Register my restaurant
Help


Chinese With friends

Reviews - Chinatown

8.4/10
281
Estrada Monumental 290A, 9000-001 Funchal
Chinese
Average price €16

Chinatown

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.4/10
Very good281 reviews
8.6/10

Food

8.2/10

Service

8.1/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Bob A.

    Bob A.7 reviews

    June 7, 2024

    9.5/10

    Always good food at very reasonable prices. Service is quick and the owner always visible to make sure everything runs smoothly.

  • Christine A.12 reviews

    March 11, 2024

    8/10

    Busy restaurant staff attentive and food good

  • Angelo M.2 reviews

    February 14, 2024

    3.5/10

    The service lost lot of quality, I felt like they want to empty the table as quick as possible. The presentation of the food is poor. I know this restaurant for long time, and never been on this level very disappointing.

  • Pat G.58 reviews

    February 16, 2024

    8/10

    Good flavours, large portions but the low price dictated the quality of the chicken etc which wasn’t so good. Full of gristle.

  • Beatriz F.1 review

    February 13, 2024

    7.5/10

    Unfortunately they overcharged us but the problem was solved, also eve try time we go there they never bring the change back.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Aine B.19 reviews

    January 27, 2024

    9/10

    Good meal - food quality very good - staff welcoming & friendly.

  • Susan B.29 reviews

    January 13, 2024

    7/10

    We had a reservation, so we were welcomed and given a choice of table by one of the friendly waitresses. (Unlike a previous occasion when we were left standing and waiting so in the end left and ate elsewhere) Our food and drinks order were taken and both came quickly. The food was tasty, although my partner's dish was not as hot as he would have liked. Then it all went downhill - whilst paying by card the manager mumbled something to the waitress and I couldn't add tip on the payment. We left coins in the tray and immediately the manager came and removed the tip we had left, leaving the empty tray. One of the lovely waitresses asked if we had left a tip as she knew the manager had taken it. Apparently, he takes the tips and the staff don't get their share. We challenged the manager who denied the allegation saying the tips are shared. His manner was bordering on aggressive, so we asked him why he was behaving this way - his reply was that he was tired. He then walked off. Dreadful man! What an uncomfortable end to what was a really nice meal ADVICE - if you do eat here, give any tips directly and discreetly to the waitresses as they are the ones who deserve it!!!!!!

  • Brian A.7 reviews

    January 7, 2024

    9.5/10

    Excellent meal and very tasty. Also great service by friendly staff

  • Nikki P.1 review

    December 25, 2023

    9/10

    Delicious dishes and large portions! Freshly squeezed orange juice was a lovely addition. Service was a little slow (however it was Christmas Day) but staff were very kind and helpful regardless.

    review_preview

    See 4 photos

  • Cornel B.1 review

    November 22, 2023

    6/10

    Certainly the best Chinese food in Funchal. Been there on many occasions and will return. There’s a multitude of service, and in the end you’re not really sure who’s responsible for your table. But that is a minor issue. As mentioned before the soup is really good and the location couldn’t be more convenient.

  • Jill T.1 review

    November 6, 2023

    3/10

    Despite have tofu on the menu there was absolutely no vegan choices on the menu nor were they willing to cook something vegan to order. No allergens present on the menu either. We had a drink and left. Avoid if vegan.

  • Katie F.1 review

    October 28, 2023

    10/10

    We found this restaurant years ago as we love Chinese. We have been going with our great friends every year we are in Madeira. The food is great and the service excellent.

  • Laura A.3 reviews

    September 26, 2023

    5.5/10

    Food was good also the prices. What spoiled the atmosphere was all the staff rushing past our table every two minutes. Our table was set in the middle of the restaurant and for some reason the staff used this to dart past to get to the other tables. It was very off putting as it was like sitting in the middle of a racetrack. Don’t think I would go back or recommend.

  • Edward H.17 reviews

    August 19, 2023

    7/10

    Dined here yesterday- shown to a table inside- very nice ???? food arrived swiftly and was good sized portions. Could have been a little more tastier Singapore noodles, otherwise all good.

  • Paul J.45 reviews

    May 27, 2023

    9/10

    Food really good. Staff attentive but could have been a bit more friendly. They did get warmer as the evening progressed. Thanks for a lovely evening

  • Luke P.1 review

    January 3, 2023

    3.5/10

    Service was slow, inattentive and it took us a long time to get the bill when we were in a rush. We could have just left at that point as it was taking so long to get the bill. Some of the food was ok, but other dishes were really strange, and the rice tasted like tobacco ash. Would suggest going elsewhere

  • Hector M.13 reviews

    December 14, 2022

    10/10

    Food was excellent. Great value. Staff very welcoming. A must visit.

  • Phil S.1 review

    November 22, 2022

    9/10

    Really nice meal thank you.

  • Pauline S.2 reviews

    September 18, 2022

    8.5/10

    Food was lovely. Staff were lovely. Quite busy when we went so service a little slow

  • David d.1 review

    August 27, 2022

    8/10

    First of all food was good but our mains arrived whilst still eating our starter and we're left on our table . Spoke to manager but poor response

  • Chris M.10 reviews

    August 6, 2022

    6.5/10

    This is not my first visit although I hadn’t been for a few years. I have to agree with others food is really good but the service is not great. The serving staff were not welcoming and everything felt like an effort If they worked on customer service this place could be so much better. I hate giving such an average review but can’t give anything else. This was exactly how I felt the previous years. I really do hope it improves. ????

  • Geoff L.30 reviews

    July 4, 2022

    10/10

    Staff were really good, friendly and efficient. Food was plentiful, well prepared and very tasty. We were a party of four and the table looked like a banquet! Well worth a try!

  • Jason W.11 reviews

    June 28, 2022

    9.5/10

    Owner super friendly and very involved with service. 10/10

  • Aine B.19 reviews

    February 7, 2022

    9.5/10

    Excellent meal - service good - well priced - will return. Highly recommend this restaurant for good Chinese food.

  • Justin Vieira H.

    Justin Vieira H.1 review

    January 25, 2022

    2/10

    Done a booking online, got a message to say please wait for a confirmation email that your reservation has been confirmed still waiting for the email and its 22h41. So us as a family of 11 went through to only find that the restaurant is closed when online platforms state they are open.

  • Gianni J.2 reviews

    January 3, 2022

    7/10

    Interesting and varied menu. Staff were polite but not particularly chatty. Food was excellent. Nice ambience and traffic noise not too intrusive

  • Les B.12 reviews

    November 24, 2021

    7.5/10

    Service was quite slow and had to keep asking for the bill but as we were in no hurry it didn’t really bother us. The portions were quite small compared to other places but would go again as the food was good.

  • Mike H.1 review

    November 24, 2021

    8.5/10

    We sat in the outside part for my 46th birthday dinner. Really excellent evening, nice genuine staff, nice upbeat music in the background. Enjoyed it alot !

  • Olhaobrito B.

    Olhaobrito B.1 review

    September 24, 2021

    6.5/10

    OK

  • Angela J.3 reviews

    August 7, 2021

    6.5/10

    Are here twice during our stay in Funchal. First time was faultless.Excellent service,food arrived in good time and meal was lovely. Second visit was a totally different story. Arrived at our booked time of 8pm and sat down. Given menus quite quickly but 40 minutes later we still had not had food or a drink order taken (this was the case for three other tables around us).No prawn crackers brought to table as per previous visit. Eventually had to call over a waitress to order.No real apology for the delay. Once order was made the food arrived in reasonable time. Again had to call over waiter to take our dessert order which was part of the set meal.He asked if we had to wait a long time,apologised and said his boss was.impossible to work with....not really a suitable comment to make to a customer we thought. He offered a complementary drink as compensation. There were definitely two members of staff less on our second visit,for whatever reason, but they were clearly missed as service was definitely poor. If this had been our first visit,despite the food being very good,we would not have returned.

  • Rebecca W.19 reviews

    August 9, 2021

    10/10

    We eat here at least twice a year. The food and service is amazing. Chefs and waiters are all knowledgeable about the menu and are able to change set menu to be fully gluten free!

  • Linda W.3 reviews

    August 6, 2021

    10/10

    Quick, friendly service. One dish was served cold but was soon rectified.

  • Christopher H.34 reviews

    June 17, 2021

    9.5/10

    The €39 menu for two was excellent. Good selection and well cooked. More than enough. The house red was very acceptable but 14.5%. Needed plenty of water. The meal was definitely worth the money.

  • Steve S.

    Steve S.7 reviews

    December 14, 2020

    8.5/10

    Staff were super welcoming. Friendly. Food taste good. Could have more non-sushi varieties. But it was still good. There is ample parking space for cars.

Tripadvisor reviews

442 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.