Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - Dining at Centurion Club

9.3/10
137
Hemel Hempstead Road, HP3 8LA St Albans
British
Average price £36

Dining at Centurion Club

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.3/10
Excellent137 reviews
9.5/10

Food

9.2/10

Service

9.1/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Carly p.1 review

    April 4, 2024

    10/10

    the best afternoon tea i have had what a beautiful place

  • Annette P.3 reviews

    February 9, 2024

    8.5/10

    The restaurant has an incredible view of the golf course. Beautifully decorated. The food was amazing. Service was quite slow which was disappointing as we had a special guest with us and we seemed to have waited quite a while before we received attention.

  • Ann L.1 review

    February 14, 2024

    10/10

    Very pleased with our Afternoon Tea. Will recommend to family and friends.

    Dining at Centurion ClubOwner

    Hi Ann, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your 10/10 rating, it is really appreciated.

  • Lynn H.1 review

    February 10, 2024

    8/10

    Lovely afternoon tea in pleasant garden room. Good service and fair quality sandwiches and sweet treats, fab selection of teas.

    review_preview

    See photo

    Dining at Centurion ClubOwner

    Hi Lynn, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you found our Afternoon Tea experience lovely.

  • Deborah Y.4 reviews

    February 6, 2024

    7.5/10

    I have been to the Centurion, many times, unfortunately on this occasion, the food quality was not up to its usual standard. I had the three course set menu. The red mullet was tough and chewy and needed to be torn apart, rather than cut with a knife. The cord and fritters were tasteless, and the sticky toffee pudding lacked the richness needed to make it a special dessert. The tiny scoop of ice cream next to it was not good quality either and tasted synthetic. I have had many similar meals in this restaurant and they have all been delicious so it’s a shame that on this occasion the food did not live up to expectations, especially as I was treating my friend to a meal.

    Dining at Centurion ClubOwner

    Dear Deborah, as a valued regular guest we are so sorry that your last visit was a disappointment and not to our usual standard. We would always ask that any dissatisfaction be brought to our attention at the time but realise that it isn't always possible. We do hope that you will continue to dine with us in the future.

  • Julie B.1 review

    January 16, 2024

    10/10

    We both had a lovely meal.

    Dining at Centurion ClubOwner

    Hi Julie, Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you found your meal to be lovely. We hope to welcome back soon!

  • Penny H.1 review

    December 8, 2023

    10/10

    As ever, everything you could want can't recommend this establishment enough back again on 22.

  • Sylvia I.1 review

    November 8, 2023

    9.5/10

    The good was excellent service and staff top class Unfortunately their was hardly anyone else there so there was no atmosphere.

  • Lynne W.1 review

    November 1, 2023

    9.5/10

    Food and service were excellent just felt sorry for the staff as we were the only diners in tonight. Several other people had cancelled.

  • Anne T.1 review

    October 6, 2023

    10/10

    We had a great afternoon. Excellent service and beautiful surroundings. Made us all feel very special. Would strongly recommend for a special afternoon celebration.

  • Julia M.1 review

    September 3, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent food and service

  • Andrew C.1 review

    August 29, 2023

    9.5/10

    Everything from the welcome onwards was very good. The choice and quality of food is outstanding and the service was friendly and helpful. If I have one small grumble it is that I could have done without the unpleasant background "drum and bass" music - it didn't seem appropriate in such a nice place.

  • Sarah W.1 review

    April 28, 2023

    10/10

    Anniversary dinner complimentary glass of Prosecco and extra dessert plate excellent all round .

    Dining at Centurion ClubOwner

    Hi Sarah, thank you for your 10/10 review. Our team strive to make our guests feel special and appreciated, I will pass on your kinds words.

  • Keith D.1 review

    April 13, 2023

    7.5/10

    Good food, set menu was value for money, good service, very nice dinning room and facility but little quiet (only 4 other tables booked). Will probably go again.

    Dining at Centurion ClubOwner

    Hi Keith thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the food and found it value for money. Hopefully when you return the ambience will me more to liking.

  • Deborah Y.4 reviews

    March 31, 2023

    10/10

    Booked a belated Mother’s Day tea as a gift and our waiter went out of his way to make it a special occasion for my mum. The food was as good as any of the teas I’ve had in the top London hotels for a fraction of the cost. The sandwiches were super fresh and delicious interesting flavours. Everything was presented beautifully in a relaxed and attractive setting with lovely views across the golf course (slightly spoilt by the rain on the day but it didn’t really matter). Great service great food and great value, would highly recommend.

    Dining at Centurion ClubOwner

    Hi Deborah, Your kind words are really appreciated. We love making our customer’s days and we can’t wait to have the opportunity to welcome you again. I will be sure to share you kind words with all involved.

  • Anne B.12 reviews

    March 9, 2023

    10/10

    Love lunch at The Centurion. Fixed price menu is always good. Staff are lovely. Venue is special.

    Dining at Centurion ClubOwner

    Hi Anne thank you for taking the time to write a review. I will pass your feedback to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

  • Christian P.1 review

    February 26, 2023

    10/10

    Great food, great friendly service! I have already recommended it to everyone and even work. We will most likely stop going to Grove and come here!

  • Christine S.4 reviews

    February 9, 2023

    10/10

    We really enjoyed our lunch at Centurian. The food was excellent, and the service very good. Relaxing atmosphere, no rush, just chill. Nice to have coffees afterwards by the fire. We will definitely come again.

