Back

Reviews Downunder by Justin Jennings

9.3/10

Excellent

based on 1806 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Paulo R.
    Paulo R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent food, seasoned differently and very tasty. It was the first time that I ate kangaroo and loved it. Great desserts, very tasty too. The service was very good and they were all very friendly. I have already recommended the restaurant to several friends and I would like to go back there to try other flavors.

  2. Rodrigo G.
    Rodrigo G.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Great food. Friendly staff. Clean and fast. Decoration too simple

  3. Catarina M.
    Catarina M.
    • 17 reviews
    9.5/10

    The ceviche was good, the chicken was delicious and the chocolate tart with salted caramel is a gift from heaven. Lovely service as well. A good experience.

  4. Michael S.
    Michael S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food was absolutely stunning, restaurant had such a lovely atmosphere, everything was great. My girlfriend is Australian, and she swears it was the best kangaroo she has ever eaten, and she is a big kangaroo eater. The chef came around and spoke to us at the end which was a lovely personal touch. It was the perfect place to spend Valentine’s Day

  5. Jackie d.
    Jackie d.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Just lovingly prepared food! Portions just right too. Pavlova dessert very good indeed. Recommended.

  6. Vicky G.
    Vicky G.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a great time and enjoyed our dinner. Very tasty food, nice desserts and excellent wine.

  7. Jonathon H.
    Jonathon H.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This is my 2nd full day in Lisbon on holiday. Was very impressed with how they accommodated my dietary needs. Was the first time i’ve tried kangaroo and I loved it. All the food was great to be honest. If I am able to go again before I leave I will try the Crocodile!

  8. Rafael G.
    Rafael G.
    • 16 reviews
    5.5/10

    Food not as good as expected, the combinations do not work very well like pork velly with aioli and salmon with falafel. Place was almost empty on a saturday night, Would not recommend at all, there are much better places to go in Lisbon.

  9. Marcela G.
    Marcela G.
    • 29 reviews
    9.5/10

    A sangria (branca) deixava bastante a desejar... Pratos principais e sobremesas excelentes!!

  10. Dan F.
    Dan F.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Table by the door not good, cold and draughty but when we moved tables it was good. Some half bottles of wine would be a good idea . Other than that the food was delicious and the staff were very sweet.

  11. Heather Pearson C.
    Heather Pearson C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious. Friendly.

  12. Christopher O.
    Christopher O.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Welcoming restaurant with a little bit of Australian flair to make you feel at home. We were a party of 3 with individual tastes that were all catered for by a professional team. We are likely to return when next in Lisbon.

  13. Paul R.
    Paul R.
    • one review
    10/10

    By far our nicest meal in Lisbon. Food was amazing with brilliant twists on the flavour. Wish was staying longer in Lisbon so could go back. Service impeccable and genuine.

  14. Katrina S.
    Katrina S.
    • one review
    8/10

    We found this restaurant because we were searching for somewhere nice to eat that catered for gluten free. What a little gem, beautiful decor, simple and very classy . I was told that almost every dish could be made gluten free so that was great. The food was beautifully presented, very tasty and good value for fine dining . He portions were quite small but as the food was rich it wouldn’t have been possible for me to eat more of it. The only fault was the lack of choice of desert for gluten free but I had a pavlova which was stunning to look at and tasted gorgeous .

  15. Susan R.
    Susan R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Couldn't fault the food and service. The lunchtime inclusive menu was absolutely delicious and very reasonably priced. Will be going again soon.

  16. Yoel S.
    Yoel S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Open, friendly service. Great chef: all four dishes were beautiful and had wonderful taste. Especially Ceviche, the twist they give is exceptional!

  17. Leonardo A.
    Leonardo A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We loved it. One of the nicest meals in Lisbon. The girl who looked after us was really nice and gave us good recommendations for wine. Justin came out to see how we liked our food.

  18. Debbie L.
    Debbie L.
    • one review
    10/10

    The best food we ate in Lisbon. The chef came and asked us how we had enjoyed the meal. Everything was perfect.

  19. Christine B.
    Christine B.
    • one review
    10/10

    I truly enjoyed my experience at Downunder by Justin Jennings. The staff were welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable about the menus. It reminded me of the wonderful Australian food and its quality I am a custom to. The flavours gave me that warm nostalgia of my home country of Australia. I was even lucky enough to meet Justin and applauded him on his great food. Thank you so much for a great evening!

  20. Andres C.
    Andres C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    There’s 2 floors, we sat downstairs. The place is nice, the dishes were amazing. The pork is one of the best I’ve tried, the fish was unforgettable and the duck delicious. The first course was good and the povlova dessert delicious. The wine selection is ok, there’s no pairing with the chef’s menu. We choose the australian wines by glass. The white was ok, but the red was really good. We tried the first 5 courses menu because we didn’t want to eat alligator and deer, but we exchange the dessert. Great experience, definitely recommended!!!

