Register my restaurant
Help


With friends

Reviews - Grand Café Restaurant 1e Klas

8.3/10
6769
Stationsplein 15, 1012 AB Amsterdam
International
Average price €40

Get up to 30% off

Conditions may apply

Grand Café Restaurant 1e Klas

Find a table

Book for free

🔥 Already 27 bookings today

Reviews

8.3/10
Very good6769 reviews
8.3/10

Food

8.2/10

Service

8.6/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Gustavo S.42 reviews

    June 10, 2024

    10/10

    the environment has remained that of 1888, one of the best and best maintained in Europe. the food well presented and good. well-assorted side dishes. to return.

    review_preview

    See 3 photos

  • pat m.1 review

    June 9, 2024

    7/10

    The restaurant is beautiful. The mustwas a little too loud. The service was hit and miss. Slow to take order and forgot items on a number of occasions. . Food was really good.

  • Eduarda N.1 review

    June 4, 2024

    4.5/10

    The staff was not helpful. They seated us next to staff that were clearly having a heated discussion. We asked if some food could be made gluten-free but they said no and quickly took the order to kitchen without asking or offering any options. it was very a disappointing experience I would not recommend this place.

  • Oliver Yu6 reviews

    May 13, 2024

    7.5/10

    The restaurant is attractive and convenient at the Amsterdam central station. We ate there twice. The food has been good, as the fish was fresh and flavorful. The service was friendly but extremely slow. The first time, the waitress seemed new and didn’t even give us utensils when the food was served. The second time, we waited a long time for entries and even longer with the dessert. My wife literally fell asleep waiting. We may come again but line to see the service speeds up some.

  • Wing Ting L.6 reviews

    May 6, 2024

    8.5/10

    Good environment. Especially when you have to do a transit in the Central Station - a good place to stay. Fair quality of food - use the folk with discount would be better.

  • Bernardo A.

    Bernardo A.9 reviews

    May 5, 2024

    7.5/10

    Good service. Nice food. Quiet and nice decorated

  • Yvonne F.1 review

    April 30, 2024

    5.5/10

    A beautiful place, the food was just OK but the service was truly horrible. They cater to tour groups, and completely ignored us. 30 minutes after ordering, we Alerted the waitress, who then noticed that our order had not been fired. Another 15 minutes or so, and we finally got our meals. The person taking payment refused to split our bill, saying it was "too busy". All in all, a disappointment. Would not recommend.

  • Michael A.1 review

    April 13, 2024

    10/10

    Incredible decor that is all hand painted. Low light and feels like another era. Really special place.

  • Amel M.

    Amel M.5 reviews

    April 13, 2024

    2/10

    Never again.

  • Colinda L.

    Colinda L.1 review

    April 9, 2024

    10/10

    Lovely food and great location

  • Jane M.7 reviews

    April 4, 2024

    10/10

    When we arrived at the restaurant we were shown to a table in an entirely different section with no other people and no “ambience” compared to the main restaurant which was “buzzing”. My conclusion was that we were being driven differentiated as “Fork discount” customers and it left me feeling a bit concerned. I needn’t have worried though as this part of the restaurant eventually filled up and I could not fault the quality of food or the service, both of which were excellent. Thank you !!!

  • Paul c.24 reviews

    April 1, 2024

    7.5/10

    The food was pretty tasty and was nice to dine in a smart station restaurant however it was let down by the attitude of both the restaurant (who don’t honour the offers properly, only on a specially produced smaller menu, not the proper menu) and some of the wait staff who seem to take offence when you use an offer that is being offered to try and drive custom, and get upset that you are availing of a discount that their employer is offering…A real shame as the food is very good

  • Valeria C.

    Valeria C.2 reviews

    March 25, 2024

    9/10

    Beautiful restaurant located at the central station. Food was delicious, and service was fast. We had the soup of the day , some wine and main courses would definitely recommend de kogelbiefstuk and the ossenhaaspuntjes. We can’t wait to come again!

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Julie P.3 reviews

    March 12, 2024

    10/10

    This is a quaint and stylish and restaurant, ideally located at the Central Station. The drinks and food were excellent in quality, presentation and value for money. We loved our experience and the service was good too. We wouldn’t hesitate to return and indeed plan to at the end of our trip.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Malcolm G.2 reviews

    March 4, 2024

    8/10

    Once we had located the restaurant upstairs we were very pleased with the service and food. It was an ideal place to eat after arriving from London and waiting for the 19.00 night train to Innsbruck

  • Jeffrey A.6 reviews

    February 16, 2024

    10/10

    Waitress was wonderful.

  • C M.2 reviews

    February 14, 2024

    10/10

    A bit of a challenge finding the restaurant but when i did i loved it It looks beautiful with the high ceilings the old signs i just loved it all. And i love the Kakatu yes he is real and beautiful

  • Alma P.1 review

    February 12, 2024

    10/10

    Great service, great food and wine.

  • Aida B.1 review

    February 7, 2024

    9/10

    Excellent food, friendy staff and very nice environment. Elvis is a bonus !!

  • Christina W.1 review

    February 1, 2024

    8.5/10

    We were pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful restaurant in the train station. Ambiance was subtle and elegant. The flavors of the food tasted great, the meat was over cooked. The staff was helpful. It was an overall enjoyable experience.

  • Peter P.9 reviews

    January 28, 2024

    9/10

    We had difficulty finding the restaurant as it is on the platform level and there are few signs for it. Eventually found it by platform 2b. Very nice interior and plenty of tables. We were given a menu but this was replaced as we had booked through The Fork. Couldn’t see much difference though. Starters of salad and bitterballen very good, rump steak was tasty although strange assortment of vegetables with it. Liver and bacon excellent. Desserts limited but the ice cream macaroon was good. Wine by the glass not good value, very small portions! Service was very good. Would return.

  • Mehmet S.1 review

    January 13, 2024

    10/10

    Very nice and beautiful place

  • kebor M.

    kebor M.5 reviews

    January 1, 2024

    10/10

    this restaurant is a piece of art itself. The waiter was very nice and very helpful in all our demands. The service was fast and the food was very tasty. i would recommend it 100%.

  • HON CHOONG Y.55 reviews

    December 14, 2023

    6.5/10

    Overall good customer service. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Hsiao-Yun C.8 reviews

    November 23, 2023

    7.5/10

    The environment is beautiful but the schnitzel is hard and tasteless. Waiters and waitresses are basically helpful.

  • Robyn T.1 review

    November 18, 2023

    8.5/10

    The food here was utterly delicious. Both my husband and I enjoyed a lovely tapenade served with bread before savouring perfectly cooked tenderloin steaks served with the most delicious potato gratin & beautifully seasoned vegetables. The herb butter served alongside was flavourful (although the presentation was quite odd, as the butter was served ice cold in a paper cup.) The restaurant is beautiful (tucked away in the original first class Station Lounge of the Centraal station) and we found the antics of Elvis the house parrot highly entertaining. While the food was absolutely gorgeous, what let the evening down was the mysterious lack of service. It took 45 minutes to be able to capture the notice of a server, who seemed very puzzled regarding our desire to order food and drink. For obvious reasons, such delayed service is not optimal in a train station setting - we (not unusually) had a train to catch so were quite concerned about the extensive delay in getting any service at all - quite surreal in such a lovely setting with an obviously talented chef. Overall we had a lovely evening with some of the best steak I’ve eaten outside Alberta, Canada. But with a tight train connection I’d be concerned!

  • Joanna L.1 review

    November 11, 2023

    6.5/10

    Busy & noisy. Great for friends to catch up, but not for a romantic evening.

  • Michelle K.1 review

    November 10, 2023

    10/10

    Our first time in Amsterdam was amazing! The food, people, and ambience surrounding were wonderful! Thanks for making our first time enjoyable!

  • Milan P.

    Milan P.1 review

    November 10, 2023

    10/10

    Nice and uniqe place , high quality affordable meals very nice staff. Must visit if coming to Amsterdam

  • Mike E.1 review

    November 2, 2023

    10/10

    What a fabulous place. An amazing room in a fabulous building. Really well done. Delicious food at a reasonable price. Plus a Cockatoo. Try it.

  • Matthijs K.

    Matthijs K.67 reviews

    November 1, 2023

    6.5/10

    Long wait for food and card machine broken and blaming our cards, next client also didn't work. No sorry. Just sending us to an atm with a €4 transaction service as they could only accept cash. Still blaming is for their broken machine as they only accept Dutch bank cards (which we used 4 different ones) please train your staff in speed and customer service

  • Erika K.

    Erika K.49 reviews

    October 21, 2023

    10/10

    What a fine atmosphere, lively and elegant. Service with a smile and great value. Desserts were heavenly

  • Anita v.2 reviews

    October 19, 2023

    5.5/10

    Very simple meal with no garnish on plate. Price quality ratio out of proportion. Not possible to chose from full menu when using yums, could only chose main course while being there for lunch. Nice building though.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Christine H.1 review

    October 3, 2023

    10/10

    Unmissable experience! Good food, good service, unique and interesting environment. Delightful.

  • Mariana H.11 reviews

    September 23, 2023

    6.5/10

    One of the worst services I’ve ever had. The staff is very rude, it seems like you are doing them a favour. If they are not happy to accept clients exchanging their Yums points, they shouldn’t make this option available. The waiter and the cashier made me feel embarrassed and bad for having booked with the €50 discount. When I asked to split the remainder bill (€30) in two different cards, the cashier mocked me. Appalling staff. The place itself is nice, though, the restaurant is very beautiful. The food was really good.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

  • Yeuhen B.2 reviews

    September 7, 2023

    9/10

    A good place, convenient location, delicious food, a little expensive, but for Amsterdam this is the norm). I advise you to try the American Burger.

  • Violaine G.2 reviews

    September 3, 2023

    7.5/10

    Globally average, the food was good but nothing rememberable. Price is a bit hight in general but the inside of the restaurant has a nice aesthetic. The parrot as well as the trains where a bit loud, maybe the door could be closed.

  • OREN Y.54 reviews

    August 18, 2023

    6/10

    Food was average.. service was same.. They didn't apply the promoted discount, we make payment without any discount.. NEVER AGAIN..

  • Mika S.5 reviews

    August 10, 2023

    5/10

    Order a 3-course menu. I couldn't finish it because of the large amount. Especially the dessert was too sweet for the Japanese.

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Anthony M.62 reviews

    August 13, 2023

    9.5/10

    I love the Ribeye here, super nice quality! Also drinks are very good. Desserts are just ok. The atmosphere is unique.

    review_preview

    See 2 photos

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

605 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.