Back

Reviews De Witte Zwaan

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 270 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Clelia C.
    Clelia C.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Cool place with kind staff! Good food experience, totally worth it!

  2. Tony M.
    Tony M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Small, informal restaurant. good, fresh food and they even have a selection of Dutch wines. Recommended, much better and better value than is usual in this central area

  3. Clara R.
    Clara R.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    This restaurant was a great find. Food was amazing, service was friendly and quick. We really enjoyed our dinner and would definitely go back when visiting Amsterdam again.

  4. Lee G.
    Lee G.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Very welcoming and attentive but not imposing waiter. The cocktails on finding out it was my birthday were a nice touch from the owner. The food was great. Simple Dutch classics like mussels and lamb, that were presented well and were tasty and filling. A nice relaxed atmosphere. A great little restaurant only a minutes walk from Nieuwmarkt.

    De Witte Zwaan

    Thank you!

  5. Alice V.
    Alice V.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Loved it!

  6. Tim & Gabby M.
    Tim & Gabby M.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant was incredible! The food was faultless, the service was welcoming and the atmosphere was lovely. We really enjoyed every aspect of our meal here. Highly recommend!

  7. Dua D.
    Dua D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great local restaurant...

  8. Nicolas M.
    Nicolas M.
    • 28 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great place! We enjoyed a degustation menu, all the courses were very carefully served, great quality ingredients and served at perfect temperature; quantity was ideal. Service was flawless :)

  9. Oris H.
    Oris H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Shared the 4 course menu, and everything was delicious. Service was low but with a meal like that we didnt mind at all! We will recommend it for sure

  10. Ricardo C.
    Ricardo C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Beautiful little restaurant in the heart of Amsterdam! Food was out of this world and really nice!

  11. Paul F.
    Paul F.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    Tried this restaurant due to trip advisor rating, but was disappointed compared to the excellent previous ratings. Food was acceptable without being great, service was slow but pleasant.

    De Witte Zwaan

    Thanks for your comment. We will take your remarks in account. Kind regards, Marty Zwaan

  12. David l.
    David l.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    The atmosphere is really nice and the service is good. However the food although nicely served did not match our expectations. We went for the chefs recommendation and perhaps should have chosen from the menue

  13. Cathy F.
    Cathy F.
    • 30 reviews
    10/10

    Food was amazing with very attentive service!

  14. Manuel P.
    Manuel P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Outstanding flavors, presentation, and service!

  15. Rui G.
    Rui G.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Everything was really fresh and well prepared. We had a delicious tomato soup, oysters and a shrimp cocktail for starters and then the catch of day for main course. The service was truly excellent and welcoming. A place that I'd like to visit again!

  16. - -.
    - -.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had the surprise 4 course meal, everything we had was delicious. The service was also exceptional. I strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone

  17. Alessandro B.
    Alessandro B.
    • 28 reviews
    10/10

    fine dining in a simple yet stylish location, the service is careful and discreet, the menu changes every day and plates are always interesting and well balanced.

  18. Celia v.
    Celia v.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food. We recommend the chef's surprise tasting menu. Every course was perfect. Central location.

  19. Brian T.
    Brian T.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent food in a modern environment. Very friendly staff. Would recommend.

  20. Virgile R.
    Virgile R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Charming staff, nice location and tasty and sophisticated but affordable food, super nice!

  21. Karen B.
    Karen B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Really lovely food made with great care and imagination. We were very well looked after by the friendly staff. The decor is stylish and relaxing. We will definitely come back!

  22. Mar W.
    Mar W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Fresh authentic dishes served by friendly staff. Small and quiet restaurant.

  23. Karima K.
    Karima K.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    A great place where you will eat refined typical Dutch cuisine cooked with fresh products and served with kindness. Definitely a must-go in Amsterdam!

  24. Jan v.
    Jan v.
    • one review
    9/10

    Classical Dutch cuisine with a twist

  25. Charlotte h.
    Charlotte h.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food and service. While the menu was limited in choice, the food was very good with a lot of local dishes. The wine card was also very appreciated with good wines at very reasonable prices.

  26. Elisa Antonietta B.
    Elisa Antonietta B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent!

  27. • one review
    10/10

    We truly enjoyed our visit, everything was amazing - impeccable service, nice and welcoming staff and, of course, delicious and sophisticated Dutch cuisine. And yes, at De Witte Zwan we learned that it exists :) Definitely will recommend and be back.

  28. Etienne G.
    Etienne G.
    • 17 reviews
    9/10

    Great and tasty homemade Dutch food. Friendly personnel. Precisely what I was looking for; trust the recommendations and go!

  29. Steven T.
    Steven T.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food. Wonderful service. If you’re looking for an innovative spin on classic Dutch cuisine look no further. You can’t go wrong here.

  30. Juliane B.
    Juliane B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great restaurant, friendly staff and delicious food in a cosy setting. Dutch dishes are prepared differently and with care.

  31. Michael v.
    Michael v.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Good food, friendly service, fantastic value for the chefs menu. Will definitely be back.

  32. Helen K.
    Helen K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing place, great atmosphere and service. Food is incredible and menu changing almost every month. We love this place!

  33. - -.
    - -.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great hidden gem, fantastic food at a very affordable price. We can recommend this restaurant to anyone. The menu is dutch with a twist.

  34. Amanda H.
    Amanda H.
    • 11 reviews
    9/10

    Absolutely delightful meal; a nice mix of approachable classics and more delicate innovations. Clean, bright atmosphere and friendly attentive service. They could take another look at their wine offerings, a bit light on selection and not very well paired to the menu. But overall would strongly recommend to locals and visitors alike - our group of five was unanimous in our enthusiasm.

  35. Marc S.
    Marc S.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Sparse simplicity in decor yet deep rich flavors in the food. Jup, our server, explained the dishes and asking the young chef for details when needed. We would have loved to meet the chef personally. We ordered Lamb Dutch Stew, French fries and an unusual tomato soup. Dessert was Dutch toast and Strawberry cream cake each served with ice cream. Choice of teas is extensive as well as a choice of still or gas water. We throughly enjoyed ourselves.

  36. Maira M.
    Maira M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing

  37. Janice B.
    Janice B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely outstanding dinner. Recommend highly. Extremely well priced.

  38. Maria  G.
    Maria G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Typical Dutch food. Every dish was really well executed. My favorite was a fish that comes with sweet corn purée and caramelized onions. The vegetables tartare is delicious, the seasoning brings every ingredient to life. 100% recommended! Also the service is really good

  39. Effie s.
    Effie s.
    • one review
    10/10

    The restaurant is lovely. The service was excellent and the food spectacular. Had the halibut which was cooked to perfection. Also enjoyed the shrimp croquettes.

  40. Emmanuelle G.
    Emmanuelle G.
    • 23 reviews
    10/10

    Everything was perfect, the service and the kitchen, for a very good price. One of the best restaurants on town for sure !