Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - Chesford Grange

7.9/10
159
Chesford Bridge Kenilworth, CV8 2LD Kenilworth
British
Average price £30

Chesford Grange

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 9 bookings today

Reviews

7.9/10
159 reviews
7.8/10

Food

8.3/10

Service

7.7/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Fair value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Christopher G.1 review

    July 12, 2024

    9.5/10

    Excellent food and service but needed some background music. The visit was spoilt by the room we stayed in, it needs sorting

  • Andrew T.1 review

    June 26, 2024

    6/10

    It’s average and overpriced. And on Chesford grange website it says 10% off if dine on second night and they didn’t do this, despite staff welcoming back. Steak was good and was medium rare though too much fat and under weight!

  • Jane R.1 review

    June 21, 2024

    10/10

    Excellent service from Rowan!

  • Geoffrey D.1 review

    June 21, 2024

    3/10

    Chesford Grange Hotel is a good hotel but we had a meal in the restaurant and we had Rib-Eye steak done to the advice given, when it came they said be careful the plate is hot, it was in fact luke warm at best, the steak was luke warm as well and had no juicyness to it at all, very dry and looked as if it had been cooked previously and then heated up slightly. the salad was wilted and not fresh, My wife and I ordered exactly the same, I had two mushrooms on my plate but my wife was given none. we had frys and they looked like skin on frys but they also had bad bits of potatoe left in. Not very happy with the food we had.

  • Garth I.1 review

    June 12, 2024

    10/10

    Great attentive service. The fillet steak was superb and would not be out of place at a high end restaurant.

  • Gary H.1 review

    May 31, 2024

    6.5/10

    Room okay but bed uncomfortable. Breakfast was poor. Fried bread and hash browns so overcooked that they shattered when trying to cut them. Fried eggs overcooked yolk and still undercooked white.

  • Fran M.1 review

    June 1, 2024

    4.5/10

    We had to wait for ages for some to take the order and then we had to wait for ages for food to come out the poor kids were starving, an idea maybe is to get the kids food out first. The chicken and steak were both so tough. Shane as it cost so much.

  • Bhavna M.1 review

    May 25, 2024

    10/10

    I was with my elderly parents and my father is disabled - all the serving staff were very attentive, kind and took time out to have a conversation with us - I know that a lot of weekend staff are part time and young students and all were a credit to your establishment

  • Robert F.2 reviews

    May 14, 2024

    9.5/10

    Although there were a number of corporate events in progress during our stay, we were impressed how they were managed to avoid any inconvenience to private guests. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Edward A.1 review

    May 11, 2024

    5/10

    1. We had booked in advance requesting a Window Table. Receptionist could not find any evidence of our booking. . 2. The starter. Poor, my bread was burnt and no moisture to the mackerel which seemed to be old. My wife did not get the Soughdough with the terrine which was dry with little taste. 3. The Mains. My wife's Gammon was missing the fried egg and by the time it arrived she was half way through it. Both of our portions of chips were not fully cooked and were raw in the middle. My battered fish was dire. tastless and soggy, I believe it had been cooked some time before and reheated. I had had enough by then and sent it back and asked for the bill. The staff were good and helpful but were badly let down by the Kitchen.

  • Penelope F.1 review

    May 7, 2024

    9/10

    The food was very good and of a generally high standard. The staff were obliging and helpful, particularly with my allergy. We felt the breakfast could have had a little more variety and I resent being asked to pay more for special dishes, as if I am having those I am not eating the cooked breakfast I have already paid for.

  • Joan I.1 review

    May 9, 2024

    4.5/10

    We both had trout which was very over cooked and the crushed potatoes were not as good as expected, greasy. We both had upset stomachs the next morning. We also had quite a wait for our meal and suspected that the kitchen was busy with the conference that was being held in the hotel. We decided that we would avoid the restaurant for the rest of our stay.

  • Julie M.1 review

    April 27, 2024

    10/10

    Great access for a wheelchair-user, lovely view, good service and delicious food.

