Back

Reviews - De Silveren Spiegel

9.7/10

Excellent

based on 185 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Josh Y.
    Josh Y.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Very nice staff and food is nice.

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Josh, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit at restaurant de Silveren Spiegel. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the entire experience and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Our team takes great pride in what they do, and we will surely share your compliments with them. Warm regards, Family van der Hoff

  2. Michele D.
    Michele D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent place to have an elegant dinner or to celebrate a special day / anniversary

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Michele, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit restaurant de Silveren Spiegel. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the entire experience and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Our team takes great pride in what they do, and we will surely share your compliments with them. Warm regards, Family van der Hoff

  3. Sergio R.
    Sergio R.
    • 17 reviews
    10/10

    Top quality. I had a reservation for 8:30, and due to Covid, restaurants must close at 10 pm. As I arrived I was warned of that but everything went quite well and I was able to finish a four course meal in time with no rush. The vegetables dish is the best I ever had. Very attentive service. Definitively on of Amsterdam’s best.

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Sergio, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your dining experience. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed everything and that the team was able to contribute to a beautiful evening. I will certainly share your compliments and hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future. Sincerely, Family van der Hoff

  4. Francois Xavier C.
    Francois Xavier C.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent restaurant with inventive cuisine. A must go in Amsterdam

  5. Irfan T.
    Irfan T.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Some thing you can not explain with words. You have to live it and enjoy it. Food was perfect.. ???? Personel was excelent ???? smiling and helpful ????????????‍♂️ Be sure to visit when you go to Amsterdam ????

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Irfan, We would like to thank you for giving us a perfect rating further to your experience in our restaurant. Our chef Yves van der Hoff is responsible for the culinary works of art and the creative influences in the menu and we are convinced that he will be very pleased as well to read your lovely comments. We will share your review with our entire restaurant team and we are definitely looking forward to welcome you again in order to satisfy all your desires with yet another surprisingly culinary experience. With kind regards, Family van der Hoff

  6. Jasper M.
    Jasper M.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food, we enjoyed the six course chef’s menu. All six courses were very good and had a great taste. Waiters were professional and also very friendly.

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Jasper, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit restaurant de Silveren Spiegel. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the entire experience and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Our team takes great pride in what they do, and we will surely share your compliments with them. Warm regards, Family van der Hoff

  7. Rosemary A.
    Rosemary A.
    • 11 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food and service is absolutely outstanding!! However, we were seated outside at first, and had to be asked to be moved inside (which they did with no questions). Outside the garbage trucks were picking up, lots of people walking the street, and we had a very LOUD and noisy table next to us (social distancing space was observed), and one of the persons was watching loud videos on their phone. Inside we were all by ourself and the atmosphere was superb. This is the place to be and for sure we will be back. But I can't say enough about the food, the wine, and the service. Wonderful welcome, wonderful attention. This restaurant is one you must try. The chef is only 26 but he is doing fabulous things.

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Rosemry, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your dining experience. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed everything and that the team was able to contribute to a beautiful evening. I will certainly share your compliments and hopefully we may welcome you again in the near future. Sincerely, Family van der Hoff

  8. Hans V.
    Hans V.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    One of the best lunches we’ve had in quite a while! Wonderful and personal attention by our waiter, superb food and wines (we immediately ordered a case of the Italian red wine from Puglia). Could not have been any better!

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Hans, Thank you for writing a fantastic review. Your praising words about the food and wines are very much appreciated. We’ll make sure to pass on your great comments to the chef and the rest of the staff. We make our outmost to make everyone feel welcome everytime they come to our restaurant, so we’re pleased to see you enjoyed the whole experience. Hope to welcome you again! With kind regards, Family van der Hoff

  9. Marco O.
    Marco O.
    • one review
    9/10

    Very nice atmosphere and super service. The menu is a bit more Fisch orientated and for my tast a bit too mush vinegar is used in some food. Very nice is the vegetable plate. The decoration is very well done. Huge wine selection of all over the world.

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Marco, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit restaurant de Silveren Spiegel. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the atmosphere and service. As well as the wine selection. I will certainly be sharing your kind feedback about the menu with the staff respectively. Hopefully we may welcome you again in the future. Warm regards, Family van der Hoff

  10. Hao Chen P.
    Hao Chen P.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    The service was perfect, so was the food!

  11. Antoinette Z.
    Antoinette Z.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    In a beautiful building having dinner with the man a love. Food is excellent!!! Waitress was very kind. We had a very romantic evening in a very good restaurant.

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Antoinette, Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your dining experience at de Silveren Spiegel. Your praising words about the great food are very much appreciated. Our team takes great pride in what they do, we’ll make sure to pass on your comments to the chef and the rest of the staff. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in restaurant de Silveren Spiegel. Kind regards, Family van der Hoff

  12. Ismail R.
    Ismail R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Lunch at the restaurant. We had one of the best meal in The Netherlands. Beautiful food presentations, delicious foods and excellent service. If you want a place away from the really busy streets and just enjoying your company and meal this is definitely a place to go.

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Ismail, Thank you for writing a fantastic review. Your praising words about the food and service are very much appreciated. We’ll make sure to pass on your great comments to the chef and the rest of the staff. We make our outmost to make everyone feel welcome everytime they come to our restaurant, so we’re pleased to see you enjoyed the whole experience. Hope to welcome you again! With kind regards, Family van der Hoff

  13. Alexander P.
    Alexander P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We had an excellent dinner and also very friendly service that evening. Very recommendable, we are really surprised that they do not have a star yet, they deserve it.

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Alexander, Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your dining experience at de Silveren Spiegel. Your praising words about your dinner are very much appreciated. We are honored to read that our staff gave an excellent service and we will definitely pass your compliments to them. We are looking forward to welcome you again in order to satisfy all your desires with yet another surprisingly culinary experience. Kind regards, Family van der Hoff

  14. Alexandra R.
    Alexandra R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Perfect experience and excellent food!

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Alexandra, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit restaurant de Silveren Spiegel. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed the entire experience and we hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Our team takes great pride in what they do, and we will surely share your compliments with them. Warm regards, Family van der Hoff

  15. Iuliia E.
    Iuliia E.
    • one review
    10/10

    My family visited this wonderful restaurant for Birthday dinner. And we were very pleased with our choice. Friendly staff, amazing and authentic interior, rich history of this place. And very important - hight quality food. Our gratitude to chef!

    De Silveren Spiegel

    Dear Luliia, Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review of your dining experience at de Silveren Spiegel. Your praising words about the great food are very much appreciated. Our team takes great pride in what they do, we’ll make sure to pass on your great comments to the chef and the rest of the staff. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in restaurant de Silveren Spiegel. Kind regards, Family van der Hoff

  16. H.J. K.
    H.J. K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Een memorabele avond.

  17. Eleonore J.
    Eleonore J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Exceptional!! They should be awarded a Michelin. The four courses we enjoyed immensely - definitely the best food we've ever had in all of Europe. Amazing staff, service and ambience to boot!

  18. Jon H.
    Jon H.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was top notch and the staff were lovely, attentive and knowledgable. We had the 5 course set menu with wine. The amuse bouche’s were amazing.... literally melted in your mouth.

  19. Yves C.
    Yves C.
    • 80 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellente table qui revisite les spécialités hollandaises

  20. Johnny T.
    Johnny T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic food in a lovely setting with wonderful service. The menu was outstanding, and the wine beautiful. It is not cheap, but it is worth the money for a wonderful experience

  21. Jennifer  K.
    Jennifer K.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This restaurant is fantastic. We had the 4 course degustation with matching wines. Presentation,flavours and food amazing. Excellent service. Highly recommend this restaurant. A must if staying in Amsterdam!!

  22. Kan L.
    Kan L.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Very friendly service, good food and good wine. Will come back again.

  23. Nava s.
    Nava s.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere. The only comment is adittion of a piece of choclate would be nice

  24. Julie L.
    Julie L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful . Nice experience .

  25. Reinhard G.
    Reinhard G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Very good dinner, creative, good wine suggestion

  26. Hannah M.
    Hannah M.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had an amazing dinner last night, the food and service was phenomenal. The wine and courses were matched perfectly and the staff couldn’t do enough. Highly recommend.

  27. Simona C.
    Simona C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely dishes and fantastic service! We will definitely visit this restaurant again! And do try the menu, with wine pairing: you will be very pleasantly surprised :)

  28. Tom B.
    Tom B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We really enjoyed our dinner. Great atmosphere, staff and of course food. The food was favor full and intense. Definitely a highlight of our trip.

  29. Viorica C.
    Viorica C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really enjoyed everything - food was creative and fresh, ambiance and interior are great and very good service - thank you, De Silveren Spiegel!

  30. Marc G.
    Marc G.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very Nice place! With a special menu 5 courses Amazing, wines are very fine. I recommend this good restaurant for every people who like good pleasure of life.

  31. Elaine A.
    Elaine A.
    • one review
    10/10

    My boyfriend and I celebrated my 50th birthday and had the 5 course meal and it certainly did not disappoint. I’m a real foodie and found the food was exceptional in both taste and appearance. The staff were very welcoming and their knowledge of both the food and wine was excellent. Would definitely recommend.

  32. Carlotta P.
    Carlotta P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This was a truly exceptional dining experience! We ordered the 5 course meal with accompanying wines, and spent 3 hours in heaven!!! The presentation was as exquisite as each delicious bite, For anyone who appreciates the nuances of preparation and flavor, this is not to be missed. Also, the wait staff was excellent . Fine dining in a charming historic house from the early 1600’s .

  33. Maria P.
    Maria P.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We had a wonderful dinner our last night in Amsterdam. The service was warm and friendly. They explained the historical significance of the restaurant. The table was beautifully set and much detail was made on the selection of plates for serving . Complementary starters were carefully designed and delicious. We selected 4 courses. We enjoyed the lamb which was perfectly cooked and the quail which was presented in a way for easy. eating as well as it was very tasty. The chef showed great creativity and perfect execution of cooking the meats. Careful selection of wines offered that complemented the meal. Thank you!

  34. Suzann H.
    Suzann H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful dining experience. The meal was exquisite, each course beautifully presented. Service was outstanding. Pricey but a unique experience for us.

  35. Peter K.
    Peter K.
    • one review
    10/10

    We really did enjoy the evening. We hoped to eat well and in fact the dinner did not only match but exceeded our expectations. Our compliments to the chef and thanks also to the attentive service team.

  36. Kenneth Y.
    Kenneth Y.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent interpretation of dutch food..so glad it wasn't potato heavy (I tried classic dutch food and found it was a bit too potato heavy...I know dutch love their potatoes though :-) A lot of the dishes were very creative...favorite was the dessert. Service was excellent though the amount of silverware on the table was a bit interesting. Service gets major points for climbing the super narrow steps of the stairs all the time while carrying dishes. Wish we were seated away from the kitchen because it was pretty noisy.

  37. May Britt F.
    May Britt F.
    • one review
    10/10

    We enjoyed ourselves with a delicious Dutch menu in a warm welcome atmosphere. Leaning floors and steep stairs give the restaurant a soul to remember. The food and wine were exceptional tasty and together with the stories served by the waiter this was an evening to remember. We were 10 persons from all the Nordic countries celebrating an event and the hospitality of the restaurant made this a really pleasant evening. This restaurant made a difference and we will enjoy the memories for a long time. A re-visit must be in the calendar.

  38. Anna Marie P.
    Anna Marie P.
    • one review
    10/10

    My wife and I decided to dine with their 4 Course menu each with wine and we loved every dish. The choices of food paired with wine was well thought out and prepared! Each mouthful explodes with flavor. The waitress and chef are related (mom & son-both were personable and interactive with all who dined) and we personally found this to work well. The other male waiters were excellent. All were caring and knowledgeable people about the history of the house (over 4 centuries old) and about each dish that was presented. My wife and I enjoyed as each meal was well prepared and presented. We highly recommend you treat yourself to this ! We will be back soon! Dr. Nick

  39. Sarah k.
    Sarah k.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    A wonderful restaurant with a very rich history! Such a pleasure to have the opportunity to eat in such a historic place!! Thank you!

  40. Dario Giovanni A.
    Dario Giovanni A.
    • 33 reviews
    4.5/10

    Good food but bad place to eat: very close to the door only because are Italians.It’s a shame,because we reserved two months ago and already paied 50 Euros with Credit Card!! So we had no choice to go in another restaurant.????????????