Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Reviews - Harvester - Castle Gate

8.6/10
84
Tipton Road, DY1 4RD DudleySee map

Average price £15

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Reservation confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Make a reservation on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

8.6/10
Fabulous84 reviews
8.5/10

Food

8.8/10

Service

8.4/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Penny R.
    Penny R.

    August 27, 20224 reviews

    7.5/10

    Quick service and a decent meal. Nice sizes and you can order double chips if you like. No coleslaw or potato salad on the salad bar though.

  • Janene L.
    Janene L.

    August 3, 20221 review

    9/10

    Lovely staff fab food

  • Ken S.

    April 2, 20221 review

    7/10

    nice place excellent service unfortunately the steak on my mixed grill was not good.the rest of my meal and my wife's meal was good. I would still return in the future as all in all it was a good experience.

  • Bernadene H.

    April 2, 20221 review

    10/10

    Fabulous meal our server was particularly helpful even down to special service for one of our group with a food allergy would definitely recommend

  • Yvonne t.

    March 30, 20221 review

    8.5/10

    Service was quick she bought our drinks then served our salad bowl and by the time we had ate it they were coming with our meal which was excellent very pleased

  • Janet H.

    February 19, 20224 reviews

    10/10

    Hi once again had a great service Dexter our waiter was efficient and friendly the meal was hot and well presented will definitely return again Janet

  • Tracy B.

    February 1, 20221 review

    3/10

    Cold food. Manager is unprofessional would not recommend: most of the staff were helpful though. My daughter steak was frazzled and cold my jacket potato was incinerated

  • Penny R.
    Penny R.

    January 30, 20224 reviews

    8.5/10

    We’ve been a few times recently. The food is good. Always hot. Just a shame there was a 45 minute wait for rotisserie chicken so the order was changed, and we’d already been waiting 15 minutes or so. But the food is hot and was lovely. Will definitely go again. Incidentally the sausage option wasn’t available on the children’s menu when we came just after Christmas …

  • Peter B.

    January 16, 20221 review

    4.5/10

    On parking at Castle Gate, Dudley harvester, we noticed several cars parked on disabled spaces (no blue badges displayed). On entering the restaurant, I mentioned this to the waitress who greeted us, and asked what their policy was to deal with the issue. I mentioned to my partner that they would return and say " there's nothing we can really do...", as predicted, this is what happened. She added that she was always "having a go at people who park in parent/child spaces without having a child with them. My partner then ordered the ' chilli none con carne'....to be told there was non. 15 minutes after our meals were consumed...we were still trying to pay our bill. Eventually, I had to go to the bar, and ask for someone to attend our table. The waitress who came over (eventually), apologised and explained that the company employed at low levels, hence the slow service, and said that after 16 years of employment at the same location, she had had enough....she was going to seek other employment, even if it was in care (her words not mine). To sum up the whole experience, I would say...very disappointed, frustrating and quite expensive compared to say the hungry horse chain. After all....its just pub grub at restaurant prices.

  • Claire C.

    January 15, 20221 review

    9.5/10

    Lovely staff … nice food … no long wait ! No complaints !

  • Penny R.
    Penny R.

    January 3, 20224 reviews

    8.5/10

    We’ve been before. Nice food. Meal was hot. The waitress was amiable considering there only appeared to be a couple on duty. Not a long wait as they were short staffed in the kitchen. Happy Days.

  • Chris b.

    December 29, 20211 review

    4.5/10

    I asked for Southern fried chicken to be told we only have normal chicken, I ordered triple burger and was served a single this was sent back and in return the chips were stone cold, I went back again and on return the rest of my party gad finished thei food, to say poor is an understatement

  • Silvia S.
    Silvia S.

    December 3, 20211 review

    10/10

    The staff were very friendly. There was a lovely atmosphere in the restaurant. The food was great and the waiting time very short. We will definitely be returning. Thank you!

  • Lisa G.

    December 3, 20211 review

    10/10

    Went today for lunch with friends. I had the tomato soup starter and dirty Christmas burger. Friends had tomato soup, garlic mushrooms and Christmas turkey dinner. Food was perfect, service was quick and friendly. Rooms were decorated beautifully for Christmas. Overall we had a brilliant lunch and definitely recommend and return!

  • Sandy I.

    November 14, 20211 review

    8/10

    Lovley hot food good service we enjoyed it and will return ,the portions were very good and we didnt feel rushed ,loved the rocky horror dessert glad we shared as it was huge

  • Kirsty M.

    October 17, 20211 review

    8/10

    Nice food, the staff were pleasant. Refillable drinks and unlimited free salad bar was a bonus. No music and cramped layout was bit of a downside

  • Delia W.

    October 17, 20211 review

    8/10

    Had a lovely meal today, the staff was great. Very friendly, our waiter was very helpful. Big portions of food, came out feeling very full! Clean and Covid safe.

  • Janet H.

    October 14, 20214 reviews

    9.5/10

    Hi once again a great meal staff are helpful and friendly

  • Stephen C.

    October 13, 20211 review

    8.5/10

    Very happy with all aspects of our evening great staff service & food was especially impressed with Connor our waiter he couldn’t do enough the only one small problem was I couldn’t understand why the heating was on made it a little uncomfortable apart from that everything was great our steak was perfect

  • Warren C.

    October 10, 20211 review

    10/10

    Very polite and helpful staff and great food!

  • Gordon M.
    Gordon M.

    September 30, 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Like Harvester Restaurants

  • Janet H.

    September 29, 20214 reviews

    10/10

    Hi as usual the staff were efficient and pleasent the food was excellent hot and well presented tables well spaced so felt comfortable will definitely go back

  • Joanne F.

    September 3, 20211 review

    5.5/10

    I took my daughter for a treat but unfortunately the steak was fatty and chewy. Won't be rushing back

  • Romesh A.

    August 30, 20211 review

    8/10

    Everything was smooth and nice. Good food and reasonable price

  • Rebecca R.

    August 30, 20211 review

    8/10

    Was awesome waiter was lovely, food was nice quick service no problems. Salad was epic and v great accommodations made for my baby and my ass utistic daughter

  • Helen S.

    August 30, 20211 review

    10/10

    It was lovely meeting up with family here today. We had Dexter as our server and he is such an asset to Harvester. Nothing was too much trouble even though he was very busy. He went above and beyond for my 4 year old granddaughter. Thanks Dexter. Food served quickly and hot and delicious

  • Lisa C.

    August 26, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Great evening out and Jack our server gave us all information regarding our meals and best of all not rushed to be out the door. The food was cooked well

  • Keith W.

    June 22, 20211 review

    9.5/10

    The female member of staff was excellent. She gave excellent service and was most attentive an exceptional waitress. The meals were served quick and hot.

  • Tracy K.

    June 20, 20211 review

    8/10

    The staff were really clear on instructions due to covid on how the restaurant was operating and were quick & polite The food came quickly and was nice

  • Corinne B.

    June 19, 20211 review

    7.5/10

    Arrived at venue to be met by the most rude staff member! Before he would even talk to us, he pointed to the track and trace and said ‘scan that’. Can not fault anything else with our visit, food was good value for money, waiting staff were very polite and friendly.

  • Helen B.

    February 12, 20201 review

    9.8/10

    Food was cooked lovely and the staff were most welcoming and helpful

Tripadvisor reviews

528 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty program
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership
  • Restaurant near me

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant reservation