresh and delicious. Good value for money. Will go there again.

  • Sukie B.

    December 27, 20194 reviews

    9/10

    Good variety of food. Nice selection of seafood, hot food and dessert. Will definitely come back again for more! :)

  • Frances J.
    Frances J.

    December 25, 201925 reviews

    8/10

    Very nice Excellent service Well cooked baby potatoes, nice and creamy the first time round The second time round they were a little bit on the dry side The prawns were really good The salads were sad Except for the mixed leaf salad Good desserts Except no trifle Christmas without trifle? So nice to not have to cook or clean at home

  • Renata S.

    December 20, 20191 review

    7/10

    I organised Christmas dinner for my work Christmas celebration and was very very disappointed with quality of food but also very disappointed how little of selection of seafood dishes was. and generally not much of selection. Dinner definitely wasnt worth the money and it was my first buffett dinner visit in Cafe Opera and I dont think I will come back. But the same time need to mentioned that staff was Amazing Service was beautifull we were given lovely room but no Christmas decoration ,no Christmas spirit Kind Regards Renata

  • Raghavendra M.

    December 13, 20191 review

    10/10

    Best place to go for any special occasion and not to worry about what to order

  • Nadia M.

    December 13, 20191 review

    10/10

    We enjoyed the food, the service and the atmosphere. We met some interesting people that were well travelled. Highly recommend the seafood buffet

  • Diana p.
    Diana p.

    December 5, 20195 reviews

    7/10

    Nice setting and we were very surprised at the lovely dessert that was brought out for my mum's birthday. Selection of food was ok and great fresh seafood.

  • Edward P.

    November 30, 20192 reviews

    8/10

    The welcome and service was excellent. The setting was rather cramped. Disappointment was in the fairly ordinary nature of the food … something you may expect on a Monday but not at a Saturday dinner. We could only consider it overpriced in the circumstances.

  • Elaine K.

    November 30, 20191 review

    4.5/10

    Food variety was limited. Was seated outside and didn’t feel like part of the restaurant as floor was tiled whereas the area within the restaurant was carpeted. Service was not very attentive.

  • Alvin G.
    Alvin G.

    November 30, 20195 reviews

    4.5/10

    Despite booking the restaurant early in the week, was seated on the outside corridor on arrival. Not many choices for Deluxe Seafood Buffet.

  • Danielle E.

    November 23, 20193 reviews

    10/10

    10 stars! This is one of the best restaurants I’ve been to in a very long time. Service was outstanding the vibe was incredible and the food was out of this world! If I have any suggestions the only one would be to include a nice red onion vinaigrette for the oysters! Beautiful

  • Lynda Y.

    November 23, 20193 reviews

    7.5/10

    We sat in the balcony area, which was very pleasant. The atmosphere got a lot more hectic near the buffet, and queues developed at peak times near the seafood and the desserts because we were all being funnelled to finish within the two sitting times, so we all ate and queued for the same kind of good at the same time). The seafood was lovely, but the neT was tough and I could not eat it. Desserts a little over sweet. Service was great.

  • George B.

    November 22, 20192 reviews

    9.5/10

    Cafe Opera offers a variety of gourmet salads and fabulous seafood. It also offers an extensive hot food buffet, desserts and much more. We enjoyed a wonderful buffet, thank you.

  • Malcolm s.

    November 6, 201912 reviews

    9.5/10

    Excellent value and appealing and attractive food. Very good location and atmosphere for pre- concert or play dinner. Good selection and desserts a real strength

  • Alessandro C.
    Alessandro C.

    November 3, 201913 reviews

    10/10

    Always Amazing

  • Jesse And Justine K.

    November 2, 20196 reviews

    10/10

    Bugs! ???? and bottomless champagne! ???????? very good value for money! Professional but friendly staffs!

  • A A.

    October 29, 2019258 reviews

    10/10

    Great price, great meal and service was great. Shall visit again.

  • Angela O.

    October 27, 20191 review

    7/10

    The food quality had dropped and the variety was disappointing compared to previously. No salmon sashimi and the much less variety for the cooked food. Desserts were good though.

  • Jacqueline T.
    Jacqueline T.

    October 27, 201928 reviews

    6/10

    Buffets can be tricky to pull off. Not a big enough range to live up to the gorgeous old building it’s located in. Close to opera house so convenient for a pre theatre dinner but nothing special and I think it is of questionable value for the money. Gets crowded with big groups who hog the seafood and if you are seated outside on the terrace you are neglected for drinks service

  • Carol F.

    October 27, 20191 review

    10/10

    Great as always. I really don't want to write 120 characters as you are asking me to do to write my clear, sincere and constructive message. Thanks

  • Mario D.

    October 26, 20191 review

    9/10

    It was the second time we dined at cafe opera and had the buffet,as much as the food was amazing we felt the first time back in february there was more variety ,again yesterdays dining experience was still wonderful food as fresh and we had a lovely night, thank you to all the staff

  • A A.

    October 26, 2019259 reviews

    6.3/10

    Food good but the atmosphere just doesn’t meet expectations. It’s a buffet and it’s noisy and the range is average

  • Kenneth Y.

    October 26, 20191 review

    9.5/10

    Great selection of fresh seafood, including Balmain bugs, oysters, and ultra-fresh sushi. Even though our meal was a self-served buffet, the service staff was attentive in serving drinks and removing soiled dishes. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience at the Cafe Opera.

  • A A.

    October 25, 2019259 reviews

    9.5/10

    Outstanding seafood buffet. Great service.

  • Hana Oh

    October 25, 20191 review

    7.3/10

    Seafood didn’t have any flavour. Beef roast was tough. Overall quality of food was disappointing.

  • TERESA V.

    October 24, 20191 review

    7.8/10

    Wide range of tasty, good quality freshly cooked food in a relaxed atmosphere. Staff member Mae was very attentive to our needs.

Tripadvisor reviews

1411 Tripadvisor Reviews

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.