    Dining at Centurion ClubOwner

    Hi Christine, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch and found the experience relaxing. I will pass your comments on to our team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

  • Liz E.3 reviews

    January 20, 2023

    10/10

    We have used this restaurant a few times and it never disappoints. The food is exemplary and the staff friendly. The only negative point is that I use a wheelchair and their disabled toilet is extremely low.

  • Alan M.2 reviews

    December 1, 2022

    7/10

    The quality of the food was superb and well presented but the vegetarian menu is very poor unless you like mushrooms! The chef needs to be aware many veggies hate mushrooms! The service today was a little slow but otherwise excellent and very friendly.

  • Urszula G.1 review

    November 17, 2022

    10/10

    The staff was superb, delisious food, very warm and welcoming atmosphere.

  • Julia J.1 review

    October 14, 2022

    10/10

    Wonderful a la carte menu with beautifully presented food, all perfectly served. A very enjoyable lunch for mothers 95th birthday. Highly recommended!

  • Anna S.1 review

    September 28, 2022

    10/10

    Lovely setting. The cakes were amazing. Can’t fault anything. Will return again! Our server Jade was very friendly and provided a great service.

  • Sarah C.1 review

    September 9, 2022

    10/10

    Gorgeous food, great service, lovely setting overlooking the golf course. We had a lovely lunch and will definitely be back soon.

  • Brigitte D.1 review

    August 27, 2022

    10/10

    We hadn't visited Centurion for a while but were delighted to find the same excellent standard of food and wine.Service was also superb,just the right pace.Wonderful to see the restaurant full and buzzing .

  • Susanna B.1 review

    August 20, 2022

    4/10

    It started badly when the Kir Royale was not mixed and was served with a straw. Sat at a table where one side had a much lower chair than the other. Only bread offered was end of day solid brown. No steak left. Starter of carpaccio tasted only of shallot relish. Main fine. I would suggest the chef looks up how to make a bavois… disappointing and phenomenally expensive, especially for very moderate food. £15.50 for a bog ordinary G &T and even the waiter thought that was pricy!

  • Brian C.7 reviews

    August 13, 2022

    10/10

    We went early and enjoyed drinks on the terrace. Can’t fault anything. Staff all very pleasant and professional, setting superb and excellent food. We look forward to our next visit

  • Stephen D.2 reviews

    July 23, 2022

    6/10

    Generally we enjoy the setting and the food is good except for one problem which happens time and time again and that is the food is not hot enough, they need to invest in a plate warmer .

  • Liz E.3 reviews

    July 12, 2022

    10/10

    We have dined here many times and the food and staff were amazing as usual. The food and choice is exemplary and we never feel rushed. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Rollo P.1 review

    July 12, 2022

    9.5/10

    The lunchtime fixed menu was very reasonable with generous portions. Discrete and attentive service complemented the ambiance and decor. Parking was generous. The only criticism was that the view was a bit confined and did not give a panorama of the golf course.

  • Donna M.1 review

    July 8, 2022

    9/10

    Great afternoon tea. Lovely room with a great view of the golf course. Sandwiches, scones and cakes all delicious. The only down side was that we were charged for extra sandwiches. Never been charged for these at any other afternoon tea venue. Just seems a bit odd. Wouldn’t put us off going again. It’s a great venue.

  • Sharron B.1 review

    April 29, 2022

    10/10

    From the minute we arrived the service was great. The food was delicious. We will definitely be back .

  • Vanh D.96 reviews

    April 5, 2022

    10/10

    Lovely, tasteful decor in the conservatory where we had afternoon tea. Nice and warm inside, very cosy with plush cushions and sofas - I felt very comfortable. The view from the conservatory looks onto the lake/golf course so that was visually appealing. The food and champagne was tasty and staff were polite and obliging. A lovely gem of a place, I would recommend!

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Peter R.1 review

    March 29, 2022

    10/10

    Really nice restaurant within the golf club. Excellent quality and presentation of the dishes and very attentive staff -a lovely experience and would return sometime soon

  • Anne B.12 reviews

    March 24, 2022

    9/10

    Wonderful venue. Staff were delightful. We only had afternoon tea, which was very good, but can’t wait to go back for Sunday lunch. Highly recommended

  • Nicole J.1 review

    March 22, 2022

    10/10

    We went for afternoon tea.Great experience with very welcoming and friendly staff,delicious sandwiches and cakes in a peaceful environment.

  • Samra M.2 reviews

    March 5, 2022

    9/10

    A lovely afternoon tea to celebrate an 80th birthday. Wonderful service and great setting.

  • Colin P.4 reviews

    February 11, 2022

    9.5/10

    Been here before the pandemic and it was excellent and glad to return to find it was equally good. My wife is a great cook and hates going to restaurants where she could have done the same thing. None of the dishes we had (8 across the three of us) were normal but all rather extraordinary in their own right. More expensive than the fork guide price but worth it. We will be back.

  • Kevin C.3 reviews

    January 21, 2022

    10/10

    Absolutely fantastic experience from arrival through to leaving. Wonderful food and service.

  • Debby v.1 review

    January 20, 2022

    10/10

    The food was just magnificent, we had starters and mains. And all loved both, the wine was good and the ambience very elegant! We will be back loads and will introduce friends to this special and lovely restaurant in a magnificent setting.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

428 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.