Back

Reviews Flying Brick Cider House

8.9/10

Fabulous

based on 337 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Sharron I.
    Sharron I.
    • one review
    10/10

    The atmosphere and food was magnificent

  2. Jeanette R.
    Jeanette R.
    • 34 reviews
    7.5/10

    We missed the shared plates but we understand that there are restrictions at present. I ordered a coffee that didn’t arrive but we enjoyed the food and had an enjoyable time. Great to be back

  3. Elisabeth N.
    Elisabeth N.
    • one review
    3/10

    Whilst we were being seated; we didn’t get given the chance to sit down at our table and already asked what we wanted to drink while we were all standing. We were sitting at the table waiting for someone to take our order. Had to get up and look for a waitress after waiting for 45min. Food was quick! Chicken was dry and they forgot to put the lemon/thyme sauce onto it. Waitress said they ran out. Pork belly was over cooked and couldn’t cut through it. Ordered chips to go with the meal, came at the end of our meal. Soggy chips not cooked for long enough. We didn’t have to pay for the chips. It seemed like all the staff were in a great hurry to clean up the restaurant and get everyone out. Ciders weren’t even filled to the top. All the serves varied greatly in volume. So disappointed! We were all really looking forward to a lovely meal. Cidar house was one of my favourite places to eat at. Will reconsider for future catch ups.

  4. LYNETTE W.
    LYNETTE W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great service from the moment we arrived. The atmosphere and ambience were not hampered by the Covid restrictions and we all had a wonderful afternoon catching up and celebrating 3 missed birthdays on a glorious Spring day in Victoria. delicious food, beer and wine.

  5. Alan M.
    Alan M.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Great to get out again

  6. Peter And Chris B.
    Peter And Chris B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great place, really pleased they have been able to reopen. Food and service simply the best. We always take our guests to the Flying Brick Cider House when they visit Ocean Grove

  7. Alicia L.
    Alicia L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Could not fault the food nor service - especially during such a stressful time!

  8. Voon c.
    Voon c.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Service was excellent! Staff was friendly and accommodating. We will be back for sure ;)

  9. Judy A.
    Judy A.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Enjoyed a simple platter which was nicely presented and enjoyed by all. Deserts were very good. A nice lunch out with friends. I would be happy to return for a full meal at some stage.

  10. Ashley C.
    Ashley C.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    What a cosy venue! Looks great for groups and special occasions. Food was delicious, impressed with the ingredient combinations and range of mains. We had the Atlantic Salmon and Porterhouse steak, followed by the honey panna cotta which was a standout. Initally the steak was slightly overcooked, but the staff swiftly brought a new one out and checked back with us the second time round. Will make the trip back! Also, their ciders are great worth taking some for the road.

  11. Tracey B.
    Tracey B.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    A wonderful afternoon- great food and great atmosphere. So nice to be able to sit outside on a sunny afternoon and let little ones run around in a safe grassed area. Recommend the sharing platters.

  12. Niki A.
    Niki A.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    They did not seem very busy however we waited nearly an hour for our food and the $50 lamb was very dry. Kids chicken meals also dry almost inedible. We did receive a discount for the poor food however we will not go back

  13. Kaylene B.
    Kaylene B.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Had the Cheese High Tea which was absolutely delicious accompanied by a bottle of the Yes Said The Seal Chardonnay. Great value. Service was a little patchy.

  14. Stan R.
    Stan R.
    • one review
    9/10

    The staff welcoming and service was good and the meals very well presented. Outdoor or indoor setting choice makes for a good venue.We enjoyed the restaurant and would come again.

  15. Gabe G.
    Gabe G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wide variety of fabulous food. The staff are always very helpful and friendly. Also a good selection of ciders to choose from. Excellent location. Never disappointing.

  16. Jeanette R.
    Jeanette R.
    • 33 reviews
    7.5/10

    A wonderful setting and a lovely day. Service was a bit patchy at first as we had to ask for our wine that came just before the tender and tasty lamb shoulder. We’ll be back.

  17. anne e.
    anne e.
    • one review
    10/10

    Booked for a small gathering of friends for xmas and birthday celebrations. The staff very accomadating in re arranging a bigger table for us, the food service excellant and quality top class beautifully presentated, and the cider very very nice!! beautiful weather for sitting outside kicking back after lunch. will definately go again .

