Back

Reviews - Chez Georges

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 260 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. J K.
    J K.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Smaakvol diner, attente en voorkomende bediening, sfeervol restaurant.

  2. • one review
    10/10

    Had a delightful meal - everything was lovely, the food was great, price was good, wine was good, overall a very nice evening thank you just before our flight to Colombia.

  3. Francois L.
    Francois L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent address. Cosy atmosphere and incredible food. I definitely recommend!

  4. Thijs S.
    Thijs S.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    Goed Frans restaurant

  5. Allyson W.
    Allyson W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Hands down, one of the best meals we've ever eaten... anywhere in the world!

  6. Michiel G.
    Michiel G.
    • 56 reviews
    8.5/10

    Klassiek Frans eten.

  7. Kathryn R.
    Kathryn R.
    • 26 reviews
    10/10

    Loved everything about this restaurant! We're already looking forward to our next meal here...

  8. Bobby L.
    Bobby L.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Everything was very good until they allowed a guest to bring in a dog. While it was well-behaved & didn’t smell, I am just not used to sharing a restaurant dining room with a dog.

  9. Arthur S.
    Arthur S.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Top kok en gerant!

  10. Teresa B.
    Teresa B.
    • 23 reviews
    8/10

    Muy bueno. Excelente pescado

  11. Marián B.
    Marián B.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent find in Amsterdam central area. We had a chef menu that the waiter-chef duo decided themselves but it was all well prepared and balanced. We have combined it with some wine and the dinner was absolutely great!

  12. Dany A.
    Dany A.
    • 48 reviews
    9.5/10

    Small hidden restaurant in amsterdam Dishes are fresh and tasty We opted for the chez georges menu , including a variety of fish and meat dishes All were succulent The wine list is very god with a lot of international variety. Our serve was very helpful and friendly A place to visit

  13. Rosa B.
    Rosa B.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Amazing food, friendly service, romantic vibe

  14. Henry  T.
    Henry T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Probably Best FRENCH/BELGIAN meals in Amsterdam. A real Jewel!!!

  15. Johannes H.
    Johannes H.
    • 36 reviews
    9.5/10

    Old fashioned, in the good sense, cuisine. Nice traditional Belgian/French dishes richly prepared with cream & butter! Fingerlicking good. Especially the Waterzooi with duck! Nice wines as well, primarily French. Decor is in line with the kitchen. Cosy and romantic.

  16. Nick N.
    Nick N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Awesome place! Highly recommend

  17. Rich L.
    Rich L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and service!

  18. Frederic M.
    Frederic M.
    • 12 reviews
    8/10

    An authentic traditional French restaurant in an intimate setting. It is very romantic and quaint. They are a bit heavy on the sauces as the French are.

  19. Jeremy T.
    Jeremy T.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Marvellous food and service

  20. Murdoch S.
    Murdoch S.
    • 16 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely welcoming intimate atmosphere and great food

  21. Fiona L.
    Fiona L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    A lovely evening of great food and great, personalized service.

  22. Victoria J.
    Victoria J.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    We were the only table on the mezzanine so we didn’t see the waiter nearly enough. We had to shout over the balcony at him at times and go downstairs to get our check. But the wine and food were near perfect. The only exception was my overcooked cod. My entree came with 2 types of fish and the other one was perfect. Fortunately I’m not a big eater and didn’t need it. The server however ignored my comment about it which is a shame in my opinion. It gave me a bad feeling about the place. Restaurants should own up to their mistakes, IMHO.

  23. Janet J.
    Janet J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Adam and I enjoyed all of it.

  24. JOHN P.
    JOHN P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    fantastic food, hugely professional and charming service, extensive wine list.

  25. Wouter S.
    Wouter S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastische keuken en bediening

  26. Arndís V.
    Arndís V.
    • one review
    10/10

    In my mind, Chez Georges is exactly what I imagen a family run restaurant should be. I is almost like going to a dinner at somebody´s living room and have meal that will warm you body and soul. Perfect restaurant for a romantic date!

  27. Philip M.
    Philip M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Our 2nd visit this year. Beautiful food in a charming intimate restaurant. Well worth a visit.

  28. Nicole R.
    Nicole R.
    • one review
    8/10

    Good food, nice patron, portions bit too big.

  29. - -.
    - -.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great anniversary, we were not disappointed. They made it all very special. They food and wine were excellent.

  30. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    8/10

    Nice romantic dinner atmosphere. Waiter was not overly friendly but the service was halfway decent. The food overall all was very good and the portions were generous.

  31. - -.
    - -.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Best meal we had in Amsterdam. Wonderful food and service. Great sense of occasion in this classic restaurant.

  32. Bodil L.
    Bodil L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Great atmosphere and good food. A wonderful experience .

  33. dgmchevalier
    dgmchevalier
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    This is a small restaurant (10 tables of 2 and one table of 4) with a cosy interior. The night we were there, half the tables were occupied (we arrived a bit earlier than most other guests). The menu is not extensive, but quite interesting and so is the wine list. We were welcomed by the only waiter (that night), who worked hard for the whole time (the restaurant is on 3 floors, so he certainly got some excercise, and never stopped, except to have a glass of water every 45 mintues or so), was friendly, knowledgeable and professional (very efficient and attentive to all guests; for example, someone at a table near us dropped a small plate whilst he was attending our table, and he immediately excused himself, replaced the plate and came back to our table to take our order), if a bit "abrupt" (i.e. not elegant) in his service. The food was excellent, cooked to perfection, all prepared by the one-man band (the chef) in his tiny kitchen, ensuring that everyone at the same table got his food on time, and at the same time. Be prepared for dishes in sauce and/or a lot of cream; this is not "nouvelle cuisine" or "light" cuisine, but tasty, rich food, and good portions; you will not go out of this restaurant hungry! We will come back, but might limit ourselves to a main dish, or alternatively also sharing a starter. Price/quality is good for Amsterdam : E120 for 2, covering 2 starters, 2 main dishes, a nice bottle of wine and a bottle of water "a la carte"; the menus come in a bit cheaper, but we did not care for dessert or coffee. This has become one of our top two favourite restaurants for French/Belgian cuisine in Amsterdam.

  34. Jeremy T.
    Jeremy T.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Wonderful fish and fabulous sauces. Friendly service and intimate, quirky atmosphere. A terrific evening and top of our list for speedy return.