El Camino Cantina

18 Argyle Street 2000 The Rocks Australia Map
  • Mexican
Average price AU$35.00
7,8 /10
1179 reviews
493 reviews

Special offers and Menus

Special offers are only available by booking online with thefork.
You'll be able to select the menus in the last step of booking, if available for your criteria.
Menus

TEX MEX FIESTA 79AUD

El Camino’s newest food and beverage package ‘Tex-Mex Fiesta’ has arrived and we are offering you and your friends a three course share style Tex-Mex Fiesta menu that includes two hours of signature margaritas, beer and wine for $79pp!
This menu is a minimum of 2 people. Please advise your wait staff if you have any dietaries. A 10% service charge applies to parties of 10+. A 10% surcharge applies on Sunday and a 15% surcharge is applied to the final bill on Public Holidays.
*El Camino Cantina practices the responsible service of alcohol. RSA applies.
Available on the booked timeslot.

  • ENTREE
    • CHIPS & SALSA
      BUFFALO WINGS
      LOADED NACHOS TO SHARE
  • MAIN
    • FRESH CHARGRILLED CHICKEN FAJITAS - SERVED WITH HOUSE-MADE TORTILLAS, PICO DE GALLO, SOUR CREAM, CHEESE, CHARRO BEANS, MEXICAN RICE, SEASONAL VEGGIES, SAUTÉED ONIONS & MELTED BUTTE
  • DESSERT
    • CHURROS - SERVED WITH CHOCOLATE & CARAMEL SAUCE
  • Drinks
    • 2HRS SIGNATURE RITAS - FROZEN OR ON THE ROCKS HOUSE BEER, HOUSE WINE & SOFT DRINKS

Please note: The main courses listed above are susceptible to change depending on market availabilty. All changes are will be indicated.

About the restaurant El Camino Cantina

A real Tex-Mex experience

It took more than a year for the Urban Purveyor Group to come up with a true Tex-Mex concept for El Camino Cantina, but you know what they say, good things come to those who wait. This restaurant/cantina delivers brilliant tex-mex cuisine, just like you would find in cities like Austin, Texas. Think big, bold flavours in the form of spicy salsas, tacos, fajitas and enchiladas, plus an abundance of freshly squeezed, blended and shaken Margaritas. This fiesta style restaurants has two bars, a large dining room and a tequila and mescal lounge. It’s a place for loud voices and those looking to have a bit of fun. Let your hair down at El Camino.

Restaurant prices

Average à la carte price
AU$35.00
(average à la carte price based on a two-course meal excluding drinks)
Prices and menu can change. Those prices don't take into account any promotion and are VAT included.

How to get to the restaurant El Camino Cantina

7,8 /10
Only clients who have dined at the restaurant, after booking on TheFork, can leave their opinion.
  • 10
    181
  • 9
    187
  • 8
    317
  • 7
    214
  • < 7
    276
Food
7,9
Service
7,2
Setting
8,3
1122/1179 reviews
Andrews N.
Conqueror
(6 reviews)
Average Rating
9 /10
Food
8
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 11 Jan 2020
Nice and festive restaurant. Thevsalsas are really good and the frozen margaritas are awesome.
Restaurant
Hi Tina,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy to hear you had a great time at our venue.

Looking forward to accommodate you soon again! :)

Cheers
Charlotte
General Manager
El Camino Cantina The Rocks
cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au
Wendy L.
Conqueror
(7 reviews)
Average Rating
6 /10
Food
6
Service
6
Setting
6
  • Meal date : 7 Jan 2020
.
Came for the $2. The other items on the menu seem overpriced for Mexican food. Music was very loud. Could barely hear each other over dinner. Would not recommend if you have children. Not family friendly.
MJ S.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
5,5 /10
Food
6
Service
4
Setting
6
  • Meal date : 7 Jan 2020
I booked for a birthday dinner and didn’t see different options to choose from and we ended up at a bar table get your own drinks etc After request we got moved to the dining area with table service etc but it wasn’t an ideal way to start the birthday dinner. I’m not sure how to avoid this and the difference in atmosphere between the bar and dining areas is immense. All in all saved by a great attendant in the main room but not ideal
Chad M.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 7 Jan 2020
The $2 tacos are a great deal and the margaritas are dangerously tasty. Would definitely recommend to my friends! The bartenders and servers were all very welcoming and helpful throughout our time there.
Restaurant
Hi Chad

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear you had an amazing time at our venue.