  • Nathan G.1 review

    April 20, 2024

    9.5/10

    Food was delicious and service was perfectly timed

  • Neil B.1 review

    March 30, 2024

    10/10

    On the three days we dined the staff were amazing, considerate and thoroughly professional.

  • Chris B.1 review

    March 30, 2024

    2/10

    Was told we were in an adult only area then had children sat near us. Food was cooked so fast, starter was just cheap deap fried squid and hardly any quid just batter, Main course came minutes after my starter infant I think the waiter put down the starter plate and picked up the main. Rushed was not the word. Burger was raw and cold inside Disgusting. Witnessed various meals being sent back. Wasn't just us.

  • Rachel R.1 review

    March 23, 2024

    9/10

    Stayed at the Chesford Grange for 2 nights and dined both nights there in both the restaurant and the bar. The restaurant was nice, the service was great and the food was absolutely lovely, the only couple things that let it down was the limited menu and the price, however I would say our meal was worth the price but the alcohol was way overpriced.

  • Roger K.1 review

    March 22, 2024

    9/10

    Friendly and attentive staff made up for slow service, which was possibly caused by a large wedding party in banqueting. Menu choices and quality of food were excellent, if at first appearing expensive compared with other local eateries. But, being used to 'London' prices and with no 'optional' service charge, in the end represented good value.

  • Carol W.1 review

    March 16, 2024

    7.5/10

    The staff were quite busy, but were friendly and polite. It wasn’t very warm in the restaurant. The food was really tasty and well presented, just a little expensive. The wine was v expensive.

  • Skye C.1 review

    March 16, 2024

    8.5/10

    We enjoyed two nights at the hotel and dined in both nights. The food was very good both nights, we were very pleasantly surprised after less positive experiences at other hotels in the same chain. The staff are attentive, polite and friendly, service was swift and they seemed to manage the number of covers well.

  • Artemis H.1 review

    July 23, 2023

    4/10

    The food was terrible. Worst I’ve had in the UK over our last 4 weeks. My chicken was dry and chewy. The calamari was oily and I couldn’t eat it. The ‘salad’ that supposedly came with it was a few lettuce leaves and rocket. I had to order a side dish of greens to get anything healthy. My husbands wasn’t much better, and my daughter got served an adult pasta meal with chilli when we ordered the childs serve. We mentioned this to the waitress and she didn’t charge us for it. I ordered what I had hoped was a healthy option of food but was very disappointed.

  • David W.1 review

    July 21, 2023

    4.5/10

    Starter was good, linguini OK, but burger was meagre

  • Ian M.1 review

    June 19, 2023

    8/10

    We enjoyed our stay as we had before but - directions to and from rooms distant from reception are inadequate, side plates at breakfast are too small for comfortable use, and “hot” breakfast food was not. Staff throughout the hotel were invariably courteous, cheerful and helpful.

  • Rachel W.1 review

    June 4, 2023

    7/10

    Positives We were lucky enough to have the restaurant mostly to ourselves as there was a large conference on at the time. The waiter was very attentive and helpful and frequently checked to make sure everything was okay. The restaurant offered a slightly off menu meal to my eldest ASD who has food issues which was really kind. Negatives The kids ordered pizza for a main course but the waiter returned to tell us that they were unable to do pizza. The nachos were also served cold which is unusual and meant the children wouldn't eat them! The price didn't hold up against the food quality, I had 4 or measly little prawns in what was otherwise a tasty dish of linguine and the kids main courses were disappointing for the cost. On the whole the restaurant was good and the food was okay but the service from the waiter is what has saved it from being disappointing all round.

  • Rebecca M.1 review

    May 27, 2023

    3/10

    Food was poor, staff were lovely and really tried but it’s hard when you majorly short staffed and the food is so poor for them to do a good job as they are just firefighting. Certainly won’t return to the restaurant

  • Lindsey W.2 reviews

    April 28, 2023

    10/10

    I enjoyed a meal in the restaurant which was the best gluten free pizza I've ever had, and a formal dinner where the maitre'd and the chef couldn't have been more accommodating to my multiple food allergies. Many thanks.

