Back

Reviews - Cencalli, La Casa del Maíz

8.7/10

Fabulous

based on 161 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Sonia S.
    Sonia S.
    • 20 reviews
    8/10

    Great place for authentic Mexican tacos and drinks, friendly service, centrally located. Molé dish was in our opinion over priced for what it was. We'll stick with the tacos.

  2. Kristof F.
    Kristof F.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great service, warm and friendly staff, fresh and delicious food, great strong cocktails, just an awesome mexican restaurant!

  3. Serena R.
    Serena R.
    • 4 reviews
    5.5/10

    Good food but small and expensive. It was very busy so the waiters didn’t have time to explain the salsa or any information about the food which I think is valuable in this restaurant. Otherwise the food was good quality with a big price tag. Place is nice but it was very busy and the tables are very close together, we felt like the people next to us could hear our whole conversation.

  4. Lindy M.
    Lindy M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The service and menu explanation was great. The meal was tasty and excellent. Highly recommended. Authentic Mexican food. The cucumber and lime drink was very refreshing.

  5. Piotr Z.
    Piotr Z.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We went to Cencalli for a Friday dinner with my boyfriend. It was amazing! Authentic mexican food and dedicated and friendly service. The restaurant itself is pretty small and cosy. Highly recommend.

  6. Donna S.
    Donna S.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    When full, the noise level was quite high. Difficult to hear across the table. Food and drinks were delicious and very authentic. Will come back!

  7. Cinthya A.
    Cinthya A.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    The most authentic tortillas in Europe. Made with fair trade 100% mexican corn. Aside of the super flavor, the restaurant supports a project that helps a rural community. I find this fantastic, not only a place to eat with great flavor, but also the feeling that you are supporting a good cause, enhanced the whole experience. A place where I’d like to return again and again, just like a taqueria in Ciudad de Mexico.

  8. Mary M.
    Mary M.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    So glad we discovered this place for AUTHENTIC Mexican tacos. The salsas, homemade tortillas, guacamole and margaritas were also amazing, and the people were so nice. Highly recommended, especially for those who know/miss real Mexican food.

  9. Nils k.
    Nils k.
    • 39 reviews
    10/10

    Great food with a special twist. Love coming here!

  10. Ioanna S.
    Ioanna S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food, amazing people, great atmosphere! The best tacos I've ever tried. Most likely my favorite place in the Hague, it's an absolute must!

  11. Joel A.
    Joel A.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    The food was sublime as always. One of the waiters was also excellent. The other I found alto be disappointing. She spilled a bowl of chips (around 7 euros-so not cheap) all over the table. She didn’t offer to bring a new one.

  12. Nils k.
    Nils k.
    • 39 reviews
    10/10

    Great food, Nice atmosphere

  13. Rubén G.
    Rubén G.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The Cocktails are awesome! We really loved the chicken tacos. The atmosphere and service are above all the reason to come back! It really feels like your on holidays the minute you walk in.

  14. Sanna T.
    Sanna T.
    • one review
    8/10

    Vriendelijk service & great tacos. We left the place happy with our two teens

  15. Natalie K.
    Natalie K.
    • 2 reviews
    4/10

    Overpriced Mexican snacks. No real meal. The chilaquiles has maybe a tablespoon of shredded chicken and an awful mole that tasted out of a can. Not true Mexican food.

  16. Wen Yang L.
    Wen Yang L.
    • 48 reviews
    9/10

    Bursting in flavours with every bite. Delicious!

  17. Martin D.
    Martin D.
    • 7 reviews
    5/10

    Food was small portions and arrived late for 1, person while others finished their meals already

    Cencalli, La Casa del Maíz

    We always regret if our guests are not completely satisfied. As I explained: we are a taquería and serve our tacos directly from the grill. We try to avoid it but it can result in not getting your food at the same time as the rest of the table. We have spent 6 years preparing this concept and take great care in bringing you extremely fresh, hand prepared and original tasting food. We recommend you eat 5 tacos (did you have 3?) but some need more, other need less. But please keep in mind this is a specialty restaurant and not a fast food place.

  18. Colleen R.
    Colleen R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Authentic mexican. excellent experience.

  19. Jonathan G.
    Jonathan G.
    • one review
    10/10

    On a l’impression d’être au Mexique.

  20. Luz C.
    Luz C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great place to have authentic mexican food, delicious! Very friendly environment, nice music and drinks! The home made tortillas are amazing!

  21. • one review
    10/10

    Everything is fresh, delicious, lovely atmosphere I can't complain. 100% recommended. For vegans is definitely a paradise, they have too many options to choose from! Simply delicious <3

  22. Graham B.
    Graham B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome service, good food, and really nice cocktails! Loved it!

  23. Catherine v.
    Catherine v.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was delicious! The combination of the flavours was something I have never experienced before. You could taste the quality of every ingredient in one taco, truly amazing. For the rest: the limes were so sweet they tasted like candy, the Pacifico Michelado amazing, the interior so well thought out and the food was served with care and love. We'll come back for brunch/lunch to try the different menu and to see how they make tortillas with the oven!

  24. Norbert H.
    Norbert H.
    • 6 reviews
    8/10

    Lekkere tacos!

  25. Fiona P.
    Fiona P.
    • 49 reviews
    9.5/10

    Lovely evening! Great, authentic (soft) tacos with unusual ingredients. Wonderful cocktails.

  26. Fiona P.
    Fiona P.
    • 49 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great place; finally, the Hague has a real Mexican taqueria! Wonderful cocktails, great, simple yet surprising and creative food. Excellent, warm and friendly service.

  27. Mathieu O.
    Mathieu O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Warm welcome, traditional Mexican food made by a Mexican Chef. Great new place. Food is tasty and give a feeling of being in Mexico. My Favorite Mexican restaurant in Den Haag by far and with a reasonable price. Will definitely go back.

  28. Ayari R.
    Ayari R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great place with nice Mexican flavors. Loved their tortillas and sauces. Great service and atmosphere. Would recomend and come back again.

  29. Nils k.
    Nils k.
    • 39 reviews
    9.5/10

    Nice place with special food and friendly staff