Register my restaurant
Help


French Terrace

Reviews - Champagne + Fromage - Covent Garden

9/10
565
22 Wellington Street, WC2E 7DD London
French
Average price £22

Champagne + Fromage - Covent Garden

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 16 bookings today

Reviews

9/10
Excellent565 reviews
9.2/10

Food

9/10

Service

8.8/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Simone G.1 review

    May 10, 2024

    9.5/10

    My Girlfriend and I had a lovely night together ! It helped the fact that She is French. The team was so lovely to offer us a free drink when they found out it was our Birthday. We will be back

  • Amy N.1 review

    April 6, 2024

    10/10

    I absolutely love this place ! Recently was my first time back to London since 2016 and I made sure to make a reservation to have dinner here on my first day back. It is just as delightful as I remember it. The wine is really good and the cheese dishes are interesting and delicious. Wait staff was great and friendly! Francesca our waitress was a delight. I highly recommend this place :)

  • Sigridur M.1 review

    April 19, 2024

    7.5/10

    Tiny place, seets unconfertable and difficult to put ones feed under the table. ordered 3 tastes of champagne but only got two and had to ask for the second one - then gave up on them. Food as expected.

  • Julie H.1 review

    March 28, 2024

    10/10

    Wide variety of traditional cheese and charcuterie dishes. Great. selection of wine and champagne. Will definitely return.

  • Chrissy H.1 review

    March 28, 2024

    10/10

    We wizzed into eat pre theatre. Shared a delicious platter of cheeses, meat and chutneys including cherries and thyme. Glass of champagne each and we were set for Plaza Suite. Love returning here and have never been disappointed.

  • Suzanna D.

    Suzanna D.1 review

    March 27, 2024

    10/10

    Fantastic little find right by Covent Garden and reasonably priced

  • Linda K.1 review

    March 17, 2024

    10/10

    What a great place ! Tiny but perfect. The afternoon tea with champagne was excellent, the hosts are very knowledgeable about the cheese and champagne, and worked to ensure we had particular cheese and champagne flavours that we liked. Portions looked a bit small initially but were totally sufficient in the end . Really enjoyed the experience, would recommend

  • Louise R.4 reviews

    March 14, 2024

    8/10

    Convenient location. Good place to meet and enjoy a light lunch with a bottle of fizz.

  • Jackie K.2 reviews

    March 7, 2024

    10/10

    Really enjoyable, excellent cheese options. Would go back!

    Champagne + Fromage - Covent GardenOwner

    Thank you very very much for your feedback! Very much appreciated it..cheeses cured meats and a lovely selection of champagne as well! We are looking forward to welcoming you back :)

  • Marie K.1 review

    March 2, 2024

    6/10

    The food and champagne was very good. However the service let down the experience. No smile. No knowledge of the food or what was served. I was hoping to recommend this place to my friends, because of the service i will not now.

    Champagne + Fromage - Covent GardenOwner

    Thank you so much for your feedback Marie. It breaks my heart hearing this from you. We are all very knowledgeable and we assure all our guests get a detailed description of all our products, as step of service, which is in place. You must have cough us in an unfortunate moment, while we are recruting new members of staff. I personally would like to invite you back at our Champagne plus Fromage bistro for a little something from us, I would love to take care of you, please do not hesitate to contact me for your next reservation! Drop me an email at: covent@champagneplusfromage.co.uk Have a wonderful evening ahead. Francesca Pasquinelli Assistant GM

  • Daniela S.3 reviews

    February 18, 2024

    9.5/10

    Staff were absolutely great. Thanks for a lovely afternoon.

    Champagne + Fromage - Covent GardenOwner

    Thank you so much Daniela for your lovely feedback! Looking forward to welcoming back soon ! C+F Team

  • Alexis N.1 review

    February 15, 2024

    6.5/10

    Lovely cheese selection at not outrageous prices, the raclette was just melted cheese on potatoes - no pageantry - but it was delish, and all the little sauces and jams with the cheese were a treat. I assume, if you're going, you love cheese so I'll leave you to judge that, I'm no expert. The service was less thrilling, getting broadly ignored when we got in and barely a word spoken to us for the entire trip, until both a service charge and a "hospitality extra" appeared on our bill. Maybe it's more authentic that way but a being at least welcomed when we arrived would've been nice.

  • Maria C.1 review

    February 2, 2024

    2/10

    They did not let us order more food despite being open for longer and the fact that the food did not require cooking (ie bring out some olives or charcuterie)

    Champagne + Fromage - Covent GardenOwner

    Bonjour Maria, We are very sorry to hear about what happened during your dining experience with us, and wish to present the best experience for all of our customers. Regarding kitchen opening hours, we do close the kitchen 1 hour before the closing time of our restaurant (10PM on Fridays and Saturdays), and do a last call for food orders 10 minutes before that original closing of the kitchen time. Please do get in touch with us to discuss this further at covent@champagneplusfromage.co.uk We look forward to hearing from you. The Management Team Champagne+Fromage Covent Garden

  • Claire B.4 reviews

    January 15, 2024

    10/10

    Lovely restaurant, always great food and champagne and the ambience is so warm and welcoming.

  • Nelli iv12 reviews

    December 24, 2023

    7/10

    I asked for escargot and they brought me a plate of those with a normal fork, so it was impossible to take escargot from a shell. Then I complained and they brought me the fork a bit better one for this occasion but still not the right one, so I was suffering and breaking the shells with my hands , that wasn’t idea! We had a little dog with us of 2 kg, we asked for the tal water for him, well we were charged for it in the bill.

  • Barbara L.2 reviews

    December 12, 2023

    6.5/10

    Not appalling mind you, but the champagne wasn't quite chilled and the raclette didn't deserve of the name with this amount of cheese. The rillettes were passable. We were overall left disappointed.

  • Mary G.1 review

    December 8, 2023

    7/10

    We went there looking for raclette, but it was disappointing that they don't cut the cheese in front of you. I would recommend this place just for an appetizer before dinner, not for having dinner, as the portions and quantities are small.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Walter T.5 reviews

    November 11, 2023

    8/10

    The food and drinks are amazing. it’s a quite small place. The service is not the best. Also, they make reservations (without distinction tot he normal tables) for the sits at the bar and the sits at the bar don’t have a sit back (back support).

  • Camilla B.1 review

    October 26, 2023

    10/10

    Fantastic food delivered with prompt & friendly service right in the heart of London’s theatre land. Will definitely be returning.

  • Allan O.1 review

    October 20, 2023

    10/10

    A fantastic little gem of a restaurant and very good staff

  • Jo L.1 review

    September 30, 2023

    10/10

    Had a fantastic time trying different cheeses and champagne. There wasn’t a half bottle of the champagne we wanted but the staff gave us 4 glasses from a full size bottle for the same price as if we’d had 3.5 glasses from a half bottle. They catered very well for us being gluten free. The cheese are so so good - love the Camembert with honey and rosemary! However would have been nice to have a few more crackers with the cheese board.

  • Lesley S.3 reviews

    September 2, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely! Knowledgeable waiter who was working hard to serve a few walk in tables. Delicious cheese & champagne - we will return

  • James A.1 review

    August 29, 2023

    9.5/10

    This was a great find! Our host was very welcoming and knowledgeable on both the Champaign and the cheese on offer. We had a great time and ended up eating three cheese boards worth of cheese, each presented with bread and accompaniments. Definitely one to return to and only sorry that we have only just discovered this wonderful place!

  • Becca W.1 review

    August 5, 2023

    8.5/10

    The service was, as always, excellent! We were immediately accommodated even though we were early, and the waiter was knowledgeable about all of the food and champagne and attentive to our needs across the hours we spent in the restaurant. We were slightly disappointed by the size of the sharing platter and would have liked more cheese. Thankfully we were able to have as much bread as we liked, and this helped to ensure we weren’t hungry! The champagne was simply delicious.

  • Ruth W.1 review

    August 1, 2023

    10/10

    Absolutely wonderful food, fizz and French before a theatre play. Merci beaucoup fromage et champagne! Nous reviendrons

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Helen A.2 reviews

    July 18, 2023

    10/10

    An intimate little restaurant with a lovely rustic feel to it. Good range of champagnes and a nice little menu with all the French cheeses and other dishes you would expect. We really enjoyed everything about it and the service was great.

  • Rachel R.1 review

    July 15, 2023

    8/10

    Everything was really lovely and the food was delicious. I just thought that the portion size was small.

  • fiona o.1 review

    July 14, 2023

    9.5/10

    The food is great thr staff excellent

  • Ana S.2 reviews

    July 14, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent if you love cheese and want to have a relaxed informal meal with friends this is an ideal place.

  • Ciara F.1 review

    July 1, 2023

    10/10

    A really enjoyable experience, professional service and delicious food.

  • Honey C.1 review

    June 24, 2023

    9/10

    A great place for a relaxing meal. The oven wasn’t working so we were limited to meat and cheese which was okay. The staff was also quite friendly.

  • Rowan H.1 review

    June 23, 2023

    8/10

    We have been several times before and will return again. We had a lovely time as always . A little disappointed that we were not offered discount or complimentary drink as their ovens were down and therefore the food offering offering was much reduced. Not a problem but still thought we should have been offered a drinky

  • Margaret M.1 review

    June 22, 2023

    10/10

    Had a few days away in London with my sister in law . We’ve been to Champagne and Fromage before but not for a long time . We thoroughly enjoyed the experience again . The staff are friendly and polite , the meat and cheese board was plenty and the champagne complimented it well . On the whole I think it was good value for money and would definitely recommend it . Will definitely be back next time in london.

  • William H.2 reviews

    June 20, 2023

    8.5/10

    A lovely place to visit for a quick pre-theatre nibble. We had the plates of cheeses and meats with a glass of champagne and it was just what we needed.

  • Emily A.1 review

    June 17, 2023

    9/10

    Food was lovely, some really good cheeses, but small portions, could be bigger with some more bread and crackers, brilliant service, happy and fun!

  • Paul R.2 reviews

    June 8, 2023

    9.5/10

    Been meaning to go in here for ages. Keep walking past, and finally booked and went with two old mates. Was great - super wine and GastroPlates - attentive and knowledgeable service. Going again soon.

  • Alma C.1 review

    June 2, 2023

    4/10

    The restaurant was empty which I was surprised about but after a few minutes, I can see why. Really rude and grumpy waiter with no knowledge of the cheese or menu to share. Raclette was weirdly dry. Champagne was good but you could get that in another place with atmosphere and friendly staff.

  • Raisa C.1 review

    May 27, 2023

    10/10

    When we entered the restaurant we were given a smaller table than usual (as we go frequently there) and I did swy that I would have liked a bigger table. However none were available, the guy behind the counter offered free glasses of champagne. He did make his best to make everything fit on the table and did keep checking on us. This is what I call very good customer service. Can't give a higher rating than 10/10 unfortunately. Will visit again.

  • amelie l.1 review

    May 21, 2023

    10/10

    Amazing atmosphere , amazing food. I felt like being in France.

  • Sophia S.1 review

    May 19, 2023

    10/10

    This was a lovely find - delicious food and very friendly people who had amazing knowledge of the cheese and champagne on offer. We will definitely be back!

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

767 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.