Register my restaurant
Help
What
Where

Chinese

Reviews - Din Tai Fung Melbourne

8.5/10
778
287 Lonsdale Street, 3000 Melbourne (VIC)See map

Average price A$35

Private Dining Room - minimum spend $450 A$450

Find a table

MENU

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

8.5/10
Fabulous778 reviews
8.6/10

Food

8.7/10

Service

8.2/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Ashish R.

    August 4, 20211 review

    10/10

    Fantastic restaurant with great choice to make.

  • Christine F.

    August 1, 20211 review

    10/10
  • Annabelle S.

    July 14, 20211 review

    10/10

    Amazing!! The food is just Devine, the service was fabulous and the ambiance was very welcoming. We drive from the Yarra Valley to enjoy the meal here. We will be back!!

  • Lydia E.

    July 10, 20213 reviews

    10/10

    Definitely our go-to place! Never disappoint; high quality and consistent each time. Best Xiao Long Baos in Melbourne. Service is always fast and efficient. Perfect!

  • Lisa K.

    July 8, 20211 review

    10/10

    Excellent dumplings! Worth the money and was awesome to spend time with friends here. The service was good and I would easily recommend to friends

  • Angelique H.

    July 7, 20211 review

    10/10

    The food was delicious and was so fresh. Service is always amazing and polite. The food is always delivered so fast. New menu items are great too!

  • Andrea W.

    July 4, 20211 review

    10/10
  • Dee G.

    June 30, 20211 review

    8.5/10

    Dinner was served relatively quick and the food was delicious! Kids loved the prawn fried rice in xo sauce and the variety of dumplings we ordered were yummy too.

  • Ivy T.

    June 29, 20214 reviews

    5.5/10
  • Mabel O.

    June 26, 20211 review

    9/10
  • Gordon M.

    June 26, 20213 reviews

    6.5/10

    I don’t know it just didn’t seem right. I have eaten here before along with the same restaurants in Kuala Lumpur and Singapore but Melbourne doesn’t seem to have the same ambiance and quality.

  • Margaret Ho

    June 25, 20211 review

    10/10

    Great consistent food as always but the menu has been scaled down quite a bit, probably due to the pandemic.

  • Renae M.

    June 25, 20211 review

    9/10

    Loved the food and the simplicity of ordering using touchscreens. Excellent, attentive service, yummy dumplings, good veggies and soups, it was a very nice dinner.

  • Andrew H.

    June 25, 20211 review

    6/10

    Such a good reputation yet the food was very underwhelming.

  • Phyllis C.

    June 20, 202112 reviews

    9.5/10

    Always love din tai fung menu and today service is perfect.

  • Paulina r.

    June 16, 20213 reviews

    10/10

    Lovely food. Prompt service

  • Patrick T.

    June 13, 20211 review

    10/10
  • Jordan M.

    May 25, 20211 review

    10/10

    Staff were attentive and friendly, service was great! Food was delicious and there was very little wait time. One of the best places in Melbourne!

  • Kayla H.

    May 20, 20211 review

    9.5/10
  • Andrew Z.

    May 13, 202195 reviews

    7.5/10
  • Clifford w.

    May 12, 20211 review

    5/10
  • Fi J.

    May 9, 20211 review

    8/10

    Good food. Although the portion for mains are quite small and we didn’t order they crispy pork in bun cause the price was quite a lot for just one. Overall was okay.

  • Tiong Hou T.

    May 3, 20219 reviews

    10/10

    A great experience once again - excellent food & attentive service

  • WENDY L.

    May 2, 202131 reviews

    9.5/10

    Very nice food and excellent service.Friendly staff and value for money.

  • Teresa Le

    April 26, 20211 review

    4/10
  • Wing Hooi F.

    April 26, 20211 review

    8.5/10

    Slight pricey

  • Nathan H.

    April 22, 20211 review

    10/10
  • Anthony F.

    April 22, 20212 reviews

    6.5/10

    The food has changed. There was no flavour in the water spinach. The shanghai dumplings were smaller than previous. Ordering is now with an ipad.

  • Parris A.

    April 21, 20211 review

    9/10

    Consistent food, tasty flavours. Quite pricey but a special occasion treat. The new chilli Xiao long bao's were sublime, however the original ones aren't quite as good as they used to be.

  • Llynn S.

    April 20, 20213 reviews

    10/10

    Everything about DTF is excellent. The atmosphere is buzzy and the service fast and pleasant and the food is great and is beautifully presented.

  • Charmaine P.

    April 20, 20211 review

    8.5/10

    The food and service are excellent here. The atmosphere is lovely and we didn't have to shout to be heard while we chatted and ate. More gluten free options please.

  • Jordana D.

    April 17, 20211 review

    10/10

    Amazing vibe, great staff, absolutely delicious food! Highly recommend ????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

  • Irwin T.

    April 17, 20211 review

    4/10

    Extremely disappointing food particularly as we had been there a month ago and it wasn’t too bad. Stay away from the pork buns as they are really bad.

  • Pragya g.

    April 16, 20212 reviews

    9/10

    Booking and service at restaurant was really good. Food order system was touch less and food arrived in no time. Food was good in taste.

  • Evelyn F.

    April 14, 20211 review

    10/10

    Excellent food, and very efficient service. Dumplings served were a good size, not too small, not too big. Will definitely return to try other dishes.

  • John H.

    April 13, 20211 review

    10/10

    Superb food and fast, friendly service. Lucky enough to have dined at Din Tai Fung in Hong Kong and now Melbourne. Will get to the original Din Tai Fung on Xinyi Rd in Taipei one day…

  • Michelle C.

    April 12, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Very quick service and delicious food. Hard to choose what to eat, would have liked slot of little serves of everything. We left with very satisfied tastebuds and full stomachs.

  • William LI

    April 10, 202132 reviews

    7.5/10
  • Linda W.

    April 10, 20211 review

    9.5/10
  • Yoke Yee C.

    April 9, 20211 review

    8.5/10

Tripadvisor reviews

317 Tripadvisor Reviews

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership

© 2021 La Fourchette SAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation