Register my restaurant
Help


Reviews - El Olivo de la Cala

9.2/10
488
Calle Butiplaya, 5, 29649 Mijas Costa
International
Average price €29

El Olivo de la Cala

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

9.2/10
Excellent488 reviews
9.2/10

Food

9.1/10

Service

9.2/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Hannah R.1 review

    July 10, 2024

    10/10

    We had a lovely family meal celebrating a special occasion! Cannot fault anything! Food was exquisite and fresh! The service was attentive and efficient! And considering everything we ordered between we shared a variety of several starters our main and a selection of puddings! I found it to be very reasonable! We would happily pay good money for good food and that’s exactly what we got!

    review_preview

    See 10 photos

  • Tracey N.1 review

    June 29, 2024

    10/10

    The food is fabulous. The service and ambience are great. We will always come back here.

  • Tracy S.

    Tracy S.5 reviews

    June 20, 2024

    10/10

    As well as the food always being excellent, the service always matches it. Our favourite restaurant in La Cala De Mijas and we never miss a visit here. Great food, great wine and absolutely amazing staff delivering that top class service. It totally makes a difference to your dining experience.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Paul S.10 reviews

    June 9, 2024

    10/10

    The usual quality food and great service at El Olivo. Prawn Pil Pil is the best I have tasted. Try different dishes every time we visit and always very good.

  • Tracy S.

    Tracy S.5 reviews

    June 8, 2024

    10/10

    Always excellent food and service! One of our go to restaurants in La Cala!!!

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Martin P.1 review

    May 12, 2024

    10/10

    Last minute booking for 8 of us, lovely food and great service

  • Lindsey T.2 reviews

    May 12, 2024

    9.5/10

    Really beautifully presented food that tasted excellent, honestly one of the nicest meals we have had in a long time. Not cheap but worth the expense.

  • anders l.1 review

    May 4, 2024

    8.5/10

    Very slow service with low logistic Otherwise the experiance was pleseant

  • JONATHAN M.13 reviews

    January 19, 2024

    8.5/10

    Great as always -steak was not cooked to order but still lovely but waiter did not take very positively feedback as I would have expected from this restaurant we love and the first time we have ever had an issue. I know a medium v a medium rare steak and others may not have been as positive and tolerant as I was

  • Sophie W.2 reviews

    January 14, 2024

    10/10

    The food was lovely and good value. We have eaten at the restaurant many times and never disappointed. There is always a warm welcome. Would recommend.

  • Veronica S.6 reviews

    December 27, 2023

    10/10

    Went here tonight. Service food and ambience amazing. Wonderful evening. Going back again in 2 days . Love it here !!!

  • Janne M.1 review

    November 18, 2023

    6.5/10

    The staff were super nice and very supportive - the environment was cozy and relaxing, I would really like to come back again, however the food was at a very low level of quality. It was lacking taste, the chicken was not juicy and the potatoes were very dry and hard to eat, it actually seemed like it was all a re-heated meal from the day before, in a microwave. So we were very disappointed, as the ratings on Tripadvisor was the highest in the area. I hope to come back again and give the staff a second option to do much better.

  • Ray S.1 review

    November 19, 2023

    10/10

    Excellent

  • Brenda M.1 review

    October 14, 2023

    6/10

    Chicken breast was tough and rocked table when trying to cut

  • Mark C.2 reviews

    September 30, 2023

    7/10

    The food was just ok…. Nothing special at all. Won’t be back

  • Brian M.7 reviews

    September 27, 2023

    10/10

    Can't find any fault. Fabulous

  • Beverley S.1 review

    September 23, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely restaurant. Every time we stay in the area we go for a meal. Never changes, constantly good food, great environment and friendly staff, would definitely recommend. You won’t regret it.

  • Bill D.9 reviews

    September 14, 2023

    9.5/10

    Our annual visit to the Costa del Sol always includes a visit to El Olivo as it is our favourite restaurant. This visit and food quality was as good as ever however as a result of being extremely busy we felt that we did not get the normal level of service as we have in our visits over the last 15 years. Despite this slight disappointment we will be back again next year.

