Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Insider Wine bar

Reviews - Capitol Bar & Grill

9.1/10
188
1 London Cct, 2601 Canberra (ACT)See map

Average price A$70

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts
This restaurant is following the relevant safety practices*:
Card payments accepted
Contact information is obtained
Hand sanitizer for customers
*This information is declared by the restaurant
See more information

Reviews

9.1/10
Excellent188 reviews
9.5/10

Food

8.9/10

Service

8.5/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Fair value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Andrew L.

    January 22, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Great food. My steak was done perfectly. Just a little noisy at times, but otherwise a fantastic experience. Will be going back.

  • Caitlin M.

    December 11, 20216 reviews

    10/10

    Absolutely amazing food - was pleasantly surprised at the quality. Beautiful local wine selection as well. Excellent service, well staffed. Will make a point to visit again

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Caitlin Thank you for the lovely review , we are glad to hear you had a great evening out and we certainly look forward welcoming you back . Regards Desiree

  • Ian C.

    November 26, 20213 reviews

    9.5/10

    Great place to eat out in Canberra. Was buzzing on Friday night. Food was great although the gap between entrees and main was very long.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Ian Thank you for your review and feedback, we are glad to hear you enjoyed dining with us and look forward seeing you again . Regards Desiree

  • Ljubisa s.
    Ljubisa s.

    January 9, 20212 reviews

    8/10

    One of our steaks was a bit cold but other than that everything was delicious and the service was great

  • Monika C.

    November 21, 20205 reviews

    6/10

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

  • Vicky N.

    October 24, 20201 review

    10/10

    The Capitol was a fantastic venue for a birthday celebration for my hubby and family. Both food and service were exceptional. Looking forward to returning again

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Vicky Thank you very much for your kind words, we hope your husband and the family had a great evening of celebrations! We look forward seeing you on the next birthday. Regards Desiree

  • Gregory A.

    October 24, 202014 reviews

    10/10

    We were after something special, and this didn't disappoint.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Gregory Thank you kindly for your review, we are glad you had a great evening with us and we look forward welcoming you back. Regards Desiree

  • Ljubisa s.
    Ljubisa s.

    October 16, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    The best steak I’ve had to date. Amazing

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Ljubisa Thank you for the review, super stocked you enjoyed the food. We definitely pride ourselves for the steaks; we look forward seeing you on another occasion. Regards Desiree

  • Justin A.

    October 16, 20201 review

    9/10

    Thank you to Enya and the service was excellent. Would love to see some steamed vegetables on the menu eg, broccoli, zucchini or cauliflower. Thank you.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

  • Alan S.

    October 6, 20206 reviews

    9.5/10

    First-class service and food.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Alan Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed dining with us and most certainly hope to see you again. Regards Desiree

  • Rob B.

    October 2, 20201 review

    10/10

    This is an amazing restaurant in the 'brasserie' style - it is a large venue but still manages to feel warm and cosy. Fabulous food. Friendly, helpful and discreet staff. Great wine list. Loved it.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Rob Thank you very much for your review! That is all we are about, good food , good wine and genuine hospitality. We look forward welcoming you back ! Regards Desiree

  • Amanda G.

    September 16, 20202 reviews

    9.5/10

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

  • Jo M.

    September 9, 20201 review

    9.5/10

    Service at the bar a bit slow but restaurant was fantastic, as was the food.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Jo Thank you for your review and feedback , I'm glad you enjoyed dinner with us !

  • Meg K.

    September 5, 20204 reviews

    9.5/10

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Meg Thank you for your review, we hope you and your family had a great Father's Day! We look forward seeing you again. Regards CBG Team

  • Gemma F.
    Gemma F.

    September 2, 20204 reviews

    10/10

    The crab pasta dish was amazing. The best oysters and my husband had the steak and it just melted in your mouth. Amazing service too!

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Gemma Thank you for your review, we do love our oysters! We look forward welcoming you back soon. Regards CBG Team

  • Fred V.

    August 27, 20205 reviews

    6/10

    Steaks are good service was average

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Fred Very sorry to hear your experience with us wasn't pleasant, we welcome all feedback, which makes be better and continue improving. Many thanks Desiree Saavedra Venue Manager

  • Alan S.

    August 26, 20206 reviews

    9/10

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Alan Thank you kindly for the great review! We are pleased you enjoyed dining with us, can't wait to showcase our new food and drinks menu in the next week. Regards CBG team

  • Kristina A.
    Kristina A.

    August 8, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    Outstanding service, beautiful venue, lovely food. We both had the wagu for main and octopus for entree which was delicious. We were spoilt rotten for our anniversary and will certainly be back!

