Back

Reviews - Chez Max

9.4/10

Excellent

based on 175 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Alexe O.
    Alexe O.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Always amazing food

  2. Emeric D.
    Emeric D.
    • 381 reviews
    7/10

    Bonne viande

  3. Anamaria M.
    Anamaria M.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The Steak Tartare was delicious and also the Chèvre Salad and the Cheese dessert. Service is super attentive and kind. We loved our lunch time there. Frank (a.k.a. Max) is friendly and pleasant. ☺️

  4. Peter H.
    Peter H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Wine list and wine service was some of the best we’ve ever experienced. The duck, which has a special red mustard sauce was the highlight of the meal for us. Loved it so much we canceled the next nights dinner reservation to go back a second night in a row.

  5. David M.
    David M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Genuine French food in a restaurant filed with French people who obviously enjoy the food there too. A lovely owner and staff. Wonderful meal and wine.

  6. Patrick g.
    Patrick g.
    • one review
    10/10

    A revenir

  7. Alain S.
    Alain S.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Very good quality of food, excellent prices, great choice of wines and local "champagnes", friendly staff. You have the choice between different and well balanced menus. A recommandation!

  8. Patrick M.
    Patrick M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Top restaurant! We come back!!

  9. Gerard V.
    Gerard V.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Very traditional French Restaurant, cosy, with great menu and options

  10. Alejandro M.
    Alejandro M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Going to Chez Max was the best dining decision we have made during our trip in France. The food was delicious and the service was amazing. Next time we are in Épernay we will definitely stop there for dinner.

  11. Lolita C.
    Lolita C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very delicious food, reasonable prices and enthusiastic service with local charm! We enjoyed the dinner very much.

  12. Maggie M.
    Maggie M.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Wonderful gem in Epernay. Food was classic French; thus excellent ingredients prepared with minimum fuss. Delicious food and friendly people.

  13. Mary Anne J.
    Mary Anne J.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    This local restaurant is just out of Epernay and was recommended by our hosts. Very easy to book on the Fork. Warm professional welcome and excellent service throughout the meal despite being busy with locals and visitors on a Tuesday night. Traditional French food done very,very well. Tartare de boeuf prepared at the table is a speciality. A good selection of wines and the cheese selection was a also a highlight. Reasonable prices were a bonus. Woukd recommend.

  14. Renee l.
    Renee l.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a lovely meal, waitress was very friendly and so was Monsieur Max.

  15. Astrid D.
    Astrid D.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Nice food ,but main course consisting of veal disappointing

  16. Bart v.
    Bart v.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    We had heard a lot about this little restaurant so we decided to have lunch there today. We were welcomed by a very nice host and the food and wines were delicious. The atmosphere was great, it's a little bistro with great food. Go there when you can, but be sure to book a table in advance, because it's very popular!

  17. Greg D.
    Greg D.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great service fantastic tasting food and very good wine. Highly recommended.

  18. Sylvia S.
    Sylvia S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing lunch and such phenomenal food and service. We'll be back!!! ❤️

  19. Anne S.
    Anne S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The restaurant is attractive and well laid out on two floors. It has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

  20. Andrew H.
    Andrew H.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    This is an unlikely setting for truly excellent food. We each took a €44 fixed priced menu with amazing foie gras, filet Rossini. Turbot & Ile Flottant superb. Great short wine list reasonable priced with a very efficient and welcoming service from Max himself and colleagues. Unpretentious and first clas although it could be in more of a romantic setting!

  21. Kathryn R.
    Kathryn R.
    • 26 reviews
    10/10

    Always great food here, and the wine and Champagne list is excellent. Plus, Franck must be the most welcoming host and restaurant owner in France - he makes any meal here special!

  22. Laura D.
    Laura D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Warm welcome, amazing & friendly service. Fantastic food. Our best dining experience in Épernay!!! We will come back especially for this again.

  23. Karoliina J.
    Karoliina J.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Chez Max was the best French cuisine we had during our stay in Champagne region. A warm and welcoming atmosphere and the owner himself taking the time to serve and discuss with every customer in the restaurant. Definitely worth a visit!

  24. John V.
    John V.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The kindness and welcome, hospitality by the proprietor and staff were unmatched. The quality of the food was very good - classical French cuisine. I was wanting more for wines, but overall a very nice service

  25. Kenneth C.
    Kenneth C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely fantastic in every way. We were greeted as we walked in by the owner, who obviously was very proud of his establishment and delighted to share it with us. The rack of lamb and coquille saint-jacques were excellent, as were the champagne pairings. We loved it so much we have made reservations to return on our last night in the Champagne region.

  26. Peter K.
    Peter K.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Max is a wonderful and energetic restaurateur. Made us feel very welcome and food was great. Good wine list.

  27. Max W.
    Max W.
    • one review
    9/10

    We were with a group of 10 and were able to order a la carte! The dishes were made in a short time and the taste was good! We enjoyed our stay and I would recommend Chez Max to friends.

  28. Octav C.
    Octav C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent, truly amazing food! The duck was my favorite.

  29. Williams W.
    Williams W.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    excellent value for money and very good staff. good choice of plats du jour and desserts.

  30. Steve F.
    Steve F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Extremely welcoming. The food was the best I've had in a very long time. Extremely good family restaurant. If you're staying in the area and you're looking for French traditional food, go to Chez Max you won't be disappointed.

  31. Holger H.
    Holger H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very friendly and we had a really good lunch