Back

Reviews Gran Viana

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 447 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a reservation on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Sakina F.
    Sakina F.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great service , delicious food and a super atmosphere , the 90’’s playlist was random and didn’t suit the setting but apart from that was excellent .

  2. Paula N.
    Paula N.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Platos exquisitos y atención excelente. Repetiremos seguro!

  3. Chris E.
    Chris E.
    • 5 reviews
    7.5/10

    This is one of a trio of restaurants in the same ownership (Viana, Gran Viana and Louro) and we tried all three on our trip to Barcelona. Here we tried paella to compare it with the offering at Viana. It was quite good although, as at the Viana, the seafood had all been cleaned which detracted from the appearance of the food if not from the practicalities of eating it. The wine list is good and reasonably priced although slightly more expensive than Louro for the same wines. Service was efficient and the room had a pleasant ambience although some other guests with young children made for the occasional noisy outburst.

  4. Frankie L.
    Frankie L.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Had a wonderful time dining at Gran Viana. Everyone was very welcoming and warm. The atmosphere is very vibrant. The restaurant would have been a lot more crowded if not for the current precautions over the coronavirus. The food were good: I had the Beef Cheek which was delicious but the Octopus on a seaweed foam was even better. Would definitely recommend having a dinner here if you are in Barcelona!

  5. James D.
    James D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Exceptional! I made a mistake when booking and confirmed the wrong date, phoned the restaurant on the day once I realised and senor was very helpful, and understanding. Had a great time, food was wonderful and service exceptional!

  6. Adrian L.
    Adrian L.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Casual dining with carefully selected dishes to suit all pallets...Friendly staff who were happy to elaborate on the dish description...The suckling pig & jus were sublime. Lastly how can we not mention the BlackBerry Mojitos

  7. Tobias W.
    Tobias W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    It was a very delicious dinner at the Gran Viana in a great atmosphere. The service was also terrific. So we can definetely recommend the restaurant. The prices are moderate for the quality of the food.

  8. Gregory P.
    Gregory P.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    Delicious food in a spare, hard-edged setting. Add in noisy rock music, and the restaurant wasn’t exactly cosy. On the other hand, the service was very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. The food was superbly prepared and delicious. I was disappointed not to find a green salad on the menu.

  9. Wagner F.
    Wagner F.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Good restaurant and good food, good for business and casual dinner. Staff a little unattentive during peak hours. The environment is nice, well decorated but not romantic.

  10. Andre  B.
    Andre B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Simple menu comprising excellent high quality food and excellent service! Recommended! Prices are for tourists nevertheless it's worth the price!

  11. Adrian Z.
    Adrian Z.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The host and the waiters were really nice, the food was incredible, probably the best we've had in our 6 days in Barcelona. Would recommend this place to everyone.

  12. Thomas R.
    Thomas R.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Good service, good food and generally good prices. Would recommend

  13. Hugo D.
    Hugo D.
    • one review
    10/10

    A special evening for a special lady on her spelcial day. Everything was perfect. The staff so helpful, engaging and friendly. And the food was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented. We had the Ceviche, the spring rolls and the suckling pig. It could not have been better. And the blackberry mojito is very, very good. Prices are very reasonable for the quality of food and experience. We paid 90Euro incl. tip for two starters, two mains, two Mojitos, a bottle of water and a double espresso. And it was worth every cent.

  14. David B.
    David B.
    • one review
    8/10

    Great food and really tasty. Menu was limited but fantastic options.

  15. Miles W.
    Miles W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent quality of food at a reasonable price. Nice atmosphere, cool decor, good service. This place has got the balance just right.

  16. Hannah K.
    Hannah K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Welcoming stafff, nice atmosphere- beautifully presented food, stunning flavour, generous prices! Worth every penny,beautiful evening will recommend to anyone coming to Barcelona.

  17. Gregor B.
    Gregor B.
    • one review
    10/10

    The booking through Tenedor was OK. We got a perfect table, Menu was not wide but limited that meant the restaurant focused on quality. Food was delicious, we ate two plates each of us. People were very polite, service excellent. At the end they prepared a surprise for my wife as it was her birthday. I really recommend this restaurant! Thank you!!

