Back

Reviews - Den Huzaar

8.4/10

Very good

based on 948 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Csilla B.
    Csilla B.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Cozy atmosphere and delicious dishes - we had a duo of cheese and crab croquette, a stew of rabbit and mussels. The beer recommendations were great, and the house white is also lovely. Great and central location next to the Belfry of Bruges.

  2. Jutta S.
    Jutta S.
    • 4 reviews
    6.5/10

    Very standard fayre for Bruges. There was nothing wrong with anything, but nothing special either. First of all the waitress brought us to a table that the second person couldn’t sit down on, as the COVID screens added, made it impossible to get to the other side of the table. We were stood waiting to get the waitresses attention, when the couple on the next table got up and moved the screen, allowing through passage. At least we got a bit of banter out of this, with my imprisoned husband, once they sat down again. The amuse geule of Sardine in curry sauce was lovely. Shrimp croquettes were very nice, the fish soup quite bland. Main course of rabbit stew and pork cheeks were ok, but tasted as if the same gravy was used for both and cherries added for the pork afterwards. The croquettes and gratin potato accompaniment were lovely. Portions for the Mann course were huge.

  3. Valentin P.
    Valentin P.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Very good food, nice service

  4. Elaine B.
    Elaine B.
    • 59 reviews
    10/10

    Food was amazing. Very nice place, worth a visit.

  5. Madeleine C.
    Madeleine C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    the staff was so friendly and the meals delicious !

  6. Kelly B.
    Kelly B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    So good. Pork cheeks came out blazing hot in a crock. Cooked in cherries and beer. Potatoes on the side. Very romantic. delish. Great dinner. Might go back and get the exact same thing! Choice of pairing w Flanders beer by the server was a great choice.

  7. Marie p.
    Marie p.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good place!

  8. Jennifer P.
    Jennifer P.
    • 15 reviews
    9.5/10

    Food was great and I liked that it had an expansive local menu. Try the pork casserole ????

  9. Roxana  S.
    Roxana S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    It’s a very nice and cozy place with the best Creme brûlée’!

  10. Alvaro V.
    Alvaro V.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excelente

  11. Dzmitry T.
    Dzmitry T.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Great service and location

  12. Ian C.
    Ian C.
    • 37 reviews
    7.5/10

    Warm welcome, in good English, from the busy gentleman who appeared to be not just the owner, but also the front of house and the only waiter (until two young men turned up an hour later). The food was acceptable and filling, and we couldn't manage dessert. We drank a decent italian sparkling rosé which complemented the meal adequately. A glass of liqueur at the end was a nice touch, and the Fork discount was correctly applied.

  13. Iury M.
    Iury M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Very friendly and welcoming staff. Multilingual service and excellent food and a good variety of drinks. Easy finding location and just price

  14. Cordelia a.
    Cordelia a.
    • one review
    10/10

    What a lovely restaurant. Very traditional with brilliant service. Great menu with options for meat/ fish/ and vegetarian. Near the market square but also in a quiet spot so perfect for a romantic evening! Thank you :-)

  15. Graham P.
    Graham P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely brilliant, it was recommended and lived up to expectations

  16. Jean-luc H.
    Jean-luc H.
    • one review
    9/10

    A recommander !

  17. Alexandra H.
    Alexandra H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful

  18. Claire D.
    Claire D.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Très bon, très fin. Excellente adresse !

  19. Nicole J.
    Nicole J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Welcoming service, a beautiful setting and delicious food. Thank you :). We visited twice in a 24 hr trip to Brugge becuase the steak was so good! Looking forward to next time!

  20. Will G.
    Will G.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Pleasant atmosphere had the set menu good value do not normally have lobster on set menu it was very tasty in a spicy sauce other courses were good

  21. Sophia P.
    Sophia P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The service was excellent!

  22. Brandon W.
    Brandon W.
    • 4 reviews
    5.5/10

    Food was ok, service from the tall curly hair waitee was disrespectful and made us feel very uncomfortable, thankfully a nice blonde waitress made our meal much more pleasant.

  23. Alan M.
    Alan M.
    • 12 reviews
    9.5/10

    Nice atmosphere, excellent service and delicious food. We had a very pleasant evening and would certainly recommend this place.

  24. Andrei S.
    Andrei S.
    • 16 reviews
    10/10

    All great ! Very good food ! I loved the flemish cooked porc with cherry. With a cute little terrace in front, s a very nice restaurant to eat in. Every thing we had was good !

  25. Gianluigi L.
    Gianluigi L.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Ottima cucina, personale gentile.

  26. Nicholas C.
    Nicholas C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very nice restaurant with a good discount offer

  27. Peter P.
    Peter P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent lobster in a very welcoming restaurant. Service is great, with free digestive drinks. We got 40% off booking through the Fork. Booking is a must in Brugge.

  28. Odile L.
    Odile L.
    • 14 reviews
    7.5/10

    Très bon service.

  29. Imelda L.
    Imelda L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really enjoyed the food, the service was really nice, the staff were friendly and welcoming. We’re given curry herring to try at the beginning with some bread before the starter and at end after the meal we were given a shot of drinks which was nice. The restaurant is also cosy and near to the Grote Markt Square. Overall it’s a great Belgian restaurant to try, will definitely go back next time.

  30. John R.
    John R.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Nice food, service and ambiance. Daily specials were lovely. Large portion sizes were very filling. Seafood was fresh and well prepared. A great lunch.

  31. Constantin M.
    Constantin M.
    • 10 reviews
    9.5/10

    An excellent flemish lunch in a wonderful atmosphere - very close to Brugge's main sqaure and all the important attractions. Perfect service!

  32. Marco P.
    Marco P.
    • 31 reviews
    7/10

    Good restaurant in Bruges ,meat not so tender, creme brule very good. Very kind service good price with 40 % discount the fork

  33. Yuko H.
    Yuko H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Everythings great!!

  34. Sonja V.
    Sonja V.
    • 9 reviews
    9.5/10

    Super vers eten. Fantastische bediening

  35. Terence H.
    Terence H.
    • one review
    3/10

    While we made a reservation on this website, the server seemed perturbed that we had. His comment was “too bad because now we have to pay for it.” So, given that he already did not like us, the service was just rushed. The feeling was” let’s get this table out of here” Food was okay. Some in the group were impressed - the sole was very dry and had been overlooked. Would not return and was not impressed. Perhaps at lunch when in a hurry - but not for an evening meal

  36. Davide C.
    Davide C.
    • one review
    6/10

    The food is good and the amount of food is little more than expected. Nice location. Just the service was terrible. The waiters were slow. You had to ask everything twice. The starters came after almost one hour. And no apology heard, not once! Not even when they came with the wrong main course.

  37. Ivan M.
    Ivan M.
    • one review
    8/10

    Good food but only with 40% discount

  38. Rebecca T.
    Rebecca T.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    It was fantastic the food , service and atmosphere was perfect.

  39. Daniel P.
    Daniel P.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely place very nice staff and the food is amazing!

  40. Nalla N.
    Nalla N.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food and service was good. The owner is very friendly. We enjoyed our night.