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Kristina Thank you very much for your review, we are glad to be part of a special night . I'm sure many more to come and we hope to see you again. Regards

  • Stephanie H.

    June 19, 20201 review

    9.5/10

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

  • Marjorie M.

    February 18, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    The service was excellent with staff fully aware of the menu and making good recommendations. The food was superb and the atmosphere very calming.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Marjorie Thank you very much for your kind review, we are glad you enjoyed dinner with us and look forward to see you again. Regards Capitol Bar and Grill

  • Amber B.

    February 14, 20201 review

    10/10

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Amber So happy to hear you enjoyed a very special night with us! Hope to see you on another occasion. Regards Capitol Bar and Grill

  • Justin G.

    February 14, 20206 reviews

    10/10

    Staff were amazing. Best table service I’ve had in a long time - staff were really informative with great knowledge and recommendations. Food was delicious. Will defiantly be back

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Justin Thank you for the great review, I'm glad we were able to provide a great night , specially on Valentine's! Look forward to see you again. Regards Capitol Bar and Grill

  • Jess L.

    February 9, 20201 review

    10/10

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Thank you Jess Great to hear you had a good night with us, we strive to make nights enjoyable and always learning as well from our guests. See you next time! Regards Capitol Bar and Grill

  • Tomislav S.

    January 17, 20201 review

    7/10

    It’s a well know restaurant, though needs to get back to its old ways. Love the location just needs the old atmosphere back, and the waiters need to be retrained.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

  • Thuan Anh B.

    January 1, 20202 reviews

    4.5/10
  • Michelle C.

    December 31, 20192 reviews

    10/10
  • Antonia F.

    November 2, 20193 reviews

    9/10
  • A A.

    October 20, 2019257 reviews

    8.5/10

    Steak cooked well, mushroom was so buttery and delicious, nice atmosphere.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Thank you for your review, we look forward in welcoming you again. Regards

  • Nicole P.

    October 18, 201920 reviews

    8.8/10

    Love it here. Steak is amazing!

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Nicole Thank you for the review, so happy to hear you enjoy our food and our venue. We hope to see you soon again.Regards

  • A A.

    October 14, 2019264 reviews

    10/10

    The food (especially the steaks), drinks and service is always spot on.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi! Thank you for the review, good to hear our steaks uphold their reputation. We look forward seeing you again. Regards

  • Paul C.

    October 1, 20194 reviews

    8.5/10

    The food is always very good and the wine selection is pretty impressive. The bar makes good cocktails too. It's not cheap, but sometimes that doesn't matter.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Paul! Thank you for the review, we'll pass on the compliments to our bar team as well. We look forward welcoming you again. Regards

  • A A.

    September 28, 2019275 reviews

    9/10

    We had a lovely dinner here for my boyfriend's birthday. The service was great and the food was absolutely delicious! I highly recommend Capitol Bar and Grill, we will be back again!

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Thank you very much for the review , I'm glad you had a very good night with us and hope your boyfriend had a very special birthday. We look forward welcoming you back anytime . Regards

  • Kaee L.

    September 27, 20191 review

    8.8/10

    The food was great. However, the customer service did not meet the expectations.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

  • A A.

    September 21, 2019271 reviews

    7.8/10

    Very nice food and good service

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Thank you for the review! We look forward welcoming you again. Regards

  • A A.

    September 20, 2019256 reviews

    7.8/10

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Thank you for the review and the feedback , very sorry the drinks were delayed we will be addressing with the team . Hope you had a great night out! Regards

  • A A.

    September 19, 2019273 reviews

    10/10

    I really like to come here for the romantic dining and get dressed up it would be nice if there was a dress code but it’s not a reason not to go just would be nice

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

  • Peter E.

    September 13, 20191 review

    8.3/10

    Its a shame their is no prawn coctail on the menu anymore, a few more choices in entrees and mains would be nice.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Peter Thank you for the review and your feedback, we are currently working on our Spring menu and looking into bringing in new items. Keep an eye out. Regards

  • A A.

    August 30, 2019272 reviews

    9.3/10

    Always excellent food and great service. The Executive Chef runs an impressive show.

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi , Thank you for the review, we have passed on your kind comments to our Chef and we look forward seeing you again. Regards

  • A A.

    August 24, 2019247 reviews

    5.5/10

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

  • A A.

    August 23, 2019285 reviews

    8/10

    Attentive, friendly service. Food was very good. Quite noisy at times (turning the music down a little would help with this I think)

    Capitol Bar & Grill (Owner)

    Hi Thank you for the review; we are glad you have enjoyed dining with us . And we certainly hope to see you on another occasion. Regards

Tripadvisor reviews

504 Tripadvisor Reviews

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership

© 2022 La Fourchette SAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation