Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Reviews - Chilli Banana - Macclesfield

9.2/10
89
The Merchants House, 59 Buxton Road, SK10 1JX MacclesfieldSee map

Average price £26

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Already 3 bookings today 🔥

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Already 3 bookings today 🔥
Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9.2/10
Excellent90 reviews
9.2/10

Food

9.3/10

Service

9.2/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Louise S.
    Louise S.

    September 20, 20221 review

    9/10

    Thanks for looking after us. Food was great and also the service was generally good and everyone enjoyed it. I got alot of positive feedback from the group. Excellent you are able to manage such a big group with positive feedback. Thankyou

  • Roy M.
    Roy M.

    September 11, 20221 review

    10/10

    We booked a table for 2 for Sunday night. So glad we did as the place was packed! No wonder, when the food is so great. We thoroughly enjoyed the tempura veg and the satay chicken starters, and the chicken massaman curry with coconut rice was to die for. We will be back!

  • Andrew M.
    Andrew M.

    September 10, 20222 reviews

    6/10

    We thought out two starters of scallops and spare ribs were really quite good, but the main courses were only average. Flavour and spice were lacking in both main courses and they only had a faint taste of Thailand. The chefs need to up their game and make the main courses more authentic with better quality ingredients and less of a “take away “ feel about the tastes and overall look of the dishes. Go to Thailand and you will be amazed by the difference from what is being offered here. As we go into recession the pressure is on just DO BETTER.

    Chilli Banana - Macclesfield (Owner)

    Hi Andrew, I’m sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your main courses with us and our food wasn’t authentic enough for your personal tastes. Over the past 17 years we have established ourselves in Macclesfield as a high quality Thai restaurant with authentic tastes. All of our staff are from Thailand after all. Everything is made fresh to order and we only use the highest quality ingredients which is reflected in our premium prices. Any of our dishes can be made stronger if you like yours more spicy. It’s a shame you didn’t inform us at the time that you were not happy with your meal as we could’ve had the opportunity to put it right. We will strive to continue to deliver the best possible Thai dining experience as you’ll see from our 5* reviews we like to please our customers. We are operating in difficult times and we find that these kind of comments are unconstructive and completely unwarranted. But I will ask my chefs to try and ‘UP’ their game a bit. Warmest regards, Ben

  • Lia J.
    Lia J.

    September 9, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Very nice and good service

  • Sara L.
    Sara L.

    August 5, 202219 reviews

    9.5/10

    Fab lunch as always.

  • Sue N.
    Sue N.

    June 3, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    The food was superb. The crispy noodles are sublime If there was any fault to be found it was the iced coffee was more ice than coffee. Service was friendly and efficient.

  • Sara L.
    Sara L.

    April 28, 202219 reviews

    10/10

    It’s always great food here, never disappoints. Lunchtime menu is a bargain, and so fresh and delicious!

  • Lauryna B.
    Lauryna B.

    April 2, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Very nice service, very pleasant atmosphere. Maybe even too much of attention when you want to have cozy evening.

  • Angela Y.
    Angela Y.

    March 26, 20221 review

    10/10

    Very nice food - will definitely return! Service faultless - a thoroughly enjoyable evening! It’s hard to find a restaurant with everything perfect- this was it!

  • Helen M.

    March 11, 20221 review

    10/10

    The staff were welcoming , the food was fantastic and served on hot plates, would definitely recommend and will be booking again in the future.

  • Sara L.
    Sara L.

    February 23, 202219 reviews

    10/10

    Fabulous as always. Friendly service, great food.

  • Sara L.
    Sara L.

    January 26, 202219 reviews

    10/10

    It’s always a good meal out, trio of curries is great value and the service cheerful.

  • Sara L.
    Sara L.

    January 19, 202219 reviews

    9.5/10

    Fabulous as ever - excellent range of curries, charming service and good value on the mid week deal.

  • Sara L.
    Sara L.

    December 7, 202119 reviews

    10/10

    This is the best Thai restaurant in Macclesfield. I’ve been so many times and it never disappoints. The food is great, and the atmosphere really nice. It also does a great lunch.

  • Stacey a.

    September 4, 20211 review

    10/10

    Food and service was amazing. Would definitely recommend. They also have live music on (someone singing and playing the keyboard) which was lovely to hear.

  • Lewis M.

    September 4, 20211 review

    10/10

    Amazing service and excellent food as usual , 10/10 will be going again soon

  • Lynn P.

    November 3, 20201 review

    10/10

    Excellent

  • Jackie l.

    October 30, 20202 reviews

    10/10

    The food was delicious, excellent flavours and actually we both thought our meals were the nicest we’d had for a long time. Friendly and welcoming staff and we look forward to going again soon

  • Sarah S.

    October 15, 20201 review

    7.5/10

    Good food 1 of the waiters I think was the manager was nice but the other waiter well i am glad he didn’t bring my food as he was scratching his genital area, hence why we asked for the service charge to be taken off not something you like to see while sat eating food

  • Cherrie P.

    October 9, 20201 review

    10/10

    The Chilli Banana is a really nice place to spend the evening! The good is wonderful! Nicely presented and very very tasty! I didn’t leave a thing!

  • Jill G.
    Jill G.

    October 9, 20204 reviews

    10/10

    Love this restaurant. Easy to book, always a warm welcome from extremely courteous staff; Covid measures extremely good and give you confidence; and food is always fresh, hot and beautifully presented. Service is also excellent. Love it!

  • Sheila K.

    October 1, 20201 review

    8/10

    Early evening so very quiet on arrival. Very explicit on cleansing and which way to go. Excellent social distancing and friendly helpful service. Delicious food and good selection of wines. Will definitely revisit.

  • John M.
    John M.

    September 26, 20201 review

    10/10

    Excellent restaurant ...great atmosphere ...staff very attentive and professional and observed the Covid regs very well....enjoyed it very much :)

  • Sue N.
    Sue N.

    January 17, 20202 reviews

    8.5/10

    Very pleasant restaurant and always spotlessly clean. Great food. This time the service was a little slow . We had to ask for our plates to be cleared, ask for our desert order to be taken and then 3 times for the bill.

  • Mike L.

    January 15, 20201 review

    10/10

    Always great food lovely presentation and nice atmosphere.

  • Jeanette D.

    January 8, 20201 review

    10/10

    Mixed starter was lovely and I can definitely recommend the beef massaman

  • Jayashree J.

    January 1, 20201 review

    9.5/10

    We were four for lunch at Chilli Banana on 2 January 2020. The service was extremely good, and the food was ultra good! We enjoyed being there.

  • Ness L.

    December 17, 20191 review

    9/10

    Always a lovely place to go. Service is usually good and don’t usually have to wait for food for too long!

  • John B.

    November 18, 20191 review

    9.5/10

    Always enjoy eating at this establishment. Excellent service and menu. Friendly polite staff.

  • Lesley H.

    November 9, 20191 review

    10/10

    Extremely knowledgeable about dishes for someone who is both vegetarian and gluten intolerant.

  • Pearl D.

    November 7, 20191 review

    9.5/10

    We went for lunch whilst visiting Macclesfield. Service was very good,food was excellent but drinks were very expensive.

  • Valerie R.

    October 18, 20191 review

    10/10

    It was our first time at Chilli Banana and we had a lovely lunch. The food was very good indeed, flavourful and authentic. Service was excellent also. The lunch options are a good idea because if you’re not too hungry you can choose the 2 plate meal, rather than the 3. The only small criticism is the cutlery wasn’t right. Trying to cut a fish cake or a lettuce leaf with a spoon doesn’t work! Knives should also be provided.

  • Alan B.

    September 20, 20191 review

    10/10

    All round excellence

  • Melissa W.

    August 24, 20191 review

    10/10

    This is my boyfriend and mine's favourite restaurant, we love coming here. 5/5 service every time. :)

  • Katya h.

    August 17, 20191 review

    10/10

    Great staff, lovely food.

  • PETER G.

    July 16, 20191 review

    10/10

    We had our usual excellent food. The 3 curries selection is very good.

  • Helen W.

    May 17, 20191 review

    9.3/10

    Absolutely fantastic as always

  • Maricar C.

    April 27, 20191 review

    10/10

    It was really really nice, we had a lovely lunch. Lots of choices , the food are tasty. My son loves the chicken wings , and we definitely coming back again. Excellent service.

  • Barbara B.

    April 8, 20191 review

    10/10

    Really good welcome and friendly service. Good choice on the menu. This was our second visit in recent weeks and we look forward to our next visit.

  • David G.

    February 25, 20191 review

    10/10

    Good service - excellent variety and quality of food - warm comfortable surroundings - Peroni on draught is a bonus for me!

Tripadvisor reviews

307 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation