Back

Reviews El Jinete

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 537 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Sharon C.
    Sharon C.
    • one review
    9/10

    This was my first visit and the food was excellent but my guest was a little disappointed that there wasn’t a vegetarian choice on the Sunday lunch offering. Service great

  2. Steve G.
    Steve G.
    • one review
    9/10

    Absolutely fantastic. Warm welcome, efficient & polite service. Had the €20 menu. What incredible value. Food was a delight. Lovely menu. My only criticism was the location of my table. I had a couple side on to me looking directly at me. Perhaps just need to push table back a little. Would definitely recommend visiting this restaurant. I’ve already booked to go back on Monday!! Can’t wait.

  3. Patricia S.
    Patricia S.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent value

  4. Chris B.
    Chris B.
    • 29 reviews
    9.5/10

    Inspite of Covid restrictions dividing our group of 8, we were well attended and enjoyed our experience. El jinete never fails. Very drinkable house wines.

  5. Michael R.
    Michael R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Lovely restaurant, with great staff and delicious food. Highly recommend to eat here!

  6. Kerry B.
    Kerry B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Extremely impressed with their hygiene protocol in this current pandemic ,lovely meal attentive staff ,a definite must visit with beautiful views .a breath of fresh air in there’s uncertain times

  7. Susan M.
    Susan M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food, excellent service and beautiful stunning setting. Would recommend this restaurant whole heartedly and will definitely be going back.

  8. Chris B.
    Chris B.
    • 29 reviews
    9.5/10

    Had the lunch menu, which on Sundays includes a choice of roasts. Our meat was excellent and not overcooked at all. Good value for €20. Service is attentive. The draft Victoria beer is well served. The house red is on the oaky-crianza-side. The views are magnificent.

  9. Patricia S.
    Patricia S.
    • 15 reviews
    9/10

    My husband had an excellent roast my steak not the best?

  10. Gordon R.
    Gordon R.
    • one review
    7/10

    I was disappointed with the main courses. The roast potatoes seemed like they had been cooked yesterday and re-heated. The food came on a cold plate. My wife's chichen also seemed to have been re - heated and it was supossed to be chicken piri piri but it was chicken with a seperate piri piri sauce. Most disappointing!

  11. Adrian D.
    Adrian D.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    This is the 4th time we have been, and yet again it didn’t disappoint. Excellent views, great food at reasonable prices, and good service. It doesn’t get much better.

  12. Carly N.
    Carly N.
    • 2 reviews
    2.5/10

    The bread was not fresh, the food was very average, and there were lots of flies! The service was poor, we were not met at the door, we had to wonder through the restaurant to find someone, and then as the restaurant continued to fill, the service became worse. Would not visit again.

  13. Kevin B.
    Kevin B.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great food fantastic service. 10 out of ten. Thank you .............................................................................

  14. Sonja S.
    Sonja S.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    After reading so much about how great this place was, perhaps we arrived with too high expectations. I asked for a table with a view of the sea and was told those tables were all for smokers! Bit disappointing to sit on one of the middle tables with no views. Service felt overall rushed and we had to ask for a break between courses as the waitress was far too quick to ask if we wanted desserts directly after clearing our main plates!! My son has a steak which was fabulous he said, my knuckle of pork was tasty with a lot of fat to remove. My daughter’s ribs were very poor the meat did not fall off them and therefore she did not enjoy them. Politely gave feedback on this and felt they were not appreciative and maybe hardly ever receive such honest comments? I think this is a good place to book late evening for sunset as atmosphere was just building up around 8.30/9. Full of brits if you like that kind of place need to try try again sometime at a different time to get a true opinion Would rather less of the Brit feel and being rushed.i

  15. Liz A.
    Liz A.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great food and terrace. Outdoor dining with a view ! Good selection of food and great steaks. A must for anyone in the La Cala area, worth the small drive out.

  16. Jennet S.
    Jennet S.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We have visited El Jinete on a few special occasions and always had a lovely time. The welcome is courteous. We were the first there this evening, having booked the table for 7pm and we sat at a lovely table with a glorious view of the valley below. We chose the set evening menu and all the dishes were more than ample. The steaks were cooked to perfection with a small side of mixed vegetables. The set menu provides several options. This is a special restaurant and is very popular with those in the know. Booking is advisable. We were there on a Monday and it filled up nicely while we were there

  17. Trudi q.
    Trudi q.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    So happy to come back here, felt so safe, staff were great and food was fabulous was we remembered and portions so big! On top of this the terrace and views are stunning!

  18. Harry A.
    Harry A.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    The best meat ever. This place is really special , everything is home made from starters to deserts and you can feel, taste the difference. i recommend the chateaubriand for those who don't know it yet and will visit for the 1st time. The terrace is beautiful with beautiful views on the cala de mijas valley.

