Register my restaurant
Help


INSIDERMediterranean Trendy

Reviews - Essenziale

9/10
667
P.za di Cestello, 3r, 50124 Firenze
Mediterranean
Average price €28

Featured on this month's Top 100 Florence

Essenziale

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 9 bookings today

Reviews

9/10
Excellent667 reviews
9.1/10

Food

9.1/10

Service

8.8/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • gianni r.7 reviews

    April 7, 2024

    10/10

    Amazing

  • Denise C.

    Denise C.3 reviews

    April 26, 2024

    10/10

    What a fantastic restaurant! They don’t have a michelin star yet but I am sure they will eventually. We had the tasting menu paired with some marvelous wines. Such a treat and extremely good value. Definitely worth a visit. We will be back ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    review_preview

    See 6 photos

  • Vin s.

    Vin s.8 reviews

    January 3, 2024

    10/10

    Very good and creative restaurant. Lunch set cost 35 euro which offers the best service and food. Worth the try.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Benjamin M. S.

    Benjamin M. S.4 reviews

    September 12, 2023

    6.5/10

    Pretty meals with little flavor or pizzazz. Menu seemed inventive but nothing wowed us when it came...except the presentation. Cool setup but the environment lacked energy, even when over half full.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Rachel W.1 review

    July 22, 2023

    6.5/10

    The service was impeccable, and ambience lovely. The appetizer and second course were truly excellent - some of the best I’ve ever had. However the 3rd course and dessert flavors just did not work together. I do appreciate the swing at creativity and innovation! Unfortunately we just did not enjoy half the meal and it was quite expensive to be leaving it mostly untouched (we are not picky eaters). Quality clearly excellent though.

    review_preview

    See 4 photos

  • Roberto P.5 reviews

    October 26, 2022

    10/10

    The lunch service we had was fantastic. Our host had impeccable timing and was very welcoming. Worth a stop, and we will be visiting again. Broccoli starter was a highlight.

  • Richard L.

    Richard L.3 reviews

    October 13, 2022

    8.5/10

    The food was outstanding but they would not honour the Fork deal that we made with our booking. We had the deal in writing and showed them what we booked. The general manager was involved, but the deal we booked on The Fork was still not honoured. We were told it was an “old” offer even though it was offered within the Fork app for the date we booked.

  • Connie C.1 review

    October 12, 2022

    7.5/10

    We are glad we experienced this unique restaurant. The small staff was engaged in telling the story of the menu and how the dishes were prepared. Our first impression of the menu was unease but we stayed to try these new ideas. Each of the dishes were very tasty, quality flavors and textures, nice plating and amount. The house wine was a good companion to the meal. The use of the silverware drawer was fun. We left feeling glad we had the experienced of this bold chef. A bit too overly clever for what was offered but on the right track for the future of sustainable dining and we would return.

  • Kyusang Y.12 reviews

    October 8, 2022

    5/10

    I visited this restaurant in 2019. I kept the good experience of my first visit and made my second visit, but I was generally disappointed. Compared to the first visit, the tasting menu was simplified, and the food was relatively simple.

  • Tony M.3 reviews

    October 1, 2022

    6.5/10

    The food itself was great. We loved the creativity. That said, our kind feedback is that the service needed to be faster and the lights needed to be dimmer. There was also no background music. We think some sort of ambient music with dinner lights would have improved our rating.

  • Cathy E.1 review

    September 28, 2022

    4.5/10

    We were disappointed with Essenziale. The food experiments didn't work for our group, even though we were excited to try a non-traditional approach to Florentine cooking. We also did not enjoy the ambience - the very bright lights pointed at the tables were bothersome and felt interrogation-like, would strongly suggest revisiting the room to create a warm or inviting atmosphere.

  • Patrick P.1 review

    September 10, 2022

    4/10

    They need to figure out what they’re doing. Food is OK and normally not hot, and also lacks flavor. Ambiance is terrible and confused.

  • Lianne B.1 review

    August 30, 2022

    5.5/10

    It’s was ok. The food was ok, the service was ok the decor was ok - everything was fine but I wouldn’t rush back.

  • Aaron M.5 reviews

    September 4, 2022

    10/10

    Amazing attention to detail and creative, unique flavors. Service was attentive and prompt. Everything was excellent.

  • Defne t.2 reviews

    August 27, 2022

    7/10

    The ingredients were fresh but they were in the wrong dishes. The chef wanted to create unusual plates but the flavour combinations didn’t work. You can also tell by the ambience what goes on in the kitchen - a bit of everything….

  • Belyn L.1 review

    August 23, 2022

    10/10

    Delicious and refreshing!

  • Rebecca V.1 review

    August 24, 2022

    10/10

    After a week at the Ligurian coast with tons of pasta and pizza this restaurant was really refreshing and exciting. They were really service minded and helped me out with my allergies. Will return!

  • Alexandra R.17 reviews

    August 16, 2022

    6/10

    Care and extensive preparation went into the creation of each dish. The service was impeccable and the atmosphere was comfortable. However, with the exception of the risotto, the combination of ingredients needs to be reconsidered. The cod and the pork were too salty; the sauce on the pasta was enriched beyond endurance; the pear and the shallots were left to fend for themselves, neither blending nor enhancing each other.

