Back

Reviews - El Catrín

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 516 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Diana P.
    Diana P.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Best Mexican restaurant in town! Best service and best food! Thanks for always providing a great evening!!

  2. Deborah V.
    Deborah V.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Tasty food and nice atmosphere, a bit pricy

  3. Sofia M.
    Sofia M.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food and amazing service, always a great experience! I highly recommend you go!

  4. Marcelo S.
    Marcelo S.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    At top ????

  5. Bettina R.
    Bettina R.
    • 26 reviews
    8/10

    Very friendly service and nice to try Mexican cuisine and also some interesting drinks. The restaurant is rather big and lively, which also means it can get a bit noisy. We liked the food and drinks, and great to say its all home made. Overall I would say that the foods is reasonably priced also in terms of quantity but the drinks are on the very pricey side (cocktails CHF 17).

  6. Leticia M.
    Leticia M.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Great restaurant! Very authentic! Great food!

  7. Maria S.
    Maria S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely place and atmosphere, excellent food, the waiters were all very nice. As they made us wait a little bit for one of the drinks we ordered, they didn't make us pay for it! That is quite unique, especially in Switzerland.

  8. Eduardo F.
    Eduardo F.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic! Real Mexican food, believe, I’m a Mexican.

  9. Uma M.
    Uma M.
    • 11 reviews
    9/10

    Great atmosphere and delicious tacos, with plenty of choices. And be sure to try the margaritas too — my favourite is the passion fruit margarita. ????????

  10. Michelle E.
    Michelle E.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Guacamole: excellent; Tortilla chips: not crispy, overcooked or else stale; tacos: delicious fillings, but served lukewarm and tortilla shells almost too tough to cut with a knife and fork; nachos: way too many chips, not enough cheese, served lukewarm; margaritas: perfect taste, but overpriced; arroz verde: served nice and hot, but I would prefer regular rice; black beans: perfect. Did not like having to make up my own order on a piece of paper, or the way plates were stacked and we had to set our own table without any placemats on the bare table. If you want customers to take their own order and set their own table, then you should lower your prices accordingly.

  11. Paulina K.
    Paulina K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food, fantastic service, delicious passionfruit margaritas, dog-friendly environment. Never disappointing! Going back next week:)

  12. Victor D.
    Victor D.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The ambiance was really great, it was our first time there and being originally from Mexico we experienced a little bit of nostalgia but felt right at home when we arrived. Unfortunately, all of our food was really cold and the service was painfully slow. I have to say the place was packed and I want to think this was something exceptional. We look forward to come back, wishing service will be better and good will be hot. I am really glad we found a place that reminds us of home and look forward for a better overall experience next time.

  13. Federica o.
    Federica o.
    • one review
    10/10

    Always great!

  14. Tamar K.
    Tamar K.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    LOVE the food and drinks. On this particular night after waiting quite a while for the food we were told our order had been lost! However despite the one bad experience I will still be back!

  15. Kanyana P.
    Kanyana P.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    No other Mexican restaurant in the region does it like El Catrin does it - authentic, delicious, welcoming, generous.. A must-visit for Mexican food lovers ????

  16. Mairead M.
    Mairead M.
    • 19 reviews
    9/10

    Fast, friendly, efficient service. Great vibe. Food of very good quality - ingredients obviously fresh and food cooked to order. Highly recommend.

  17. Emma W.
    Emma W.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Great tacos, the BEST margaritas!

  18. Hannah B.
    Hannah B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent margaritas and guacamole! Hibiscus margarita is particularly amazing. Relaxed atmosphere, the food was very good - and we are coming from California where the Mexican food is killer. Would definitely do it again.

  19. Lynne H.
    Lynne H.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    The staff are so welcoming and so helpful, and just a fun atmosphere. I would have preferred my phone warmer, but, the cocktails made up for that..... that Bloody MARY, is a MUST.

  20. Helen G.
    Helen G.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Fabulous food, excellent margaritas & friendly staff! Always a great night at El Catrin, delighted it’s open again. Make sure to book as it’s very popular.

  21. Georgios G.
    Georgios G.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent experience, good food, fast service nice cocktails!!!

  22. Natalja A.
    Natalja A.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Again and again El Catrín doesn’t disappoint! And special note to Roberto who with all his advice. We spent great time!

  23. Tamas F.
    Tamas F.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Good food, great attitude, nice ambience, reasonable prices, the place is worth a visit!

  24. Stephanie S.
    Stephanie S.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent restaurant, the food and drinks are great. I have to admit that the service was quite slow since the restaurant was so packed (on a Friday) so I will try to come back for lunch or during the week. I love this place :)

  25. Thaïs R.
    Thaïs R.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Some of the best Mexican food in Geneva!

  26. Nicole R.
    Nicole R.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    Restaurant with authentic decoration, very welcoming and fast service. Yummy food, next time will visit in the evening to try the cocktails at well ;) Would recommend to friends

  27. Lara w.
    Lara w.
    • one review
    10/10

    Finally! authentic Mexican food in Geneva. . The salsas are wonderful, tacos thoughtfully prepared and margaritas delicious.

  28. Dawn R.
    Dawn R.
    • one review
    9/10

    Fantastic authentic Mexican decor . Great menu: especially the drinks like horchata and tamarindo! Enjoyed my food, but couldn’t finish my enmoladas .. just too much rich mole! (Never thought I’d say such a thing!

  29. Wan-Hea L.
    Wan-Hea L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The staff were super friendly, generally attentive, and kind enough to continue to serve us after closing time. The food was good. I found the menu confusing - the English and Spanish sides are not translations of each other.

  30. Sezen  S.
    Sezen S.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nice, cozy, very welcoming. A bit on the noisy side Vegetarian tacos were really great! Don't miss the avocado tacos. Margaritas were too expensive though :(

  31. Paula M.
    Paula M.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    This places gets only better and better! Service is amazing, food is delicious and margaritas are the best in town! Highly recommended!

  32. Mukahhal S.
    Mukahhal S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Awesome place and staff are very helpful. There was a lot of groups and birthday parties, a great place to go to if you are with friends and wants some place tasty and good prices. Not for first dates :D

  33. Mary K.
    Mary K.
    • 7 reviews
    6/10

    Food was disappointing

  34. Giedre L.
    Giedre L.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Toujour tres bon :)

  35. David H.
    David H.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    Service slow - needs more staff at peak hours. Drinks over-priced. Otherwise great place.

  36. Joanne R.
    Joanne R.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Great food as always!!!

  37. Jean-Michel P.
    Jean-Michel P.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    The positive points are the quality of the courses of the menu and the quality of the service. The negative points are the short selection of courses and the background sound that is pretty high (one option for this last point is to ask for a table outside)

  38. Melissa W.
    Melissa W.
    • 5 reviews
    5/10

    Normally I love this restaurant. This visit the food was still delicious but the service was incredibly slow and the lack of air conditioning on a hot summer day made the long wait problematic and uncomfortable. I suggest they increase the wait staff and find a way to get better air conditioning.

  39. Helen P.
    Helen P.
    • one review
    9/10

    As Californians in our third week of our European trip, we were really missing good Mexican food. This place delivered. The guacamole was scrumptious. Loved the tacos, and the enchiladas suiza were outstanding. The taco sauce was spicy and tasty, although no fresh salsas were provided for our meal. the El Sol margarita was magnificent, but pricy at 22 Swiss francs. Very satisfying, nice service.

  40. Lee E.
    Lee E.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The service was excellent, highly knowledgeable about the food and drinks.