    El Jinete

    Thank you Harry, so pleased you enjoyed your meal, we hope to see you soon! Regards Jinete Team

  19. John A.
    John A.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Good food it was a little quiet but that didn't concern us as it gave us time to chat. I thought there was a deal on the set menu @ €20 instead of €25 but that wasn't reflected. Would have liked some more choice on potatoes & Vegetables but we will definitely be back.

  20. Martin D.
    Martin D.
    • 20 reviews
    9.5/10

    This great grill restaurant is one of our favourites in the La Cala area. Warm and friendly in the winter with live music and even better when the large terrace is open in the warmer days. The charcoal grill and excellent quality of meat are the main reason we love the place though...

  21. Geoffrey T.
    Geoffrey T.
    • 6 reviews
    5/10

    For a set meal it was not good.......45€ per head and just not worth it....... I don’t know what a Jinete chefs do with vegetables but they are pretty much inedible... in fairnesss they’ve been the same for years a pile of courgette and something on top stacked up to make it look cheffy.... do something with the beg for gods sake .

  22. Susan W.
    Susan W.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Another lovely evening with good food, live music, good service, and at a reasonable price.

  23. Amanda a.
    Amanda a.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Just a fantastic evening. Food, service and restaurant are excellent. Wonderful selection on the menu. The €25 is particularly good value. Really enjoyed the evening

  24. David B.
    David B.
    • one review
    8/10

    Love this place ! Food is always good I have been many times and it never fails to please .

  25. John A.
    John A.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    Been many times thought they tried to rushes not experienced that before. We slowed things down.

  26. Derrick E.
    Derrick E.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Always enjoy the food here. Excellent quality and value for money

  27. Gary L.
    Gary L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Every time we come to Malaga we have to come to this place, its the best place to eat and the views are just great! When eating dinner the sun sets and the lights in the view over the hills are So beautiful you just want to on and on! Coming back again in March!

  28. Janet S.
    Janet S.
    • one review
    10/10

    As excellent as always, visited today with my mother over from the UK. Had the roast beef which was magnificent, my mother thoroughly enjoyed her meringue. Service impeccable as ever.

  29. Chris P.
    Chris P.
    • one review
    10/10

    We were shown to our table and we had a great view across the mountains back across to La Cala. We were treated with great professionalism. A great choice of food from starters to mains and desserts. We had warm goats cheese salad and Black pudding and Choritzo. We then had fillet mignon and stroganoff. The steak was the best I have ever eaten and the my wife really enjoyed the stroganoff. This was followed by homemade apple pie and ice cream. The service was excellent and very professional, even offering my wife a blanket as the evening got very cold. We definitely will be going back it has to be the best food in the area. The staff were first class and the musical entertainment was first class as well.

  30. Christine H.
    Christine H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Very nice meal in lovely surroundings in the mountains

  31. Elaine S.
    Elaine S.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    This was our second visit this week. I am glad to say that the service was much better and the food as well. Perhaps a different chef was on duty.. We are glad our experience was better as we have been several times in previous years and been so impressed. We were disappointed with our first visit this week. Now we will return next year.

  32. Elaine S.
    Elaine S.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    The food was good but the 20 euro meal we had booked was not available it was 25 euro. The service was poor because the staff were disorganised. It was very pleasant sitting on the terrace.

  33. Cordula  L.
    Cordula L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    I wish to hear Spanish music. It’s very English.

  34. Jackie G.
    Jackie G.
    • one review
    10/10

    As always fabulous food , lovely views , wonderful atmosphere , great background music and singing from live act and brilliant service from the friendly efficient staff . Would highly recommend this lovely little place .

  35. Andrea E.
    Andrea E.
    • one review
    9/10

    Really gorgeous setting, great menu 25€ for 3 courses. Very attentive and friendly staff made our evening very special. Would definitely return and highly recommend.

  36. Gail F.
    Gail F.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Thoroughly enjoyed our evening. The food was great, the staff very friendly and the music was spot on! Great night. Will be back very soon! Thank you

  37. Ryan M.
    Ryan M.
    • 5 reviews
    6/10

    A restaurant we visit during every visit to la Cala, this was the first time we left slightly disappointed. prawn pil pil for starters had very little flavor which was surprising, main courses were very good. The service was surprisingly poor this time round with extra charges added on for bread, sauce that went with my steak and some mushrooms that I didn’t even ask for, which I thought they also came with my steak when they arrived. A total of €11 in surprise charges to leave a sour taste leaving this restaurant. We may give this one a miss on next few trips to La Cala as plenty of other restaurant with better value for money in the area.

  38. Richard W.
    Richard W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent choice & wonderful place to spend the evening. We’ll be back.

  39. Roger W.
    Roger W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    It’s our favourite we have been twice this holiday and earlier in the year Great setting and excellent value Kind Regards Roger Wetherill

  40. Carla O.
    Carla O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing location. Lovely live music which made a brilliant atmosphere. Very helpful and friendly staff. Great portion sizes an delicious. The food was fresh and high quality. A perfect evening for our first night of our holiday.