  21. Michael B.
    Michael B.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    36 hour pork belly with hand-cut fries. Not what I expected but oh my. So good. Wife and I had two different deserts.. both very good. Got served by 3 different people which caused some confusion..

  22. Olivier C.
    Olivier C.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Downunder is one of the best restaurants in Lisbon. Everything is well prepared and nicely flavoured. We are very regular guests of this place were we love to go !

  23. Graham J.
    Graham J.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We visited three times in five days - that says it all! You'd have to search hard to find anything better. Technically excellent cooking, fine ingredients, really well presented and perfect balance of flavours.

  24. Graham J.
    Graham J.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent food, prepared with care and attention. Will be back soon.

  25. Susan W.
    Susan W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Every time we eat here we come away extremely happy and content. Food is consistently good and of a high quality. Staff are attentive and helpful. A great dining experience in Lisbon.

  26. Anton G.
    Anton G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Got welcomed with a smile from a wonderful waitress that made us feel welcomed and relaxed. Me and my significant other ordered a bottle of wine, 2 appetizers, 2 main dishes and 2 desserts. Absolute top class for the buck. Growing up in Sweden I'm used to pay the same price for a pint and a mediocre main dish for the same price of what we paid here. Minus the service, minus the quality and minus the gastronomical experience. The food here is delicious, experimental and the ambience in the restaurant makes you enjoy the food even more. Nothing special really, not overly fancy, they dont try hard with super pretentious interior. They let the plate of food talk for itself which is exactly what I wished for and craved. Absolute top class food. The contexture of the food, how the flavours took you to a new world with different stories and experiences in every bite you take. Will absolutely come back more times. I recently moved to Lisbon and this visit left me more inspired than ever. I didn't get the waitress name - but a big thank you to her, from the swedish couple Anton and Alva with reservation 18/10 20:00 - you were absolutely fenomenal!

  27. Seb A.
    Seb A.
    • one review
    10/10

    WOW! I can live here... Never had so good food.. Ate here everyday, now I am addicted.. The kitchen is super creative and tastes are amazing.. Would recommend anyone to try it. Will not disappoint!

  28. Nick P.
    Nick P.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Simply put, if you're in Lisbon you must visit Downunder. Be sure to book. The chicken risotto was as moist and flavoursome as you like. My wife had the Corvina fish dish and that too was simply stunning. We both had a lovely evening here and would highly recommend it if you're looking for something a little more romantic.

  29. Jeff G.
    Jeff G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Found this place by accident online. Very small but ever so elegant. The service was excellent. The food was amazing. We got the 5 course pre fix meal. Was worth every bit of it. Please make this a choice if your looking for a nice cozy excellent night out.

  30. Paul L.
    Paul L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Delicious food, basic furniture, create your own atmosphere.

  31. Michael C.
    Michael C.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This the best restaurant I’ve been to. The execution of each dish was remarkable. When you’re left guessing what each ingredient is, you know you have a good dish. The pork belly is a must as is the kangaroo steak. Both were unreal!

  32. Kev H.
    Kev H.
    • 44 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food, with excellent, imaginative combinations of flavours. As it was a work day lunch, I had the Estrella free, alcohol free beer and it was a really good option. Staff were extremely friendly, as ever.

  33. Pedro G.
    Pedro G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Dinner was sublime. Nice touch the chef asking every customer if everything was good. Not intrusive at all. He gives a short explanation of the dishes we commented the most.

  34. James Y.
    James Y.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was my wife’s birthday and Justin ‘s lovely waitress presented her with a birthday celebration cake ( and non blowing out candle). Justin came to our table and he was a humble and lovely young man. The food was different but excellent, I would really recommend you visit this restaurant when living or visiting Lisbon. Jim/Maureen

  35. Roni u.
    Roni u.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was amazing! It was surprising and excellent at the same time. Do not pass the crocodile salad, the crab and the duck! Desserts were good too but the sticky dates was delicious

  36. Irina L.
    Irina L.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing flavors, perfectly executed. So good we went back a second night. Definitely do not miss this place while in Lisbon! The duck and pork belly are out of this world!

  37. Irina L.
    Irina L.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    The food was impeccably prepared. Each dish had it's own unique flavor, clean and fresh. On par with some of the best restaurants in the world. Cozy seating. It was so good, we booked another dinner. Looking forward to trying everything on the menu!

  38. Pamela G.
    Pamela G.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Little gem will go back to visit again

  39. Merrick  S.
    Merrick S.
    • one review
    10/10

    A not to miss destination in Lisbon. Best meal we have had here. We have been here 7 days and nights. The whole experience is top class We would return if the opportunity arose. 10/10

  40. Victor D.
    Victor D.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food very well put together. Delicious!