Back

Reviews - De Waaghals

9.3/10

Excellent

based on 540 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Liam H.
    Liam H.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food, beautifully presented. Attentive staff.... even took the time to talk through the ingredients of each dish when serving it. Not too expensive either - good value for money. Would definitely recommend!

  2. Franziska H.
    Franziska H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing vegan 3-course menue <3 best we ever had!

  3. Savino B.
    Savino B.
    • 9 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good vegetarian/vegan restaurant but the kitchen seems to be too slow.. the food was quite tasty, we appreciated the starter and dessert more than the mains tbh

  4. Kyle C.
    Kyle C.
    • one review
    10/10

    We are not vegetarians, but love good food (all kinds). This restaurant did not disappoint last summer. Tried it again recently and it was great the second time. Nice ambience in small neighborhood setting; friendly service, fair pricing, easy to read menu and not too many items on it (a positive!). Got the 3 course meal and tasted various things. The restaurant had a lot of walk-ins who had to be turned down: Be sure to reserve in advance. Wow: Compliments to the chef/ staff. Another great evening in Amsterdam!

  5. Humphrey L.
    Humphrey L.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We had a very good evening. Imaginative and tasty vegetarian food and welcoming and friendly staff. Thoroughly recommended- we will go again when we can.

  6. Marije g.
    Marije g.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Very much enjoyed our meal here. Nice dishes and drinks. As a vegan I would have loved to have had even more choice of dishes. But the meal we had was tasty and very enjoyable. Would definitely go back.

  7. Svanhild K.
    Svanhild K.
    • one review
    10/10

    We loved the restaurant. Recommended by our Hotel, we chose to try it. Lovely food, excellent service. Had lentil stew and curry. And sweet bonbons.

  8. Yael P.
    Yael P.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    We had a beautiful meal at Waaghals. We had the old cheese bitter ball, ravioli and tomato tartar for starters. The waiters gave great recommendations for wine pairings for each course. As main we had the jackfruit curry and the black lentil stew. Dishes were beautifully plated and well seasoned. Quality for price exceeded expectations. Had bonbons made by the chefs, cocoa and date truffle, and a selection of cheeses paired with pain forte. Would absolutely recommend this place for vegetarians and meat eaters alike! Delightful staff.

  9. Gabriele S.
    Gabriele S.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Our dinner was excellent: the vegetarian dishes were delicious from the entry to the dessert, with some unusual yet very fitting taste combinations. The personnel was also very pleasant and kind. Will definitely come back!

  10. Sheila M.
    Sheila M.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food at this place was sublime, and probably one of the best meals l’ve ever had . The menu was so unusual and imaginative and I wanted to try everything on there . Every course was spot on in flavour and presentation . It was very friendly and had a great atmosphere . I absolutely couldn’t fault it . Only wish I lived nearer !

  11. Leti R.
    Leti R.
    • 2 reviews
    3/10

    We had recommended the place but it was an absolute disappointment. We had a reservation and they sat us at an ugly table that limped in the middle of the street, very uncomfortable. The waiter was very attentive and friendly at all times. The biggest disappointment came with the dishes. apparently attractive (good for Instagram) but insubstantial, bland, tasteless. We are used to vegan food and when it is well cooked we love it but in this case it was a tease. Lentil soup that looked just like crushed lentils, tasteless panacota, a burnt and bitter-tasting broccoli and a curry that was an incoherent and soft mixture. It cost us all € 70, at the end we were hungry and with a very bad taste. A shame for our last dinner in Amsterdam.

  12. Linda D.
    Linda D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This dinner was the most delicious one I‘ve had in Amsterdam so far! Even my friends who usually don’t eat vegan or vegetarian were completely convinced and amazed by the dishes.

  13. Eveline w.
    Eveline w.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We loved the food and the atmosphere. Very inventive and tasty dishes. The staff is friendly and patient, and we did not feel rushed to leave. Will definitely return!

  14. Helen B.
    Helen B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    So delicious!

  15. Louise C.
    Louise C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Fantastic meal. Really imaginative combinations and flavours and beautifully presented. Excellent service.

