Back

Reviews - Casa Mazal-Plaza Maimonides

9.4/10

Excellent

based on 1951 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Carlos D.
    Carlos D.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    Todo muy rico y muy atentos

  2. Cristina C.
    Cristina C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Un gran restaurante!

  3. Ruth S.
    Ruth S.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Came across the restaurant by chance. It is a wee gem down a side street. Ate in the courtyard. Gazpacho was excellent. Chicken curry was a bit dry. Service was good, but maybe because I was only person there :-)

  4. Esma I.
    Esma I.
    • one review
    10/10

    We really liked the food . Everything was great and tasty . I recommend it!

  5. Erin D.
    Erin D.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food, great service and central location

  6. Oana G.
    Oana G.
    • 29 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing as usual! We have been here last year and absolutely wanted to come back again. The food is delicious, the atmosphere authentic, and the staff is extremely nice and professional. A gem of a restaurant in the most amazing city! Don’t miss the Ice cream with a thousand flowers flavor!!! It’s to die for!

  7. Susanne K.
    Susanne K.
    • one review
    10/10

    A wonderful find. The food and service is extraordinary. The falafel sauce was delightful. The desert of gelato with olive oil was a unique and delicious experience. What a wonderful find!

  8. Joel K.
    Joel K.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    We enjoyed very well prepared Sephardic dishes (quite different from the usual Spanish fare) in a pretty courtyard to the restaurant, with a guitar player serenading us. Very nice!

  9. Joy C.
    Joy C.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Wanted to have some Jewish food as was in Jewish quarter, but was really disappointed. I chose the dish that they had won an award with a couple of years back. When the food arrived it was cold. I sent it back to be reheated - dreading it being zapped in the microwave. Dontas know what they did but meat came back warm but veggies etc still cold. Better Jewish food in London. Spoke to another Jewish lady in the washroom and she also said she was not happy. Maybe it was an off day for the chef, but it feels like they rely on the name and past reviews and have long lost any quality they may have once had.

  10. Ditte T.
    Ditte T.
    • one review
    3/10

    Altogether a bad experience. We were there for New Year's Eve. The door was open all evening and it was freezing cold, people had to eat with their coats on. The tapas were nice, but the rest of the food nothing special. The staff was impersonal and inattentive, more or less threw the plates on to the table without a word, as for instance telling us what was on them, never offered us more wine, even when our glasses were empty. Not worth the rather high cost at all. We had to pay 20€ for each of us in advance, and it was not deducted from the bill.

  11. Monica k.
    Monica k.
    • 18 reviews
    6.5/10

    The food is average. It is so conveniently located that people don’t care I guess. There was a guitar player in the court that played good music. The restaurant offers also kosher dishes, so that might be a good point for some people

  12. Marta P.
    Marta P.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Muy buena experiencia

  13. Niamh M.
    Niamh M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful selection of dishes which I haven’t seen elsewhere. Also a refreshing lack of ham and shellfish! One page of certified Kosher options for observers. Food is well presented and tasty. Ambience excellent with a cellist and guitarist providing entertainment.

  14. David N.
    David N.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    excellent food and ambiance, fantastic music

  15. Robert B.
    Robert B.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    The food and environment were exceptional . There was a lot of selections and a live string duet that made for an enjoyable evening. I will recommend to friends if they come here.

  16. Sandra G.
    Sandra G.
    • one review
    10/10

    A gem of a restaurant, hidden in a little side alley, not so easy to find. But it’s worth it! The food was excellent, staff friendly and attentive and two young guys played classical versions of common songs on the guitar and a cello, which was a fantastic back drop and unexpected. I recommend this place if you want to try something else than the regular tapas & Spanish cuisine.

  17. Bernadette R.
    Bernadette R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    I am gluten free the staff were very helpful, attentive and knowledgeable Lovely meal.

  18. Deborah N.
    Deborah N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Awesome...staff very friendly and so welcoming. Guitar player was a fabulous addition to our dining experience.

