Back

Reviews Casa do Leão – Castelo de São Jorge

7/10

based on 185 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Nicholas K.
    Nicholas K.
    • one review
    5/10

    Professionalism was nowhere evident. The Restaurant at Palacio Nacional was great.

  2. Wolf Richard B.
    Wolf Richard B.
    • 2 reviews
    2/10

    I have eaten here several times. This evening was a dinner for 5 (me and 4 guests). Some guests had work commitments, our reservation was for 8:30 PM. I made reservations on TheFork, which showed reservations until 9 PM, so our 8:30 PM. Arriving early, I was told the kitchen closes at 9 PM. I stated TheFork listed reservations at 9 PM, I was told that was impossible. Two of my guests were not going to arrive until after 9 PM, so i ordered salads,filet mignon, appetizers, 2 bottles wine for all 5. salads good, wine good, filets on previous visits had been outstanding, this time they were barely edible. dessert, coffee ok. As exception to tipping, as we were only party there, I tipped waiter 28% of total bill.waiter a tip of 25% of the bill (which was considerable). After we left one of my guests thought he had left his backpack. The waiter had just locked up he stated my guest had to return the following day. The evening was so discomforting, that we will never eat dinner here again.

  3. Thomas F.
    Thomas F.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    This establishment appears as restaurant (...and actually creates an indirect suggestion that it is a gourmet one!....) whereas in reality it is merely a snack bar!.... .... how else could I call a place, with a menu of 2 pages in which there were 4 sandwiches, 2 hamburgers, 4 salads and dessert ( without ANY specific designation even!...)!!!!..... As for the service, waiters were polite and spoke fairly good English, yet, they were neither enough, nor fast!...

  4. Sandra  J.
    Sandra J.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Incredible views over this magical city, being in a Castle dating back to the 11th century was surreal. Restaurant food was delicious, small menu, service was good, prehaps a little short staffed the day we went which was a toasty 32 degrees,be aware that you will have to pay for a ticket to view the castle to get to the restaurant, if you have a reservation it's a cost of 7,50€ each normal price is 10€ worth going in, as the Castle is open until 9pm. Loved your app, so easy to book, confirmed with a call (straight from the app) as we booked only an hour before. The "how to get there" directions where fantastic! So easy to find the location, even with all the small winding roads of Graca. Love your app will recommend to others.

  5. Romeo E.
    Romeo E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Everything was great. The food, the view and the service. Suggest notifying customers that the restaurant is INSIDE Castelo Sau Jorge and therefore a ticket is required.

  6. ANNEMARIE M.
    ANNEMARIE M.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Beautiful setting- food was okay for the price. Presentation was lovely.

  7. Ana  s.
    Ana s.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excelentes

  8. Joseph C.
    Joseph C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Best people! Excellent view! Amazing.

  9. Jennifer H.
    Jennifer H.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    We were the only two people in the whole restaurant so no atmosphere what so ever. The main courses were tepid & sent them back to be warmed up. Bill was the highest we have had in Lisbon & was nothing special. Tried to charge us €7.50 for something we hadn’t ordered. We thought it was a kind extra!! How wrong we were. It was removed from the bill when we picked up on it. Only good thing was the castle setting with a lovely view.

  10. Simone C.
    Simone C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Atendimento excelente, recomendo.

  11. Lois W.
    Lois W.
    • 5 reviews
    5/10

    Our only crabby waiter ...Place impossible to find- got to get a ticket into the castle- then need to have someone walk you there...Not clear how to get here- Uber driver tried really hard. Disappointing food- not friendly staff.

  12. Wolf Richard B.
    Wolf Richard B.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The service was outstanding. The food was wonderful. The ambiance outstanding. Good for business meeting or romantic dinner

  13. Valerie B.
    Valerie B.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Very quiet on arrival but beautiful venue, amazing views of the city, food was excellent too.

  14. Yaroslav N.
    Yaroslav N.
    • one review
    10/10

    ***** STARS

  15. Mauro M.
    Mauro M.
    • one review
    9/10

    High quality services and very fine food. I was excpecting more choice of wine and dessert.

  16. Carol N.
    Carol N.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely dinner in a spectacular setting. Service was perfect and very attentive. Restaurant was very nice with Portuguese decor. Be sure to go to ticket office at the Castillo do Leão to obtain entrance to the grounds and restaurant.

  17. KAREN G.
    KAREN G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Terrific service. Fabulous sea bass. Helpful and accurate and reasonably priced wine choices. Did a super job dealing with my garlic allergy.

  18. Alex B.
    Alex B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Surely the best place in Lisbon to watch the sun set across this beautiful city. Combined then with a lovely traditional restaurant serving up a great choice of food and excellent service, this was a wonderful place to have spent our last night in Lisbon.

  19. Lynn H.
    Lynn H.
    • one review
    2/10

    Don’t waste your time of money in this restaurant. It should be perfect being where it is. Superb view but the worst food and drink. Dirty wine glasses, extremely bland risotto and indifferent service. There are some superb restaurants outside the castle, do yourself a favour and eat in one of those instead!

  20. David S.
    David S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    I had eaten here before for a work function and really enjoyed it so wanted to bring my wife back. We arrived outside at sunset and experienced amazing views of the city. When we went in, the place was empty which was a little concerning so I quickly jumped online to check the reviews to make sure others knew something we didn’t. There we a couple of poor reviews but not enough to turn us away. Lucky we didn’t as the food was amazing and not badly priced. It is a shame it was so empty as it didn’t have a vibe but this meant we did not have to wait for anything as the service was impeccable. I hope these guys do ok and busy picks up as this is a fantastic venue with stunning views and a great dining experience.

  21. Pat C.
    Pat C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Came for a birthday lunch . Lovely food and very attentive service. Good selection of wine . I last visited 20 years ago and it made a big impression then . This visit was just as good

  22. Ulla-Riitta K.
    Ulla-Riitta K.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Dinner with customers. Excellent taste of food, lovely wines. Warmly recommended!

  23. Fernando N.
    Fernando N.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Tudo excelente.

  24. Mark H.
    Mark H.
    • 38 reviews
    8.5/10

    This restaurant is inside the grounds of Lisbon's famous castle (Castelo) built in the 10th century AD - or maybe much earlier, depending which part you pick. You need to go to the ticket office and mention you have a reservation at the Casa, at which point they will check the list and give you a free ticket. The restaurant is a marvellous barrel vaulted stone room although I don't think it's as old as the castle itself. The food is straightforward Portuguese with much seafood and some simply prepared meat. There are views across the castle grounds to the city, although the restaurant is set back several yards so it's not a true panorama. The restaurant was empty apart from me on a Sunday night, which is a pity since it was an enjoyable experience and the service was very friendly. It deserves better. Please go, it is something you should experience in Lisbon!

  25. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    I made reservations to celebrate my son's proposal of marriage to his now fiancee (she said yes!) at Castelo de Sao Jorge. Originally we wanted to be seated outdoors but it was very windy and they actually had a table set up outdoors as well as indoors. We ate indoors and were very pleased with the attentiveness of the staff. They immediately poured our champagne as requested on the reservation and translated items on the menu we were unsure of. The food was excellent! The Pumpkin soup was delectable and the potato gnocchi excellent. We also ordered the fillet of red snapper which was mild flavored and melted in your mouth. The cod fish was fantastic too. What really made the evening extra special was the ambiance of the restaurant and the views of the city. We strolled outside and took in the changing light over the city as the sun set before dinner. It is a definite stop that we will return to when we visit Portugal again!

  26. Giulio G.
    Giulio G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food and service and the view was even more amazing. Surely recommended to everyone.

  27. Sergio B.
    Sergio B.
    • 17 reviews
    10/10

    Suggestivo e saporito

  28. Suzana D.
    Suzana D.
    • 57 reviews
    8.5/10

    Acho que não é correcto de não avisar que temos que pagar a entrada do Castelo para vir almoçar ... e também, que a ementa é diferente para o almoço (não é a a que se vê na THE Fork) e muita reduzida e semples. Not very right I think to not inform about the fact that we need to pay the Castel entrance to come for the lunch .... also the menu is different for lunch (it's not the one showed in The Fork) so much more reduced and really simple

  29. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    8/10

    Amazing view and beautiful setting with good food, however it was on the expensive side.

  30. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    Best dinner in Lisbon. The food and service is top notch. Family of ten with four children dined and enjoyed the incredible view!

  31. Slv M.
    Slv M.
    • one review
    10/10

    The view is breathtaking and the meal was exceedingly flavorful. The waiters were solicitous but not invading and we had the dinner menu for two that included a delicate duck mousse, hors d'œuvre of cod and potatoes dumpling with scrambled eggs with smoked pork then the main course for me was a cake of shredded potatoes and bacalau and he had a flavorful lamb stew all followed by a trio of local pastries and cakes as a dessert..We choose a bottle of white regional wine that was fresh and mineral and had a superb gastronomic experience.

  32. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    9/10

    A perfect way to end a day in Lisbon, in a beautiful restaurant overlooking the city. The service was impeccable and the interior is so lovely. The prices were reasonable and the food very good, with a nice and reasonably priced wine list.

  33. Joao E.
    Joao E.
    • one review
    7/10

    Poor vegetarian alternative for guests with diatery restrictions.

  34. Michael C.
    Michael C.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Some confusion with getting into the castle, it took about 10 minutes to resolve after presenting "The Fork" booking confirmation. Fantastic setting, friendly and welcoming staff. Drinks were good value, meal could have done with a larger portion of vegetables on the side however the rack of lamb really was excellent. The desserts were also very good. The evening had a cool breeze and so no outside tables were in use, but the restaurant is very atmospheric with its historical context. A taxi was ordered for us on leaving the restaurant and was waiting by the time we had exited the castle. In conclusion a good dinner in a fantastic setting with free entry to the castle.

  35. Camille M.
    Camille M.
    • 8 reviews
    8.5/10

    Excellent food, great service and the view with the sunset was very romantic. The cataplana was delicious, spicy but not too much. Great evening.

  36. Rafa G.
    Rafa G.
    • 112 reviews
    10/10

    We decided this restaurant based on it´s very convenient location, as we were visiting the Castle with friends. Our expectations were´t high. We got a very pleasant surprise. Our food was excellent, one of the best "cataplanas" we´ve had in Portugal, and the service was very kind and professional. As the portions are huge, we had some starters and for main course we shared "cataplanas" for 2 between the 4 of us. It was more than enough and the price was very "reasonable" bearing in mind the excellent location and quality of the food and service.

  37. Alberto R.
    Alberto R.
    • 31 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent service. Highly recommended.

  38. Tim O.
    Tim O.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic all round food, view, service big thanks to Flávio (hope I have spelt it right) who looked after us so well.

  39. Carlos A.
    Carlos A.
    • one review
    9/10

    Excelent meal with the best view in town... The weather was very pleasant and so we could eat outside with a view over Lisbon. The view was superb... A must try in Lisbon. Only drawback was that there were at maximum a handfull of dishes to choose from the menu... Better to see if you like anything that is on the menu. I don't know if you can pre-order your meal so you are sure there will be available what you wish to eat once you are there. When we went to have dinner somethings were not available anymore...

    Casa do Leão – Castelo de São Jorge

    Dear Customer, thank you for taking the time to post this review. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us to get better! We hope to be able to welcome you again in a near future!