Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

InsiderMediterranean

Reviews - Gagini

8.9/10
564
Via dei Cassari, 35, I-90133 PalermoSee map

Average price €140

Menu 6 portate €135

Reservation

Find a table

MENU

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Already 5 bookings today 🔥

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Already 5 bookings today 🔥
Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

8.9/10
Fabulous563 reviews
8.8/10

Food

8.9/10

Service

8.9/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Marije Lytske H.
    Marije Lytske H.

    September 29, 20221 review

    8/10

    We had the 5 course tasting menu with wine pairing - some dishes more impressive than others; but an absolute A+ for the wine parings and the sommelier, it lifted the experience to the next level. Very pleasant staff in general.

  • Johannes M.
    Johannes M.

    September 21, 20221 review

    10/10

    .

  • Piotr A.
    Piotr A.

    September 10, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    State of art expirience!

  • Lawrence Y.
    Lawrence Y.

    September 6, 20221 review

    6/10

    To summarize, we were disappointed with the service. We were excited to try the tasting menu, but upon sitting down at the time of our reservation, the hostess informed us that the tasting menu was not available because our reservation was too late. We would have expected to be informed of such a constraint upon confirmation of our reservation and reservation time. Further, service throughout was quite cold, unattentive, and extremely slow.

  • Ross L.
    Ross L.

    July 23, 20223 reviews

    9.5/10

    Gagini was very nice, fresh, clean and well executed flavours. We opted for the 6 course tasting menu with wine paring, the sommelier was very knowledgeable and was confident with what he was telling us. Service was good and dishes were well thought out and the waiters went through each one very well. Only down side was 2 very small things, one was some of the glasses had water stains on them which to me personally isn’t too much of a big deal but as it is a one star the level should be flawless and another is i had to ask for the bill a few times but the staff were busy so. The bill came to €400 for two covers but was worth it as this was my girlfriends first Michelin star experience. Would definitely go again and highly recommend.

  • Anthony S.
    Anthony S.

    July 6, 20221 review

    10/10

    Small little place with great ambiance. The staff were great and very knowledgeable about the menu items. Would defiantly recommend this restaurant

  • Nathalie H.
    Nathalie H.

    June 25, 20221 review

    10/10

    Unforgettable. Every bite is a dream. One of the best restaurants I have ever been to - innovative sensual dishes, incredible wine from Sicily, and an exception staff.

  • Imogen L.
    Imogen L.

    June 18, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    This restaurant was divine. The food was exquisite and locally sourced. The tasting menu was amazing. The service by the staff was second to none, they were extremely attentive throughout. What a wonderful experience.

  • Scott E.
    Scott E.

    June 2, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    What a wonderful restaurant! We only had a few days in Palermo and decided to do a quick Google search for Michelin star restaurants. We were thrilled to be able to secure a booking for two with only one days notice - often difficult for Michelin-rated restaurants. This one did not disappoint. Food was both excellent and unusual, and we received great advice from the sommelier for some paired Sicilian wines. The staff were absolutely marvellous - nothing overlooked, Would highly recommend it if you’re in Palermo!

  • Ashley M.
    Ashley M.

    May 31, 20223 reviews

    4.5/10

    The first four courses were amazing. Excellent dishes, well timed. And then....everything stopped. For the last 2 courses, we waited 2 hours They just disappeared, abandoned us, and we felt held hostage.. For four courses, we thought this place was among the best we'd had. But then it stopped, and we were increasingly angry and frustrated. Would strongly not recommend.

  • Caroline C.
    Caroline C.

    May 29, 202246 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent restaurant with surprising but wise mixes. Also the wine (local) are good, and the service is nice. Would recommend

  • Richard P.
    Richard P.

    May 21, 202238 reviews

    3/10

    Pretentious food. Pretentious Sommelier

  • Max H.
    Max H.

    May 18, 20221 review

    6.5/10

    Decent restaurant with very local and for us a bit too trendy wine pairing. All Sicilian wine but too much inspirered of modern nature wine making (skin contact white wines). A very peculiar incident occured when somebody lockes up the door to the bathroom during me washing my hands. Not OK and this issue must be fixed.

  • Ashutosh C.
    Ashutosh C.

    May 17, 20224 reviews

    10/10

    Wonderful ambience, friendly, prompt, understated but professional service. Fantastic food and to top it off, the rarest of things - a sommelier who knew what he was talking abut. Trust him and ye shall not go wrong. Overall a near perfect experience.

  • Jens A.
    Jens A.

    May 7, 20221 review

    10/10

    We were given an excellent service throughout the whole evening. Many of the servings were challenging for the understanding, combinatorially interesting , eye-opening, experimenting, exciting yet tasteful and delicious - all accompanied with great local wines of Sicily. Excellent evening.

  • Chetan T.
    Chetan T.

    May 6, 20221 review

    6/10

    Not that exciting at the price point. Most of the wines were still. Bread to dense and the dishes lacking flavour apart for the tuna. Staff were ok and service was efficient

  • George A.
    George A.

    April 20, 20222 reviews

    8.5/10

    I enjoyed the food and the experience and the service was Excellent. Howe et I then visited MEC Restaurant and if I was to compare MEC was better by a long way.

  • Per L.

    April 20, 20226 reviews

    7/10

    inte den nivå på maten, smak, presentation och tillagning, som vi förväntar oss på denna typ av restaurang, intressanta viner, trevlig atmosfär

  • Luca S.

    April 15, 20221 review

    7/10

    Food: - Excellent food, great quality. - The fish had bones and needed to be replaced (we were not charged for it at the end). Never happened in any 1 star Michelin restaurant Bad: - the service is really not worth 1 Michelin star - we waited 15 mins for the menu, the wine list came almost when the first course was served - the waiter was confused about who had ordered what - tableware can be definitely improved - the table stayed with bread chops through all the dinner, was cleaned just before the dessert. Way big room for improvements.