  • Kirsty R.1 review

    April 29, 2023

    6/10

    Food was tasty but very overpriced, service was very slow. No atmosphere at all in the dining room. I wouldn't dine here again unless I was staying in the hotel

  • Barbara C.2 reviews

    April 26, 2023

    6.5/10

    The new menu is quite restrictive and can be challenging for some. Chef may want to be more adventurous but needs to think what the guests want. Next time we will eat in the bar/lounge that retains a more diverse selection

  • Dean S.1 review

    April 26, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent setting, food really good with attentive staff so first class experience.

  • Sarah T.1 review

    April 22, 2023

    9/10

    Having booked a evening meal as a deal I thought the prices were a little high for you to enjoy a 2 course and be in budget. The meal was lovely and would recommend eating there again.

  • Dawn G.1 review

    April 5, 2023

    9/10

    Food was good, service excellent. The only thing we didn’t like as it was a hit and miss whether drinks, coffee, food was added to our hotel room or not they don’t seem to have this under control.

  • Barbara S.1 review

    April 4, 2023

    5/10

    Service was lovely by both ladies. Food was brought and nearly dumpted on the table in front of us. The 2 starter forks were dirty with food stuck in between the prongs. Friend ordered the Haddock which was very dry with no taste. I ordered the fishcake which was floating in what looked like water and the spinach was drowning. No flavour at all to the fishcake. Cheesecake desert was stodgy with a few blueberries rolling on the plate. Extremely disappointed in the quality of the food especially for the price paid. Breakfast was okay although not hot at all.

  • Jeannette E.1 review

    March 31, 2023

    10/10

    The staff were lovely, very attentive especially Lilly and Rieann who were on duty all three evenings. The food was very good, the Whipped Goats Cheese starter was so light and creamy.

  • Ben G.1 review

    April 1, 2023

    9/10

    A few minor issues, but overall very good. Had dinner here last night & thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was very very tasty, there were just a few minor elements preventing it from being a perfect meal. I started with the chicken liver parfait, and the parfait was amazing. 10/10. Would highly recommend. My main was the seabass with risotto, and it was also very tasty. Only criticism was that the skin in the seabass was not crispy, and the risotto needed ever so slightly longer, it was just a tad watery. Very tasty, but needed just some slight tweaks to make it perfect. Service was also great & the wine selection was very good too.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Claire L.1 review

    March 29, 2023

    9/10

    The chicken was disappointing for the price expected more than just a chicken breast and chips with a couple of leaves , dry and uninspiri ng

  • Vickie A.1 review

    March 25, 2023

    6.5/10

    Very disappointed with thr service. Waited for 8 minutes at reception before we were acknowledged. 7.30 booking and there were already items not available. We waited 45 minites for our main course and was told there was am issue with the fryer but would of thought we would of been offered a complimentary drink whilst we waited .

  • Michele D.1 review

    March 25, 2023

    8.5/10

    The staff here are excellent. The hotel is lovely. The only downfall I would say is that the food and drink are way over priced for what they are. That is the only downfall to the hotel. The staff work really hard and are really friendly otherwise.

  • Carolyn Q.1 review

    March 18, 2023

    2/10

    Waited about an hour for two fillet steaks. When they eventually arrived my rare steak(which looked like a great piece of steak) was actually fridge cold inside. Kitchen offered to "cook it more". No thanks, over £30 for a steak I expect it to be right 1st time. Very disappointed.

  • David W.2 reviews

    March 13, 2023

    9.5/10

    We stayed for a three night dinner bed and breakfast break, with dinner on first. two nights. The food was really good, although on the first night several menu items were unavailable, which caused some fellow gusts to be disgruntled. The staff handled the anger very well. .My wife and I were very happy with the menu though. The service on both nights was amongst the best I have received in a hotel

  • Michael S.2 reviews

    March 10, 2023

    6/10

    The restaurant was good, nice and clean and the staff were attentive. I ordered the ribeye steak which was cooked as requested but totally lacking in seasoning which spoiled it for me.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

221 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.