  • Jordan C.1 review

    August 16, 2022

    10/10

    Incredible experience

  • Charmaine B.1 review

    August 12, 2022

    10/10

    Everything was amazing! The team shares their love of food with delicious and creative dishes. The chef is truly talented at mixing unexpected flavor combinations to make the most amazing dishes. The staff and service was perfect as well. They were extra accommodating for my husband’s long list of food allergies. I also appreciated their vegetarian menu. A must go in Florence!

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Charlie M.1 review

    August 6, 2022

    3/10

    We were quite disappointed with the food at Essenziale. The dishes weren’t memorable, didn’t show skill, and didn’t make use of the fantastic Tuscan produce. The main course of deep fried Guinea fowl with passion fruit and peanut butter was almost inedible; garnished with raw endive, it showed a lack of care, and was far from what you would expect from the main course of a €60 menu. We kept expecting the next dish to redeem the last, but the dessert was the icing on the cake. Bread soaked in red wine with a thick crust of sugar, and a flavourless burrata with sickly white chocolate and a minuscule amount of peach, we could barely manage a mouthful of each, and if the chef did the same he might see the error of his ways. The wine was lovely, and admittedly, we did enjoy the inclusion of ‘Le Cactus’ from The Last Shadow Puppets in the restaurant’s playlist.

  • Jonathan K.3 reviews

    August 7, 2022

    9.5/10

    Great food. Very good service Good value

  • Gerardo T.5 reviews

    August 2, 2022

    10/10

    Everything was so right!! Food delicius and they take care of us with the Michellin tasting menu, Excelent wine list also! Thank you very much!!!

  • Matthew D.1 review

    July 26, 2022

    10/10

    Something truly different and delicious in the heart of Florence. Warm, friendly and knowledgeable service accompanied with all the pride in the local ingredients from chefs in the region. If you’re looking for something delicious and incredibly good value in a comfortable setting, look no further. Look forward to returning to enjoy this constantly evolving menu. Excellent and reasonably priced local wines also. Superb.

  • Christopher C.1 review

    July 23, 2022

    10/10

    The service was impeccable and the chefs were very accommodating to my mothers food restrictions. The food was amazing and the cocktails were well made. The restaurant was quaint and cosy. Short walk from Ponte Vecchio. I'd dine there again!

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Lisa B.1 review

    July 8, 2022

    7/10

    The staff was amazing and friendly. The food was good but I was expecting great. When we read the descriptions for the meals we thought "hmm strange but cool!". The flavors in each dish were amazing separately however competed with each other too much when you put them together.

  • Hester J.7 reviews

    July 19, 2022

    5/10

    We were really looking forward to end our troont Florence in Essenziale. The food was ok. But the whole experience was ruined by the terrible heat inside the nice building and the not happy service. The joy was not expressed serving the dishes. It’s a pity for a restraints with that potential.

  • Jean w.1 review

    July 8, 2022

    9/10

    My daughter and I loved the ambience. The food was fun and experimental, presented artfully. The decor was very stimulating and simultaneously relaxing, and the acoustics and music were just right. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and overall great. It was a nice change to dine here from traditional rustic Italian fare and decor. Hip and youthful! We had a great time!

  • Frederic T.1 review

    July 8, 2022

    7.5/10

    The restaurant was nicely decorated and service was very good. The menu I had that day was a little disappointing. Some of the courses lacked some originality (especially my pear ''raclette'' dessert). For what it is, it was overpriced.

  • David R.1 review

    July 1, 2022

    10/10

    Definitely a must try. The tasting menu was great and had great spins on classic food.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Francois L.3 reviews

    July 5, 2022

    10/10

    Fantastic inventive food with plenty of surprises on and within the table ! (Your utensils are in trays within the table) Creative combinations that do work great on the palate like the white chocolate with burrata desert. Beautiful decor with simplicity, warmth and humor. Excellent value and a reasonably priced wine list. A very enjoyable experience !!

  • Zubin F.1 review

    July 3, 2022

    10/10

    Absolutely incredible food, atmosphere and service! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the food was some of the best I’ve ever had. Thank you!!

  • Kathi D.2 reviews

    July 2, 2022

    9/10

    The food was very good as was the service but there was no air conditioning so it was very uncomfortable.

  • Okan E.1 review

    June 28, 2022

    7.5/10

    It was too hot, needs better air conditioning. Food was good. Service was fast. We will not come back. Nothing too special. Just fine in my opinion

  • George M.2 reviews

    June 19, 2022

    4/10

    Disappointed from the food. Too expensive for nothing. Heavy food with heavy cheese, heavy creams etc. My plate with pork was just the fat part or meat and a little filet. Tastes are awful.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Kenneth H.3 reviews

    June 4, 2022

    10/10

    Very nicely presented and tasty food.

  • Christine T.1 review

    May 31, 2022

    9.5/10

    Creative flavours and dishes. Takes your taste buds for a ride. Enjoyed every dish!

  • Jessie H.2 reviews

    May 29, 2022

    10/10

    Friendly service and excellent food!

  • Heather L.1 review

    May 29, 2022

    10/10

    Incredibly inventive tasting menu and wonderful service.

  • Andrew C.1 review

    May 21, 2022

    3.5/10

    I’m flabbergasted by the number of positive reviews. I went with a party of four and we all agreed this was truly one of the worst meals of our lives. Every dish was too rich and lacked any textural variety. The service was serviceable. I felt bad for the staff who had to clear multiple courses that had barely been touched.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

446 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.