  16. Merrily W.
    Merrily W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Everything was delicious. We had a wonderful evening.

  17. Shirley-Anne H.
    Shirley-Anne H.
    • one review
    10/10

    We went back twice in our 4 day stay in Amsterdam because we enjoyed both the food and the friendly professional staff so much. The price was really reasonable and the meals were superb on both occasions. My husband who is not vegetarian specifically wanted to go back and is now almost a convert to vegetarian food.

  18. Bernadine O.
    Bernadine O.
    • one review
    10/10

    One of the best veggie meals I’ve ever had. And I’ve been vegetarian a long time.

  19. Linda H.
    Linda H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Always delicious

  20. Marco D.
    Marco D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Most delighted about the food and the personal service. Will visit again!

  21. Marian L.
    Marian L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very good service and interesting tasty food. Highly recommended

  22. Kevin s.
    Kevin s.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was so good I hope we go back again this week, before we go biking. I made note, so I can suggest De Waaghals to friends and famiy coming to Amsterdam. Great food, great service, advice, and ambience. Keep up the good work! Better than any restaurant that serves meat [and I've been to hundreds around the world.]

  23. Sandra H.
    Sandra H.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had delicious vegetarian 3 course meals. Creatively cooked and very fine tasting.

  24. Francesca R.
    Francesca R.
    • 22 reviews
    8/10

    Food was ok but not exceptionally good. The service was good, the ambient is ok. I was not impressed particularly

  25. Clara D.
    Clara D.
    • 159 reviews
    10/10

    Very good dishes, interesting and original recipes. Definitely a lovely places for vegetarians. The staff was also very nice.

  26. Amélie P.
    Amélie P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food and lovely service ! I will go back ☺️

  27. Chris F.
    Chris F.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Prettige , attente bediening en echt lekker eten, ook qua hoeveelheid. Conform eerdere ervaringen!!

  28. Alice k.
    Alice k.
    • one review
    10/10

    It’s the most delicious vegetarian food I’ve ever eaten. Good service. Everything was excellent. Haute cuisine

  29. Catherine M.
    Catherine M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing vegan food! Best meal we’ve had in Amsterdam. Vegan and vegetarian food, inventive combos, beautifully presented and delicious. Had the 31€ 3 course meal option. 4 choices each of appetizer, main and dessert. We’ll return if ever in Amsterdam again.

  30. Pi p.
    Pi p.
    • one review
    9/10

    Really good! Had a nice time with gf. It was a bit expensive, but well, it's amsterdam. The staff was friendly, the atmosphere was nice but those lights were a bit too strong. I like dimmer tones.

  31. Don S.
    Don S.
    • 48 reviews
    8/10

    Food was great but ventilation can be improved.

  32. Jolanda D.
    Jolanda D.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Prima gegeten!

  33. Linda H.
    Linda H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The food was delicious

  34. Sean D.
    Sean D.
    • 34 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good tasty food and great service.

  35. Esther S.
    Esther S.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    I love this place....every bite feels like a flavor explosion. Food made with love and care. I will certainly be back

  36. Sarah s.
    Sarah s.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fantastic food, one of the best vegetarian meals I have had! The taste and presentation was wonderful, I would recommend this restaurant to meat eaters if they are thinking of going vegetarian!

  37. Robert M.
    Robert M.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Perfect eten voor perfecte prijs in perfecte setting net perfect gezelschap

  38. - -.
    - -.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Best vegetarian food in Amsterdam! Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum,! Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, Yum, !

  39. Steffen B.
    Steffen B.
    • one review
    10/10

    One of the best organic vegetarian restaurants I've ever been to. Really creative and incredibly tasty. Real value for money. Not too many tourist, here, what adds up to the great experience.

  40. Debbie B.
    Debbie B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent creative menu with a wide choice of vegetarian and vegan options. The presentation was superb. Interesting food combinations. Consistently high quality from starters to mains and desserts. Good wine selection, loved the Le Canon du Maréchal.