  • Valerie W.1 review

    September 24, 2023

    5.5/10

    Nice ambiance but food had to be returned as fish was tepid and the steak was blue. Fish was returned reheated so needed to be returned again! Steak was re cooked. This experience spoilt our visit to this restaurant. No apology was made by staff. We will not return.

  • Espen A.1 review

    September 1, 2023

    4.5/10

    30 min from seating till we were offered drinks. Food was below average. Didn’t know their own wines. 3/10.

  • Colette S.1 review

    August 23, 2023

    10/10

    Lovely food, lovely staff. Fabulous ambience

  • Callum T.2 reviews

    August 22, 2023

    10/10

    What a lovely evening. Attentive and knowledgable staff. Fantastic food and a lovely atmosphere. Would definitely return, and hopefully will.

  • Brian M.7 reviews

    July 15, 2023

    9.5/10

    Excellent all round. Great entertainment. Will definitely go again.

  • Brian M.7 reviews

    June 30, 2023

    10/10

    We couldn't fault it. Excellent all round.

  • Alison B.2 reviews

    July 1, 2023

    10/10

    Great place for dinner, especially when there is live music. Food excellent, staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Vivienne S.4 reviews

    June 16, 2023

    10/10

    Fab meal with friends. Great quality and friendly service.

  • JONATHAN M.13 reviews

    June 17, 2023

    10/10

    Outstanding as always

  • Kerry W.1 review

    June 8, 2023

    10/10

    Wonderful find on our last night in Cala, fabulous food, lovely atmosphere. Sole stuffed with scallops was beautiful. Will definitely be returning again.

  • Mary T.1 review

    May 9, 2023

    9.5/10

    The Restaurant was wonderful . Varied selection of foods and lots of specials added on the night. The food was amazing, taste and presentation was outstanding. Portion sizes were generous. Great value for money. Definitely worth a visit

  • Louise C.1 review

    May 5, 2023

    10/10

    This was our first visit to El Olivo de La Cala and certainly not our last. We never knew about this hidden gem until friends recommended it to us. The food, setting, staff and ambience were top class. Have future bookings made.

  • Marsha F.14 reviews

    April 16, 2023

    9.5/10

    Good service. Police waiters. Good food. My only complaint is I love fish but don’t eat shellfish and all the fish dishes came with shellfish.

  • Marlene S.3 reviews

    February 26, 2023

    9.5/10

    We always love coming here, esp in colder months when we sit by the fire. Staff should stay alert towards end of dining… took too long. Having said that, overall and with past experience we love coming here, all are very friendly and helpful. The food is amazing. The irish coffee better than we very often get elsewhere! Compliments ????.

  • Anna S.2 reviews

    February 15, 2023

    10/10

    Great evening, excellent food and great service.

  • Richard M.5 reviews

    February 5, 2023

    10/10

    Absolutely first class food best by a long way in costa del sol

  • Tony R.24 reviews

    January 5, 2023

    10/10

    Are here after watching the 3 Kings Parade through the streets of La Cala. We were a party of 3 and all agreed the quality of the food and service was some of the best we have had. We will definitely be back.

  • Nigel H.3 reviews

    November 27, 2022

    6.5/10

    Lovely ambience in this well hidden gem. However they didn't have our Fork reservation, and sat us in the far corner of the restaurant, service was very slow, but food was excellent. Hope for a better experience next time.

  • Richard C.1 review

    October 30, 2022

    10/10

    Delightful restaurant! Extensive menu and great food. The service was faultless. One of the best restaurants in La Cala.

  • Paul S.10 reviews

    September 13, 2022

    10/10

    Never disappointed with this restaurant. Always one t book when we are in or near La Cala. Staff are friendly and attentive without being too much so. Food is fantastic and dare I say even better than last time! Ambience is always lovely. It always feels a special place to dine. Dined with two other couples and they loved it as much as me.

  • Alison B.2 reviews

    September 10, 2022

    10/10

    Excellent restaurant, great food and good atmosphere.

  • Jo D.1 review

    August 31, 2022

    10/10

    Lovely welcome and outside dining area. Food very high standard. Great experience

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

1273 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.