9.1/10
Excellent
based on 993 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Bilal G.
    Bilal G.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Perfecto...

  2. Carlos D.
    Carlos D.
    • one review
    7/10

    Un poco caro

  3. Michael S.
    Michael S.
    • one review
    8/10

    Two dinners at this restaurant in Feb 2020. Really delicious both times. Service good. Ambience pleasant. I really don't like a TV in a restaurant!!

  4. Karen R.
    Karen R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    It was really good. They had to cancel my first reservation, but gave me the option to go have my dinner on an other hour. I liked that.

  5. Paolo C.
    Paolo C.
    • 43 reviews
    10/10

    Calidad!

  6. Alberto V.
    Alberto V.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent, in the best tradition of Spanish restaurants. From the start with a ”caña” to the entries (mainly seafood) and the fish, as well as the glass of wine, everything was delicious. Kind attention all the time.

  7. Laureano S.
    Laureano S.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    Always a great choice for seafood!!!

  8. Tim W.
    Tim W.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Warm welcome, really efficient and helpful service and food was amazing. Shared the rice and prawns dish which was so good and a really nice ambience

  9. Nicholas F.
    Nicholas F.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    A nice ambience and the food was good. It was way more expensive than restaurants of equal quality in Madrid. Several people came to take our orders before we had even opened the menu - felt a bit impatient. We were crammed in between other tables when there were plenty of more private tables available. Food was great, but I would not go back.

  10. Pilar C.
    Pilar C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Un gran velada

  11. Yavuz A.
    Yavuz A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Was a wonderfully delicious dinner with crabs, shrimps, calamari, octopus and fish. Great wine menu... very good wine selection by the glass.

  12. Nick B.
    Nick B.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Some employees are rude and making lot of noise while moving or putting down dishes,one woman waiter was very sloppy (descuidada) and complaining all the time..i go to the restaurant almost once a week..always the same....few are super nice..

  13. Ethan C.
    Ethan C.
    • 26 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing grilled sea bass!!

  14. Marcel V.
    Marcel V.
    • one review
    8/10

    Tasty food. Reasonable price. Cosy interior. Nice place to sit and eat easy. Could be warm when there are a lot of people. Hospitality could be friendlyer.

  15. Frank B.
    Frank B.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant is really upscale in every way. The welcome is charming and professional. The servers are wonderful, all friendly and going out of their way to help you. The wee amusent bouche soup taster was delicious. We shared a very tasty salad and although slightly too much lettuce was amazing. Our sea bass mains we agreed were the best we have ever eaten. A few bones in mine but hey ho! My Scotch Whisky ice cream dessert rounded everything off perfectly. A great romantic anniversary meal !

  16. Lou E.
    Lou E.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great location. Superb service. Ate here two nights. Food very, very good but not excellent. gazpacho soup excellent. Iberico ham very good but a bit thick. Salad with fruit outstanding but crunchy lamb chops very a bit disappointing...very, very fatty. Do recommend and will return.

  17. Maria Felisa D.
    Maria Felisa D.
    • one review
    10/10

    El arroz negro estaba exquisito!

  18. Anthony  L.
    Anthony L.
    • one review
    10/10

    From drinks to dessert, our meal was awesome! The sea bass was absolutely amazing.

  19. Beatriz A.
    Beatriz A.
    • 41 reviews
    10/10

    Calidad de la materia prima excelente, servicio impecable y ambiente ideal! Para repetir seguro!

  20. Manuela K.
    Manuela K.
    • one review
    4/10

    Unfortunatelly most of the asked dishes were not available this evening even though it was early (21.00 h). Furthermore the service didn't speak english, so the communication was difficult. (e.g. " please I don't want boiled patatoes, I would like grilled or roasted potatoes". Then he brought me boiled potatoes !!??).

  21. Valdis V.
    Valdis V.
    • 9 reviews
    9.5/10

    We had been here once before on a previous trip, so returning was in itself, a credit to the restaurant. If anything this time was even better. Very nice setting and excellent food.

  22. Noemi G.
    Noemi G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    excellent

  23. Nick V.
    Nick V.
    • one review
    10/10

    A super warm, welcoming and all-round delightful place. The staff accommodated us with our baby carriage, arranging a quiet corner table without hassle, and we were very impressed with the quality of the food. We ordered grilled asparagus, octopus with aioli and a sort of lobster paella, all of which was delightful. When the bill came I was prepared to pay the price for a high-end seafood dinner in London or New York, but it was far below that. A very reasonable price for a lovely dinner.

  24. Shea R.
    Shea R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We had a wonderful meal in Madrid! Every dish was delicious.

  25. Aylene G.
    Aylene G.
    • one review
    10/10

    This is our third trip to this restaurant, we always come here when we are in Madrid. We had a lovely evening, yet again. All the waiting staff are charming and the food was absolutely delicious.

  26. Liliana  A.
    Liliana A.
    • one review
    8/10

    Needed better lighting

  27. Joel G.
    Joel G.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Everything was great, but the artichokes were the highlight.

  28. Albert R.
    Albert R.
    • 6 reviews
    8/10

    Probably de best fish restaurant in Madrid

  29. Ian J.
    Ian J.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    El Barril de las Letras is a real find. Delicious, sophisticated, restaurant, drawing upon Spanish traditions with a modern flair, and a seafood focus, well-supported by an extremely pleasant, professional and knowledgeable front of house. Highly recommmended for both local and international diners. (Non seafood options also offered)

  30. Lola V.
    Lola V.
    • 14 reviews
    8/10

    Estupendo

  31. Yana G.
    Yana G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great dinner. Paella was delicious as was my ceviche starter. Service was also excellent. We needed to send a steak back to be cooked more and it was handled without incident. Once cooked to our desired temperature, it was also excellent.

  32. Charles P.
    Charles P.
    • 24 reviews
    9.5/10

    Nice maitre d excellent and reasonable wine list. Ham superb so was sea bass

  33. Alison H.
    Alison H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We booked at El Barril on the recommendation of our host. Our meals lived up to all the expectations. All of the staff were friendly, warm but professional and very efficient. It was a lovely evening! Definitely recommended for a special dinner.

  34. Joel G.
    Joel G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Despite the. Industrial setting of cement walls and overhead pipes, the meal was delicious.

  35. ANA r.
    ANA r.
    • 32 reviews
    8/10

    Es bastante ruidoso

  36. Jose D.
    Jose D.
    • 28 reviews
    6.5/10

    Good food but TERRIBLE service. The waitress was very rude and did not even knew that the plates included.

  37. Carlos p.
    Carlos p.
    • 12 reviews
    8/10

    Un sitio agradable para comer

  38. Troilov R.
    Troilov R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Took a dish of the day, shrimp in garlic sauce and fish. My wife also took asparagus and local wine. Everything is fresh and cooked perfectly. Interestingly decorated, good atmosphere

  39. Ibis D.
    Ibis D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excelente!

  40. Jan A.
    Jan A.
    • one review
    8/10

    We visited this restaurant 12. Inths ago and really enjoyed the meal then, and on our return today it was still really good. The staff are a bit friendlier than they were 12 months ago which is good, as now you get service with a smile. It is not a cheap place to eat but worth it for a special occasion.