Back

Reviews - Escondidinho

8.3/10

Very good

based on 669 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Diana M.
    Diana M.
    • 6 reviews
    4.5/10

    It not worth it for the price paid. The restaurant is very traditional, the waiter is like pushing to order you all the most expensive wine and food . Not the best experience for what it is.

  2. Eszter B.
    Eszter B.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Nice "traditional looking" place and friendly staff. Bit touristy, but the food was good.

  3. Eric k.
    Eric k.
    • 24 reviews
    6/10

    You will not be disappointed by the food but the service was awful. No smile, no knowledge about the contents of menu (could not answer my questions), no question about how meat should be cooked...and as usual you say that you want to benefit from an offer (fork reduction) and they forget....

  4. Carmen M.
    Carmen M.
    • 53 reviews
    8/10

    Encantados de haber disfrutado de la experiencia del mítico restaurante Escondidinho. Tradicional comida portuguesa y vajilla personalizada.

  5. Thibaud M.
    Thibaud M.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Very nice atmosphere and awesome service. The cataplana was very good, although the price was a bit high. Nice restaurant, to go to for an occasion or on a visit to Porto

  6. Ningze P.
    Ningze P.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Nice restaurant with authentic Portuguese food. Had octopus skewer which was well seasoned and grilled to the right level of crispiness on the outside and good tenderness in the inside.

  7. Annie B.
    Annie B.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Very traditional classic restaurant. Well executed dishes with very formal service. The dishes we ate were simple but delicious. Easy to find.

  8. Caroline G.
    Caroline G.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    I loved the old fashioned style of this restaurant. Dishes served in a Silver Service style. Was delighted to sample fresh grilled sardines, which were delicious. Very reasonably priced.

  9. Tatiani T.
    Tatiani T.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    The real problem in this restaurant is that the waitors are not friendly and polite as they should be. Food is good but no welcome feeling, no warm atmosphere. The nice traditional decoration looks just out of fashion because of the people.

  10. Liz A.
    Liz A.
    • one review
    10/10

    This was a wonderful dining experience in every way. The setting was beautiful, the food was fresh and delicious and the service was impeccable.

  11. Laura R.
    Laura R.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    The restaurant was excellent! The staff is friendly and kind. The price is a little high if you are on a tight budget, but if not it’s a good place to spend your money. I ordered the chicken, which came with fries and vegetables, and it tasted very good.

  12. Michele M.
    Michele M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service and delicious traditional Portuguese cuisine!

  13. Audrey T.
    Audrey T.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food and wine was excellent.

  14. BettyLou L.
    BettyLou L.
    • one review
    5/10

    Fish overcooked. Service pleasant but slow one hour wait for main course

  15. Claudia E.
    Claudia E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very nice evening with delicious food and an excellent service. I can highly recommend this restaurant.

  16. Jean Loup L.
    Jean Loup L.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Basic cooking. Not very fine and délicate. And not too very tasty.

  17. GARY D.
    GARY D.
    • 29 reviews
    10/10

    Muy bien

  18. Melanie B.
    Melanie B.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    We had the fish meal for two. It was delicious and a lot. We enjoyed our stay.

  19. Yan L.
    Yan L.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Good quality-price performance and friendly staff!

  20. Jordi E.
    Jordi E.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Nice restaurant, good portuguese food and excellent service

  21. Michele O.
    Michele O.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Old -style attentive service, along with good food and traditional decor, made for a lovely dining experience.

  22. Kofi D.
    Kofi D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food. Customer service was excellent. Will definitely recommend it to anyone who wants a good Portuguese meal.

  23. George H.
    George H.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Delicious cuisine and outstanding service!

  24. Paulo S.
    Paulo S.
    • one review
    8/10

    Experiência positiva.

  25. Dóra V.
    Dóra V.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Unique place

  26. Josien F.
    Josien F.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious portugees food in an nice atmosphere and historic decoration.

  27. Eddie L.
    Eddie L.
    • one review
    10/10

    A well-decorated Portuguese styled restaurant offers traditional and delicious Portuguese .crusine. We have tried the seafood stew which was recommended by the friendly waiter and it is super delicious, in combination with the local white wine was perfect. Try the almond cake as desert and we guarantee you won’t be regret! The atmosphere in the restaurant is fantastic as well, we will visit again, for sure.

  28. Sophie H.
    Sophie H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service, we felt very welcome; it’s a high price restaurant but also high quality food, prices and atmosphere. We enjoyed the evening very much!

  29. Ernst D.
    Ernst D.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    A top restaurant, especially because of the Cataplana!

  30. Alex S.
    Alex S.
    • 15 reviews
    5/10

    Run of the mill boring food. Touristic atmosphere.

  31. Aronne T.
    Aronne T.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Really nice meal. Lovely atmosphere. Recommended.

  32. Susanne R.
    Susanne R.
    • 3 reviews
    6/10

    Gammeldags mad. Veltillavet, men for fed!

  33. Melissa V.
    Melissa V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Maravilhoso

  34. Daniela S.
    Daniela S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excelente restaurant!

  35. Curt G.
    Curt G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    They need to fix an electrical problem they were having as all the lights in restaurant went out 5 different times during the 2 hours we were dining!!

  36. Carolina c.
    Carolina c.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Special Experience ! Food and service excellent ! Highly recommendable!

  37. Christian M.
    Christian M.
    • 8 reviews
    2.5/10

    a lot of noise, greasy cooking and poorly prepared dishes, confusing and poor customer service, not worth the price

  38. Manuel A.
    Manuel A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Very good food, nice atmosphere and friendly staff. A place to come back!

  39. Filipe P.
    Filipe P.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    A typical restaurant in downtown OPorto. A very well known place, with a relaxed atmosphere. The food is really well made and tasted really good. A bit pricey.

  40. David T.
    David T.
    • 8 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food. Nice ambient. The cod and the clams are superb. A must on our next trip to Porto.