Back

Reviews First Edition Restaurant & Bar

8.5/10

Fabulous

based on 27 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Chris M.
    Chris M.
    • one review
    10/10

    We have visited First Edition on numerous occasions and always had wonderful service, the staff are friendly the food is excellent and reasonably priced.

  2. Qing L.
    Qing L.
    • 16 reviews
    10/10

    Nice food and good view.

  3. Andrew H.
    Andrew H.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    Great views and my steak was cooked perfectly.

  4. Qing L.
    Qing L.
    • 16 reviews
    10/10

    Very nice food and the staff ia very helpful. Really enjoy the food since the lamb was cooked perfectly. The view is pretty good and the craft beer is yum.

  5. Qing L.
    Qing L.
    • 16 reviews
    9/10

    Very nice food and great service.

  6. Karen T.
    Karen T.
    • 75 reviews
    7/10

    Stayed in this hotel and decided to have dinner here. The food was average. Some combination of flavours just did not hit the mark. Service was friendly and courteous from a young man who looked after us that night. We sat at a table that was next to a curtain dividing the dining room from the lounge/bar area. My back was literally cms away from the person sitting on the other side of the sheer curtain. The restaurant should look at repositioning the table because that was way to close. I could hear their entire conversation and I’m sure they could hear ours.

  7. Karen T.
    Karen T.
    • 75 reviews
    7.5/10

    The best thing was the service from the young man who served and looked after our table. Very polite and friendly and always had a smile on his face. He remembered us 2 days later when we went to the bar to have some hot Chocolate. The food, I would rate average, some dishes were better than others. The chicken supreme was dry and quite bland. It definitely needed more sauce or gravy. The rack of lamb was cooked perfectly. The fried squid (entree) was very tender but the floury coating had a ‘sandy’ texture to it. As for the dessert, the fondant was deliciously perfect with an oozing centre. We also had the blueberry and apple crumble which was average. I rated this restaurant 8/10 for value for money because we are Accor Plus members and got a discount on the food. Otherwise I would have rated it 5/10 based on the taste of the dishes we had.

  8. TERRY Y.
    TERRY Y.
    • 45 reviews
    7/10

    Very poor menu

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 293 reviews
    8.5/10

    Not quite sure how the 25% off food works. We spent $86 on food and only got $6.50 off. We were a family of six on holiday looking to save some money while we dined out. Not sure we did. Other than that, great place and great atmosphere.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    7.5/10

    Convenient restaurant in the Novotel

  11. Henna C.
    Henna C.
    • 91 reviews
    7/10

    Went there to try the bread and butter pudding which looked amazing on the menu however I was disappointed with the textures. The passionfruit, mango sorbet and fresh raspberries and strawberries made the taste quite appealing however it was too dense and doughy for my liking. It tasted rather dry compared to a moist pudding you’ll expect from a place that has in the past served you considerably good food. Their American beef ribs are worth trying. They have recently introduced an autumn menu and have some nice dishes that I’d like to try. Just not sure about desserts.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    7.5/10

    We generally liked First Edition. The menu was great and definitely met & exceeded our expectations when the food arrived. Unfortunately the restaurant and bar area where very close with little to no separation and the noise was quite audible. There was also a play area for children in the vicinity which detracted from the atmosphere.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    8/10

    Great atmosphere, not overly noisy/loud and you can actually hear each other talking. Very accommodating for bigger groups (I had a table for 9).

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    6.5/10

    The food was not as great as the menu had read. The service was great.

  15. Robin N.
    Robin N.
    • 14 reviews
    5/10

    Unable to review accurately as, despite booking the 25% discount for dinner special, we were only advised on arrival that the full menu wasn’t available (at first we were told the restaurant was closed by the parking attendant). All dressed and nowhere to go.

  16. Helen B.
    Helen B.
    • 2 reviews
    1/10

    We ordered a bottle of champagne when we arrived at the restaurant & were served it in cheap plastic glasses. When we complained they said that all their glasses were being used for a function. We didn't bother to stay eat!

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    9.5/10

    Relaxed and Enjoyable. Friendly and helpful staff.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    7.75/10

    Nice food and friendly staffs

  19. Shirley C.
    Shirley C.
    • one review
    5.25/10

    Was pretty disappointed with the food as we were given the bar menu at LUNCH time!! I was expecting something special for Christmas lunch and we ended eating ordinary food. It wasn't worth the price we paid for.