Register my restaurant
Help


Spanish Trendy

Reviews - Gato Gato

9.5/10
1161
Calle del Marqués de Toca, 6, 28012 Madrid
Spanish
Average price €25

Gato Gato

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 6 bookings today

Reviews

9.5/10
Excellent1161 reviews
9.6/10

Food

9.6/10

Service

9.1/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Excellent value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet
  • Joe G.

    Joe G.4 reviews

    May 16, 2024

    10/10

    Gato Gato is a warm inviting restaurant with a lovely woman greeting diners. The food is delicious and the wine choices are too. The chef turned out one great dish after another. We loved Gato Gato.

  • Morag H.7 reviews

    May 9, 2024

    10/10

    Amazing food and amazing staff.

  • allison b.3 reviews

    April 5, 2024

    9/10

    This place is super cheap a find. All, and mean all of the food is fantastic. The value for money is so worth it. I ate there 2x in 2 weeks. So delicious. Staff is friendly. Owners are chef and server. So worth a visit. Do it.

  • Ben G.2 reviews

    March 30, 2024

    10/10

    The food is modern style tapas, with some really creative and tasty twists. The staff are really helpful and recommended some excellent dishes. The restaurant is small and cosy, with a really nice atmosphere. Will absolutely return!

  • Chelsea B.

    Chelsea B.1 review

    March 28, 2024

    10/10

    Wonderful, cozy, and delicious.

  • Thomas S.3 reviews

    March 28, 2024

    10/10

    What a great place for local, Spanish, gourmet foods. The Chef has an incredible subtle palette and the foods are perfectly prepared. The local wines are just right with the food. Not an experience to miss!

  • allison b.3 reviews

    March 23, 2024

    10/10

    Simply awesome. Great people. Great food. It's small so please be respectful. Worth going again.

  • Aljoša Š.

    Aljoša Š.10 reviews

    February 17, 2024

    10/10

    Great little tapas bar with excellent vegetarian selections and really interesting meat combinations. I had the tripe gyoza and it was so good I asked for bread to wipe up the sauce with. The aubergine with honey and goat cheese is delicious as well! The wine selection is brilliant and the vibe is very relaxed, but book a table in advance, it’s a small place.

  • Muralidhar P.1 review

    January 4, 2024

    9.5/10

    Wow what a great find. The host, the ambience and the food all were awesome.

  • Irene d.

    Irene d.1 review

    October 13, 2023

    10/10

    Very good Spanish food, nice atmosphere and very friendly staff.

  • Cindy M.1 review

    September 26, 2023

    8.5/10

    Great staff. Food was really good. Most dishes were excellent. Amazing goat cheese cheesecake.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Alan B.1 review

    September 29, 2023

    10/10

    Comfortable local ambiance, great food and hosts

  • Justin R.1 review

    September 23, 2023

    10/10

    The food is fantastic, and we appreciated the vegetarian tapas options. We had three shared plates, all were amazing. The staff was kind, attentive and very patient with our not-so-great Spanish. The best meal we had in Madrid, hope to return.

  • Stanley B.19 reviews

    September 9, 2023

    10/10

    Very delicious dishes and quick, very friendly service! Great wines too!

  • Silvia B.

    Silvia B.1 review

    August 11, 2023

    10/10

    Very good place discovered the same day, I’d highly reccomend it again!! All the plates were amazing and loved to share them. Especially I’d advise to take: - eggplant chips with honey and goat cheese cream - fried calamari in a ink-infused bread with lemon mayonnaise These two were the most loved ones. We also enjoyed the atmosphere and we had an amazing lunch!!

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Scott A.11 reviews

    June 29, 2023

    10/10

    Amazing restaurant with incredible food options whether you are a vegetarian, like a bit of meat or for fish dishes! Perfect for sharing if you prefer tapas style too. Save space for dessert! The service is so friendly and it’s a great place if you can only speak English. Pero también, un lugar perfecto por las que hablen español. Platos riquísimos! Second time there and won’t be the last. ????

  • Wendy D.3 reviews

    June 14, 2023

    10/10

    Amazing little neighborhood gem! The ambiance is really cozy, the service was impeccable and the food was incredible!! I highly recommend.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Mathieu g.31 reviews

    June 3, 2023

    10/10

    Very nice little restaurant. Good vibes, very nice food. Recommended.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • Barbara H.1 review

    May 30, 2023

    10/10

    We loved Gato Gato. We ate there THREE times while in Madrid. Laura and her chef husband Fisco are so friendly and he is an amazing chef. We are foodies from San Francisco and particular about what we eat. Highly recommend!!!

  • Natalia W.8 reviews

    May 19, 2023

    10/10

    The food was excellent and the staff were amazing. We are already looking forward to going back to try more dishes. I recommend the crispy lasagne

  • RANDY S.6 reviews

    May 2, 2023

    10/10

    Great modern tapas restaurant and incredibly friendly and inviting staff!