Looking forward to accommodate you soon again! :)

Cheers
Charlotte
General Manager
El Camino Cantina The Rocks
cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au
Lucy B.
Foodie
(10 reviews)
Average Rating
8 /10
Food
8
Service
8
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 3 Jan 2020
Great drinks and atmosphere
Restaurant
Hi Lucy

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear you had a great time at our venue.

Looking forward to accommodate you soon again! :)

Cheers
Charlotte
General Manager
El Camino Cantina The Rocks
cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au
Jen T.
Explorer
(2 reviews)
Average Rating
5 /10
Food
6
Service
2
Setting
6
  • Meal date : 29 Dec 2019
While the meal wasn’t a complete failure, some of the key fundamentals seem to have been missed. The guacamole was 99% tomato, and you could barely taste the avocado in it. We’re a family very into our guacamole, and this is the first time we have left over half a serve of it. The condiments with the fajitas were very small. And the tortillas virtually non-existent. The queso blanco was watery. The corn chip station was a nice addition, and the atmosphere was good. I won’t be returning though.
Restaurant
Hi Jen,

Thank you for your feedback. I am so sorry about your experience at our El Camino. We would love the opportunity to show you the true El Camino experience.

Please contact me so we can arrange a dinner on us cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au

Hoping to hear from you.

Kindest Regards
Charlotte
General Manager
El Camino Cantina The Rocks
cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au
Livia D.
Conqueror
(5 reviews)
Average Rating
5 /10
Food
6
Service
2
Setting
6
  • Meal date : 28 Dec 2019
Entered the restaurant and let the waitress know we had a booking and she was quite sassy with me for no reason. The food was overall okay but not the best Mexican you can get
Restaurant
Hi Livia,

Thank you so much for your feedback. Our sincere apology for you poor service experience at our restaurant. I can ensure this is not up to our standards and we will follow up with the team to improve the quality and attitude of our staff. Should you wish to provide more feedback, please do not hesitate to contact me directly cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au.

Hope to hear from you! :)

Cheers
Charlotte
General Manager
El Camino Cantina The Rocks
cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au
Tina G.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
7 /10
Food
6
Service
8
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 23 Dec 2019
Service was really great, food and drinks came out quickly. Atmopshere was brilliant. The food could have been better, would have made for an amazing experience all round.
Restaurant
Hi Tina,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear you had a great time at our venue and we will work on improving our food quality to make your next visit at El Camino Cantina The Rocks amazing.

Looking forward to accommodate you soon again! :)

Cheers
Charlotte
General Manager
El Camino Cantina The Rocks
cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au
Anthony L.
Foodie
(12 reviews)
Average Rating
10 /10
Food
10
Service
10
Setting
10
  • Meal date : 19 Dec 2019
Great drinks. Great service.
Restaurant
Hola Anthony, thank you so much for your positive review. We can't wait to have you back :) Gracias.
Tracy T.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
3 /10
Food
2
Service
4
Setting
4
  • Meal date : 17 Dec 2019
Meet and greet was poor. Manager with short blonde hair actually interrupted waitress while she was talking to me whispering in her ear. No service. No menus. Wait at bar for 20 mins. Food served cold. No flavor at all. Worst feed I’ve had in Sydney ever. Cheap and nasty and nasty.
Restaurant
Dear Tracy ,thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance. Please feel free reach out Charlotte at
cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au with any further comments or if you would like to come back so we can make your experience better.
Michelle J.
Foodie
(41 reviews)
Average Rating
8 /10
Food
10
Service
4
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 11 Dec 2019
When we asked for a frozen magerita it was served melted, so then we asked for it to be returned for a frozen one...and the waiter brought back the same melted drink. Then we had to ask another waiter for a frozen magerita and we finally got one. Why do we even have do this?
Restaurant
Hola Michelle, We’re so sorry that your experience did not match your expectations, but I really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. Your feedback helps us get better! We'll look into this and communicate better with our staff. Please come back to have more margaritas, Gracias!
Julia R.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
6,5 /10
Food
8
Service
2
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 6 Dec 2019
The bouncer was incredibly rude/curt. As the first face that the customer sees, this has a big impact on their experience, and can set the customer off on the wrong foot. The wait staff didn't check on us to see if we wanted anything and we weren't able to flag anyone down to order more drinks.
Restaurant
Hola Julia, We’re so sorry that your experience did not match your expectations, but I really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. Your feedback helps us get better! We'll look into this and communicate better with our staff. Please feel free reach out to Charlotte at
cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au with any further comments or if you would like to come back so we can make your experience better. Gracias!
Elli Y.
Explorer
(3 reviews)
Average Rating
9 /10
Food
10
Service
8
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 28 Nov 2019
Came on a Thursday at 6PM. Used our member keychains (free) to get happy hour priced frozen margaritas. They unfortunately ran out of their monthly special (acai), but the mango was still great. Their Thursday special is half-priced fajitas so we tried the braised beef, and wow! The beef was so tender. Loved it. Service was a bit slow, but between the $7.50 massive drinks and free nacho chips, would come back again for amazing beef fajitas!
Restaurant
Hola Elli, thank you so much for your positive review. We can't wait to have you back :) Gracias.
Laura S.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
3,5 /10
Food
4
Service
2
Setting
4
  • Meal date : 19 Nov 2019
Turned up to the reservation and table had been given away. Then the host took us to another table and left us waiting next to it in a busy section while a guy cleaned it. As we were waiting my friends went to order drinks from the bar and we eventually got to sit down while they were still there and a female waiter approached and asked us for drinks. We explained our friends had gone to the bar as we had been waiting and she said well actually you have table service and slammed the menus down and left. Then another waiter tutted when my friend didn't know what he wanted to order.

Terrible service and food was not to usually standard either.
Restaurant
Hola Laura, We’re so sorry that your experience did not match your expectations, but I really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. Your feedback helps us get better! We'll look into this and communicate better with our staff. Please feel free reach out to Charlotte at
cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au with any further comments or if you would like to come back so we can make your experience better. Gracias!
Michael F.
Conqueror
(5 reviews)
Average Rating
7,5 /10
Food
8
Service
8
Setting
6
  • Meal date : 17 Nov 2019
Good place for a drink and food, new quick ordering system from table was easy to use and had photos of all meals
Restaurant
Hola Michael, thank you so much for your positive review. We can't wait to have you back :) Gracias.
Madeleine O.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
4,5 /10
Food
4
Service
6
Setting
4
  • Meal date : 14 Nov 2019
looked to be a lot of staff working however service was extremely poor. Took about 30-40 mins for our drinks to arrive and the food we ordered wasn't correct and got charged for "extras" that were never advised
Restaurant
Dear Madeleine,thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance. Please feel free reach out to Charlotte at
cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au with any further comments or if you would like to come back so we can make your experience better. Gracias!
Lee B.
Adventurer
(1 review)
Average Rating
4,5 /10
Food
4
Service
4
Setting
6
  • Meal date : 4 Nov 2019
Really hard to find anything positive to say except the drinks where reasonably priced. The food was tasteless.. service totally terrible. Our dirty plates where left on the table for an hour before being removed. Had to ask for everything twice. No attention to detail. I felt like I was eating at a Youth club. I think the venue is more about getting young people to drink copious amounts than food.
Restaurant
Dear Lee,thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance. Please feel free reach out Charlotte at
cpappenheim@elcaminocantina.com.au with any further comments or if you would like to come back so we can make your experience better. Gracias!
Vania T.
(1 review)
Average Rating
7,5 /10
Food
8
Service
8
Setting
6
  • Meal date : 2 Nov 2019
We loved the food & the welcoming atmosphere. The music was far too noisy for all of us: I’d be interested in the decibel rating for OHSW for the workers.
A A.
Foodie
(258 reviews)
Average Rating
5,5 /10
Food
6
Service
3
Setting
7
  • Meal date : 2 Nov 2019
Good for big groups or parties. However service was poor and food disappointing
A A.
Foodie
(268 reviews)
Average Rating
9 /10
Food
10
Service
8
Setting
8
  • Meal date : 1 Nov 2019
Such a fun atmosphere with great music and Mexican food! Loved the free nachos and the cocktails are great value for what you pay!
Restaurant
Hola, thank you so much for your positive review. We can't wait to have you back :) Gracias.
TheFork uses cookies in particular to optimise your user experience, measure the performance of the sites and make advertising retargeting. By browsing the site, you accept the use of these cookies. More information or change your settings.