  19. Carol D.
    Carol D.
    • one review
    10/10

    As soon as we got close to the door we were welcomed by beautiful live music wafting towards us. Two musicians were playing in the patio area.They were amazing. Food exceeded expectations and service was warm and friendly. We were offered 30% discount as went at 9.00pm on Monday evening. Dont miss the champagne sorbet or trio of ice creams. Don’t think we will find anywhere as champagne

  20. Jan S.
    Jan S.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Super Birthday meal for five. The food was very unusual and delicious and the staff were nice. The menu had so many things to chose from we wish we had time to return, hopefully we can do so next time in Cordoba!

  21. Gareth D.
    Gareth D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful surprising meals with unique twists and superb ambience within the restaurant. Excellent

  22. Mettiu M.
    Mettiu M.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Ottimo cibo e atmosfera speciale, staff e location impeccabili

  23. Paolo T.
    Paolo T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Top! Posto stupendo!

  24. Eva N.
    Eva N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Precioso restaurante, comida excelente y camareros super simpáticos y atentos. Música de ambiente en un patio cordobes. Sin duda volveremos.

  25. Ezio L.
    Ezio L.
    • 28 reviews
    8/10

    Portate di qualità superiori alla norma

  26. Cristian M.
    Cristian M.
    • one review
    9/10

    This place is really amazing. Unique dishes and wines, unique place, real sefadí areas. However, we booked some late for lunch, 15:00, and waiter retired the starters dishes very quickly, it seems they were in a hurry! For the remaining, very good experience. No doubt, I recommend it!!

  27. Andreas N.
    Andreas N.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    We had a wonderful evening in this restaurant The meal was excellent the waitress friendly could be a little bit prudently but at least Avery nice location for have a nice evening

  28. John R.
    John R.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent evening. Simply ordered entradas, pan y postres which were all generous and delicious. Live music started at 8:30 too. Prices were excellent and service too. Recommended!

  29. Roberto a.
    Roberto a.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    No problem with the reservation and additional fork discount. The food was great with tradutional taste. Location is little and amazing with AC that helps in this hot city. Super.

  30. Victoria B.
    Victoria B.
    • one review
    10/10

    New takes on some traditional dishes were great. Really enjoyed the atmosphere which was enhanced by the live guitar playing.

  31. Emily M.
    Emily M.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    One of the best meals I have had. Service and setting were excellent. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  32. Robin S.
    Robin S.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Great service, fabulous tasty food and talented local entertainment.

  33. Luigi M.
    Luigi M.
    • 37 reviews
    9/10

    Great location

  34. Miriam M.
    Miriam M.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    A very nice place to eat and stay, we had nice music, a very friendly staff and good food

  35. Piero p.
    Piero p.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Ambiente curato e gradevole. Abbiamo cenato all’aperto in un tipico cortile con musica dal vivo. Atmosfera magica. Pietanze ben preparate e gustose.

  36. Annie S.
    Annie S.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was delicious and very interesting. I especially loved the aubergine with poppy and honey. There was live music which was delightful. Worth a visit definitely.

  37. Reina M.
    Reina M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great atmosphere enjoying live music, and excelent food :)

  38. Diane s.
    Diane s.
    • one review
    9/10

    Delicious food (couscous with lamb exceptional), good local wine and friendly service. Made 7:30 PM reservations the two times we had dinner at Casa Mazal so no wait for table. Got busier by 8 PM. Had music by a cellist and guitarist in courtyard from about 8:15 PM which was much enjoyed.

  39. Allyson L.
    Allyson L.
    • one review
    9/10

    Lamb with couscous was outstanding

  40. Claire d.
    Claire d.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Atmosphere was great. Food was good, but a bit disappointing. We had eaten at Casa Mazal a couple of years ago and the meal then was much better. Maybe it was just an off night. That said, I would definitely return.