  • Scott A.11 reviews

    April 18, 2023

    10/10

    Amazing dinner. Every single dish was excellent. The service was incredible. We will be coming back for dinner again and also to try menu del dia (lunch).

  • Kate M.

    Kate M.4 reviews

    February 21, 2023

    10/10

    What a wonderful place! So quaint and comfortable with surprisingly delicious dishes and a really fun friendly atmosphere. The wine was delightful, the tapas delicious . The celeriac/apple soup with crunchy almonds and micro greens on top - amazing! And the lamb/pear sandwich was beyond delicious, the lamb soft and melting in your mouth with some freshness from greens, the sweetness of pear, and a light tang from the cheese. Finally, the cheesecake was airy, tangy from the goat cheese, and sweet with the lovely berry coulis and some dehydrated raspberries to top it off all on a crumbly crust. A wonderful tasty experience in the friendliest atmosphere - we felt right at home having never been there before - highly recommend!!!

  • César P.

    César P.19 reviews

    February 18, 2023

    10/10

    Very nice staff; the restaurant was cosy; the food was delicious: the price was also very good. Excellent experience! I’d definitely recommend!

  • Ramon R.6 reviews

    January 5, 2023

    10/10

    Great find!! Incredibly creative take on traditional Spanish dishes. Both elevated and “everyday” dishes are served with a proper and unique approach that is both savory and pleasant. The owners/staff are friendly, cordial and the simplicity, coupled with unpretentious refinement make Gato Gato a cool, edgy and heartwarming experience.

  • Heather K.3 reviews

    December 30, 2022

    8.5/10

    Exceptional service- lovely server who explained each dish and also shared Madrid knowledge to make experience truly special. Dishes were unique and a nice twist on the more typical tapas.

  • Marie W.1 review

    November 16, 2022

    10/10

    So happy to have found this place. Second dinner in a row ????

  • Sara M.1 review

    October 11, 2022

    9.5/10

    What a surprise, little restaurant with a pleasant atmosphere. We were welcomed by a great team, served with a very big smile. The food was of high quality. Presentation and taste were TOP! We had an amazing night and will return on a next stay at Madrid!

  • Emil B.1 review

    July 16, 2022

    10/10

    Awesome ambience, quality of food and service! Worth that visit while in Madrid. Few tables but always packed so book - you will not regret it - great value

  • Ryan S.

    Ryan S.1 review

    July 9, 2022

    8.5/10

    We did not speak a lot of Spanish but the staff member who served us was very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious but a little bit salty.

  • Rick V.20 reviews

    June 29, 2022

    10/10

    Fantastic, creative tapas and very friendly service. Highly recommended.

  • Jeffry L.3 reviews

    June 18, 2022

    10/10

    Awesome food!

  • Jimmy F.

    Jimmy F.2 reviews

    June 4, 2022

    10/10

    Thanks for everything!

  • Mark G.

    Mark G.1 review

    April 15, 2022

    10/10

    This is a hidden gem of a restaurant in an off-the-beaten-track section of the city. The food is exciting and beautifully executed and a wonderful atmosphere is created by consummate front of house management. When local Madrileños turn up on a chance for a table only to be regretfully turned away because the restaurant is fully-booked with reservations for the night, you know that you have had the luck to hit upon a locally-celebrated dining destination. The owners of Gato Gato fully appreciate that the perfect dining experience is as much about ambience as food and that is what we both had in this wonderful restaurant.

  • Federica S.7 reviews

    March 26, 2022

    10/10

    Very intimate place where you can have a chill dinner tasting typical spanish food. The service is very custumer oriented, given that there are not a lot of tables and the staff can focus on quality. Highly suggested!

  • Klaudia a.10 reviews

    December 8, 2021

    10/10

    The food was delicious with new flavors and interesting combinations. Also, very welcoming staff.

  • Ashley C.6 reviews

    October 19, 2021

    10/10

    A lovely little side bar - the tapas were delicious, service excellent and friendly and the deserts incredible! Highly recommended!

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Kristina V.1 review

    October 1, 2021

    10/10

    Very nice restaurant with very good food! The host was very helpful (could help us in English), and the quality/price ratio is excellent! We went two nights. Congrats to the cook!

  • Francesco S.1 review

    August 10, 2021

    10/10

    Simply amazing. Just amazing food. Amazing casual atmosphere. Good wine and beer. Good desserts. Highly recommended for something different then fast foods.

  • Gurdit C.2 reviews

    July 20, 2021

    10/10

    Service was quick and food was great! Very interesting combinations and twists. Normally don’t like pistachio but the dish with lettuce was great.

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

141 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.