  18. Jennifer P.
    Jennifer P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food, welcoming service, very good value for money. I would definitely come here again - for work, a romantic evening out, or just with friends. Favorites: The burrata, ceviche, croquettes, and pork cheeks with sweet potato. Can't wait to try the other dishes next time!

  19. Whitney I.
    Whitney I.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    The suckling pig was excellent! Service was wonderful and had a great atmosphere!

  20. Ian a.
    Ian a.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Thought food was great however downside was the smell in the restaurant. Either they have a problem with the drains or something and there was an overpowering smell of disinfectant! Food and service was excellent apart from that

  21. Ester F.
    Ester F.
    • one review
    7/10

    Food and service are good. Decoration and atmosphere could be more updated, I found it too busy.

  22. Jane R.
    Jane R.
    • one review
    8/10

    Pretty good

  23. Familie S.
    Familie S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Very good food and very friendly staff.

  24. Alan M.
    Alan M.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    Place little dated, music was 90s Britt pop, which was the wrong atmosphere. but food was great. small menu done very well. friendly helpful staff! bit pricey.

  25. Johan Z.
    Johan Z.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Utmärkt personal!

  26. Daniel C.
    Daniel C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Brilliant service, all the staff were brilliant catering for my pregnant wife. By offering mocktails which were not on the menu. food was absolutely stunning however I feel the blood orange cod was a tad smothered in orange and took away from the beautiful piece of fish I was served. All in all incredible evening, amazing service, with an affordable price. Fantastic.

  27. Ladislau F. C.
    Ladislau F. C.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Very kind people. Food - some was good and some strange (The suckling pig wich consisted of 3 small cubes had a smell like old pigs.

  28. Ryan L.
    Ryan L.
    • one review
    6/10

    Was scammed on the "special". Was told paella was 30 euro. Ordered the dish but was asked how we wanted it done, traditional or a "different" style. Then was charged 36 euro instead because the option we chose wasn't included in the 30 euro. We don't mind paying for food but do not appreciate bait and switches. The silver lining is the food was decent. Not 5 star but above average. Many more options for better food in the area at far better pricing.

  29. Leslie H.
    Leslie H.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Thanks once again for a fantastic meal and service. Will be back.

  30. Daniel N.
    Daniel N.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    The calamari croquettes with ink were wonderful as was the suckling pig plate. An enjoyable meal. The staff was very attentive.

  31. Klara Lise A.
    Klara Lise A.
    • one review
    9/10

    The meny had fewer tapas dishes than expected, so initially disappointed, but the main courses was very good-we chose three of those and can highly recommend!

  32. Patrick R.
    Patrick R.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Excellent choices on the menu and the food was very tasty. Interesting decor, could have done with a little more room and more comfortable chairs. It did get very loud as the evening progressed. I would have liked more information from the waiters/tresses about the detail of the dishes.

  33. Iva B.
    Iva B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food and friendly service. Paul & his team did everything right. If you are vegan you‘ll find smth for yourself on the menu. 100% recomended!

  34. William S.
    William S.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    The happy atmosphere and really nice service made the Gran Viana a memorable experience. The tuna tartar and cod with apples were a standout

  35. Ivan S.
    Ivan S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    extraordinary room design with cool music (that's why i rated as "noisy"), dishes were both delicious and unusual, welcome snacks and compliment drinks as nowhere else. great atmosphere and visit-again place. Even with 2 children it was not a problem to spend the evening there.

  36. Michael H.
    Michael H.
    • 5 reviews
    8/10

    Don't understand the reviews. This place is only ok. The ribeye is outstanding. But this would be an average place back home. The wine list and after dinner drink options are terrible. The menu is really small. I went with the daily special which my server didn't mention. Heard about it from the adjacent table. Service was average for Europe and terrible for the states. However, the ribeye is worthy of a return visit. Amazing cut and preparation. Limited desert options and no cheese board.

  37. Frances R.
    Frances R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    As a solo diner I felt relaxed. Staff were very pleasant and not at all pretentious

  38. Dejan T.
    Dejan T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food was delicious and cozy atmosphere

  39. Gary  M.
    Gary M.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    We went out with friends and this place was exceptionally good. Lively and busy but this wasn’t a problem. The staff were great and the food delicious. Had a really great night out.

  40. Christer V.
    Christer V.
    • one review
    10/10

    Nice place, really good food. Reccomend the blackberry mojito!