Back

Reviews Chez Fernand Christine

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 1006 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Kristen W.
    Kristen W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Wonderful, intimate setting with excellent food and wine. Best boeuf bourginon I've ever tasted. Great energy and lovely atmosphere. I highly recommend this restaurant!

  2. Thomas b.
    Thomas b.
    • 3 reviews
    4/10

    squeezed into a small table, -no way out- with a quick and unfriendly service, make me feel you are not welcomed here as a tourist?! food was good but service has spoiled it all- and please take your sweater with you, there is no heating in there! maybe okay in summer but not in February.

  3. Darlene B.
    Darlene B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and atmosphere! The boeuf borguignon was very tender and flavorful; creme brûlée was fantastic, very creamy and light. Best meal we had in Paris... actually, probably the best meal we’ve ever had!

  4. Liza C.
    Liza C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Lovely customer service! Friendly and approachable for English speakers. We got the escargot and signature beef dish and it was delicious. My boyfriend got the lunch meal for a very good price as well and we absolutely love the chef.

  5. Alicia D.
    Alicia D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food, wonderful English-speaking service, and a delightful family dined next to us! Try the French Onion Soup and Duck Filet.

  6. Cheung S.
    Cheung S.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a good time here. We enjoyed the food and the service was very well.

  7. Ignacio G. Martinez A.
    Ignacio G. Martinez A.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food and exceptional service!! Thank you for the wonderful experience! They have an impressive Wine selection! Paris’ whole in the wall!!

  8. Steven M.
    Steven M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our favorite place in Paris. The food is outstanding, Save room for desert, they are fabulous. The service is perfect. Make sure you make reservations.

  9. Kevin D.
    Kevin D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious

  10. Hakim B.
    Hakim B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing xmas dinner! Thank you. Delphine served us and was top notch. Cheers, Hakim

  11. Richard R.
    Richard R.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had lunch there and loved everything! Duck was delicious. Had ravioli with foies gras and would go back for that alone! Terrific wine list and service was the best.

  12. Isabella F.
    Isabella F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Everything was amazing from the food to the staff! The service here is always commendable, I cannot wait to recommend it & hopefully return soon!

  13. Edward W.
    Edward W.
    • one review
    9/10

    Every time we come to Paris we try to eat here Never disappointed Cozy and friendly Will return

  14. Chloé K.
    Chloé K.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Best bœuf bourguignon in town

  15. David D.
    David D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Oliver made an amazing choice on a bottle of wine. It made the awesome meal even better.

  16. Tom M.
    Tom M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fine lunch at classic neighbourhood bistro.

  17. Jane R.
    Jane R.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    I have never been a huge fan of French Onion Soup (never having eaten it in France) but I needed something hot to thaw me out and it was incredible! Not the thin, onion-flavored stuff I have had before but thick and rich and delicious. The Boeuf Bourguignon was wonderful and flavorful and rightly described as the signature dish. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and would highly recommend a visit to Chez Fernand Christine!

  18. Charles T.
    Charles T.
    • 15 reviews
    6.5/10

    The speciality beef dish is very good but this place is essentially a tourist trap. Escargot was just okay. The fish special was very under seasoned. Wine selection is strong and fairly priced.

  19. Martin S.
    Martin S.
    • 3 reviews
    4/10

    Staff were not welcoming. Never presented with daily specials. Lackluster cuisine. May be classic cuisine but tasteless. Limited menu options. Very limited wine list. Cannot give a rating of ONE but TWO is very generous.

  20. Oana G.
    Oana G.
    • 28 reviews
    10/10

    As usual, this restaurant is amazing and always exceeds all expectations. The food is exquisite, the service is impeccable and the authentic French atmosphere is unbeatable. I have kept coming back in the last 10 years and will keep on doing so.

  21. Joe R.
    Joe R.
    • 5 reviews
    7/10

    We had a most enjoyable evening. The wine was very nice. The only demerit is for the duck. It was just slightly undercooked and hand a chili rub (I think). It was not what I was expecting.

  22. Patrick G.
    Patrick G.
    • one review
    7/10

    Great food - we have been here many times before. However we booked a week in advance and despite the booking were seated at the drafty entrance, sandwiched between other tables, a number of whom had turned up on the night without a reservation. With the reservation we expected to be placed at a better table.

  23. Sharon W.
    Sharon W.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    A warm and traditional atmosphere with excellent food. My husband had their speciality, beef bourguignon and loved it. My chicken dish was equally good, and the service was friendly and professional. A particularly good choice for non-French speaking tourists as there were English menus and the waiters all had good English language skills. We'd chosen this for our final dinner in Paris and were glad we did.

  24. Ann S.
    Ann S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious lunch! Fabulous mushroom soup! Authentic French! Delicious French Onion Soup! Great service and wonderful atmosphere. Highly recommend!

  25. Judy B.
    Judy B.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    I needed this in English..did the best I could to comment correctly.

  26. Clementine M.
    Clementine M.
    • one review
    10/10

    So good we went 4 times in 2 weeks !

  27. Evgeniya C.
    Evgeniya C.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    The best beef bourguignon and ravioli with truffle and mushroom sauce is to die for. Very welcoming service. One of the best traditional French restaurants

  28. Lise C.
    Lise C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious dinner, including snails, in a very cozy atmosphere.

  29. Mark k.
    Mark k.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic classic French food in a relaxed atmosphere.

  30. Donna K.
    Donna K.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    The waitress was very nice and helpful. The beef burguigion was fabulous, so tender and tasty. The chocolate cake with caramel ice cream was very good too.

  31. Gustavo C.
    Gustavo C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was delish, awesome service

  32. Joe C.
    Joe C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Wow we went for lunch it was amazing. Try the rice pudding and french onion soup.

  33. Richelle  F.
    Richelle F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Sensational service, friendly waiter, exceptionally professional. The food ... Amazing ❤ Escargot- tender and flavorful, the beef - wonderful- melts in your mouth and chocolate mousse- a wonderful decadent surprise- the best in Paris by FAR

  34. Dian P.
    Dian P.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Delphine was an incredible server! She was so personable and helpful! This was our favorite dining experience in Paris!

  35. Joanne Marttila P.
    Joanne Marttila P.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Really good beef bourgninon and a great recommendation on wine. Staff was excellent - fun and knowledgeable! They rushed us out, though...so much for the relaxed French dining experience.

  36. Bob S.
    Bob S.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    My wife and I went to Chez Fernand on the first night of our Paris vacation and loved it so much we made sure to return on our last night, 10 days later. The service is exemplary. Despite how busy they are, they give personal attention to each guest. The wine list is extensive and reasonably priced. The atmosphere, while a bit crowded, is nevertheless intimate and charming. And the food is absolutely first rate. The onion soup was the best I had in Paris. The beef bourguignon melts in your mouth. The veal with mushroom daily feature I had on the last night was amazing. And the creme brulee was superior. You won't regret your dining experience here.

  37. Philipa C.
    Philipa C.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    A really warm and welcoming resto in the heart of The left bank. We have been eating dinner here for 18 years each visit to Paris. We know what we order is what we get. Staff are friendly and helpful. .

  38. Kathy R.
    Kathy R.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Staff is a bit snippy. Rushed.

  39. Bob S.
    Bob S.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    For our 1st night in Paris, we choose this charming restaurant just a short walk from our hotel on Rue Dauphine. Chez Fernand was a wonderful experience. The staff was welcoming, efficient and especially helpful with the extensive wine list. Our dinners were quite good and the overall price was very reasonable. Highly recommended.

  40. Anastasia S.
    Anastasia S.
    • 12 reviews
    8.5/10

    Exxxxxcellent food if you like traditional French! The service was perfect. Would recommend or bring other foreign friends here without hesitation!