  • Michael v.
    Michael v.

    April 7, 20222 reviews

    10/10

    Lovely dinner with exceptional food and outstanding service!

  • Kelley B.

    April 1, 20221 review

    10/10

    Food and service were both amazing. Laura and Juan Marco were particularly excellent

  • Tabitha H.

    March 29, 20224 reviews

    8/10

    Beautiful Decor both inside and out I was very disappointed when we arrived for a 8PM reservation and was informed that our reservation was for outside. No where in the reservation was I informed of this, but we agreed to eat outside since it was already late. They provided blankets and a heater but it was still very cold and difficult to enjoy our meal; which was the 8 course Chef Tasting. The situation got better once they provided us with a table inside but this will be the first and only time I will visit this restaurant due to me having to sit outside for half of my meal for no reason whatsoever. The food was amazing!

  • Olivia R.

    February 27, 20223 reviews

    8/10

    The options were limited for vegetarians, and the options they had were bland. I was a little disappointed. But the non-vegetarians very much enjoyed their meals.

  • Alex A.
    Alex A.

    February 19, 202220 reviews

    8/10

    The staff and service in atmosphere was really beautiful inside the restaurant Outside and the area is not so much and I just found the food bland and uninteresting maybe I chose incorrectly and should’ve asked for something with a lot of taste? The portion sizes were as expected of a Michelin starred restaurant And the price was reasonable 2 plates each from my wife and I with two glasses of wine €120

  • Diego L.

    December 29, 20211 review

    7/10

    A bit disappointed as Michelin star restaurant! Having visited in the week for a dinner À la carte menu my wife and I can only agree with the review below. The chefs (and I assume owner) who work from an open plan kitchen did not seem overly enthused and do not engage with guests from what we saw. The food was great, except the <«Lampuga»>. Too salty. We informed the waiter that the dish was way too salty for both of us and we could not eat it; no different solution was offered. When leaving we had to pay the <«full»> for a Michelin start dish we have not eaten. We would be unlikely to visit again as the restaurant and service currently presents and would rather not recommend to friends or family. Hopefully things can be improved, there are still some work has to be done at Gagini. Good luck Gagini.

  • Elaine L.
    Elaine L.

    September 11, 202149 reviews

    10/10

    Eccellente e creativo cucina di prima classe verso Michelin esteso listino dì vino e service perfetto

  • Jan Niklas M.

    August 17, 20214 reviews

    10/10

    Excellent lunch option after our visit of Palazzo Butera. Chose the 4 course degustation menu and a bottle of rose wine to accompany the food. The restaurant was not busy at all with just one other table being served, still the kitchen and waiting staff made every effort to provide an excellent experience. We were frequently checked on and received information about the dishes and their ingredients. Food was a very clever combination of ingredients all cooked and arranged to perfection. Next time we'll definitely opt for a larger course menu, yet for lunch the four-course was more than plenty. Decor is modern and eclectic in a historical setting. In short, the perfect lunch in Palermo.

  • Daniel S.

    August 13, 20219 reviews

    10/10

    Amazing service, wine list and food from start to finish! Perfect! Hope to come back, it was a fantastic experience.

  • Christos M.

    August 6, 20211 review

    10/10

    Everything is good, the food are good and the service excellent!I would like lower temperature indoors because was a very hot night!Somelier was super!!!thank you Arrivederci Palermo

  • Esteban M.

    August 1, 20212 reviews

    8.5/10

    Muy bueno con mucha calidad pero una carta demasiado pequeña

  • Lisabeth D.

    July 25, 20214 reviews

    10/10

    Beautifully done, with special, imaginative food in an attractive location. You will do well to consult the staff, who are knowledgeable and charming. Plan to come more than once.

  • Lisabeth D.

    July 9, 20214 reviews

    10/10

    Superb

  • Mirela P.

    June 19, 20211 review

    5.5/10

    The wine was very bad, the order took too long, the food wasn’t great. The sommelier recommended some very Bad wines and had a very ugly attitudd.

  • Mitchell L.

    June 12, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Brilliant place. I dined alone and felt very well looked-after. Staff all very friendly. Food outstanding!! Sommelier has excellent knowledge of Sicilian wine and is happy to share that knowledge! Tried some really interesting natural wines thanks to him.

  • Sonia R.

    May 22, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Ambiente molto bello, curato e accogliente. Cucina raffinata. Servizio perfetto. La lista dei vini è talmente estesa da essere un libro dei vini.

  • Benjamin S.
    Benjamin S.

    September 2, 20201 review

    9.5/10

    We ordered a wide range of food across the menu and the flavours were wonderfully on point! The wine suggestion was perfect and the olive oil that we enjoyed so much, they were kind enough to sell us a bottle. Top tier dining experience at Gagini!

  • Edward G.

    October 15, 20192 reviews

    4.5/10

    Upon arrival we were placed outside for no reason. While some dishes were exceptional, others were average considering the price.

  • Barbara U.

    October 8, 20191 review

    6.5/10

    Food was fine but nothing super special, portions were small especially for the price. However the location and look of the restaurant was nice and interesting.

  • Brendan c.

    October 8, 20194 reviews

    8.5/10

    Well presented Sicilian food with a twist of modernism. Small portions (which is fine for me) focusing on tase as opposed to quantity. Nicely decorated and eclectic. Pleasant and attentive service.

  • - -

    August 23, 20193 reviews

    10/10

    A nouveau spin on traditional dishes. Excellently prepared. Great staff. Beautiful setting

Tripadvisor reviews

1263 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation