Register my restaurant
Help


British

Reviews - Harvester - The Griffin

8.2/10
150
Blackbrook Park Avenue, TA1 2PX Taunton
British
Average price £20

Harvester - The Griffin

Find a table

Book for free

Reviews

8.2/10
Very good150 reviews
8.2/10

Food

8.4/10

Service

7.9/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

Real experiences from real dinersRatings and reviews can only be left by guests who have booked with TheFork.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level
  • Sabrina Marie H.2 reviews

    July 10, 2024

    4/10

    The staff were friendly that served us and very polite we have had two visits now where the food has not been up to scratch. The salad station was empty and so were the dressings the rolls were also rock solid . No salt refilled on tables we had 6 salts on our table and not had any salt in it . The mains came out and the chips were cold and the steak was of poor standard .overall the meals were dry . The experience tonight was quite bad and very expensive please note the staff did nothing wrong but the quality of the food and the fact that there was no salad was very lazy and poor . Considering this was a meal out for the family I was disappointed and would not return anytime soon .

  • Lucy M.1 review

    July 4, 2024

    4/10

    I got a medium to well cooked steak when I asked for medium rare, plus the chips were cold and undercooked. Just this meal cost over £20.00 and all we got was a couple of complimentary coffees to apologise. Music stuck on a loop, driving everyone crazy and they kept putting it on. Very disappointing.

  • Tracey H.1 review

    June 30, 2024

    4.5/10

    Had a bit of a wait for order to be taken although it was three o'clock and plenty of staff. Salad was nice but one order was not correct but replaced quickly. But the chicken was only just cooked making it very chewy so did not complete the meal.

  • Matthew B.1 review

    June 28, 2024

    4.5/10

    The atmosphere of the restaurant was fantastic, however I had 1 pint of thatchers gold and it tasted like it was from the bottom of the barrel. I ordered a slow cooked steak and it had a large amount of fat on it that took up a 1/3 of the steak. I’ve dined at the harvester many times years ago and never had a complaint but for the price of the meal and drinks I expected quality not below average

  • Angie H.1 review

    June 22, 2024

    6/10

    We arrived after booking and the restaurant was busy. Asked for a quiet area by the window on booking. Placed in the centre of a busy area with a high window a distance away. Ordered with jacket potatoes, then informed they were not available. Ordered mash and chips instead. Food arrived with a jacket potato with the one ordered with mash and mash on the one ordered with chips. Had to swap potatoes over ourselves. No rolls with the salad, had to wait. Drinks delivered to wrong tables. Food was good once on the right plates and had arrived. Waiting staff were pleasant but slow and forgetful.

  • Jeanette C.2 reviews

    June 17, 2024

    10/10

    The food came quick was hot and tasted lovely xx staff were attentive too Will be back

  • Guy A.1 review

    June 6, 2024

    10/10

    We always have an enjoyable experience at the Griffin and the staff always make us feel welcome.

  • Debbie p.1 review

    June 8, 2024

    8/10

    Only thing that let you down was drink I asked for wasn’t available

  • George T.1 review

    June 8, 2024

    10/10

    Great restaurant, lovely meal and very friendly staff. Used The Griffin on a few occasions and always enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

  • Sharon S.1 review

    June 2, 2024

    8.5/10

    Excellent waitress who was very friendly and welcoming.

  • David R.1 review

    May 17, 2024

    6/10

    No large wine glasses available (“all in the wash”) Salad bowls delayed (“since all in the wash”) No water jugs (“no idea where they all are”)

  • Barbara W.1 review

    May 17, 2024

    10/10

    We booked our meal at a very busy time. The food was excellent. We have never seen staff work so hard. They even made time to check everything was ok. Could not fault anything.

  • Stephen W.26 reviews

    May 11, 2024

    7/10

    Very busy on a Saturday evening. Slight wait for a table but we had arrived a few minutes before the booked time. Bowls were provided for the salad but no cutlery. Only sunflower spread for the bread as butter had run out. Menu mainly grills and rotisserie options. Settled for the classic burger. All well presented but nothing to excite. Somewhat disappointed overall.

  • Andrew M.1 review

    May 10, 2024

    4.5/10

    Portion sizes has got a lot smaller yet the prices have got larger Doubt il come back

  • Paul A.1 review

    April 26, 2024

    8.5/10

    Enjoyed our meal very much but restaurant a little cold

  • Jackie H.

    Jackie H.1 review

    April 19, 2024

    10/10

    Booked a table as a popular place to eat, staff very friendly, one of my favourite places to eat.

  • Vikki H.1 review

    April 21, 2024

    7/10

    Welcoming and friendly staff! Good service, however when we had finished, we ended up having to go to the bar for the bill as we were sat for a while without being seen to.

  • Katrina C.1 review

    April 16, 2024

    10/10

    Food was excellent, our host Debbie was excellent, she was always checking everything was OK, she was fun, had a great smile. Waiting time for food was great as it was ages and food came out hot.

  • Carol R.1 review

    March 24, 2024

    7/10

    Food was good although menu is gett ing a bit boring now. Salad bar had just been replenished and was fresh and tasty. Unfortunately the service was really slow. I had taken my 5 year old grandson for a late lunch. The restaurant wasn't overly busy but we were resident for over 2.5 hours for 2 basic courses. A 5 year old doesn't really have that much interest in such a long wait between courses.

  • Louise V.1 review

    March 18, 2024

    6/10

    Disappointed that we booked a table for 7pm and there was no chicken service flet rushed long wait on our first drinks .food was nice . Sat chatting prompted to pay the bill while still chatting .so paid up and left

  • Clair H.1 review

    March 17, 2024

    3/10

    There was no option of having any of the fish dishes as the fryer had broken. The salad bar especially the lettuce was old looking brown in colour and did not look appetising at all. There were no labels on the dressings so you did not know which were which……this is not good for someone with allergies!!! And I was told I could not have a cup of hot milk as the machine does not do this. I have eaten many times at this particular restaurant and found it to be good however today was a complete let down. Last point on the matter, I asked for another coffee and the waitress asked for my cup so she could re-fill it instead of giving me a clean one!!

  • Beverley D.1 review

    March 14, 2024

    9/10

    All was lovely until fire alarm went off !! We had to vacate the building just as the food arrived so it was cold when we returned . Otherwise all good .

    review_preview

    See photo

  • Michael E.1 review

    February 16, 2024

    10/10

    Food was great, staff was spot on.

  • Ian L.1 review

    February 12, 2024

    6/10

    My order (steak balanced bowl) arrived in good time. However there was minimal salad and the steak was cold. I have had this dish before and previously it was fantastic. This was not the case this time.

  • Stephen W.26 reviews

    January 30, 2024

    9/10

    First visit after the refurbishment. Tidy and feels cleaner and more open. Good service and lunch time deals were good value.

  • Julie L.1 review

    January 11, 2024

    5/10

    Booked for 6.30, sat reasonably quickly but then waited 15 mins for acknowledgment by staff for drinks order, food order was taken shortly after but then waited 40 minutes before I had to enquire how much longer … food eventually came at 7.40. Food was ok ( get what you pay for!! ) However the fastest part of the evening was as plates were being cleared the waiter was pushing for the bill to be paid… not a pleasant experience and doubt we will return

  • lisa w.4 reviews

    January 1, 2024

    7/10

    We've been here before and this time it was very busy being new years day and the food quality wasn't as nice. I have 1983 combo which is half a chicken but the chicken was given in two parts and it was like I was given all the bones and the chicken was hard under the skin. I had exactly this last time and it was alot better but I will put it down to how busy they were. Staff looked stressed. I'm sorrbto say I want a impressed the time. Still ok but for price I probably have Been put off thus meal for while. Sorry guys but we paid alot for meal and I wasn't as impressed

  • lisa w.4 reviews

    December 10, 2023

    10/10

    The hospitality of the waiter I believe to be the manager or assistant manger was outstanding. Laughed and joked with the kids and the food was exceptional thank you guys

  • raf s.1 review

    October 23, 2023

    7.5/10

    There was a very long delay , a long wait for our main meal.

  • Paul G.13 reviews

    August 29, 2023

    9.5/10

    The two and three courses are excellent value and the food is very nice indeed. The salad bar is also included even at these special lunch prices. Our server was very pleasant and very efficient too.

  • Christine D.1 review

    June 10, 2023

    9.5/10

    Good fast friendly service. A little dark and a noisy child next table but he calmed down when food delivered. Reasonable value for money. Good salad bar.

  • Stephen W.26 reviews

    March 23, 2023

    9.5/10

    Great tasting lunch time meal and salad but service a little slow.

  • Leon G.1 review

    March 10, 2023

    5/10

    the staff where very nice the place itself was ok but the food was very disappointing as it was just tasteless so won’t be rushing to go back there .

  • Suzanne B.2 reviews

    February 17, 2023

    8.5/10

    Service was prompt and helpful . We had particular requests made by our party of 5 in relation to the food and this was accommodated no problem at all - and when the food arrived it was all correct and as ordered ! 5 stars to staff , thank you.

  • Rowena M.1 review

    January 11, 2023

    5.5/10

    Normally we have a great experience at the harvester. And this time staff were helpful and lovely. However the food wasn’t great. Chips tasted re-heated. I ordered a steak flatbread and when it arrived it was a bowl - it was changed but literally looked like the bowl had been turned upside down onto the flatbread! And wasn’t great. Chicken was unavailable.

  • Sarah B.

    Sarah B.2 reviews

    October 21, 2022

    7.5/10

    Staff were super friendly, food was tasty and plentiful. Too many kids running around though.

  • Susan M.1 review

    October 7, 2022

    10/10

    Great restaurant, been several times and never disappointed in food quality or service levels. Meal for four Friday 7th October , all food great and waitress made the evening as was warm friendly and really cared about her customers.

  • Julie H.1 review

    July 23, 2022

    9.5/10

    Lovely food, and still good prices. Had the stewers, would have preferred the skin to be a little more crispy, as it was just fatty, so left on the place.

  • Brenda W.1 review

    June 1, 2022

    8/10

    The waiter, Jayde, was very polite and gave prompt friendly service. My grandchildren and myself enjoyed the experience. A varied menu for every taste.

  • Zoe G.

    Zoe G.1 review

    May 29, 2022

    9/10

    We haven’t been for a while so it was refreshing the food was excellent staff friendly but the music was a little bit loud it could have been a little quieter as the restaurant was quieter

Load more reviews

Tripadvisor reviews

1579 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play

© 2024 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.