  18. Louise K.
    Louise K.
    • 2 reviews
    5/10

    Terrible first impression, we were meet by a really grumpy lady. Service was slow and we had to constantly ask where thing were. Food was okay but serves were small.

  19. Louise K.
    Louise K.
    • 2 reviews
    4.25/10

    It was very disappointed experience. From the get go we were meet by a very grumpy lady. There was no one in the dinning area and we’d made a booking but it seemed like we were an inconvenience to her. The young wait staff were great, but there was no leadership and the staff was everywhere. Because of that we had to wait a while for our mains because no one told the kitchen we had finished our starter. Eventually a young guy got us sorted and to be honest he was the best thing about the night. In regards to the food, it was try to be to fancy for the establishment and I went home feeling hungry because you really need to order a side with the main. I won't be going back for food.

  20. Dean w.
    Dean w.
    • one review
    5.75/10

    Service was abismal greet and seated well only to have deserted there after 15 minutes waited then I had to stand and wave down the hostess who seated us She graciously took our drink and food order Susequetly we were lost again in the the business of them clearing resetting and oblivion Once again we had to corner a server get another drink... the Pinot noir was undrinkable and nothing asked or attended too Table 3 was ignored Even to get desert was a strain Most disappointed and if I corner Lyndsay I will have this discussion Dean wood

  21. Bernadette M.
    Bernadette M.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Waiter was the bomb, service excellent, knowledge fabulous. Food delicious and drinks good selection.

  22. Annabelle T.
    Annabelle T.
    • one review
    9/10

    Very enjoyable Would visit again Would take tourists Good casual dining Staff were generally friendly We didn’t know a reward point system existed! Thank you

  23. Ann P.
    Ann P.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Great food and plenty of gluten free food

  24. Nick R.
    Nick R.
    • one review
    7.25/10

    Great place great atmosphere but the $30 charge for eating a cake is ridiculous.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.75/10

    We had a great time food and service was awesome. The staff were really accommodating and added extra lemon to the desert to give it more of a lemon zing. My parter said it was the best lemon desert he has had at restaurant ever! Will definitely be back!

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    8.5/10

    Service a little slow (took 50 mins to get our food) but that’s probably because it was Father’s Day. Food was really good, lots of room for kids to run around, nice coffee, wait staff friendly. Would definitely go again.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    6.75/10

    Took a long time to get a table despite booking. Even longer to get a drink. Food was prepared quickly but the burger bread was definitely stale and crumbled. Disappointing choice for Father’s Day. The vegan tasting platter was also quite ordinary. Best thing on the table was the chips

  28. Claire P.
    Claire P.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    I didn’t like having a deadline as to when my enjoyment of the food & restaurant would be up & then having to move on (was told a 2hr time limit). I felt I was constantly watching the clock & found it difficult to enjoy myself. The main meal size was small (prawns) & wasn’t filling & I did not expect this. The kids had a great time outside on the grass however their chicken & fish was very dry & neither ate a full meal. The abundance of lettuce on their plates was a complete waste. Not many kids are huge lettuce eaters but cucumber however I have always found a hit with kids. Perhaps this could be suggested to the chefs.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    9/10

    Great family lunch.

  30. Izzy L.
    Izzy L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Love flying brick a great night out with friends and always friendly service!

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8/10

    I thought although the food was good it was pricey

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.5/10

    Enjoyed our meal and service was fantastic

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8.25/10

    Food was great , service was really good until the main course had been finished then not so good.

  34. Lucy J.
    Lucy J.
    • one review
    4.75/10

    Table wasnt ready,then very slow service in resturaunt

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    5.5/10

    Table service was very poor - we still had mains dishes on the table when they brought desert and we had to keep asking for water, and towards then end no ne came near us so we could ask for more water. The jaffa chocolate dessert was very dry and caught in your throat when you ate it.

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    4.25/10

    Service is good food is good but too much like a higher class Mac Donald’s too many children running around, good for families I guess but no good for couples wanting a quiet dinner together, we ate as quick as we could and got out of there

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    8/10

    Great food and service

  38. Dave K.
    Dave K.
    • 32 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great food. Great service

  39. Sarah G.
    Sarah G.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Need to make people aware at time of booking that payments can’t be split so that guests can be prepared before they arrive as there’s is not ATM available

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    6.5/10

    Wonderful food but terribly noisy!!! Have been a few times before. Great for young people or families. Food very reasonably priced and top quality...very interesting with great and unusual flavours. Not for 70 year olds!